DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
RE: the rejection of claim(s) 1-6, 9 under 35 USC 112(b), Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments have been fully considered and resolve the issues of indefiniteness. Accordingly, the rejection of claim(s) 1-6, 9 has been withdrawn. Claims 7-8 and 10-11 are withdrawn and therefore the rejection of claims 7-8 and 10-11 is moot.
RE: the rejection of claim(s) 1-6, 9 under 35 USC 103, Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive for the reasons outlined below.
Applicant argues the embodiments of Kim (embodiment of FIGs. 1-2 and FIGs. 4-5) have a materially different thermal and structural configurations.
However, Kim teaches The semiconductor package of FIG. 4 may have substantially the same structure as the semiconductor package of FIG. 2, except a shape and arrangement of the cover 300 thereof, [0074]. Accordingly, Kim teaches these embodiments are similar and have substantially the same structure, not materially different thermal and structure configurations as alleged by the Applicant. Further, "the prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed, see MPEP 2141. Accordingly, as Kim does not teach away from using the embodiment of FIGs. 4-5 and FIGs. 1-2, one of ordinary skill in the art would have readily used the embodiment of FIG. 1-2 to modify the embodiment of FIGs. 4-5.
Applicant argues in FIGS. 4-5 of Kim reproduced below, cover 300 is supported by support 380 and securing portion 390 such that the upper plate is spaced apart from the substrate/chip region. Thus, the embodiment of FIGS. 4-5 is an open, spaced structure that provides a gap/opening area for air flow. However, the Office has not provided any articulated reason why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have the motivation to selectively import the adhesive/contact structure from embodiment in FIGS. 1-2 into the central region of the embodiment of FIGS. 4-5 while still preserving the open air-flow structure of FIGS. 4-5.
However, the open air-flow structure of FIGs. 4-5 (which Applicant argues is the upper plate being spaced from the substrate/chip region) is not claimed. Accordingly, there is no requirement to import the adhesive/contact structure from the embodiment in FIGS. 1-2 into the central region of the embodiment of FIGS. 4-5 while still preserving the open air-flow structure of FIGS. 4-5 (as described by the Applicant above). Further, to reiterate, Kim does not teach away from using these embodiments together.
Applicant argues Introducing the adhesive/contact configuration of FIGS. 1-2 into the central portion of the FIGS. 4-5 embodiment would eliminate, fill, or at least obstruct the gap/flow space that Kim deliberately provides in FIGS. 4-5, and such a modification would change the air-flow configuration of Kim's open embodiment rather than merely combine known interchangeable features. The mere fact that Kim discloses multiple embodiments, or that the embodiments may share certain general components, does not provide a sufficient motivation to reconstruct the embodiment of FIGS. 4-5 by adding the adhesive/contact structure from FIGS. 1-2. Thus, Applicants respectfully submit that the rejection relies on improper hindsight reconstruction of the claimed invention.
However, as modified, even if the chip 200 was in indirect contact with the cover 300 through the adhesive 350 of FIG. 2, there would still be air-flow surrounding the chip 200. Further, the top surface of the chip 200 would be covered with the adhesive 350 of FIG. 2 which is in direct contact with the cover 300. Kim teaches the adhesive is conductive, and the heat generated from the integrated circuit chip 200 may be efficiently dissipated out of the semiconductor package 500 by the thermal conduction through the adhesive 350, [0065]. Accordingly, the adhesive 350 improves heat dissipation. Kim further teaches An adhesive 350 may be interposed between the integrated circuit chip 200 and the cover 300, and thus the cover 300 may be more stably secured to the circuit board 100. Accordingly, the motivation to combine these embodiments is not based on hindsight but instead based on explicit advantages taught by Kim.
Applicant further argues The Office Action's assertion that natural convection would occur before the fan operates, or before the sensed temperature reaches a reference temperature, is at most an observation of a general physical phenomenon, and thus does not teach that Kim's opening area OA is structurally designed as a natural-convection outlet in combination with a central die-contacting contact area and peripheral fixation portions.
Applicant does not appear to contest that the claimed natural convection would occur such that the opening area OA becomes in outlet in modified Kim, and appears to argue only that the Kim’s opening area OA was not structurally designed by Kim as a natural convection outlet. In short, if the opening area OA becomes an outlet due to natural convection in the operation disclosed by Kim in [0073], the claimed limitations are met. See MPEP 2145 which states mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. Whether Kim recognized the latent properties of the opening area OA as a natural convection outlet is not a requirement for an obviousness determination.
