DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to application number 18/255,886, amendment and remarks, dated on 11/12/2025.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 14-17, 20-23, 25, 27, 29, 38-41 and 44-47 pending.
Claims 2, 4, 6-13, 18-19, 24, 26, 28, 30-37, 42-43 and 48 cancelled.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 14-17 and 20-23 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) withdrawn based on the applicant claim amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 14-17, 20-23, 25, 27, 29, 38-41 and 44-47 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 5, 14-17, 20-23, 25, 27, 29, 38-41 and 44-47 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 7, 8, 13 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,563,502 B2 in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0070791 A1) or Kim el. al. (US 2023/0254802 A1, hereinafter Kim-4802).
It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA), also note Exparte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd. App. 1969).
Claims 1, 25, U.S. Patent No. 12,563,502 B2 claim 6 discloses a simultaneous transmit and receive, STR, capable multi- link device, MLD, comprising an access point, AP, station, STA, the MLD comprising processing circuitry and memory, the memory comprising instructions that, when executed, causes the processing circuitry to cause the MLD to (claim 1):
select at least one communication parameter value for a pair of radio links to enable STR on the pair of radio links between the MLD and a second MLD, the second MLD comprising a non-access point, non-AP, STA, and the selected at least one communication parameter value comprising a value of at least one of: at least one first communication parameter for a first link in the pair and at least one second communication parameter for a second link in the pair (claim 1), the selection being based at least in part on an amount of frequency separation between each link in the pair of links (claim 6),
Furthermore, Kim-4802 in the same field of endeavor, AP-MLD, non-AP-MLD supporting STR (The EHT standard may support Simultaneous TX/RX (STR) Channel access according to Link capability in a multi-link support environment. A device supporting a multi-link may be defined as a Non-AP/AP Multi-Link Device (MLD). STR Capability may mean that data (or signals) can be transmitted/received simultaneously in multiple links. That is, an MLD supporting STR capability (hereinafter, STR MLD) may receive data through one link when data transmission occurs on another link; ¶126) discloses when a first link (anchor link) in the pair of radio links is associated with a first data load and a second link (non-anchor link) in the pair of radio links is associated with a second data load, the first data load being greater than the second data load: select the at least one communication parameter value by causing the MLD to select a first communication parameter value for the first link assuming no data load on the second link (selecting the communication parameter power value for the anchor link having a greater load than the non-anchor link and assuming no data load on the non-anchor link; On the other hand, in the case of a non-anchor link, if there is no explicit instruction, the STA of the non-AP MLD does not need to be awake based on TBTT to receive Beacon. Therefore, the operation to perform the anchor link function requires a relatively large load and power consumption compared to non-anchor links. On the other hand, in the case of a non-anchor link in which data frame exchange does not occur, power consumption can be reduced because it can enter a doze state (or an unavailable state in the case of an active mode); ¶181).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to select the at least one communication parameter value by causing the MLD to select a first communication parameter value for the first link assuming no data load on the second link when a first link (anchor link) in the pair of radio links is associated with a first data load and a second link (non-anchor link) in the pair of radio links is associated with a second data load, the first data load being greater than the second data load, as taught by Kim-4802 to modify Kim’s method and system in order to provide dynamic configuration of multi-link function in wireless system (title; ¶1).
Claims 3, 17, 27, 41, U.S. Patent No. 12,563,502 B2 claim 6 discloses wherein the at least one communication parameter value comprises value of at least one of:
a transmit power for the first link in the pair of radio links; a transmit power for the second link in the pair of radio links; a modulation and coding scheme, MCS, for the first link; a MCS for the second link (claim 1); and
a signal bandwidth for at least one of the first link and the second link (claim 1).
Claims 5, 29, U.S. Patent No. 12,563,502 B2 claim 6 discloses wherein the instructions are further to cause the processing circuitry to cause the MLD to:
obtain information about the pair of radio links, the information pertaining to at least one of the MLD’s capabilities and the second MLD’s capabilities for the pair of radio links (obtaining the information about the links pertaining to at least one of the AP-MLD’s capabilities and the non-AP MLD’s capabilities in order to select MLDs, the links and parameter values; claim 1).
