DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 07/01/2026 claims 1-6 and 8-11 are pending. Independent claim 1 has been amended by cancelling limitations “an exchangeable rechargeable battery pack for an electric device” that were previously presented. Claim 7 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant argues in page 4 of the Remarks dated 07/01/2026 that Pham teaches that adapter and charger 102 are not separate components thus there is no electromechanical interface of the adapter in accordance with amended claim 1. Particularly, the applicant has directed amended claim 1 now towards a second alternative thereby exclusively associating the connection relationship of the electromechanical interface 40 of the adapter 38 with that of the electromechanical interface 20 of the charging device 16. Thus, changing the scope of the invention.
The naming convention used by Pham does not teach away that adapter and charger 102 is an adapter that attaches to a High Voltage Power Tool Rechargeable Battery (HVPT Rechargeable Battery 106) via electromechanical interfaces as illustrated in Fig. 1. Although not illustrated by Pham, it is well understood that HVPT rechargeable batteries are designed to be charged by an associated wall outlet plug-in charging station wherein the electromechanical connections of the HVPT rechargeable battery latch on to the electromechanical connections of the charging station. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have designed the adapter 102 capable of connecting with the charging station in order to provide an interface for charging other mobile electronic devices that normally could not be charged with the HVPT battery charging station due to differences in charging plug types.
However, in order to further expedite prosecution, the examiner cites a newly found prior art reference below to teach the amended limitations.
The remaining arguments are moot as the applicant’s arguments for the remaining claims were based on dependency of the independent claims.
This Office Action is made Final due to the amendments made by the applicant.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “adapter for a charging device” AND a “via which the adapter is releasably connected to an electromechanical interface of the charging device” of claim 1 and “wherein the adapter is configured such that an angle between the wireless interface and the electromechanical interface is adjustable by an operator” of claim 5 must be shown or the features canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Note, Specifically, the adapter illustrated in figure 2 would have connection points to compatibly connect/interlock to the battery but said connection points would likely not be able to connect to the charger since they would be in a conflicting configuration.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4 add replace “an” with --a first-- and in line 5 replace “an” with --a second-- in order to avoid a lack of antecedent basis issue. For examination purposes below these limitations will be interpreted as “a first electromechanical interface” and “a second electromechanical interface”, however, appropriate correction is required. Claims 4-6, 8, and 10-11 are objected to for the same reasons as claim 1 above.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 replace “an” with --the-- to avoid a lack of antecedent basis issue. For examination purposes below this limitation will be interpreted as “the exchangeable rechargeable battery pack”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fieldbinder et al. (USPGPN 20220102995).
With respect to independent claim 1, Fieldbinder teaches an adapter (Figs. 7A-7B; a wireless adapter 176) for a charging device configured to charge an exchangeable rechargeable battery pack (Fig. 2; charging station 12 configured to charge exchangeable rechargeable battery pack 13).
Fieldbinder teaches the adapter comprising an electromechanical interface with electric contacts, via which the adapter is releasably connected to an electromechanical interface of the charging device (Figs. 7A-7B; ¶[171]; the wireless adapter 176 comprises a charger-side receiving portion 178 with electric contacts, via which the adapter 176 includes a rail system 181 including tabs 182 configured to physically secure the adapter 176 to the charging device 12 and the adapter 176 may be detached from the charging device 12 when tabs 182 are moved inward in response to actuation of the latching mechanism 180).
Fieldbinder teaches the adapter comprising a wireless interface configured to transmit energy provided by the charging device to a wireless energy receiver (Fig. 8; the wireless adapter 176 comprises a wireless charging circuitry 190. ¶[176]; adapter 176 comprises a wireless power transmitter 104 to transmit energy provided by charging device 12. ¶[168]; adapter 176 creates a path between the charging device 12 and an external device 14).
With respect to claim 2, Fieldbinder teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Fieldbinder teaches wherein the wireless interface has a primary coil (¶[176]; adapter 176 comprises a wireless power transmitter 104 to transmit energy provided by charging device 12).
With respect to claim 3, Fieldbinder teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Fieldbinder teaches wherein the wireless interface operates in accordance with the Qi standard (¶[247]; charging device 12 may be configured to charge Qi-compatible external devices 14).
With respect to claim 4, Fieldbinder teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Fieldbinder teaches wherein the wireless interface is arranged on a side of the adapter substantially opposite the electromechanical interface (Fig. 7A; the wireless interface is arranged on a side of the adapter 176 opposite the charging-side receiving portion 178).
With respect to claim 6, Fieldbinder teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Fieldbinder teaches wherein the adapter is further configured to transmit energy from the wireless interface to the electromechanical interface (Fig. 8; the adapter 176 is further configured to transmit energy from the wireless charging circuitry 190 to the charger-side receiving portion 178).
With respect to claim 8, Fieldbinder teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Fieldbinder teaches wherein a height extension of the adapter is less than twice a height extension of the electromechanical interface (With reference to Fig. 2 and ¶[27] of applicant’s disclosure, the heigh extension 58 of the adapter 38 less than twice the heigh extension 60 of the electromechanical interface 40 to enable ease of stowing. Thus, Fieldbinder in Fig. 7A teaches the height extension of the wireless adapter 176 is less than twice the heigh extension of the charger-side receiving portion 178 and the associated components for connecting to a charger 12. Thus it is understood by one of ordinary skill ease of stowing is achieved).
With respect to claim 9, Fieldbinder teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Fieldbinder teaches an indicator configured to signal an energy transport and/or a direction of the energy transport (Fig. 8; display/indicator 188).
With respect to claim 10, Fieldbinder teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Fieldbinder teaches the adapter comprises a further electromechanical interface configured for discharging and/or charging the exchangeable rechargeable battery pack connected to the adapter (Fig. 8; ¶[175]; output port 192 is a USB power output which is configured to discharging a battery 13 connected via battery-side receiving portion 179 of the adapter 176).
With respect to claim 11, Fieldbinder teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 10. Further, Fieldbinder teaches wherein the further electromechanical interface includes a USB socket (Fig. 8; ¶[175]; output port 192 is a USB power output).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fieldbinder et al. (USPGPN 20220102995), and further in view of Zhou (Chinese Patent CN-203456896-U; identified by the applicant in the IDS and cited in the Written Opinion of the International Search Authority).
With respect to claim 5, Fieldbinder teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Fieldbinder fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 5.
Pham teaches wherein the adapter is configured such that an angle between the wireless interface and the electromechanical interface is adjustable by an operator (Figs. 1-3; ¶[26]; the lower cover 2 comprises a mobile power supply 4 and a power plug (i.e., the electromechanical interface) and upper cover 1 comprises an induction coil 5 and an induction circuit board 6 (i.e., the wireless interface) wherein the device is configured such an angle is adjusted by an operator via knob rotation 3).
Adjusting the surface of the wireless interface allows for accommodating different placement profiles and for adjusting the plane in a manner which allows convenient storage. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have adapted Zhou’s adjustable function to Fieldbinder’s wireless adapter. The advantage of this being improving space-saving folding features of the wireless charging device (see ¶[08] of Zhou).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The additional prior art identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) were considered by the examiner, however, for examination purposes were not relied upon for citation purposes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859