Applicant further argues While Sammakia discloses natural convection for cooling an electronic package using a vertical-board and cover-plate/channel arrangement, Sammakia does not disclose or suggest the claimed invention's heat slug design body having a central contact area contacting the silicon die, peripheral fixation portions directly contacting the substrate, and opening portions formed between the peripheral fixation portions.
However, Applicant appears to argue the references individually. See MPEP 2145 One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. Accordingly, while Sammakia does not disclose the central contact area and other features, there is no requirement for Sammakia to teach each and every feature of the claim since other features are taught by the combination of Kim and Abbott.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20130135823A1 (“Kim”) in view of US 20060145311 A1 (“Abbott”), further in view of US5912800A (“Sammakia”).
RE: Claim 1, Kim discloses A heat slug design (510 in FIG. 4 including 300, [0074]) comprising:
a heat slug design body (300; 300 includes 370, 380, [0075]) implemented to be larger than or the same as an area of a substrate (100; 370 covers a unit area of 100, [0076]; FIG. 4 shows upper plate 370 is larger than area of substrate 100 occupied by 200; Additionally, FIG. 1 shows 300 is larger than an area of substrate 100 occupied by 200; Note: “area” is not defined by the instant specification; Accordingly, under a broad reasonable interpretation, “area” is not necessarily an entire surface area of the substrate, and is here interpreted to mean any area of a substrate, including a partial surface area),
a plurality of fixation portions (380, 390 in FIG. 5) formed on an outer periphery of the heat slug design body, and directly contacting the substrate (four securing portions 390 are positioned at four corner portions of the unit area of the circuit board 100, respectively, [0078]; FIG. 4 shows 390 directly contacting 100), and
a plurality of opening portions (opening portions OA, 320 in FIGs. 4-5, [0079]-[0080]) formed between the plurality of fixation portions on the outer periphery of the heating sink body, and having a space having a predetermined height from the substrate (FIGs 4-5 show opening portions OA, 320 formed between the plurality of fixation portions 390 on the outer periphery of the heating sink body 300, and having a space having a predetermined height from the substrate 100);
wherein at least one opening portion (320) of the plurality of opening portions is an inlet through which wind generated by a cooling fan (400 includes a fan, [0067], [0069]) is introduced (when the air flow generator 400 may force the surrounding air to flow into the flow space S through the second opening 320, That is, the air may be compelled to flow into the flow space S from surroundings through the second opening 320 and to flow out of the flow space S through the opening area OA, thereby generate the compulsory air flow from the second opening 320 to the opening area OA via the flow space S, [0080]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose (in the embodiment of FIGs. 4-5):
a contact area formed at a center of the heat slug design body, the contact area being part of the same heat slug design body as the plurality of fixation portions, and directly contacting or indirectly contacting a silicon die formed on the substrate;
at least one opening portion of the plurality of opening portions is an outlet through which the introduced wind is discharged jointly with heat of the silicon die; and
wherein the outlet releases the heat generated from the silicon die to outside through natural convection by a difference between a temperature of the silicon die and a surrounding temperature of the silicon die.
However, in the embodiment of FIGs. 1-2, Kim discloses:
a contact area (area of 300 in FIGs. 1-2 indirectly contacting chip 200 through adhesive 350; adhesive 350 is interposed between the integrated circuit chip 200 and the cover 300, and thus the cover 300 may be more stably secured to the circuit board 100, [0065]) formed at a center of the heat slug design body, and directly or indirectly contacting a die (200) formed on the substrate (FIGs. 1-2 shows the contact area of 300 formed at center of 300 indirectly contacting 200 through 350).
FIGs. 1-2 show the air flow generator 400 and the second opening 320 offset from the center of 300 with the air flow generator 400 positioned between the top right corner and bottom left corner of 300; Accordingly, the opening 320 is between the diagonal corners of 300.
Further, in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the contact area of 300 is part of a topmost portion of the cover 300, which is in indirect contact with the die 200 through the adhesive 350, and the topmost portion of the cover 300 is positioned over the die 200 formed on substrate 100, and the topmost portion of the cover 300 includes the opening 320.
In the embodiment of FIGs. 4-5, the topmost portion of the cover 300 is the top plate 370 which is positioned over the die 200 formed on substrate 100, and includes the opening 320.
Further, in FIGs. 4-5, the top plate 370 is part of the same heat slug design body 300 as the plurality of fixation portions 380, 390.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of FIGs. 4-5 so that a central contact area of 300 indirectly contacts 200, the contact area is part of the top plate 370, and the air flow generator 400 and the second opening 320 are offset from the center of 300 as taught by Kim in order to more stably secure 300 to the circuit board 100 as further taught by Kim. As a result, the contact area would be part of the top plate 370 which is part of the same heat slug design body 300 as the plurality of fixation portions 380, 390.
