DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims’ Status
Claims 16-25, 27, and 29-33 are currently pending and being examined. Claims 16 and 18 have been amended. No claims have been newly cancelled or added by the Applicant.
Claim Objections
Claims 16-25, 27, and 29-33 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Re Claim 16, in lines 27-28 “the direction of the epitaxial layer” should be, and will be interpreted as, “a direction of the epitaxial layer” for proper antecedent basis.
Similarly, in line 3 of Claim 17, “the direction of the flat substrate” should be, and will be interpreted as, “a direction of the flat substrate”.
Claims 17-25, 27, and 29-33 inherit the objection to Claim 16.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-22, 24-25, 27, 29, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai (JP 2013243275 A, of record) in view of Francis et al (US 2013/0298823 A1, hereafter Francis).
Re Claim 16, Kawai discloses a method for producing a transistor with high electron mobility (FIGS. 11-12, with reference to FIG. 3; [0080]-[0083]), comprising:
a) growing an epitaxial layer (14; [0052], [0080]-[0085]), which comprises a semiconductor material ([0080]), onto a front side of a flat substrate (52; [0082]), wherein the flat substrate (52) is
i) removable from the epitaxial layer (14) by chemical etching ([0083]) and/or dry etching; and/or
ii) removable from the epitaxial layer by application of laser radiation having a certain wavelength;
b) applying at least one lateral and/or vertical transistor structure (18, 23, 24, 25; [0043]) to a front side of the epitaxial layer (top side of 14 in FIG. 11; [0083]);
c) applying a temporary wafer (28; FIG. 3; [0067]) to the front side of the epitaxial layer (top side of 14 in FIG. 11; [0083]);
d) removing the flat substrate (52; [0083]) from the bottom side of the epitaxial layer (14; [0083]);
e) applying a thermally conducting layer (11, 12; [0080]) to the bottom side of the epitaxial layer (14; [0080]); and
f) completely removing the temporary wafer (28; [0071]);
wherein the flat substrate (52) is completely removed from the bottom side of the epitaxial layer (14; [0083]), and the thermally conducting layer (11, 12) is applied to the bottom side of the epitaxial layer (14; [0080]) so that the thermally conducting layer (11, 12) contacts at least 80% of the bottom side of the epitaxial layer (14; [0080], thermal contact);
wherein the epitaxial layer (14) consists of a semiconductor material (14; [0052]) selected from the group consisting of GaN, AIN ([0052]), AlxGa1-xN, InGaN, InAIGaN, AlScN, Ga2O3 and combinations thereof, wherein x is a number between 0 and 1,
wherein the thermally conducting layer (11, 12) on the bottom side of the epitaxial layer (14) comprises a material (12) that is
electrically insulating ([0045]); or
electrically conductive, wherein the electrically conductive material has, in the direction of the epitaxial layer, a height in the range of 50 nm to 5um.
Kawai does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrically insulating material (12) is selected from the group consisting of TaC, diamond, and a combination thereof.
However, Francis teaches a device (FIG. 10; [0089]) comprising wherein the electrically insulating material (723; [0085]) is selected from the group consisting of TaC, diamond ([0085]), and a combination thereof.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations taught by Kawai with the limitations taught by Francis to substitute diamond as a functionally equivalent thermally conductive material due to its high electrical resistivity and thermal conduction capabilities as taught by Francis ([0017]-[0019]).
Re Claim 17, Kawai and Francis teach the method according to Claim 16, while Kawai further teaches wherein the epitaxial layer (14)
i) is grown on in the direction of the flat substrate (52) up to a height in the range of 200 nm to 50 um ([0047]: ~200 nm for thickness of 14); and/or
ii) has an extension of 25.4 mm to 300 mm in a direction parallel to the flat substrate.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05.I). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as discussed for Claim 16 with the limitations taught by Kawai to choose a height of 200 nm for the epitaxial layer (Kawai: 14) to be in the specified range to provide appropriate thickness for prevention of reaction between layers as taught by Kawai ([0047]).
