DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 5/31/2023. Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to arguments
Applicant amended claims 2,8,13 and 17, cancelled claims 15 and included remarks. Examiner find Applicant remark “there is nothing in Small that provides any indication of a coupling interface for coupling the portable power station to at least one coupling object designed as a system box or vacuum cleaner in order to form a vertically tension-proof stack together with the at least one coupling object” persuasive. As such this action is a second action nonfinal.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 8 Applicant asserts:
That is, even assuming, but not admitting that Leba discloses compartments 74, 76, one having ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the compartments are in the outer lid 32 of the ice chest, e.g., not an internal component, and provides no indication that the energy storage device occupies at least 80% of the height of the lower part and an energy storage cover with a storage recess for small parts and/or a cell phone is arranged on the energy storage device, which storage recess is accessible when the cover is open, as recited in Claim 8.
And further asserts:
Moreover, there is nothing in Leba (or Small) that would have prompted one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Small to result in the same combination of features as recited in Claim 8. Rather, one having ordinary skill in the art, based on the teachings of Leba, would have merely incorporated the storage compartments from the teaching of the lid of Leba into the outer lid of the battery box of Small. Such a modification, however, would not have resulted in the same combination of features as recited in Claim 8, in which an "energy storage cover" having a storage recess is arranged directly "on the energy storage device" housed within the lower part. Therefore, neither Small nor Leba, taken alone or in combination, discloses or suggests the same combination of features as recited in Claim 8.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and uses the combined teaches of Jensen, GREBING, and Leba to teach:
“a storage recess for small parts and/or a cell phone, which storage recess is accessible when the cover is open (Fig.3 [0028] of Leba first and second compartments 74,76 are defined in the lid which may receive cellular phones).
In regards to the storage recess being arranged on the energy storage device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the storage recess taught by Leba arranged on the energy storage device of Jensen in view of GREBING so that the storage recess can be support by the energy storage device while the user can easily access to the small parts and/or a cell phone.
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “a coupling interface for coupling the portable power station to at least one coupling object designed as a system box or vacuum cleaner in order to form a vertically tension-proof stack together with the at least one coupling object” and “wherein the coupling interface has stand feet arranged at the bottom of the housing and insertion recesses are provided inside the housing at those places where the feet are provided on the outside, in which insertion recesses fastening projections of the end caps are inserted” which is unclear.
The Specification recites the following:
[0023] The portable power station 1 further comprises a coupling interface 9. The coupling interface 9 serves for coupling the portable power station 1 to at least one coupling object 5 designed as a system box 7 (see e.g. FIG. 9) or vacuum cleaner 8 (see e.g. FIG. 10), in order to form a vertically tension-proof stack together with the at least one coupling object 5.
The specification and Figs. 3 and 9 identifies element 9 above as coupling interface. However, it is unclear how the coupling interface “9,18” has “stand feet arranged at the bottom of the housing and insertion recesses are provided inside the housing at those places where the feet are provided on the outside, in which insertion recesses fastening projections of the end caps are inserted” as claimed.
It is also unclear nor does the specification describe how coupling interface “9,23” is “for coupling the portable power station to at least one coupling object …in order to form a vertically tension-proof stack together with the at least one coupling object” as claimed wherein “a vertically tension-proof” refers to “a fastening that remains effective when subjected to a tensile load in the vertical direction” as defined in the specification.
Claim 14 is included in this rejection based on its dependence on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,10, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US 20210050725) in view of GREBING (WO 2018188736). Note: Examiner uses GREBING to make rejection but relies on machine translation to clarify position.
As to claim 1, Jensen discloses a portable power station ([0066] FIG. 2 depicts one embodiment of an energy storage apparatus. The energy storage apparatus 200), comprising:
- a box-shaped housing (Fig. 2),
- an energy storage device arranged in the housing and configured to provide an AC voltage (0094] FIG. 4 is a schematic block diagram illustrating components 400 of an energy storage apparatus,… one or more batteries 456. An inverter 462 is provided to convert DC power from the batteries 456 to AC power for output [0102]. One or more output connectors 410 may couple or transfer output power to one or more loads 110 [0095])
- an AC voltage port arrangement at which the AC voltage for an external consumer is tappable ([0076] and Fig. 2 AC output connectors 210a are used to provide AC power to loads 110. One or more output connectors 410 may couple or transfer output power to one or more loads 110 [0095]).
