DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-6, 9-34 are pending. Claims 9-26 and 29-32 are withdrawn. Prior objections and rejections not included below are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments and amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigemura (US 9072313 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Shigemura teaches a method for identifying flavor compounds via cell-based assays (Column 50, Line 53-Colun 51, Line 4). Shigemura teaches that agonists of T1R1/T1R3 receptors (Column 5, Lines 25-28) include kokumi flavor compounds (Column 25, Lines 53-55). Note that the claimed sequences correspond to T1R receptors (see search report dated 10/1/2025).
Shigemura teaches that the method comprises introducing the compounds to receptors expressed in cell lines (Column 50, Line 59-61). Note that where Shigemura teaches receptor expression in a cell line, Shigemura teaches that the cells “transiently or stably” express the taste receptor, as claimed. Note that where Shigemura teaches that compounds are screened for “hits” against cell lines, Shigemura teaches comparison of the activity of the taste receptor in the presence vs. absence of the test compound.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill to utilize the cell-based assays of Shigemura to identify kokumi flavor compounds. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Shigemura teaches that T1R receptors can be used to identify compounds that impart a kokumi flavor.
Regarding Claim 2, Shigemura teaches a method for identifying flavor compounds via cell-based assays (Column 50, Lines 53-Colun 51, Line 4). Shigemura teaches that agonists of T1R1/T1R3 receptors (Column 5, Lines 25-28) include kokumi flavor compounds (Column 25, Lines 53-55). Note that the claimed sequences correspond to T1R receptors (see search report dated 10/1/2025).
Shigemura teaches that the assay is run by comparing the dose response in the presence of the test compound while in the presence of known flavor compounds (Column 52, Lines 35-43).
Shigemura teaches that the receptors are expressed in cell lines (Column 50, Line 59-61). Note that where Shigemura teaches that compounds are screened for “hits” against cell lines, Shigemura teaches comparison of the activity of the taste receptor in the presence vs. absence of the test compound.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill to utilize the cell-based assays of Shigemura to identify kokumi flavor compounds, and additionally to have utilized the assay in the presence of known kokumi compounds. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Shigemura teaches that T1R receptors can be used to identify compounds that impart a kokumi flavor.
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, where Shigemura teaches further screening and testing of identified compounds (Column 50, Lines 6-67), Shigemura teaches “identifying” and “selecting” of the active test compounds as claimed.
Regarding Claim 5, Shigemura teaches that the assay is run by comparing the dose response in the presence of the test compound while in the presence of known flavor compounds (Column 52, Lines 35-43). Note that it would have been obvious to have utilized the method of Shigemura to identify kokumi compounds, since Shigemura teaches that the method can be used to develop kokumi flavors, and additionally to have tested kokumi compounds in the presence of known kokumi compounds.
Claims 6, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigemura as applied to Claims 2 and 5, above in view of Xu (“Investigation of umami and kokumi taste-active components in bovine bone marrow extract produced during enzymatic hydrolysis and Maillard reaction”, DOI: 10.1111/ijfs.13893, July 2018)
Regarding Claims 6, 27, and 28, modified Shigemura teaches the method for identifying kokumi compounds as discussed above, but does not discuss specific kokumi compounds.
Xu teaches that gamma-glutamyl peptides such as γ -Glu-Val, γ -Glu-Cys and γ -Glu-Val-Gly are known to induce a kokumi taste (Page 2466, Paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to have utilize the peptides taught by Xu, including gamma-glutamyl peptides, as claimed, as the kokumi taste compound of modified Shigemura. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Xu teaches that such are known kokumi compounds.
Claims 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigemura as applied to Claims 1 and 2, above, and in view of Li (“Human receptors for sweet and umami taste”, DOI: 10.1073/pnas.072090199, 2002).
Regarding Claims 33 and 34, Shigemura teaches the method as discussed above in regards to Claims 1 and 2 but does not discuss measuring calcium ion concentration.
Li teaches that T1R response can be measured calcium response of the cells (Page 4693, “Results and Discussion, Paragraphs 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to measure the response of the assay via calcium ion concentration. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Li teaches measuring calcium response is a known method for measuring T1R response, and measuring calcium ion concentration is known method of measuring calcium response.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 27-28, and 33-34 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/D.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791