DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu et al (US Patent 6201696B1) in view of Hori et al (US Publication 20160254255).
Regarding claim 1, Shimizu teaches a power semiconductor device which includes
an insulating substrate (Fig. 9, 2, column 18 lines 1-10, AlN or DBC),
a semiconductor element provided on a front surface of the insulating substrate (Fig. 9, 22), and
a gel-like first insulating material that seals the semiconductor element (Fig. 9, 91 – mislabeled as ‘9’ in Fig. 9, column 20 lines 55-60),
the device comprising a plate-shaped terminal for electrically connecting the semiconductor element and external equipment (Fig. 9, 71),
wherein a [[entire]] portion of the plate-shaped terminal surrounded by the first insulating material is covered with a second insulating material having a higher hardness than the first insulating material (Fig. 9, portion of 71 covered by 16 and surrounded by 91, resin harder than silicone gel, column 21 lines 2-5, column 2 line 7), wherein the gel-like first insulating material is in contact with a part of the semiconductor element and a part of the insulating substrate (Fig. 9, 91 in contact with part of 22 and 2).
Shimizu does not specifically teach wherein a bonded portion between the semiconductor element and an electrode of the insulating substrate is covered with the second insulating material and the entire portion of the plate shaped terminal surrounded by the first insulating material is covered with a second insulating material.
Hori teaches wherein a bonded portion between the semiconductor element and an electrode of the insulating substrate is entirely covered with the second insulating material (Fig. 1, bonded portion of 9a between 5 and 3 entirely covered with 13)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Shimizu to include a bonded portion between the semiconductor element and an electrode of the insulating substrate is covered with the second insulating material (so fully covering the electrode) as taught by Hori in order to improve the reliability and operability of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Shimizu as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 2 depends.
Shimizu does not specifically teach wherein one end of the plate-shaped terminal is bonded to an electrode of the front surface of the insulating substrate.
Hori teaches wherein one end of the plate-shaped terminal is bonded to an electrode of the front surface of the insulating substrate (Fig. 1, 9a bonded to top/front surface of 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Shimizu to include the terminal bonded to an electrode of the front surface of the insulating substrate as taught by Hori in order to improve the mechanical robustness of the device.
Regarding claim 3, Shimizu as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 3 depends.
Shimizu teaches further comprising a case that houses the insulating substrate, the semiconductor element, and the first insulating material (Fig. 9, case 6 housing 2, 22, and 91), wherein the plate-shaped terminal is provided in the case (Fig. 9, 71 in 8), and is electrically connected via a metal wire to an electrode of the front surface of the insulating substrate or an electrode of the semiconductor element (Fig. 9, wire 31 electrically connecting 71 to 22).
Regarding claim 5, Shimizu as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 5 depends.
Shimizu teaches wherein the semiconductor element and the electrode of the insulating substrate are bonded by a sintered metal (Fig. 9, conductive film 1, column 18 lines 1-10).
Furthermore, the present claim is drawn to a device, thus the method of sintering does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from that of the invention of Simizu.
It should be noted that a "product by process claim" is directed to the product per se, no matter how actually made, In re Hirao, 190 USPQ 15 at 17 (footnote 3). See also In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685; In re Luck, 177 USPQ 523; In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324; In re Avery, 186 USPQ 161; In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90 (209 USPQ 554 does not deal with this issue); and In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289, all of which make it clear that it is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a "product by process" claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in " product by process" claims or not. Note that applicant has the burden of proof in such cases, as the above caselaw makes clear. See also MPEP 2113 [R-1].
Regarding claim 6, Shimizu as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 6 depends.
Shimizu teaches wherein the second insulating material is at least one of a polyamideimide resin, an epoxy resin, a fluororesin, an acrylic resin, and a silicone resin (Fig. 9, 16, column 21 lines 2-5, resin).
Regarding claim 7, Shimizu as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 7 depends.
Shimizu teaches wherein the second insulating material is a resin, and is in contact with the first insulating material (Fig. 9, 16, column 21 lines 2-5, resin, in contact with 91).
Regarding claim 8, Shimizu as modified teaches the limitations of claim 7 upon which claim 8 depends.
Shimizu teaches wherein the second insulating material is at least one of a polyamideimide resin, an epoxy resin, a fluororesin, an acrylic resin, and a silicone resin (Fig. 9, 16, column 21 lines 2-5, resin).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Also, there is also a new ground of rejection presented for claims 1-3 and 5-8 that only uses Hori as a secondary reference and a new reference to Shimizu is used as the primary reference.
Applicant argues that Hori does not teach “a bonded portion between the semiconductor element and an electrode of the insulating substrate is covered with the second insulating material, and wherein the gel-like first insulating material is in contact with a part of the semiconductor element and a part of the insulating substrate”.
Hori Fig. 1 teaches a bonded portion between the semiconductor element 5 and electrode 9a (the potion bonding 9a to substrate 3) is covered with the second insulating material 13, and a gel-like first insulating material 15 in contact with a part of the semiconductor element 5 and a part of the insulating substrate 3.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeff Natalini can be reached at 571 272 2266. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NICHOLAS LELAND HUTSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818