DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references/or references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, the Applicant has amended the claims to add “after the plasma is formed and while the plasma is sustained in the process chamber”, such that the scope of the claims has changed, thus requiring further search and consideration. The resulting rejection, based on United States Patent Application No. 2014/0349417 to O’Neill et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2005/0264219 to Dhindsa et al and United States Patent Application No. 2006/0226786 to Lin et al is presented below.
The Applicant further argues that O’Neill is a teaching away from real time detection after the plasma is formed as O’Neill teaches a no plasma slope golden calculation. However, O’Neill teaches also teaches that this apparatus can be used for a plasma processing in Fig. 5. As such, O’Neill is not a teaching away from using this apparatus during plasma processing testing, and thus can be used for plasma processing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2014/0349417 to O’Neill et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2005/0264219 to Dhindsa et al and United States Patent Application No. 2006/0226786 to Lin et al.
In regards to Claim 1, O’Neill teaches a semiconductor process apparatus Fig. 2B, 3A comprising: a process chamber 102 including a chuck 104 configured to carry a wafer 103; an upper electrode assembly 108 configured to excite a process gas 148 in the process chamber to form a plasma 116A; and a power adjustment assembly 134, 124, 130 connected to the upper electrode assembly 108 and configured to detect a bias voltage value on an upper surface of the chuck in real-time (as 130 is connected to a VI-sensor 134A corrected to the chuck [0043] and measured voltage at this point during plasma and pointed to measure the top surface of the chuck as shown in Fig. 2B) after the plasma is formed and while the plasma is sustained in the process chamber (as it can be used in golden processing but as a process test), the bias voltage value being directly related to a sheath voltage with a same change trend (which is implicit, as the plasma generated creates a current of voltage and creates a plasma slope [0059-0067]), adjust output power of the upper electrode assembly in real-time according without changing power of a lower electrode (as the controller is not connected to the bias 162 or the power 160 connected to the chuck); wherein the lower electrode is arranged on the chuck (as it is chuck 104); and an RF bias power supply 160 and a matching device 162 of the lower electrode are connected to the chuck and load RF energy to the chuck without being connected to and impacted by the power adjustment assembly, as shown in Fig. 2B and 3A [0023-0080].
O’Neill does not expressly teach the bias voltage is detected on an upper surface of the electrostatic chuck, even though it is suggested or that the bias voltage is detected in real time after the plasma is formed and while the plasma is sustained in the process chamber.
Dhindsa teaches a semiconductor processing apparatus Fig. 1, wherein the upper surface of the chuck 16 is a central metal bottom electrode [0028] that is connected to a DC chucking voltage for clamping the substrate which has a DC bias voltage detector 70, the DC bias being formed from the plasma, the DC bias voltage detector being connected to a controller 24 [0027-0068]. Dhindsa further teaches that detecting the DC bias voltage of the electrode provides improved control over the electric fields over the RF voltage which provides improved control over the features of a workpiece being processed [0021].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of O’Neill with the voltage sensor is configured to detect a DC voltage on an upper surface of the electrostatic chuck in real-time, the DC voltage being the bias voltage value, as per the teachings of Dhindsa. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of improving control over the features of a workpiece being processed. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
O’Neill in view of Dhindsa does not expressly teach the power adjustment assembly calculates a difference between the bias voltage value and a target bias voltage value, and in response to the difference being greater than a preset threshold, adjust output power of the upper electrode assembly in real-time according to the difference until the difference is less than or equal to the preset threshold to cause a density of the plasma to be within a normal range.
