Priority
This Application is a 371 of PCT/EP2021/0833, filed Nov. 29, 2021, and claims foreign priority to EP20210868.4, filed Dec. 1, 2020 with the European Patent Office.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 3, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-18 are currently pending and subject to examination.
Claim Objection- Improper Multiple Dependent Claims
Claims 4-18 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, claims 4-18 have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
“A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.”
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duplessis et al. (WO2020002487A1, published January 2, 2020) (of record, IDS cite no. 15) (herein “Duplessis 2”) in view of Duplessis et al. (WO2018115218A1, published June 28, 2018) (of record, IDS cite no. 13) (herein “Duplessis”).
Claim 1 is directed towards a compound of formula (I):
(claim 1). For example,
(Specification, p. 50, example 8).
Duplessis 2 teaches largely similar mutant EGFR inhibitors
, wherein A is
(Duplessis 2, Specification, p. 8, lines 20-30). For example, Duplessis 2 teaches the compound:
(Duplessis 2, Specification, p. 39, example 51).
Example 51 largely similar to compounds of formula (I) but differs from instant formula (I) in that the core is oxo-isoindoline instead of indazole and the oxo-isoindoline is modified with two halogens instead of CF2 and methyl, however, these compounds are so similar that one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect them to have similar properties when viewed in the totality of the prior art because it is known that the oxo-isoindoline is a bioisostere of indazole and that methyl and halomethyl are bioisosteres of halogen.
For example, Duplessis teaches mutant EGFR inhibitors of generic formula I:
(Duplessis, Specification, p. 6) wherein R2 is halogen, halogen-C1-6 alkyl or C1-6 alkyl (Duplessis, Specification, p. 6-7). A representative species is:
(Duplessis, Specification, p. 20, example 10) which is also largely similar to the compounds of instant formula (I).
Therefore, claim 1 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 2 is directed towards the compound of claim 1, wherein A is -CH-. As shown above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to have an EGFR inhibitor of formula (I) wherein A is CH because both Duplessis and Duplessis 2 teach EGFR inhibitors wherein A is CH.
Therefore, claim 2 was prima facie obvious at the time of filng.
Claim 3 is directed towards a compound according to claim 1 or 2, wherein R1 and R2 are independently selected from fluoro and hydrogen.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to have a compound of formula (I) wherein R1 and R2 are independently selected from fluoro and hydrogen because Duplessis 2 teaches compounds of formula (I) wherein R1 and R2 are independently selected from fluoro and hydrogen. For example:
(Duplessis 2, Specification, p. 40, example 53).
Therefore, claim 3 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Given the above teachings, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Note: A declaration providing (1) an unequivocal statement from the inventor or a joint inventor that the inventor or joint inventor (or some combination of named inventors) invented the subject matter of the disclosure and (2) a reasonable explanation of the presence of additional authors is required to exempt Duplessis 2 as prior art under the 35 U.S.C. § 102(b)(1)(A) exception.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. US 12209091 B2 (herein the ‘091 patent) in view of Duplessis et al. (WO2018115218A1, published June 28, 2018) (of record, IDS cite no. 13) (herein “Duplessis”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because the ‘091 patent is the U.S. version of the Duplessis 2 document cited in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection above, the rejection incorporated herein by reference, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to modify the compounds claimed by the ‘091 patent with the teachings of Duplessis to arrive at the claimed EGFR inhibitors.
For example, the ‘091 patent claims the compound
(‘091 patent, claim 17). Claim 1 is directed towards a compound of formula (I):
(claim 1). For example,
(Specification, p. 50, example 8).
These compounds are so similar that one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect them to have similar properties when viewed in the totality of the prior art because it is known that the oxo-isoindoline is a bioisostere of indazole and that methyl and halomethyl are bioisosteres of halogen. For example, see the teachings of Duplessis cited in the 103 rejection above.
Claims 2-3 read on the compound example 8 and are rejected on the same grounds.
Therefore, the instant claims are rejected on the grounds of non-statutory patenting as being obvious over the ‘091 patent in view of Duplessis.
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. US 12344613 B2 (herein the ‘613 patent) in view of Duplessis et al. (WO2018115218A1, published June 28, 2018) (of record, IDS cite no. 13) (herein “Duplessis”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because the claimed compounds are so similar that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect them to have similar properties.
Claim 1 is directed towards a compound of formula (I):
(claim 1). For example,
(Specification, p. 34, example 1).
The ‘613 patent claims a compound of formula (I):
(claims 1-2).