Further Kim discloses 200 is a semiconductor chip, [0057].
In the same field of endeavor, Abbott discloses the material of the semiconductor chip may comprise silicon, silicon germanium, gallium arsenide, or any other semiconductor or compound material used in integrated circuit manufacturing, [0037].
Accordingly, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, there was a need to select a material for the semiconductor chip 200 in Kim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use silicon as the material in the semiconductor chip 200 as this would have been obvious to try since silicon is one solution for semiconductor material in a semiconductor chip identified by Abbott, and this would have had a reasonable expectation of success, see MPEP 2143.
Kim as modified by Abbott would therefore disclose:
at least one opening portion (opening area OA) of the plurality of opening portions is an outlet through which the introduced wind is discharged jointly with heat of the silicon die (200; the air around the integrated circuit chip 200 may flow out of the flow space S to the surroundings through the opening area OA. That is, the air may be compelled to flow into the flow space S from surroundings through the second opening 320 and to flow out of the flow space S through the opening area OA, thereby generate the compulsory air flow from the second opening 320 to the opening area OA via the flow space S, [0080]).
Further, Kim discloses heat is generated from the chip 200, [0064].
Kim further discloses The temperature sensor may detect a temperature thereof, for example, a surface temperature of the integrated circuit chip 200 periodically or constantly. When the detected surface temperature of the integrated circuit chip 200 may be higher than a given reference temperature, the fan controller may be allowed to operate, [0073].
The term “convection” is defined as “movement in a gas or liquid in which the warmer parts move up and the cooler parts move down,” (see definition 2a provided by Merriam-Webster available at https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/convection, accessed on March 24, 2026).
Accordingly, as the temperature of the chip increases, and before the temperature of the chip 200 reaches the reference temperature or before the temperature sensor detects that the temperature of the chip 200 has reached the reference temperature, the chip 200 would generate heat, and heat air surrounding the chip 200, increasing the pressure in the air surrounding the chip 200, causing the heated air to rise and be released through at least one opening area OA through natural convection.
Alternatively:
In the same field of endeavor, Sammakia discloses In order to provide for the thermal management, or natural convection of an air flow for cooling a heated module or an electronic package 12 attached to the vertical board 14, as illustrated in FIG. 1b, Col. 3, lines 30-35.
Sammakia further discloses The air flow is propagated on the basis of the phenomenon that warm air possesses a lower density than the surrounding cold air, and therefore will attempt to flow upwardly. This results in the cold air from the surroundings being drawn in and upwardly as a replacement for the warm air, thereby generating a buoyancy-induced, or natural convection air flow Col. 1, lines 30-40.
In FIG. 1b, the mounting surface of the semiconductor chip 12 is vertically oriented.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit board 100 and the mounting surface of 200 to be vertically oriented as taught by Sammakia in order to improve thermal management by allowing heat dissipation through natural convection. As a result, at least one of the outlets OA would release the heat generated from the silicon die 200 to the outside through natural convection by a difference between a temperature of the silicon die 200 and a surrounding temperature of the silicon die 200.
RE: Claim 2, Kim in view of Abbott, Sammakia discloses The heat slug design of claim 1, wherein:
the heat slug design body is implemented in a quadrangular shape (Kim FIG. 5 shows 300 has a quadrangular shape, i.e., 300 has four sides; FIG. 1 shows top view of 300 has four sides).
RE: Claim 3, Kim in view of Abbott, Sammakia discloses The heat slug design of claim 2, wherein:
the plurality of fixation portions are formed on four sides of the outer periphery of the heat slug design body, respectively (Kim FIG. 4 shows 390 are on edges of 100; As 390 are formed at four corner portions, [0078], they would be formed on the four sides of the outer periphery of 300; further, support 380 extends upward from the securing portion, [0077]; one or more supports extend from corresponding securing portions, [0030]; Accordingly, four securing portions 390 would have four corresponding supports 380 on four sides of 300; Alternatively, modifying the device to have four supports 380 on four sides of 300 would have been obvious since it has been held that mere duplication or arrangement of the essential working parts of a device (i.e., supports 380) involves only routine skill in the art, see MPEP 2144.04).
