DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Note: The amendment of 11/31/2025 has been considered.
Claims 1-6 are pending and examined in the current application.
Any rejections not recited below have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosoya et al. (USPatPub. 2010/0267681 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 2: Hosoya discloses a fat or oil composition comprising diacylglycerols, α-linolenic acid and vitamin C at contents and ratios that overlap the contents and ratios recited in claims 1 and 2 (see Hosoya abstract; paragraphs [0015], [0017], [0018] and [0045]-[0047]). Thus, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 3: Hosoya discloses the fat or oil composition comprising diglyceride contents that overlap the diglyceride content recited in claim 3 (see Hosoya abstract; paragraph [0017]). Thus, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 4: Hosoya discloses the fat or oil composition comprising omega-3 fatty acids (e.g., α-linolenic acid) content that overlap the α-linolenic acid content in claim 4 (see Hosoya abstract; paragraph [0018]). Thus, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 5: Hosoya discloses the fat or oil composition comprising oleic acid content that overlap the oleic acid content in claim 5 (see Hosoya abstract; paragraph [0017]). Thus, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 6: Hosoya discloses a fat or oil composition comprising diacylglycerols, omega-3 fatty acids (e.g., α-linolenic acid) and vitamin C at contents and ratios that overlap the contents and ratios recited in the claims (see Hosoya abstract; paragraphs [0017], [0018] and [0045]-[0047]), but fails to disclose the illuminance value when exposed to light; However, given the fact the fat or oil composition in Hosoya comprises the same or similar constituents at contents that meet the contents recited in the claims, it is examiner position the claimed illuminance value when exposed to light is inherently present in the fat or oil in Hosoya. As set forth in MPEP §2112.01, "where...the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 USC 102, on "prima facie obviousness" under 35 USC 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1036, 459 F.2d 531,173 USPQ 685 (1972)." In re Best, Bolton and Shaw 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
Conclusion
/ASSAF ZILBERING/Examiner, Art Unit 1792