DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 1/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 9-34 are pending. Claims 9-26, 29-32 are withdrawn. Prior objections and rejections not included below are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments and amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 27-28, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misaka (“Development of a Cultured Cell-Based Human-Taste Evaluation System”, DOI:10.1271/bbb.130288, May 2014) in view of Xu (“Investigation of umami and kokumi taste-active components in bovine bone marrow extract produced during enzymatic hydrolysis and Maillard reaction”, DOI: 10.1111/ijfs.13893, July 2018)
Regarding Claim 1, Misaka teaches a method for quantifying taste intensity (Page 1, Abstract). The method comprises utilizing a cell-based assay (Page 1, Section I, Paragraph 1) expressing human taste receptors to recognize specific taste compounds (Page 1614, Column 1, Paragraph 3).
Misaka does not specifically teach the use of the claimed polypeptide sequence to recognize kokumi tastes.
However, the claimed polypeptide sequences correspond to known human taste receptors (see search report dated 10/1/2025, Sequence ID 1, filename US-18-254-146-1.rai, Result #1, and Sequence ID 2, US-18-254-146-2.rai, Result #2).
Where Misaka teaches the use of human taste receptors in cellular assays, and where the claimed polypeptide sequences are known human taste receptors, it would have been obvious to have utilized the claimed polypeptide sequences in a cellular assay intended to recognize compounds that promote the perception of taste. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since the claimed polypeptide sequences are known human taste receptors.
Misaka additionally does not discuss quantifying a kokumi taste.
Xu teaches that a kokumi taste is produced by “taste-active peptides” (Abstract) which can be perceived by human taste assessors (Page 2468, “Sensory evaluation”). Xu additionally teaches that kokumi is known to activate taste receptors in humans (Page 2466, Paragraph 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method of Misaka in detecting compounds which can produce a kokumi taste. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Xu teaches that kokumi compounds are known to be perceived by human taste receptors.
Regarding Claim 2, Misaka teaches that low molecular weight compounds can modulate the perceived intensity of taste. Misaka teaches that amounts of a taste modulator compound, together with a known taste compound, can determine whether the flavor is enhanced by the presence of the taste modulator compound (Page 1615, “ Application of the Cellular Assay System to Screening for Effective Taste Enhancers”.
Misaka does not address the detection of a kokumi enhancing compound. Xu teaches that a kokumi taste is enhanced via “taste-active peptides” (Abstract) compared to a control substance (Abstract) in a human sensory panel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method of Misaka in detecting compounds which can enhance kokumi taste. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Xu teaches that kokumi compounds are known to be perceived by human taste receptors and additionally that certain compounds are known to enhance kokumi tastes.
Regarding Claim 3-4, modified Misaka teaches identification of kokumi enhancing compounds (Abstract) according to Claim 1. Note that since Misaka teaches identification of taste compounds, and additionally teaches use of the compounds in e.g. food products (Page 1616, Paragraph 1), Misaka teaches the steps of “identification and “selection” as claimed.
Regarding Claim 5, Misaka teaches the cell assay as described above in regards to Claim 1. Misaka additionally teaches that low molecular weight compounds can modulate the perceived intensity of taste. Misaka teaches that amounts of a taste modulator compound, together with a known taste compound, can determine whether the flavor is enhanced by the presence of the taste modulator compound (Page 1615, “Application of the Cellular Assay System to Screening for Effective Taste Enhancers”).
Misaka does not address the detection of a kokumi enhancing compound. Xu teaches that a kokumi taste is enhanced via “taste-active peptides” (Abstract) compared to a control substance (Abstract) in a human sensory panel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method of Misaka in detecting compounds which can enhance kokumi taste. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Xu teaches that kokumi compounds are known to be perceived by human taste receptors and additionally that certain compounds are known to enhance kokumi tastes.
Regarding Claim 6, Xu teaches that gamma-glutamyl peptides such as γ -Glu-Val, γ -Glu-Cys and γ -Glu-Val-Gly are known to induce a kokumi taste (Page 2466, Paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to have utilize the peptides taught by Xu, including gamma-glutamyl peptides, as claimed, as the kokumi taste compound of Xu. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Xu teaches that such compounds induce a strong kokumi taste.
Regarding Claim 27, Xu teaches that the test compounds (i.e. the “taste-active peptides” of Xu) impart a kokumi flavor (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 28, Xu teaches that the use of γ -Glu-Val, γ -Glu-Cys and γ -Glu-Val-Gly which are dipeptides and tripeptides.
Regarding Claims 33 and 34, Misaka teaches that the activation level of taste receptors is measured by measuring calcium channel activity, which is the same as measuring calcium concentration (Page 1613, “Measurement of Taste Intensities Using Human Taste Receptors”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 and 27-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791