DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The art rejections still apply though the rejections have been updated to address the amendments.
Applicant asserts in the Remarks that “The Office Action, however, has not established that the claimed features must necessarily be present. Accordingly, a prima facie case of anticipation has not been established” in paragraph 4 on page 4 of the Remarks. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is a matter of fact that graphene has distinct Raman peaks—the same claimed. Applicant has cited Saito (US 2022/0131146 A1) which states explicitly ratio G/D of a G band to a D band of the Raman spectrum of the reduced graphene oxide is preferably 1 or more (paragraph 456). The Office has cited two additional reference that provide further evidence. Kim (US 2021/0005895 A1) states that graphene has an average ratio of the maximum peak intensity of a D band at 1360±50 cm−1 to the maximum peak intensity of a G band at 1580±50 cm−1 of 0.06 to 0.5, obtained by Raman spectroscopy (paragraph 15). Hirose (US 2016/0233484 A1) states that broad peaks appeared at 1330 cm-1 and 1580 cm-1 in a shift value of RAMAN spectrum regarding graphite coat, and their intensity ratio I1330/ /I1580 is in the range of 1.5<I1330/I1580<3 (paragraph 23).
The rejections of claims 1 and 5 are only argued in the context of the supposed deficiencies in the rejections of claims 1 and 4. These deficiencies are not maintained. The arguments are therefore moot.
The double patenting rejections are held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/001,349 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claim encompasses the limitations of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/020,139 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claim encompasses the limitations of the instant claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 9,218,916 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims encompass the limitations of the instant claim.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 8,945,772 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims encompass the limitations of the instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirohashi (US 2012/0328953 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hirohashi discloses a composition comprising: a nine-membered carbocyclic ring with a hole (paragraph 12). Hirohashi discloses the composition as claimed. The properties associated with composition are not grounds for patentability (MPEP 2112 I) nor is the manner in which they are measured (MPEP 2113 I).
Regarding claim 4, Hirohashi discloses an apparatus comprising: graphene on the surface of an active material particle (paragraph 57), wherein the graphene comprises a nine-membered carbocyclic ring with a hole (paragraph 12). Hirohashi discloses the composition as claimed. The properties associated with composition are not grounds for patentability (MPEP 2112 I) nor is the manner in which they are measured (MPEP 2113 I).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Hirohashi discloses positive and negative electrodes comprising the particles (paragraph 77).
Regarding claim 9, Hirohashi discloses a battery and electrolyte (paragraph 62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirohashi as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Zhamu (US 2011/0159372 A1).
Hirohashi does not disclose the use of fluorine but does disclose dispersing the graphene in a solvent (paragraph 71). Zhamu—in an invention for graphene rings for batteries—discloses the addition of fluorocarbon functional groups to the edge of the graphene molecule (paragraph 102) so as to adjust the solubility or dispersibility of graphene in a solvent without significantly varying the electrical conductivity (paragraph 119). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to add fluorine functional groups to the graphene of Hirohashi so as to adjust the solubility or dispersibility of graphene in the desired and available solvents of Hirohashi without negatively affecting the electrical conductivity as suggested by Zhamu.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725