DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 2, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuyuki et al (JP 2011-199253) in view of Yosuke et al (JP 2019-77641).
In re claim 1, Katsuyuki et al discloses an imaging element comprising a photoelectric conversion layer (i.e. 12) including an organic photoelectric conversion material, a hole transporting material, and an electron transporting material (i.e. see at least Figures 1(b), 1(c), 2, 3, 5; paragraphs 0023-0033, 0047, 0073-0112, 0127-0143).
Katsuyuki et al, does not explicitly disclose wherein the electron transport material includes a fullerene compound monomer and a fullerene compound dimer.
However, Yosuke et al discloses the use of fullerenes such as fullerene compound monomer and fullerene compound dimer (i.e. in this case, fullerene polymer) as electron transport materials (i.e. see at least paragraphs 0085, 0086, 0094).
The advantage is to obtain a photoelectric conversion element with improved responsiveness (i.e. see at least paragraph 0085).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the imaging element as taught by Katsuyuki et al with the use of fullerenes such as fullerene compound monomer and fullerene compound dimer as electron transport materials as taught by Yosuke et al in order to obtain a photoelectric conversion element with improved responsiveness.
In re claim 7, Katsuyuki et al discloses wherein mass% of the hole transporting material in the photoelectric conversion layer is greater than or equal to 15 mass% and less than or equal to 50 mass% (i.e. see at least paragraphs 0023-0033, 0047, 0073-0112, 0127-0143).
In re claims 8 and 9, Katsuyuki et al discloses wherein the fullerene compound monomer includes the C60 monomer, and the fullerene compound dimer includes the C60 dimer (i.e. see at least paragraphs 0023-0033, 0047, 0073-0112, 0127-0143).
In re claim 10, Katsuyuki et al discloses further comprising a first electrode (i.e. 11), and a second electrode (i.e. 15) where light enters, wherein the photoelectric conversion layer is sandwiched between the first electrode and the second electrode (i.e. see at least Figures 1(b), 1(c), 2, 3, 5).
In re claim 11, the recitation “a stacked imaging element” in the claim specifies an intended use or field of use and is treated as nonlimiting since it has been held that in device claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claim invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claim invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
In re claim 12, the recitation “an imaging device” in the claim specifies an intended use or field of use and is treated as nonlimiting since it has been held that in device claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claim invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claim invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
In re claim 13, the recitation “an imaging device” in the claim specifies an intended use or field of use and is treated as nonlimiting since it has been held that in device claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claim invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claim invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817