Lin teaches a semiconductor process apparatus Fig. 1, comprising: a process chamber 110 including a chuck 150 configured to carry a wafer 151; an upper electrode assembly 131 configured to excite a process gas in the process chamber to form a plasma [0044-0049]; and a power adjustment assembly (180, 170, 140, 200) connected to the upper electrode assembly through 140, 200 configured to detect a bias voltage value of the chuck in real-time (as there is feedback control [0050-0052]), the bias voltage value being directly related to a sheath voltage with a same change trend (as the RF voltage is proportional to the sheath voltage [0058]), calculate a difference between the bias voltage value (measured for the electrostatic chuck, i.e., the substrate/wafer) and a target bias voltage value (or a predefined value [0052]), and in response to the difference being greater than a preset threshold (which is implicit, as the difference is used to create a first and a second control signal that is used to control the plasma power generator and an RF bias voltage power (see claims 1-7), adjust output power of the upper electrode assembly in real time (i.e., feedback) according to the difference until the difference is less than or equal to the preset threshold to cause a density of the plasma to be within a normal range, without changing power of a lower range, wherein the lower electrode is arranged on the chuck (as it is part of the electrostatic chuck) [0048; 0043-0087], Claims 1-8. Lin teaches that the method therein controls the energy and density of the ions impacting the surface of the wafer to create a desired plasma status [0028-0033].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the method applied to the apparatus of O’Neill in view of Dhindsa, with the method of calculating a difference between the bias voltage value and a target bias voltage value, and in response to the difference being greater than a preset threshold, adjust output power of the upper electrode assembly in real-time according to the difference until the difference is less than or equal to the preset threshold to cause a density of the plasma to be within a normal range, as per the teachings of Lin. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of to create a desired plasma status. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regards to Claim 2, O’Neill teaches the power adjustment assembly includes: a voltage sensor 134A configured to detect the bias voltage value on the upper surface of the chuck in real-time (as it is provided for feedback, [0028, 0037, 0038]) and, as per the teachings of Lin transfer the bias voltage value to a voltage comparator 180; and the voltage comparator configured to calculate the difference between the bias voltage value and the target/predetermined bias voltage value S102, and in response to the difference being greater than the preset threshold, compare the bias voltage value to the target bias voltage value, in response to the bias voltage value being lower than the target bias voltage value, reduce the output power of the upper electrode assembly, in response to the bias voltage value being higher than the target bias voltage value, increase the output power value of the upper electrode assembly, and in response to the difference being less than or equal to the preset threshold, maintain the output power of the upper electrode assembly unchanged, which is the implied functionality that is expressed in how the control signals control the plasma power generator from the detected bias as a feedback mechanism to achieve a desired etching rate [0056-0087]. Specifically, the additional teachings of Lin calculate the difference of a measured bias vs a target/predetermined bias and then control the plasma power generator based on said difference calculated via another control signal to create a desired plasma etch rate, which would implicitly raise, lower, or keep the power at a certain level, as per the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 3, O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin teaches that the upper electrode assembly has its voltage adjusted in a feedback manner, but O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin does not expressly teach an adjustment amplitude of the output power of the upper electrode assembly adjusted by the voltage comparator and the difference between the bias voltage value and the target bias voltage value is positively correlated.
However, this is a functional limitation based on the power applied to the upper electrode and the plasma functioning/processing of the system. It has been held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). Also, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP 2115. As the apparatus of O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin is substantially the same as the claimed apparatus, the apparatus of O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin would be capable of fulfilling the limitations of the claim and thus be able to have an adjustment amplitude of the output power of the upper electrode assembly adjusted by the voltage comparator and the difference between the bias voltage value and the target bias voltage value is positively correlated, there being no structural difference between the apparatus of O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin and that of the claim, and as O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin teaches the adjustment of the plasma power as a direct relation to the RF bias difference with a target bias.
In regards to Claim 4, O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin teaches the voltage comparator is configured to determine the adjustment amplitude/current/voltage corresponding to the difference according to a difference interval corresponding to the difference and a preset correspondence (as shown in the steps in Fig. 2-5d of Lin) between the difference interval and the adjustment amplitude; and adjust the output power of the upper electrode assembly according to the adjustment amplitude, as per the feedback control of the RF power and RF bias, as per the teachings of Lin above.
In regards to Claim 5, O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin does not expressly teach the correspondence between the difference interval and the adjustment amplitude includes
a first difference interval, the difference being greater than or equal to 50% of the target bias voltage value; a second difference interval, the difference being greater than or equal to 20% of the target bias voltage value and less than 50% of the target bias voltage value; a third difference interval, the difference being greater than or equal to 5% of the target bias voltage value and less than 20% of the target bias voltage value; and a fourth difference interval, the difference being greater than or equal to 1% of the target bias voltage value and less than 5% of the target bias voltage value; wherein: a first adjustment amplitude corresponding to the first difference interval is larger than a second adjustment amplitude corresponding to the second difference interval; the second adjustment amplitude is larger than a third adjustment amplitude corresponding to the third difference interval; and the third adjustment amplitude is greater than a fourth adjustment amplitude corresponding to the fourth difference interval.
However, this is a functional limitation based on the power applied to the upper electrode and the plasma functioning/processing of the system. It has been held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). Also, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP 2115. As the apparatus of O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin is substantially the same as the claimed apparatus, the apparatus of O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin would be capable of fulfilling the limitations of the claim and thus be able to have a plasma process where the correspondence between the difference interval and the adjustment amplitude includes
a first difference interval, the difference being greater than or equal to 50% of the target bias voltage value; a second difference interval, the difference being greater than or equal to 20% of the target bias voltage value and less than 50% of the target bias voltage value; a third difference interval, the difference being greater than or equal to 5% of the target bias voltage value and less than 20% of the target bias voltage value; and a fourth difference interval, the difference being greater than or equal to 1% of the target bias voltage value and less than 5% of the target bias voltage value; wherein: a first adjustment amplitude corresponding to the first difference interval is larger than a second adjustment amplitude corresponding to the second difference interval; the second adjustment amplitude is larger than a third adjustment amplitude corresponding to the third difference interval; and the third adjustment amplitude is greater than a fourth adjustment amplitude corresponding to the fourth difference interval, there being no structural difference between the apparatus of O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin and that of the claim, and as O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin teaches real time feedback control of the apparatus that would allow for feedback control and adjustments to the power/voltages over a course of many different time intervals.