Re Claim 18, Kawai and Francis teach the method according to Claim 16, while Kawai further teaches wherein the flat substrate (52)
i) is suitable for growing epitaxially a layer consisting of a material selected from the group consisting of GaN, AIN ([0008], Si(111) is at least suitable for growing AlN), AlxGa1-xN, InGaN, InAIGaN, AIScN, Ga2O3 and combinations thereof, each of said material is optionally doped, with x being a number between 0 and 1; and/or
ii) comprises a material selected from the group consisting of silicon carbide, AIN, sapphire, and combinations and mixtures thereof.
Re Claim 19, Kawai and Francis teach the method according to Claim 16, while Kawai further teaches wherein the flat substrate (52) has a height in the range of 100 um to 1.5 mm in the direction of the epitaxial layer (14; [0034]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05.I). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as discussed for Claim 16 with the limitations taught by Kawai to choose a height of 100 um for the flat substrate (Kawai: 52) to be in the specified range to provide appropriate thickness for epitaxial growth as taught by Kawai ([0034]).
Re Claim 20, Kawai and Francis teach the method according to Claim 16, while Kawai further teaches applying at least one electrical front contact (17; [0043]) to an upper side of the epitaxial layer (14; [0043]).
Re Claim 21, Kawai and Francis teach the method according to Claim 20, while Kawai further teaches wherein the application of the at least one electrical front contact (17) is carried out
i) after the application of at least one lateral and/or vertical structure, which is selected from the group consisting of transistor, Schottky diode structure, p-n diode structure, PIN diode structure, and combinations thereof, to the epitaxial layer, or after the removal of the temporary wafer; and/or
ii) by utilizing a material that has an electrical conductivity in the range of 10^-6 omega-m to 10^-8 omega-m; and/or
iii) by utilizing a material that has a thermal conductivity in the range of 10 to 2300 W/(mK); and/or
iv) by utilizing a material that comprises a metal; and/or
v) in such a way that the at least one electrical front-side contact has a height in the range of 50nm to 10 pm in the direction of the epitaxial layer; and/or
vi) by way of deposition ([0052]) or bonding.
Re Claim 22, Kawai and Francis teach the method according to Claim 16, while Kawai further teaches wherein the at least one lateral and/or vertical transistor structure (18, 23, 24, 25)
i) is applied in the form of a layer ([0043]); and
ii) comprises a semiconductor (18; [0043]); and/or
iii) is processed by a step selected from the group consisting of demetallization, wet-chemical etching, dry-chemical etching, insulator coating, ion implantation, diffusion, and combinations thereof.
Re Claim 24, Kawai and Francis teach the method according to Claim 16, while Kawai further teaches wherein the complete removal of the flat substrate (52) from the bottom side of the epitaxial layer (14) is effected by
i) chemical etching ([0083]), dry etching, and combinations thereof; and/or
ii) applying laser radiation having a certain wavelength.
Re Claim 25, Kawai and Francis teach the method according to Claim 16, while Kawai further teaches wherein the thermally conducting layer (11, 12) on the bottom side of the epitaxial layer
i) comprises a material that has a specific thermal conductivity in the range of 10 to 2300 W/(mK); and/or
ii) has been or is applied by way of deposition or bonding ([0084]).
Re Claim 27, Kawai and Francis teach the method according to Claim 16, while Kawai further teaches wherein the electrically insulating material (11)
has a specific electrical resistance of at least 10^10 ohm-m; and/or
is polycrystalline; and/or
has a height in the range of 20 um to 1.5 mm in the direction of the epitaxial layer (14; [0044]).
Re Claim 29, Kawai and Francis teach the method according to Claim 16, while it is not necessary for them to disclose any further described limitations of a thermally conducting material that is electrically conductive, since the alternative configuration of the thermally conducting material being electrically insulating is taught by Kawai and Francis (see rejection of Claim 16, particularly pertaining to lines 23-28 of Claim 16 and the wording of “or” in line 26).
Re Claim 33, Kawai discloses a transistor with high electron mobility (FIG. 10; [0080]-[0083]), comprising:
a) an epitaxial layer (14; [0080]), which comprises a semiconductor material ([0080]); and
b) at least one lateral and/or vertical transistor structure (18, 23, 24, 25; [0043]) on an upper side of the epitaxial layer (14 in FIG. 11; [0083]);
c) a thermally conducting layer (11, 12; [0080]) on a bottom side of the epitaxial layer (14; [0080]),
wherein the thermally conducting layer (11, 12), on the bottom side of the epitaxial layer (14; [0080]), contacts at least 80% of the bottom side of the epitaxial layer (14; [0080], thermal contact),
wherein the transistor is produced by the method of Claim 16 (see rejection of Claim 16 and incorporation of Francis).