RE: Claim 4, Kim in view of Abbott, Sammakia discloses The heat slug design of claim 3, wherein:
the plurality of opening portions, are formed at four apexes (In Kim FIGs. 4-5: 380) of the outer periphery of the heat slug design body, respectively (Kim discloses the gap area between neighboring supports 380 is open to form an opening area OA, [0079]; Accordingly, the opening areas OA would defined by neighboring supports 380 and therefore be positioned at the neighboring supports 380 which form apexes of 300).
RE: Claim 5, Kim in view of Abbott, Sammakia discloses The heat slug design of claim 2, wherein:
the plurality of fixation portions are formed at four apexes of the outer periphery of the heat slug design body, respectively (In Kim FIGs. 4-5: 390 are formed at four corner portions, [0078], further, support 380 extends upward from the securing portion, [0077]; one or more supports extend from corresponding securing portions, [0030]; Accordingly, four securing portions 390 would have four corresponding supports 380 at four corners of 300; Alternatively, modifying the device to have four supports 380 at four corners of 300 would have been obvious since it has been held that mere duplication or arrangement of the essential working parts of a device (i.e., supports 380) involves only routine skill in the art, see MPEP 2144.04).
RE: Claim 6, Kim in view of Abbott, Sammakia discloses The heat slug design of claim 5, wherein:
the plurality of opening portions, are formed on four sides of the outer periphery of the heat slug design body, respectively (Kim discloses the gap area between neighboring supports 380 is open to form an opening area OA, [0079]; Accordingly, the opening areas OA would be formed on the four sides of the outer periphery of 300 in between the four supports 380).
RE: Claim 9, Kim discloses A semiconductor package (510 in FIG. 4 including 300, [0074]) comprising:
a substrate (100) which has a circuit pattern (printed circuits of circuit board 100, [0052] and/or wirings 110, 112, [0053]), and has a quadrangular shape ( FIG. 1 shows 100 has a quadrangular shape);
a die (200) formed on the substrate, and electrically connected to the substrate (printed circuits are electrically connected to 200, [0052]; 111 is electrically connected to 200, [0053]); and
a heat slug design (300) formed at an upper portion of the die, and releasing heat generated from the die to outside (the term “at” is not defined by the instant specification; the term “at” is defined as “used as a function word to indicate presence or occurrence in, on, or near,” see definition 1 by Merriam-Webster available at https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/at, accessed on March 24, 2026; accordingly, 300 is formed near an upper portion of 200, and therefore formed at the upper portion of 200; heat generated from the integrated circuit chip 200 may also be dissipated by thermal conduction through the cover 300, [0064]),
wherein the heat slug design includes
a heat slug design body (300) implemented to be larger than or the same as an area of the substrate (370 covers a unit area of 100, [0076]; FIG. 4 shows upper plate 370 is larger than area of substrate 100 occupied by 200; Additionally, FIG. 1 shows 300 is larger than an area of substrate 100 occupied by 200; Note: “area” is not defined by the instant specification; Accordingly, under a broad reasonable interpretation, “area” is not necessarily an entire surface area of the substrate, and is here interpreted to mean any area of a substrate, including a partial surface area),
a plurality of opening portions (opening portions OA, 320 in FIGs. 4-5, [0079]-[0080]) formed between the plurality of fixation portions on an outer periphery of the heat slug design body, and having a space having a predetermined height from the substrate (FIGs 4-5 show opening portions OA, 320 formed between the plurality of fixation portions 390 on the outer periphery of the heating sink body 300, and having a space having a predetermined height from the substrate 100);
wherein at least one opening portion (320) of the plurality of opening portions is an inlet through which wind generated by a cooling fan (400 includes a fan, [0067], [0069]) is introduced (when the air flow generator 400 may force the surrounding air to flow into the flow space S through the second opening 320, That is, the air may be compelled to flow into the flow space S from surroundings through the second opening 320 and to flow out of the flow space S through the opening area OA, thereby generate the compulsory air flow from the second opening 320 to the opening area OA via the flow space S, [0080]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose (in the embodiment of FIGs. 4-5):
200 is a silicon die,
a contact area formed at a center of the heat slug design body, the contact area being part of the same heat slug design body as a plurality of fixation portions, and directly contacting or indirectly contacting the silicon die formed on the substrate,
at least one opening portion of the plurality of opening portions is an outlet through which the introduced wind is discharged jointly with heat of the silicon die, and
wherein the outlet releases the heat generated from the silicon die to outside through natural convection by a difference between a temperature of the silicon die and a surrounding temperature of the silicon die.
However Kim discloses 200 is a semiconductor chip, [0057].
In the same field of endeavor, Abbott discloses the material of the semiconductor chip may comprise silicon, silicon germanium, gallium arsenide, or any other semiconductor or compound material used in integrated circuit manufacturing, [0037].