Claims 14, 38, U.S. Patent No. 12,563,502 B2 claim 6 discloses a simultaneous transmit and receive, STR, capable multi- link device, MLD, comprising a non-access point, non-AP, station, STA, the MLD comprising processing circuitry and memory, the memory comprising instructions that when executed, causes the processing circuitry to cause the MLD to (non-AP STA and non-AP STA processing circuitry; claim 1):
transmit information about a pair of radio links to a second MLD (AP-MLD/STA obtaining information about the non-AP MLD’s capabilities in order to select MLDs, the links and parameter values; claim 1);
perform a multi-link operation, MLO, on the pair of radio links between the MLD and the second MLD, the pair of radio links using at least one communication parameter value, the at least one communication parameter value being based at least in part on the transmitted information and the at least one communication parameter value comprising a value of at least one of: at least one first communication parameter for a first link in the pair and at least one second communication parameter for a second link in the pair (claim 1), the at least one communication parameter value is based at least in part on an amount of frequency separation between each link in the pair of links (claim 6); and
Furthermore, Kim-4802 in the same field of endeavor, AP-MLD, non-AP-MLD supporting STR (The EHT standard may support Simultaneous TX/RX (STR) Channel access according to Link capability in a multi-link support environment. A device supporting a multi-link may be defined as a Non-AP/AP Multi-Link Device (MLD). STR Capability may mean that data (or signals) can be transmitted/received simultaneously in multiple links. That is, an MLD supporting STR capability (hereinafter, STR MLD) may receive data through one link when data transmission occurs on another link; ¶126) discloses when a first link (anchor link) in the pair of radio links is associated with a first data load and a second link (non-anchor link) in the pair of radio links is associated with a second data load, the first data load being greater than the second data load: the at least one communication parameter comprising a first communication parameter value for the first link assuming no data load on the second link (the communication parameter comprising the power value for the anchor link having a greater load than the non-anchor link and assuming no data load on the non-anchor link; On the other hand, in the case of a non-anchor link, if there is no explicit instruction, the STA of the non-AP MLD does not need to be awake based on TBTT to receive Beacon. Therefore, the operation to perform the anchor link function requires a relatively large load and power consumption compared to non-anchor links. On the other hand, in the case of a non-anchor link in which data frame exchange does not occur, power consumption can be reduced because it can enter a doze state (or an unavailable state in the case of an active mode); ¶181).
Claims 15, 39, U.S. Patent No. 12,563,502 B2 claim 1 and/or claim 7 discloses wherein the at least one communication parameter value is based at least in part on the transmitted information to enable STR on the pair of radio links (AP-STA obtaining the information from non-AP STAs about the links to set the parameter values in order to enable STR on the pair of radio links; claim 1; claim 7).
Claims 16, 40, U.S. Patent No. 12,563,502 B2 claim 1 and/or claim 7 discloses wherein the instructions are further to cause processing circuitry to cause the MLD to:
receive an indication of the at least one communication parameter value to use for the pair of radio links from the second MLD (AP-STA setting the link’s parameter values and informing the non-AP STAs about the link’s parameter values in order to enable STR on the pair of radio links; claim 1; claim 7).
Claims 20, 44, U.S. Patent No. 12,563,502 B2 claim 1 and/or claim 7 discloses wherein the at least one communication parameter value is based at least in part on a comparison of the transmitted information pertaining to the MLD’s capabilities to information pertaining to the second MLD’s capabilities in order to enable the STR on the pair of radio links (selecting the link’s parameter values based on the obtained information pertaining to the non-Ap’s capabilities to information pertaining to the AP-MLD’s capabilities in order to enable the STR on the pair of radio links; claim 1; claim 7).
Claims 21, 45, U.S. Patent No. 12,563,502 B2 claim 1 and/or claim 7 discloses the instructions are further to cause the processing circuitry to cause the MLD to:
receive a request for information about the pair of radio links from the second MLD (AP MLD); and the transmission of the information about the pair of radio links is responsive to the received request (communicating messages between the AP-MLD and the non-AP MLDs to obtain the information pertaining to the non-Ap’s capabilities in order to enable the STR on the pair of radio links; claim 1; claim 7).
Claims 22, 46, U.S. Patent No. 12,563,502 B2 claim 7 discloses wherein the instructions are further to cause the processing circuitry to cause the MLD to:
reclassify the pair of radio links from non-STR to STR based at least in part on the at least one communication parameter value (claim 7).