Claims 23 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai and Francis as applied to Claim 16 further in view of Nie et al (US 2016/0013045 A1, of record, hereafter Nie).
Re Claim 23, Kawai and Francis teach the method according to Claim 16, but they do not explicitly disclose wherein the temporary wafer (Kawai: 28) is applied to the front side of the epitaxial layer (Kawai: 14) by gluing.
However, Nie teaches a method (FIG. 4; [0037]-[0039]) comprising wherein the temporary wafer (701; [0038]) is applied to the front side of the epitaxial layer (201; [0033]) by gluing ([0038]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as discussed for Claim 16 with the limitations of Nie to apply the temporary wafer (Kawai: 28) using glue to such that the carrier wafer can be easily removed while providing resistance to chemical attack during subsequent processing as taught by Nie ([0038]).
Re Claim 30, Kawai and Francis teach the method according to Claim 16, but they do not explicitly disclose applying at least one electrical back-side contact to a bottom side of the epitaxial layer (Kawai: 14).
However, Nie teaches a method (FIG. 6; [0042]) comprising applying at least one electrical back-side contact (801; [0042]) to a bottom side of the epitaxial layer (201; [0042]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as discussed for Claim 16 with the limitations of Nie to utilize an electrical back-side contact (Nie: 801) to provide for electrical contact to the epitaxial layer (Kawai: 14) as taught by Nie ([0042]).
Re Claim 31, Kawai, Francis, and Nie teach the method according to Claim 30, while Nie further teaches wherein the electrical back-side contact (801)
i) is applied to the bottom side of the epitaxial layer after the flat substrate has been removed, optionally after a local region of the thermally conducting layer has been removed; and/or
ii) comprises a material that has a specific electrical resistance of no more than 2-104 ohm-m; and/or
iii) comprises a material that has a specific thermal conductivity in the range of 150 to 380 W/(mK); and/or
iv) comprises a semiconductor material and/or metal ([0044]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as discussed for Claim 30 with the limitations of Nie to utilize an semiconductor/metal electrical back-side contact (Nie: 801) to provide for electrical contact to the epitaxial layer (Kawai: 14) as taught by Nie ([0042]).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai and Francis, as applied to Claim 16, further in view of Zhang et al (CN 107393858 A, of record, hereafter Zhang).
Re Claim 32, Kawai and Francis teach the method according to Claim 16, but they do not explicitly disclose wherein the complete removal of the temporary wafer (Kawai: 28) from the upper side of the epitaxial layer (Kawai: 14) is effected by a method selected from the group consisting of laser lift-off method, wet-chemical etching method, dry-chemical etching method, thermal method, thermally activated smart-cut method, and combinations thereof, optionally combined with an ion implantation method.
However, Zhang teaches a method (FIG. 6; pg. 4, paras. 8-11) comprising wherein the complete removal of the temporary wafer (9; pg. 4, para. 11) from the upper side of the epitaxial layer (2; pg. 3, para. 17) is effected by a method selected from the group consisting of laser lift-off method, wet-chemical etching method, dry-chemical etching method (pg. 3, para. 16), thermal method, thermally activated smart-cut method, and combinations thereof, optionally combined with an ion implantation method.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as discussed for Claim 16 with the limitations of Zhang to use a dry etching method to remove the temporary wafer (Kawai: 28) to ensure its complete removal as taught by Zhang (pg. 3, para. 16).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 1, see Remarks pg. 2 para. 1 to pg. 3 para. 1, filed 4/21/2026, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Kawai and Francis are analogous due to both references dealing with use of thermally conductive substrates for GaN-based semiconductor elements. The claim limitations also make no mention of the epitaxial layer being in direct physical contact with the thermally conducting layer, or that the thermally conducting layer comprises only (or more precisely, consists of) a material that is electrically insulating and selected from the group consisting of TaC, diamond, and a combination thereof.
Conclusion
/COLIN RUSSELL MCCUTCHEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892