Jensen further discloses a coupling interface for coupling the portable power station to at least one coupling object designed as a system box ([0088] Fig. 3 one or more interconnects 354 may provide detachable mechanical and electrical connections between pairs of adjacent stackable housings 302, 320… match up with slots 352 in other housings 302, 320 when the housings 302, 320 are stacked,.. an interconnect 354 may include a mechanical connector separate from the electrical connections, such as a physical latch. Various other or further types of mechanical and electrical connections may be used in an interconnect 354).
Jensen does not disclose/teach a coupling interface for coupling the portable power station to at least one coupling object in order to form a vertically tension-proof stack together with the at least one coupling object.
Grebin teaches a coupling interface for coupling a portable power station ([0248] cyclone pre-separator (1) an electrical device 47, for example a power tool, which is connected to the socket 22 of the cyclone pre-separator 1. The socket insert 24 has a socket 22 and a connecting cable 48 with a mains plug as shown in Figure 7.) to at least one coupling object in order to form a vertically tension-proof stack together with the at least one coupling object ([0034]-[0035] Fig. 2-4 and Abstract … has lower housing coupling means (11) designed to provide a releasable, vertically high-tensile coupling for the particle collecting container (2) when the cyclone pre-separator (1) is positioned on the particle collecting container (2)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portable power station of Jensen to form a vertically tension-proof stack together with the at least one coupling object in order for the portable power station to remain stable during use or during transport of the portable power station ([0035]).
As to claim 2, As stated supra, Jensen in view of Grebin teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 now incorporated into claim 2. Further Jensen in view of Grebin teaches wherein the box-shaped housing has a lower part comprising a lower part main section having a bottom wall and three peripheral walls extending upwardly from the bottom wall (Fig. 2 above),
The embodiment of Jensen in view of Grebin (Fig. 2) does not disclose/teach the lower part further having a port wall which is inserted into the lower part main section and forms a fourth peripheral wall of the lower part and on which the AC voltage port arrangement is arranged.
However Jensen teaches an embodiment the lower part further having a port wall which is inserted into the lower part main section and forms a fourth peripheral wall of the lower part and on which the AC voltage port arrangement is arranged (Fig. 3 [0081]-[0085] lower part showing wall with AC output connectors 310a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lower part of Jensen to further have a port wall which is inserted into the lower part main section and forms a fourth peripheral wall of the lower part and on which the AC voltage port arrangement is arranged as it is merely a rearrangement of parts as shifting the position of the AC voltage port would not have modified the operation of the device.
As to claim 3, Jensen in view of Grebin teaches the portable power station according to claim 2, wherein the energy storage device together with the port wall forms an energy storage assembly (Fig. 2)
Jensen in view of Grebin does not specifically show disclose/teach which is inserted into the lower part main section and is fastened thereto.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the port wall of Jensen in view of Grebin to form an energy storage assembly which is inserted into the lower part main section and is fastened thereto in order to st6abilize the portable power station when it is place using the weight of the energy storage device.
As to claim 4, Jensen in view of Grebin teaches the portable power station according to claim 1, wherein the box- shaped housing has a lower part and a cover disposed on the lower part and closing a housing interior (Lower and bottom of 200).
As to claim 10, Jensen in view of Grebin teaches the portable power station according to claim 1, further comprising a DC voltage port, at which a DC voltage can be tapped ([0075] The output connectors 210, in the depicted embodiment, include AC output connectors 210a and DC output connectors 210b).
As to claim 18 Jensen in view of Grebin teaches a stack arrangement (Fig. 3 of Jensen) comprising a portable power station according to claim 1 (Fig. 2-3) and a lower coupling object designed as a system box (320a-d) or as a vacuum cleaner, on which the portable power station is placed (320a-d), wherein the portable power station is coupled to the lower coupling object via the coupling interface (interconnects 354 of Jensen), so that the portable power station together with the lower coupling object forms a vertically tension-proof stack ([0034]-[0035] and Abstract of Grebin teaches… has lower housing coupling means (11) .. designed to provide a releasable, vertically high-tensile coupling).
