Claims 1 to 3, 5, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nordhoff (US 20050222459 A1).
The Nordhoff reference teaches an apparatus for purification of (meth)acrylic acid. The apparatus consists of a means to feed a compound, in this case (meth)acrylic acid, mix containing liquid to be purified to a crystallization unit (CU) having number of tanks, forming crystals of the compound in CU, discharging a portion of a mother liquor outside of the purification apparatus, separating a slurry containing the formed crystals to a mother liquor and a slurry having an increased crystal concentration, feeding a portion of slurry in a wash column (entire application, especially, figures, pages 2, 3, paragraphs 0060-0101, 0112-0131, 0167-0278 and claims). The Nordhoff reference further discloses number CU (tanks) with hydraulic wash column, solid liquid separators with filter (figures, para. 0060-0101, 0112-0131, 0167- 0278 and claims). The reference further teaches sending mother liquor from one CU (tanks) to another CU tank and adjusting liquid levels (para 0060-0101, 0112-0131, 0167-0278 and claims). The Nordhoff reference teaches final mother liquor discharged from purification apparatus and depletion of (meth)acrylic acid in the mother liquor, note, claims. The final mother liquor discharged from purification apparatus comes from compound mix feed from which crystals were extracted, the compound mix must have purity higher than final mother liquor discharged from purification apparatus. Further, mother liquor separated from first wash column or subsequent wash columns, note figures. The apparatus of the reference has a means to separated crystals, which are melted and a portion is recycled to step a of feeding to CU, through crystallization.
With regards to claim 2, the Nordhoff reference teaches multiple tanks with each having lines to send slurry back upstream via a solid liquid separator, note figures 2 to 5.
With regards to claim 3, the Nordhoff reference teaches a mother liquid line from one tank to an upstream tank, note para 0060-0101.
With regards to claim 5, the Nordhoff reference teaches a mother liquid line from one tank to an upstream tank directly, note para 0060-0101.
With regards to claim 9, the Nordhoff reference teaches a crystallization unit with no scrapper mechanisms, note para 0277.
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nordhoff (US 20050222459).
The Nordhoff reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the outside line on the purification apparatus which can be a mother liquid line. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Nordhoff reference to include an outside line in the purification part of the apparatus in order to be able to control the concentration of the liquids by either adding or subtracting liquid via an outside line.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nordhoff (US 20050222459).
The Nordhoff reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the outside cooling means. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Nordhoff reference to include an outside cooling means in order to better control the temperature of the materials increasing uniformity in the crystals.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nordhoff (US 20050222459).
The Nordhoff reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the scaping mechanism in the crystallization unit. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Nordhoff reference to include a scrapper means in order to collect as much of the crystals as possible and keep the crystallization units from getting clogged.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nordhoff (US 20050222459).
The Nordhoff reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the centrifuge. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Nordhoff reference to include a centrifuge in separator in order to increase the speed of separation.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art in crystallization using n tanks.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714