DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 5/8/2023 and 1/20/2026 has been acknowledged.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Italy on 11/12/2020.
Status of Application
Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-20 are pending.
Claims 2 and 13 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 12 have been amended.
Claim 1 is the only independent claim.
This FINAL Office action is in response to the “Amendments and Remarks” received on 1/30/2026.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 1/30/2026; Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
Office Note: Claims 2 and 13 have been cancelled, therefore any rejection or objection pertaining thereupon is now considered moot.
With respect to the claim rejections of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103, applicants “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant remarks “nowhere does Noffsinger disclose a "first controller and/or second controller is/are (i) arranged to determine the vehicle of the convoy on which they are respectively installed by means of a software coding implemented by means of a process of sequential recognition of nodes of said at least one communication network." Therefore, claim 1, as amended, is not anticipated by Noffsinger” and the Office respectfully discloses
It remains the Office’s stance that the cited prior art still anticipates the claimed subject matter, as presently presented.
The claims as currently presented remain extremely broad as to what is being required. What the actual software that is carrying this out and what “a process of sequential recognition of nodes” means are very broad. The Office, based on the claims as currently presented and cited prior art is interpret the “continuous or polling” aspect of Noffsinger to read on this since the polling is carried out continuously to determine consist length, integrity and even train car position. Further, about determine the vehicles with controllers, Noffsinger states “determine a position of one or more vehicles in the consist by synchronizing one or more measured events” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0010, 0015], where some vehicles have the transceivers and some do not, therefore based on sequential or continuous polls, the location of one or more vehicles is carried out by software. Further, to help clarify which vehicle is which, Noffsinger states “one or more of the electronic components 32a-32c are configured to assess consist integrity through continuous or polling communications with a rear vehicle in the consist, determine a position of one or more vehicles in the consist by synchronizing one or more measured events between selected passenger vehicles 18a-18c in the consist 12, and/or determine a distance between selected passenger vehicles 18a-18c, such as a first and second passenger vehicle. In addition, the system 10 may poll individual passenger vehicles 18a-18c that are equipped with an electronic component 32a-32c through the transmission of signals/data over the electrical power transmission line 26” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0033]. Therefore, based on the broadness of the claims as presently presented, it remains the Office’s stance that Noffsinger still anticipates the claimed subject matter. Therefore the Office's respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remarks.
Office Note: The Office suggests clarifying how the positions are being determined by the sequential recognition, as this process is still extremely broad and positively reciting what is actually being carried out would help move prosecution forward.
Applicant further remarks “Nowhere in these paragraphs, or elsewhere in Noffsinger, does the prior art disclose any nodes of a network, and therefore cannot further disclose determining any vehicles of a convoy by means of a process of sequential recognition of nodes, as required by amended claim 1. As such, Noffsinger does not disclose at least these elements and cannot anticipate Claim 1” and the Office respectfully disagrees.
It remains the Office’s stance that the cited prior art still renders anticipates the claimed subject matter. Applicant is relying that the term “node” is not in the cited prior art but the Office then asks, what is applicant requiring a “node” to be? The Office is interpreting any computing element that can receive/transmit data. Therefore, the computing units 32a-32c on the vehicles 12a-18c would being interpreted as nodes of the network. Noffsinger states “one or more of the electronic components 32a-32c are configured to assess consist integrity through continuous or polling communications with a rear vehicle in the consist, determine a position of one or more vehicles in the consist by synchronizing one or more measured events between selected passenger vehicles 18a-18c in the consist 12, and/or determine a distance between selected passenger vehicles 18a-18c, such as a first and second passenger vehicle. In addition, the system 10 may poll individual passenger vehicles 18a-18c that are equipped with an electronic component 32a-32c through the transmission of signals/data over the electrical power transmission line 26” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0033]. Therefore, based on the broadness of the claims as presently presented, it remains the Office’s stance that Noffsinger still anticipates the claimed subject matter with the continuous polling/sequential of nodes. Therefore the Office's respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remarks.
Applicant further remarks that the other independent claims which recite similar features are allowable and the dependent claims are also allowable since they depend on allowable subject and the Office respectfully disagrees. It is the Office's stance that all of the claimed subject matter has been properly rejected; therefore the Office's respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
It is the Office’s stance that all of applicant arguments have been considered and the rejections remain.
Final Office Action
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
During examination, claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and limitations in the specification are not read into the claims. See MPEP §2111, MPEP §2111.01 and In re Yamamoto et al., 222 USPQ 934 10 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP 2111.01 (I). It is further noted it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification, i.e., a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment. See 15 MPEP 2111.01 (II).
