DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/27/25.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “handling device” in claim 1; and “engagement member” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 2364986 A (hereinafter “McGinty”).
Regarding claim 1 McGinty discloses a trolley for transporting (capable of transporting; i.e. this is a functional limitation) one or more stud tensioner devices in a nuclear plant, the trolley comprising:
a support frame (S; see annotated figure below) for supporting (capable of supporting; i.e. this is a functional limitation) a stud tensioner;
a plurality of wheels (19) rotatably mounted to the frame (S); and
a handling device (30) mounted to the frame (S) so as to be movable with respect to the frame (S), the handling device (30) configured to engage and move the stud tensioner relative to the support frame (S).
Regarding claim 2 McGinty discloses the above trolley, and further discloses wherein the support frame (S) comprises an elongate gantry (15) to which the handling device (30) is movably mounted so as to be movable along a longitudinal axis of the gantry (15).
Regarding claim 3 McGinty discloses the above trolley, and further discloses wherein the gantry (15) extends substantially horizontally.
Regarding claim 4 McGinty discloses the above trolley, and further discloses wherein the support frame (S) comprises a base (20) for supporting (capable of supporting; i.e. this is a functional limitation) the stud tensioner thereon, the gantry (15) disposed above, and spaced from, the base (20).
Regarding claim 5 McGinty discloses the above trolley, and further discloses wherein the wheels (19) are rotatably mounted to the base (20).
Regarding claim 6 McGinty discloses the above trolley, and further discloses wherein the handling device (30) comprises a winch, the winch comprising an engagement member (see fig. 3; i.e. or else the load 44 could not be engaged) for engaging (capable of supporting; i.e. this is a functional limitation) the stud tensioner and moving the stud tensioner along a substantially vertical axis.
Regarding claim 7 McGinty discloses the above trolley, and further discloses wherein the support frame (S, above) is configured to be convertable between a collapsed configuration and an expanded configuration (see abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Such references show various forms of apparatus which comprise at least one similar feature to the present application.
/NATHANIEL L ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654