These compounds are so similar that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect them to have similar properties. The only difference lies in the substituents of the indazole, however, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the chlorine substituents would behave similarly to difluoromethyl and methyl because this is a commonly known biosiosteric replacement.
For example, Duplessis teaches mutant EGFR inhibitors of generic formula I:
(Duplessis, Specification, p. 6) wherein R2 is halogen, halogen-C1-6 alkyl or C1-6 alkyl (Duplessis, Specification, p. 6-7).
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of copending Application No. 18/255,085.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because both Applications are directed towards compounds of the formula (I),
except that the instant claims allow A to be N or CH, R3 is only alkyl and there are more variable substituents for R4. As such, the claims largely cover the same compounds.
Instant claim 1 recites:
Copending claim 1 recites:
(Application No. 18/255,085, claim 1).
As such, the instant claims are anticipated by the claims of Application No. 18/255,085 and are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 17/620,242 in view of Duplessis et al. (WO2018115218A1, published June 28, 2018) (of record, IDS cite no. 13) (herein “Duplessis”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because the claimed compounds are so similar that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect them to have similar properties.
Claim 1 is directed towards a compound of formula (I):
(claim 1).
For example,
(Specification, p. 56, example 11).
Copending Application No. 17/620,242 claims 1-2 claim a largely similar compound:
.
These compounds are so similar that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect them to have similar properties. The only difference lies in the substituents of the indazole, however, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the chlorine substituents would behave similarly to difluoromethyl and methyl because this is a commonly known biosiosteric replacement.
For example, Duplessis teaches mutant EGFR inhibitors of generic formula I:
(Duplessis, Specification, p. 6) wherein R2 is halogen, halogen-C1-6 alkyl or C1-6 alkyl (Duplessis, Specification, p. 6-7).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 19/221,423 in view of Duplessis et al. (WO2018115218A1, published June 28, 2018) (of record, IDS cite no. 13) (herein “Duplessis”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because the claimed compounds are so similar that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect them to have similar properties.
Claim 1 is directed towards a compound of formula (I):
(claim 1). For example,
(Specification, p. 34, example 1).
The copending Application No. 19/221,423 claims a compound of formula (I):
(claims 1-2).
These compounds are so similar that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect them to have similar properties. The only difference lies in the substituents of the indazole, however, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the chlorine substituents would behave similarly to difluoromethyl and methyl because this is a commonly known biosiosteric replacement.
For example, Duplessis teaches mutant EGFR inhibitors of generic formula I:
(Duplessis, Specification, p. 6) wherein R2 is halogen, halogen-C1-6 alkyl or C1-6 alkyl (Duplessis, Specification, p. 6-7).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 17/620,240 in view of Duplessis et al. (WO2018115218A1, published June 28, 2018) (of record, IDS cite no. 13) (herein “Duplessis”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because the claimed compounds are so similar that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect them to have similar properties.
Claim 1 is directed towards a compound of formula (I):
(claim 1). For example,
(Specification, p. 50, example 8).
Claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 17/620,240 are directed towards the compound
(name recited in claims 1-2, structure shown on p. 18 of the specification.
These compounds are so similar that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect them to have similar properties. The only difference lies in the substituents of the indazole, however, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the halogen substituents would behave similarly to difluoromethyl and methyl because this is a commonly known biosiosteric replacement.
For example, Duplessis teaches mutant EGFR inhibitors of generic formula I:
(Duplessis, Specification, p. 6) wherein R2 is halogen, halogen-C1-6 alkyl or C1-6 alkyl (Duplessis, Specification, p. 6-7).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/255,076 in view of Duplessis et al. (WO2018115218A1, published June 28, 2018) (of record, IDS cite no. 13) (herein “Duplessis”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because the claimed compounds are so similar that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect them to have similar properties.
Claim 1 is directed towards a compound of formula (I):
(claim 1). For example,
(Specification, p. 46, example 6).
Copending claim 1 is directed towards compounds of formula (I):
(claim 1), for example,
(copending Application No. 18/255,076, Specification, p. 25, example 1).
While the claimed compound and the copending claimed compound differ in that the phenyl in the claimed compound is replaced with alkynyl in the copending compound, these compounds are so similar that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect them to have similar properties because this is a commonly known bioisosteric replacement.
For example, Duplessis teaches that these compounds have similar properties as EGFR inhibitors:
Duplessis, Specification, p. 22.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
/HEATHER DAHLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629