DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-5) in the reply filed on 1/9/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “with improved capacity characteristics and lifespan characteristics” in claim 1 lines 1 and 2is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “with improved capacity characteristics and lifespan characteristics” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what the limitation is adding to the claim and what the claim is compared to, to yield the specific results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun (US 2014/0158932).
As to claim 1, Sun discloses a cathode active material with improved capacity characteristics and lifespan characteristics ([0008], discussed throughout), wherein the cathode active material comprises an aggregate of primary particles forming a secondary particle ([0008], figure 1, discussed throughout) and has an orientation from an inside of the secondary particle to an outside of the secondary particle (figure 1, [0051]-[0052], discussed throughout).
As to claim 2, Sun discloses wherein, the density gradually changes from the inside of the secondary particle to the outside of the secondary particle formed of the aggregate of the primary particles (figure 3, [0055], [0018], discussed throughout). Sun is silent to wherein the cathode active material has an orientation formed by firing a density gradient precursor. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production (see MPEP 2113).
As to claim 3, Sun discloses wherein, the primary particles have a plate-shaped, needle-shaped, or amorphous particle form (figure 1, needle shape; discussed throughout).
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Yun (US 2020/0119351).
As to claim 1, Yun discloses a cathode active material with improved capacity characteristics and lifespan characteristics ([0004]-[0006], discussed throughout), wherein the cathode active material comprises an aggregate of primary particles forming a secondary particle and has an orientation from an inside of the secondary particle to an outside of the secondary particle (figures 1A and 1B, [0034], discussed throughout).
As to claim 2, Yun discloses wherein, the density gradually changes from the inside of the secondary particle to the outside of the secondary particle formed of the aggregate of the primary particles ([0034], [0045], [0052], discussed throughout). Sun is silent to wherein the cathode active material has an orientation formed by firing a density gradient precursor. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production (see MPEP 2113).
As to claim 3, Yun discloses wherein, the primary particles have a plate-shaped, needle-shaped, or amorphous particle form ([0058], discussed throughout).
As to claim 4, Yun discloses wherein, the secondary particle has a specific surface area of 1 to 30 m2/g ([0059], discussed throughout) and an average particle diameter (D50) of 2 to 20 μm ([0029], [0056], discussed throughout).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2014/0158932) as applied to claim 1 above.
As to claim 5, Sun discloses wherein, the cathode active material is a lithium-nickel composite oxide represented by the following:
Lix[NiyCozMnwMv]O2;
where M is at least one selected from Ba, Ca, Zr, Ti, Mg, Ta, Nb, and Mo; and 0.8<y<1, 0<z<0.8, 0<w<0.05, and 0≤v≤0.2 ([0029], discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun (US 2020/0119351) as applied to claim 1 above.
As to claim 5, Yun discloses wherein, the cathode active material is a lithium-nickel composite oxide represented by the following:
Lix[NiyCozMnwMv]O2;
where M is at least one selected from Ba, Ca, Zr, Ti, Mg, Ta, Nb, and Mo; and 0.8<y<1, 0<z<0.8, 0<w<0.05, and 0≤v≤0.2 ([0080], discussed throughout). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KR 10-1593401B1 as cited within IDS sent on 5/25/2023, can be used for claims 1 and 3-5. Then can be modified with US 2006/0105239 paragraph [0056] for claim 2. This is just to expedite prosecution.
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724