A first exception to the prohibition of reading limitations from the specification into the claims is when the Applicant for patent has provided a lexicographic definition for the term. See MPEP §2111.01 (IV). Following a review of the claims in view of the specification herein, the Office has found that Applicant has not provided any lexicographic definitions, either expressly or implicitly, for any claim terms or phrases with any reasonable clarity, deliberateness and precision. Accordingly, the Office concludes that Applicant has not acted as his/her own lexicographer.
A second exception to the prohibition of reading limitations from the specification into the claims is when the claimed feature is written as a means-plus-function. See 35 U.S.C. §112(f) and MPEP §2181-2183. As noted in MPEP §2181, a three prong test is used to determine the scope of a means-plus-function limitation in a claim:
the claim limitation uses the term "means" or "step" or a term used as a substitute for "means" that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function
the term "means" or "step" or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word "for" (e.g., "means for") or another linking word or phrase, such as "configured to" or "so that"
the term "means" or "step" or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
The Office has found herein that claims do not contain limitations of means or means type language that must be analyzed under 35 U.S.C. §112 (f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-9, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Noffsinger et al. (United States Patent Publication 2012/0287972).
With respect to Claim 1: Noffsinger discloses “A system for verifying the integrity of a convoy” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“comprising at least a first vehicle and a second vehicle” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“wherein said system for verifying the integrity of a convoy includes: a first controller arranged to be coupled to said first vehicle” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“a second controller arranged to be coupled to said second vehicle” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“at least one communication network arranged to allow communication between said first controller and said second controller” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“wherein said first controller and/or second controller is/are (i) arranged to determine the vehicle of the convoy on which they are respectively installed by means of a software coding implemented by means of a process of sequential recognition of nodes of said at least one communication network” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“and (ii) arranged to determine that the integrity of the convoy is compromised” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“when said first controller and second controller are no longer able to communicate with each other through said at least one communication network” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1].
With respect to Claim 3: Noffsinger discloses “The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 2, wherein, when said first controller determines to be installed on a leading vehicle of said convoy” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“and said second l controller determines to be installed on a tail vehicle of said convoy” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“the first controller is arranged to send an interrogation message on the at least one communication network” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“the second controller is arranged to receive the interrogation message from the at least one communication network” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“and retransmit a response message on the at least one communication network” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1].
With respect to Claim 4: Noffsinger discloses “The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 2, wherein, when said first controller determines to be installed on a tail vehicle of said convoy” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“and said second controller determines to be installed on a leading vehicle of said convoy” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“the first controller is arranged to send an interrogation message on the at least one communication network” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“the second controller is arranged to receive the interrogation message from the at least one communication network” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“and retransmit a response message on the at least one communication network” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1].
With respect to Claim 5: Noffsinger discloses “The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 3, wherein the first controller is arranged to determine that the integrity of the convoy is compromised when it does not receive, via the at least one means of communication, the response message transmitted by the second controller on the at least one communication network within a predetermined time interval from when the first controller has sent the interrogation message; or the first controller is arranged to determine that the integrity of the convoy is compromised when it receives, through the at least one communication network, the response message transmitted by the second controller but such received response message differs from an expected response message” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1].
With respect to Claim 6: Noffsinger discloses “The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 3, wherein the second controller is arranged to determine that the integrity of the convoy is compromised when it does not receive, via the at least one means of communication, the response message transmitted by the first controller on the at least one communication network within a predetermined time interval from when the second controller has sent the interrogation message; or the second controller is arranged to determine that the integrity of the convoy is compromised when it receives, through the at least one communication network, the response message transmitted by the first controller but such received response message differs from an expected response message” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1].
With respect to Claim 7: Noffsinger discloses “The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 3, wherein said convoy further comprises at least a third vehicle” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“wherein said system for verifying the integrity of a convoy includes at least a third controller arranged to be coupled to said third vehicle” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1].
With respect to Claim 8: Noffsinger discloses “The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 7, wherein said third controller is arranged to determine the vehicle of the convoy on which it is installed” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1].
With respect to Claim 9: Noffsinger discloses “The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 8, wherein, when the third controller determines to be installed on an intermediate vehicle positioned in the convoy between said leading vehicle and said tail vehicle” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“the third controller is arranged to receive the interrogation message sent by the first controller through said at least one communication network and forward said interrogation message to the second controller through said at least one communication network” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“and the third controller is arranged to receive the response message sent by the second controller through said at least one communication network” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“and forward said response message to the first controller through said at least one communication network” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1].
With respect to Claim 15: Noffsinger discloses “The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 7, wherein said third controller is arranged to determine the vehicle of the convoy on which it is respectively installed by means of a software coding implemented by means of a process of sequential recognition of nodes of said at least one communication network” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1].
With respect to Claim 18: Noffsinger discloses “The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 1, wherein the communication network are two or more and are arranged to be connected to each other by means of a communication unit” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Noffsinger et al. (United States Patent Publication 2012/0287972) in view of Green et al. (United States Patent Publication 2021/017077).
