DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on (6/1/2023), is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims (1-20) were examined in a Non-Final on 4/22/2026. This office action is in response to the submission dated 8/24/2026. Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-15 and 17-23 are pending and being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8-9, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Michael Parker (WO 2019040794).
Michael Parker discloses a method for producing a electrostatic chuck (Abstract) to be used within a plasma etching chamber for the manufacturing of semiconductor components, comprising:
providing a body forming the substrate of the device, the body being ceramic (Abstract).
applying a first coating on the surface of the body, wherein the first coating comprises pure aluminum metal which could ne 99.99% by weight (Para 19).
applying a second coating on the metal aluminum-coated body, wherein the second coating comprises a ceramic coating layer (this would be second ceramic see para 15).
Regarding claim 6, application of aluminum could be done by PVD, CVD or other methods. CVD and PVD are known to be vacuum coating methods (para 24, 48, 55).
Regarding claim 8 and 17, second ceramic layer could be alumina, aluminum nitride, or other ceramic (Para 52).
Claim 9 is rejected with claim 1 as being of the same scope.
Regarding claim 20, the device is disclosed to be an electrostatic chuck.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael Parker (WO 2019040794) in view of Bhatnagar et al (US 7732056).
Regarding claim 2 and 3 directed to cleaning and polishing as a pre-process, Bhatnagar et al disclose cleaning and polishing including with an alkaline solution (Col 4 line 64- Col 5 line 18).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of this application to have cleaned and polished the surface of the device before applying protective coating.
Regarding claim 19 and 23 uneven layer thickness is disclosed in Bhatnagar at (Fig 2a-2c).
Claims 4, 10-11, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael Parker (WO 2019040794) in view of Marscher (US 4109031) or HP Dillon (US 3091548).
Regarding claims 4 and 10-11, Intermediate layer being a transitional layer between metal and ceramic is not explicitly disclosed in Michael Parker.
Transitional layer being 100% metallic and 0% ceramic proximate metal layer and gradually changing to 100% ceramic and 0% ceramic to provide strong and stable joint was disclosed by Marscher (Col 1 lines 11-29).
HP Dillon discloses similar intermediate layer explicitly in the Fig (1)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of this application to have an intermediate layer for strong and stable joint between layers.
Claims 5, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael Parker (WO 2019040794) in view of Boyd Jr et al (US 20170140970).
Regarding these claims microstructures on devices are understood as structures like mesa which help in protective coating to adhere strongly.
Boyd discloses such ESC device and microstructure in a range (Fig 4, 492 or Fig 2, 202) to help good adhesion.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of this application to have a microstructure for strong and stable joint between layers.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael Parker (WO 2019040794 in view of Boyd Jr et al (US 20170140970) and Bhatnagar et al (US 7732056).
Regarding claims 14-15, as best understood coating profile as claimed is due to the fact that narrow openings may not be filled all the way. This was well understood in the prior art before the filing date of this application. Fig 2c of Bhatnagar discloses this at 128.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the filing date of this application to have such non-uniformity as being common.
Claims 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael Parker (WO 2019040794) in view of Marscher (US 4109031) or HP Dillon (US 3091548) and Pakamanis et al (WO 2016053070).
Regarding claim 22 sputter deposition of aluminum-based layer is disclosed but not specifically that it could be magnetron sputtering.
Pakamanis et al disclose magnetron sputtering for aluminum-based layer as below.
“As an intermediate layer, metals such as aluminum, nickel and copper are often used, which, along with high ductility, have good adhesion to the metal and ceramic substrates, as well as high processability, which makes it possible to use existing processes for their application, such as thermal spraying ( plasma and flame), ion-plasma and magnetron sputtering, as well as electrolytic coating methods.”
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of this application to have sputter deposition using magnetron sputtering.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Elliot et al (US 20170263486) discloses aluminum brazing layer between two ceramic layers.
Sun et al (US 20150311044) discloses multilayer deposition on an electrostatic chuck using sputtered aluminum (para 39) over which ceramic with varying concentration of oxygen to make ceramic including intermediate layers.
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAM N. KACKAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1716
/RAM N KACKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716