DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The 12/18/2025 "Reply" elects without traverse and identifies claims 2-7, 29, and 30 as being drawn to Species A. Accordingly, Examiner has withdrawn claims 8-13 and 19-24 from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention. See, for example, 37 CFR § 1.142(b).
The 10/21/2025 restriction requirement is proper, is maintained, and is hereby made final.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the integrated antenna comprises one or more exposed vias configured as radiating components” of claim 5 in combination with the features of claims 1 and 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-4, 6-7, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choudhury (US Pub. No. 2009/0231225).
Regarding claim 2, in FIGs. 1-6, Choudhury discloses a package, comprising: a chiplet (360, paragraph [0025]) on a first carrier (240, paragraph [0018]) having a dielectric (paragraph [0019]) having two parallel sides and an antenna feed port (e.g. left side 355, paragraph [0026]) formed on a first (top) of the two parallel sides of the dielectric of the first carrier; and an antenna (e.g. left side 210, paragraph [0018]) on a second carrier (320/330) having two parallel sides and a radio frequency feed port (e.g. left side 355) formed on a first (bottom) of the two parallel sides of the second carrier and the antenna formed on a second side (top) of the two parallel sides, the first sides facing each other and the antenna feed port coupled to the radio frequency feed port forming a radio frequency signal interface; wherein at least one of the antenna feed port or the radio frequency feed port comprises a ball grid array (bumps 355, see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 3, in FIGs. 1-6, Choudhury discloses that the first carrier comprises an integrated antenna (350, paragraph [0024]) that is formed on or integrated in an edge of the first carrier, wherein the integrated antenna is coupled to the chiplet (paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 4, in FIGs. 1-6, Choudhury discloses that the integrated antenna is configured as an end-fire antenna (paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 6, in FIGs. 1-6, Choudhury discloses that the integrated antenna is configured as at least one of a Yagi-antenna or Yagi-Uda antenna (paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 7, in FIGs. 1-6, Choudhury discloses that the second carrier comprises at least a first sub-carrier (320) and a second sub-carrier (330), each of the first sub-carrier and the second sub-carrier comprising at least one antenna (the first sub-carrier is in direct contact with antenna 210, the second sub-carrier is in direct contact with antenna 350).
Regarding claim 29, in FIGs. 1-6, Choudhury discloses that the first carrier comprises a further antenna feed port (e.g. on the right side) and the second carrier comprises a further radio frequency feed port (e.g. 355 on the right side) formed on the first side of the second carrier and a further antenna (e.g. 210 on the right side) formed on a second side of the second carrier; wherein a further radio frequency signal interface comprises the further antenna feed port (e.g. 355 on the right side) coupled to the further radio frequency feed port; and wherein the further antenna has a different main radio frequency propagation direction (e.g. to the right, see FIG. 6) than the antenna.
Regarding claim 30, in FIGs. 1-6, Choudhury discloses that the antennas are connected through different line feeds with the antenna feed ports, and the different line feeds are embedded in the first carrier (see FIG. 4).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolter (US Pub. No. 2016/0240492).
Regarding claim 2, in FIG. 5, Wolter discloses a package, comprising: a chiplet (516, paragraph [0045]) on a first carrier (510/518, paragraph [0046]) having a dielectric (518) having two parallel sides and an antenna feed port (520/532) formed on a first (top) of the two parallel sides of the dielectric of the first carrier; and an antenna (526, paragraph [0045]) on a second carrier (524) having two parallel sides and a radio frequency feed port (522) formed on a first (bottom) of the two parallel sides of the second carrier and the antenna formed on a second side (top) of the two parallel sides, the first sides facing each other and the antenna feed port coupled to the radio frequency feed port forming a radio frequency signal interface; wherein at least one of the antenna feed port or the radio frequency feed port comprises a ball grid array (solder ball array 550 and associated pads, paragraph [0046]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choudhury (US Pub. No. 2009/0231225) in view of Naqvi (“Via-Monopole Based Quasi Yagi-Uda Antenna for W-band Applications using Through Glass Silicon Via (TGSV) Technology,” provided by Applicant in the 7/11/2025 IDS).
Regarding claim 5, Choudhury discloses that the integrated antenna is a quasi-Yagi-Uda antenna (paragraph [0024]).
Choudhury appears not to explicitly disclose that the quasi-Yagi-Uda antenna comprises one or more exposed (interpreted as exposed to other materials/environment) vias configured as radiating components.
The art however well recognized one or more exposed vias configured as radiating components to be suitable for use as a quasi-Yagi-Uda antenna configuration. See, for example, Naqvi, abstract and FIG. 1.
According to well-established patent law precedents (see, for example, M.P.E.P. § 2144.07), therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have formed the Choudhury disclosed quasi-Yagi-Uda antenna from one or more exposed (interpreted as exposed to other materials/environment) vias configured as radiating components for its recognized suitability as a quasi-Yagi-Uda antenna configuration.
Conclusion
/TUCKER J WRIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891