DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the two serial modules of claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “carbon dioxide” and then further recites “CO2”. The limitations are confusing because two different terms are used, where a single term should be used to identify the same feature. Further, the selected term should be used in the dependent claims when referring to the feature.
Claim 1 recites “creating insoluble carbonates”. The limitation is indefinite because it does not define the solvent.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the enzyme carbonic anhydrase". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-12 and 14 depend upon claim 1.
Claim 7 recites “adding a promoter”, where the specification does not define what a promoter is. For examination purposed the promoter will be interpreted as NaOH according to the prior art WO2013136310 and Applicant’s ¶16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saunders et al. US 2011/0223650 (hereafter Saunders) and further in view of Constantz US 2018/0280869 (hereafter Constantz).
Regarding claim 1, Saunders teaches a process for separation of carbon dioxide (¶2) from a gaseous stream (¶19) comprising:
passing a continuous flow gaseous stream containing CO2 and CH4 through a contactor module (7 in Fig 1) containing membranes (¶55, ¶69);
adding the enzyme carbonic anhydrase to an absorber liquid to form an absorber liquid solution (¶34-35);
passing the absorber liquid solution through the contactor module by a loop recirculation system (loop comprising reservoir 4 and pump 5 in Figs 1 and 3; ¶58), wherein the absorber liquid solution and the gaseous stream operate in a countercurrent direction (¶81, ¶91, as shown in Figs 1 and 3); and
adjusting the pH of the absorber liquid solution with a NaOH solution, to maintain an environment alkaline when the pH of the absorber liquid solution is less than 9 (¶48 where the pH is between 9 and 9.5 and/or ¶61 where the pH is between 9.2 and 9.5 and/or 9 and 10, and the conditional of the pH less than 9 does not occur),
Saunders does not teach capturing CO2 in the absorber liquid solution and creating insoluble carbonates in the absorber liquid solution during capturing.
Constantz teaches a process for separation of carbon dioxide from a gaseous stream comprising a membrane contactor (¶31), adding the enzyme carbonic anhydrase (¶86), and capturing CO2 in the absorber liquid solution and creating insoluble carbonates in the absorber liquid solution during capturing in order to allow precipitation (¶99, such as magnesium carbonate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process (Fig 1) of Saunders by incorporating the insoluble carbonates (¶99) of Constantz in order to allow precipitation (¶99).
Regarding claim 2, Saunders in view of Constantz further teaches wherein the gaseous stream is natural gas or biogas (¶19).
Regarding claim 3, Saunders in view of Constantz further teaches wherein the gaseous stream comprises between 2% and 70% of carbon dioxide (¶19, between 3 and 10%).
Regarding claim 4, Saunders in view of Constantz further teaches wherein the contactor module comprises two serial modules (7a, 7b in Figs 3; as shown in Figs 3 where gas 9a enters 7a and gas 9b enters 7b).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 14, Saunders in view of Constantz further teaches wherein the absorber liquid is industrial water (¶63, where industrial water is natural).
Regarding claim 7, Saunders in view of Constantz further teaches adding a promoter to the absorber liquid comprising amine, hydroxide, or inorganic carbonate (¶63).
Regarding claim 8, Saunders in view of Constantz further teaches wherein the absorber liquid solution in step (c) passes in continuous mode (¶32, ¶58).
Regarding claim 9, Saunders in view of Constantz further teaches wherein the pH is adjusted to between 9 and 10 (¶61).
Saunders does not teach wherein adjusting the pH of the liquid absorber solution comprises adjusting the pH of the liquid absorber solution to the range 9.5 to 12.
MPEP §2144.05 I states that where the prior and claimed ranges overlap, a prima facie case of obviousness exists to choose the overlapping portion of the ranges.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pH of Saunders (¶61) to be 9.5 to 10 as a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP §2144.05 I).
Regarding claim 10, Saunders in view of Constantz further teaches wherein the membranes of the contactor are chosen from ptfe, pvdf, pdms, pfa, pp or ceramic (¶32).
Regarding claim 11, Saunders in view of Constantz further teaches directing the liquid stream containing absorbed CO2 is directed to a second unit (8), for recovery of CO2 in gaseous form (19).
Regarding claim 12, Saunders in view of Constantz further teaches wherein the CO2 recovered in gaseous form is destined to conversion processes of the CO2 recovered in gaseous form into other molecules, or is directed to geological storage (¶72).
Response to Arguments
The following is a response to Applicant’s arguments filed 14 Jan. 2026:
Applicant argues that the objection to the drawings is overcome by amendment.
Examiner disagrees. The claim amendment recites the same feature with different wording, however the feature is not shown. Only a single contact module is shown in the drawings and not the two contact modules as claimed in claim 4.
Applicant argues that the objection to the specification is overcome by amendment.
Examiner agrees and the objection is withdrawn.
Applicant argues that Saunders does not teach the insoluble carbonate of claim 1.
Examiner agrees, however the feature is taught by Constantz, as detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776