In regards to Claim 6, O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin does not expressly teach the first adjustment amplitude is greater than or equal to 50W; the second adjustment amplitude is greater than or equal to 20W; the third adjustment amplitude is greater than or equal to 5W; and the fourth adjustment amplitude is greater than or equal to 1W.
However, this is a functional limitation based on the power applied to the upper electrode and the plasma functioning/processing of the system. It has been held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). Also, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP 2115. As the apparatus of O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin is substantially the same as the claimed apparatus, the apparatus of O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin would be capable of fulfilling the limitations of the claim and thus be able to have the first adjustment amplitude is greater than or equal to 50W; the second adjustment amplitude is greater than or equal to 20W; the third adjustment amplitude is greater than or equal to 5W; and the fourth adjustment amplitude is greater than or equal to 1W, there being no structural difference between the apparatus of O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin and that of the claim.
In regards to Claim 7, O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin teaches wherein the preset threshold is within 1% of the target bias voltage value, as the difference is used to create a signal to minimize the difference to create a desired plasma etching, as per the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 9, O’Neill does not expressly teach the upper surface of the chuck is an upper surface made of a metal layer, the voltage sensor is configured to detect a DC voltage an upper surface of the metal layer in real-time, the DC voltage being the bias voltage value.
Dhindsa teaches a semiconductor processing apparatus Fig. 1, wherein the upper surface of the chuck 16 is a central metal bottom electrode [0028] that is connected to a DC chucking voltage for clamping the substrate which has a DC bias voltage detector 70, the DC bias being formed from the plasma, the DC bias voltage detector being connected to a controller 24 [0027-0068]. Dhindsa further teaches that detecting the DC bias voltage of the electrode provides improved control over the electric fields over the RF voltage which provides improved control over the features of a workpiece being processed [0021].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of O’Neill with the metal upper surface of the chuck wherein the voltage sensor is configured to detect a DC voltage an upper surface of the metal layer in real-time, the DC voltage being the bias voltage value, as per the teachings of Dhindsa. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of improving control over the features of a workpiece being processed. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable overUnited States Patent Application No. 2014/0349417 to O’Neill et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2005/0264219 to Dhindsa et al and United States Patent Application No. 2006/0226786 to Lin et al, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of United States Patent Application No. 2019/0393021 to Hironaka.
The teachings of O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin are relied upon as set forth in the above 103 rejection.
In regards to Claim 8, O’Neill teaches a semiconductor process apparatus Fig. 2B, 3A which gives feedback control with a substrate support/electrostatic chuck 104 attached to a voltage sensor 134a that obtains an ion current measured data and an RF voltage data, the voltage sensor converting the voltage data into the bias voltage value as per the teachings of Lin [0051-0052] as a result of using the Power/Voltage equation and submits it to the controller to change the output power of the plasma power generator 140 so that etching/plasma reaction speed is monitored and is more accurate as per the teachings of Lin [0043-0087].
O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin does not expressly teach the upper surface of the chuck is an upper surface made of a ceramic material layer, but Lin does expressly teach that the top surface of the support 150 can be an electrostatic chuck.
Hironaka teaches a substrate support/chuck 107 can be made with an electrode 107 covered by a dielectric film made out of ceramic [0029].
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 II. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin with the support/chuck of Hironaka.
Additionally, it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make a chuck and its upper surface analogous to that of O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin out of ceramic, as taught by Hironaka, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so. The resulting apparatus would fulfill the limitations of Claim 8.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2014/0349417 to O’Neill et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2005/0264219 to Dhindsa et al and United States Patent Application No. 2006/0226786 to Lin et al, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of United States Patent Application No. 2023/0230805 to Drewery et al.
The teachings of O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin are relied upon as set forth in the above 103 rejection.
In regards to Claim 10, O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin does not expressly teach the power adjustment assembly further includes: an analog-to-digital converter-configured to convert the bias voltage value transferred by the voltage sensor in an analog signal into a digital signal and transfer the digital signal to the voltage comparator.
Drewery teaches a plasma processing system with a bias matching Fig. 1,4 that has a voltage sensor system 410 that has a voltage sensor that senses the voltage at the substrate support/chuck and an ADC that is coupled to the controller 412/voltage comparator [0175; 0046-0321]. Drewery further teaches that this is advantageous in co-locating the centralized synchronization device without needing to download recipes and finding ways to synchronizing generators and allows for real time metrics [0006-0020].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of O’Neill in view of Dhindsa and Lin with the teachings of Drewery by adding an ADC to the voltage sensor and the voltage comparator. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of real time metrics. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. United States Patent Application No. 2014/0062495 to Carter which teaches a plasma power voltage monitor.
/TIFFANY Z NUCKOLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716