Accordingly, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, there was a need to select a material for the semiconductor chip 200 in Kim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use silicon as the material in the semiconductor chip 200 as this would have been obvious to try since silicon is one solution for semiconductor material in a semiconductor chip identified by Abbott, and this would have had a reasonable expectation of success, see MPEP 2143.
in the embodiment of FIGs. 1-2, Kim discloses:
a contact area (area of 300 in FIGs. 1-2 indirectly contacting chip 200 through adhesive 350; adhesive 350 is interposed between the integrated circuit chip 200 and the cover 300, and thus the cover 300 may be more stably secured to the circuit board 100, [0065]) formed at a center of the heat slug design body, and directly or indirectly contacting a die (200) formed on the substrate (FIGs. 1-2 shows the contact area of 300 formed at center of 300 indirectly contacting 200 through 350).
FIGs. 1-2 show the air flow generator 400 and the second opening 320 offset from the center of 300 with the air flow generator 400 positioned between the top right corner and bottom left corner of 300; Accordingly, the opening 320 is between the diagonal corners of 300.
Further, in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the contact area of 300 is part of a topmost portion of the cover 300, which is in indirect contact with the die 200 through the adhesive 350, and the topmost portion of the cover 300 is positioned over the die 200 formed on substrate 100, and the topmost portion of the cover 300 includes the opening 320.
In the embodiment of FIGs. 4-5, the topmost portion of the cover 300 is the top plate 370 which is positioned over the die 200 formed on substrate 100, and includes the opening 320.
Further, in FIGs. 4-5, the top plate 370 is part of the same heat slug design body 300 as the plurality of fixation portions 380, 390.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of FIGs. 4-5 so that a central contact area of 300 indirectly contacts 200, the contact area is part of the top plate 370, and the air flow generator 400 and the second opening 320 are offset from the center of 300 as taught by Kim in order to more stably secure 300 to the circuit board 100 as further taught by Kim. As a result, the contact area would be part of the top plate 370 which is part of the same heat slug design body 300 as the plurality of fixation portions 380, 390.
Kim as modified by Abbott would therefore disclose:
at least one opening portion (opening area OA) of the plurality of opening portions is an outlet through which the introduced wind is discharged jointly with heat of the silicon die (200; the air around the integrated circuit chip 200 may flow out of the flow space S to the surroundings through the opening area OA. That is, the air may be compelled to flow into the flow space S from surroundings through the second opening 320 and to flow out of the flow space S through the opening area OA, thereby generate the compulsory air flow from the second opening 320 to the opening area OA via the flow space S, [0080]).
Further, Kim discloses heat is generated from the chip 200, [0064].
Kim further discloses The temperature sensor may detect a temperature thereof, for example, a surface temperature of the integrated circuit chip 200 periodically or constantly. When the detected surface temperature of the integrated circuit chip 200 may be higher than a given reference temperature, the fan controller may be allowed to operate, [0073].
The term “convection” is defined as “movement in a gas or liquid in which the warmer parts move up and the cooler parts move down,” (see definition 2a provided by Merriam-Webster available at https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/convection, accessed on March 24, 2026).
Accordingly, as the temperature of the chip increases, and before the temperature of the chip 200 reaches the reference temperature or before the temperature sensor detects that the temperature of the chip 200 has reached the reference temperature, the chip 200 would generate heat, and heat air surrounding the chip 200, increasing the pressure in the air surrounding the chip 200, causing the heated air to rise and be released through at least one opening area OA through natural convection.
Alternatively:
In the same field of endeavor, Sammakia discloses In order to provide for the thermal management, or natural convection of an air flow for cooling a heated module or an electronic package 12 attached to the vertical board 14, as illustrated in FIG. 1b, Col. 3, lines 30-35.
Sammakia further discloses The air flow is propagated on the basis of the phenomenon that warm air possesses a lower density than the surrounding cold air, and therefore will attempt to flow upwardly. This results in the cold air from the surroundings being drawn in and upwardly as a replacement for the warm air, thereby generating a buoyancy-induced, or natural convection air flow Col. 1, lines 30-40.
In FIG. 1b, the mounting surface of the semiconductor chip 12 is vertically oriented.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit board 100 and the mounting surface of 200 to be vertically oriented as taught by Sammakia in order to improve thermal management by allowing heat dissipation through natural convection. As a result, at least one of the outlets OA would release the heat generated from the silicon die 200 to the outside through natural convection by a difference between a temperature of the silicon die 200 and a surrounding temperature of the silicon die 200.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL ANGUIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899