As to claim 19 Jensen in view of Grebin teaches the stack arrangement according to claim 18, further comprising an upper system box placed on the portable power station, wherein the portable power station is further coupled to the upper system box via the coupling interface such that the portable power station together ([0086] Housings 302, 320 may be substantially as described above with reference to the materials or configuration of the housing 202) with the lower coupling object and the upper system box forms a vertically tension-proof stack ([0034]-[0035] and Abstract of Grebin teaches… has lower housing coupling means (11) .. designed to provide a releasable, vertically high-tensile coupling).
As to claim 20 Jensen in view of Grebin teaches a method of manufacturing a portable power station according to claim 3, comprising the steps: providing the lower part main section (Fig. 2 above), providing the energy storage assembly (Fig. 4 456),
Jensen in view of Grebin does not specifically show disclose/teach inserting the energy storage assembly into the lower part main section.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the port wall of Jensen in view of Grebin to insert the energy storage assembly into the lower part main section in order to st6abilize the portable power station when it is place using the weight of the energy storage device.
Claims 5-7,9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US 20210050725) in view of GREBING (WO 2018188736) in view of Small (AU 2016201851).
As to claim 5, Jensen in view of Grebin teaches the portable power station according to claim 4.
Jensen in view of Grebin does not disclose/teach comprising a main power switch arranged in the housing interior for switching on and/or switching off the AC voltage.
Small teaches comprising a main power switch arranged in the housing interior for switching on and/or switching off the AC voltage (Fig. 7 [0099] an electrical safety switch 15 to automatically shut off electricity when current is detected leaking from faulty switches).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portable power station of Jensen in view of Grebin to a main power switch arranged in the housing interior for switching on and/or switching off the AC voltage in order to shut off electricity when current is detected leaking from faulty switches [0099].
As to claim 6, Jensen in view of Grebin in view of Small teaches the portable power station according to claim 5, further comprising an external power switch arranged on the outside of the box-shaped housing for switching on and/or switching off the AC voltage ([0074] of Jensen The power switch 208, in some embodiments, is operable by a user to turn the apparatus 200 on or off. In an off state, the apparatus 200 may neither receive nor output power).
As to claim 7, Jensen in view of Grebin in view of Small teaches the portable power station according to claim 6.
Jensen in view of Grebin does not disclose/teach wherein the AC voltage cannot be switched on via the external power switch when the AC voltage is switched off by means of the main power switch.
Small teaches wherein the AC voltage cannot be switched on via the external power switch when the AC voltage is switched off by means of the main power switch ([0102] [0105] [00120] The safety switch 15 may be provided in addition to or instead of a circuit breaker. The safety switch 15 is normally located between the power inverter 13 and the GPO 10. the GPO 10 is provided on one circuit directly from the inverter 13 (through the safety switch 15).. the power outlet 21 from the inverter leads directly to the safety switch 15 which in turn connected to the GPO 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portable power station of Jensen in view of Grebin wherein the AC voltage cannot be switched on via the external power switch when the AC voltage is switched off by means of the main power switch in order to shut off electricity when current is detected leaking from faulty switches [0099].
As to claim 9, Jensen in view of Grebin teaches the portable power station according to claim 1.
Jensen in view of Grebin does not disclose/teach wherein the AC voltage port arrangement comprises a port having a protective contact and/or a cold appliance port..
Small teaches wherein the AC voltage port arrangement comprises a port having a protective contact and/or a cold appliance port ([00108] The housing is preferably weatherproof or substantially weatherproof. Any opening in the housing and/or any through-wall component will typically be provided with a seal or cover such as that illustrated in Figure 3 in relation to the USB connector 12b or other type of deflection or prevention apparatus which will prevent inclement weather or dust or detritus or similar from entry into the interior of the housing).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the portable power station of Jensen in view of Grebin to include wherein the AC voltage port arrangement comprises a port having a protective contact and/or a cold appliance port in order to prevent inclement weather or dust or detritus or similar from entry into the interior of the housing [00108].