With respect to Claims 10-11: While Noffsinger discloses “The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 1, wherein said first controller and said second controller are each made” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 7, wherein said third controller is made” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
Noffsinger does not specifically state that the controllers are associated with a SIL level.
Green, which is also train control system teaches “
“The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 1, wherein said first controller and said second controller are each made according to a safety integrity level greater than a predetermined minimum safety integrity level” [Green, ¶ 0081, 0089-0090, and 0106];
“The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 7, wherein said controller is made according to a safety integrity level greater than a predetermined minimum safety integrity level” [Green, ¶ 0081, 0089-0090, and 0106].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Green into the invention of Noffsinger to not only include using multiple controllers on rail vehicles for vehicle control functions such as integrity checking as Noffsinger discloses but to also have the controllers associated with a SIL level as taught by Green with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art Green into Noffsinger to create a more robust system that ensures safe operations of the vehicles [Green, ¶ 0018] Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well known elements such as using vehicle controllers with adhere to known and requires vehicles safety levels and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Noffsinger et al. (United States Patent Publication 2012/0287972) in view of Tione (United States Patent Publication 2020/0031330).
With respect to Claim 16: While Noffsinger discloses “The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 1, wherein the at least one communication network is arranged to allow communication according to a protocol” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
Noffsinger does not state what protocols the communication is being used.
Tione, which is also control system for trains teaches “wherein the at least one communication network is arranged to allow communication according to a predetermined safety protocol” [Tione, ¶ 0067].
“wherein said predetermined safety protocol is a black channel protocol” [Tione, ¶ 0067].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Tione into the invention of Noffsinger to not only include using multiple controllers on rail vehicles for vehicle control functions such as integrity checking as Noffsinger discloses but to also have the controllers associated with a known communication protocol as taught by Tione with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art Tione into Noffsinger to create a more robust system that complies with current guidelines of railway applications [Tione, ¶ 0067], thus following known safety standards. Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well known elements such as using vehicle controllers with adhere to known and requires vehicles safety levels and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claims 12, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Noffsinger et al. (United States Patent Publication 2012/0287972) in view of LeFebvre (United States Patent Publication 2016/0272228).
With respect to Claim 12: While Noffsinger discloses “The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 2, wherein said first controller and said second controller are arranged to determine the vehicle of the convoy on which they are respectively installed” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1];
“The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 7, wherein said third controller is arranged to determine the vehicle of the convoy on which it is respectively installed” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1].
Noffsinger does not state that the car location can be determined by optical means.
LeFebvre, which is also a train the conducts train integrity teaches “The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 2, wherein said first controller and said second controller are arranged to determine the vehicle of the convoy on which they are respectively installed by means of a physical or hardware coding implemented by optical technology means” [LeFebvre, ¶ 0017 and 0053];
“The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy according to claim 7, wherein said third controller is arranged to determine the vehicle of the convoy on which it is respectively installed by means of a physical or hardware coding implemented by optical technology means” [LeFebvre, ¶ 0017 and 0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of LeFebvre into the invention of Noffsinger to not only include using multiple controllers on rail vehicles for vehicle control functions such as integrity checking and determine their location as Noffsinger discloses but to also RFID tags to determine car locations, orientation, and consist as taught by LeFebvre with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art LeFebvre into Noffsinger to create a more robust that can determine and validate consist orientation, location, and consist make up thus improving control [LeFebvre, ¶ 0017]. Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well known elements such as using vehicle controllers with adhere to known and requires vehicles safety levels and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
With respect to Claim 19: While Noffsinger discloses “The system for verifying the integrity of a convoy for first, second, and third controllers” [Noffsinger, ¶ 0032-0033, 0045, 0047 with Figure 1].
Noffsinger does not specifically state that the controllers can be incorporated in other systems.
LeFebvre, which is also a train the conducts train integrity teaches “said first controller is included in a braking control unit or braking control module, or said second controller is included in a braking control unit or braking control module, or said first controller and said second controller are each included in respective braking control units or braking control modules” [LeFebvre, ¶ 0030].
With respect to Claim 20: Noffsinger discloses “said controller is included in a braking control unit or braking control module” [LeFebvre, ¶ 0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of LeFebvre into the invention of Noffsinger to not only include using multiple controllers on rail vehicles for vehicle control functions such as integrity checking and determine their location as Noffsinger discloses but to incorporate a network of control in the braking system as taught by LeFebvre with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art LeFebvre into Noffsinger to create a more robust that can use already used wired systems thus saving money and time for installation. Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well known elements such as using vehicle controllers with adhere to known and requires vehicles safety levels and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Prior Art (Not relied upon)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached form 892.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).a).
/JESS WHITTINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666c