As to claim 12, Jensen in view of Grebin teaches the portable power station according to claim 1.
Jensen in view of Grebin does not disclose/teach further comprising a state-of-charge indicator having a plurality of lighting sections that light up according to a state-of-charge of the energy storage device, wherein the state-of-charge indicator is adapted to further indicate, via the lighting sections, a fault condition.
Small teaches a state-of-charge indicator having a plurality of lighting sections that light up according to a state-of-charge of the energy storage device, wherein the state-of-charge indicator is adapted to further indicate, via the lighting sections, a fault condition ([0103] The portable power supply unit of the present invention will also normally include at least one indicator 5 to indicate the amount of charge or current stored in the at least one deep cycle battery at any time. One or more indicators may be provided in order to indicate the status of the charging or operation of the power supply unit or any component of the power supply unit and/or errors or faults).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the portable power station of Jensen in view of Grebin to include a state-of-charge indicator having a plurality of lighting sections that light up according to a state-of-charge of the energy storage device, wherein the state-of-charge indicator is adapted to further indicate, via the lighting sections, a fault condition in order to indicate the status of the charging or operation of the power supply unit or any component of the power supply unit and/or errors or faults [0103].
Claims 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US 20210050725) in view of GREBING (WO 2018188736) in view of in view of Leba (US 20040178208).
As to claim 8, As stated supra, Jensen in view of Grebin teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 now incorporated into claim 8. Further Jensen in view of Grebin teaches, wherein the box-shaped housing has a lower part and a cover disposed on the lower part and closing a housing interior (Fig. 2 above),
Jensen in view of Grebin does not disclose/teach wherein the energy storage device occupies at least 80% of the height of the lower part and an energy storage cover
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the portable power station to wherein the energy storage device occupies at least 80% of the height of the lower part and an energy storage cover in order to protect the battery from damage by making the housing sizing close to the size of the battery assembly.
Jensen in view of Grebin does not disclose/teach a storage recess for small parts and/or a cell phone is arranged on the energy storage device, which storage recess is accessible when the cover is open.
Leba teaches a storage recess for small parts and/or a cell phone, which storage recess is accessible when the cover is open (Fig.3 [0028] first and second compartments 74,76 are defined in the lid which may receive cellular phones).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the portable power station of small to include a storage recess for small parts and/or a cell phone, which storage recess is accessible when the cover is open in order to reduce the amount of items and elements the user would need to carry.
In regards to the storage recess being arranged on the energy storage device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the storage recess taught by Leba arranged on the energy storage device of Jensen in view of GREBING so that the storage recess can be support by the energy storage device while the user can easily access to the small parts and/or a cell phone.
Claims 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US 20210050725) in view of GREBING (WO 2018188736) in view of Leba (US 20040178208) in view of Yoshii (WO 2007122737).
As to claim 11, Jensen in view of Grebin teaches the portable power station according to claim 4, wherein the portable power station further comprises a DC voltage port, at which a DC voltage can be tapped ([0075] The output connectors 210, in the depicted embodiment, include AC output connectors 210a and DC output connectors 210b), wherein the DC voltage port is arranged externally on the housing (Fig. 2 [0075] The output connectors 210, in the depicted embodiment, include AC output connectors 210a and DC output connectors 210b).
Jensen in view of Grebin does not disclose/teach wherein the energy storage device occupies at least 80% of the height of the lower part and an energy storage cover
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the portable power station to wherein the energy storage device occupies at least 80% of the height of the lower part and an energy storage cover by making the housing sizing close to the size of the battery assembly.
Jensen in view of Grebin does not disclose/teach a storage recess for small parts and/or a cell phone is arranged on the energy storage device, which storage recess is accessible when the cover is open.
Leba teaches a storage recess for small parts and/or a cell phone, which storage recess is accessible when the cover is open (Fig.3 [0028] first and second compartments 74,76 are defined in the lid which may receive cellular phones).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the portable power station of Jensen in view of Grebin to include a storage recess for small parts and/or a cell phone, which storage recess is accessible when the cover is open in order to reduce the amount of items and elements the user would need to carry.
In regards to the storage recess being arranged on the energy storage device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the storage recess taught by Leba arranged on the energy storage device of Jensen in view of GREBING so that the storage recess can be support by the energy storage device while the user can easily access to the small parts and/or a cell phone.
Jensen in view of Grebin does not disclose/teach the portable power station further comprises a cable guide arrangement for guiding a charging cable from the DC voltage port to the storage recess.
Yoshii teaches the portable power station further comprises a cable guide arrangement for guiding a charging cable from a voltage port to a storage recess (Fig.4 store the AC adapter 4 cable 17 on the three hooks 15 indicated by a, b, c in the figure)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the portable power station of Jensen in view of Grebin to include the portable power station further comprises a cable guide arrangement for guiding a charging cable from the DC voltage port to the storage recess in order to provide sufficient storage for the cable, prevent damage or being lost.
Claims 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US 20210050725) in view of GREBING (WO 2018188736) in view of Mummigatti (US 20200036067).
As to claim 16 Jensen in view of GREBING teaches the portable power station according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a port wall on which the AC voltage port arrangement, which is accessible from the outside, is arranged (Fig. 2 above).
Jensen in view of GREBING does not disclose/teach a first sealing cover attached to the inside of the port wall, which first sealing cover seals the AC voltage port arrangement with respect to the housing interior
Mummigatti teaches first sealing cover attached to the inside of a wall, which first sealing cover seals with respect to the housing interior ([0068] such as foam or the like, may be provided in the inner periphery 36 of the battery module housing 22 between the inner periphery 36 and battery cells 26 to support and protect the battery cells 26 in the battery module housing 22.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the portable power station of Jensen in view of GREBING to include a first sealing cover attached to the inside of the port wall, which first sealing cover seals the AC voltage port arrangement with respect to the housing interior in order to support and protect the battery cells 26 in the battery module housing [0068].
As to claim 17 Jensen in view of GREBING teaches the portable power station according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a port wall (Fig. 2 above), on which a DC voltage port, which is accessible from the outside, is arranged (Fig. 2 above port 210).
Jensen in view of GREBING does not disclose/teach a second sealing cover attached to the inside of the port wall, which sealing cover seals the DC voltage port with respect to the housing interior
Mummigatti teaches first sealing cover attached to the inside of a wall, which first sealing cover seals with respect to the housing interior ([0068] such as foam or the like, may be provided in the inner periphery 36 of the battery module housing 22 between the inner periphery 36 and battery cells 26 to support and protect the battery cells 26 in the battery module housing 22.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the portable power station of Jensen in view of GREBING to include a second sealing cover attached to the inside of the port wall, which second sealing cover seals the DC voltage port with respect to the housing interior in order to support and protect the battery cells 26 in the battery module housing [0068].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 would be allowed if rewritten to overcome the 112 2nd rejection above.
The following is a statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim 13, Although the prior art discloses a portable power station, comprising: a box-shaped housing, an energy storage device arranged in the housing and configured to provide an AC voltage, an AC voltage port arrangement at which the AC voltage for an external consumer is tappable, wherein the energy storage device has a cuboidal energy storage unit and two end caps which are placed on the energy storage unit at two opposite sides of the energy storage unit and support the energy storage unit against a bottom wall of the housing, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“a coupling interface for coupling the portable power station to at least one coupling object designed as a system box or vacuum cleaner in order to form a vertically tension-proof stack together with the at least one coupling object” and “wherein the coupling interface has stand feet arranged at the bottom of the housing insertion recesses are provided inside the housing at those places where the feet are provided on the outside, in which insertion recesses fastening projections of the end caps are inserted.”
Dependent claim 14 is allowable for the reasons set forth supra with respect to the independent claims from which they depend.
Conclusion
Fleischmann (US 20170165828) is cited for having a stack element is further provided. The stack element is designed as a stack base, for example. The stack element having a bus interface may, for example, be a vacuum cleaner, an insert for a shelf or the like, and a stack element in the form of a transport container, for example, can be stacked on top of the stack base. However Fleischmann does not teach or teach the combination of wherein the energy storage device occupies at least 80% of the height of the lower part and an energy storage cover
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859