Claims 23, 47, U.S. Patent No. 12,563,502 B2 claim 7 discloses wherein at least one of:
the pair of radio links is a STR constrained pair of links (claim 1); and
the pair of radio links is a pair of non-STR links for a first set of communication parameter values and the pair of radio links is a pair of STR links for a second set of communication parameter values, the first set being different from the second set (claim 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 14-17, 20-23, 25, 27, 29, 38-41 and 44-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0070791 A1) in view of Kim el. al. (US 2023/0254802 A1, hereinafter Kim-4802).
Claims 1, 25, Kim discloses a simultaneous transmit and receive, STR (abstract; IEEE 802.11be can support mainly two types of multi-link operation. For example, simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) and non-STR operations may be considered. For example, an STR may be referred to as an asynchronous multi-link operation, and a non-STR may be referred to as a synchronous multi-link operation. A multi-link may include a multi-band. That is, the multi-link may mean a link included over several frequency bands, or may mean a plurality of links included in one frequency band; ¶154), capable multi- link device, MLD, comprising an access point, AP, station, STA (AP MLD; Fig. 1, el. 110), the MLD comprising processing circuitry (Fig. 1, el. 111; For example, the first STA 110 may perform an operation intended by an AP. For example, the processor 111 of the AP may receive a signal through the transceiver 113, process a reception (RX) signal, generate a transmission (TX) signal, and provide control for signal transmission. The memory 112 of the AP may store a signal (e.g., RX signal) received through the transceiver 113, and may store a signal (e.g., TX signal) to be transmitted through the transceiver; ¶48), and memory (Fig. 1, el. 112), the memory comprising instructions that, when executed (instruction stored in memory (Fig. 1, el. 112) and being executed by processor (Fig. 1, el. 111)), causes the processing circuitry to cause the MLD to:
select at least one communication parameter value (selecting communication parameter value such as transmission power, signal bandwidth and MCS of the first link and second link) for a pair of radio links to enable STR on the pair of radio links between the MLD (AP MLD) and a second MLD the second MLD comprising a non-access point, non-AP, STA (non-AP MLD), and the selected at least one communication parameter value comprising a value of at least one of: at least one first communication parameter for a first link in the pair and at least one second communication parameter for a second link in the pair, the selection being based at least in part on an amount of frequency separation between each link in the pair of links (selecting communication parameter value such as transmission power, signal bandwidth and MCS for the first link and second link based on the frequency distance between center frequency operation of the first link to the second link; Figs. 14-19; In a wireless local area network system, an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) may receive, from a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) station MLD (NSTR STA MLD), STR information related to transmit power information for the NSTR STA MLD to operate in STR. The NSTR STA MLD includes a first STA and a second STA, the first STA operates in a first link, the second STA operates in a second link, and the first and second links have NSTR relationship. The AP MLD may receive, from the NSTR STA MLD, a reference signal to calculate a path loss between the NSTR STA MLD and the AP MLD. The reference signal may include a transmit power value of the reference signal. The AP MLD may determine whether the NSTR STA MLD is capable of operating in STR based on the STR information and the path loss value; abstract; Referring to FIG. 14, the subfigure (a) shows a case in which Link 1 and Link2 are capable of STR operation, and the subfigure (b) shows a case in which Link1 and Link2 operate as non-STR. In order to operate in STR, the two links must be at least X MHz (/KHz/Hz) apart. However, in subfigure (b), since the two links are separated by a bandwidth smaller than X (i.e., by Y), STR cannot be operated but non-STR operation is enabled. These characteristics may be different for each terminal, and the AP cannot know the value of X of the terminal until the terminal informs it. In addition, the value of X MHz (/KHz) that determines the STR is related to the transmit power of the terminal. For example, it is assumed that STR operation is possible when the terminal transmits with its maximum power and the distance between links is X MHz or more. Even if the distance between the two links is less than X by Y MHz, the terminal may perform STR operation by reducing the transmit (TX) power of the terminal; ¶172; For this operation, information that links operating in non-STR at maximum TX power is changed into links operating in STR (for example, distance between two links, related power values) can be transmitted to the AP (/AP MLD) by a non-AP STA (/MLD); ¶173; Referring to FIG. 15, the distance from the nearest end of the DL PPDU to the nearest end of the UL PPDU may be defined as X MHz. X represents a frequency interval in which links can operate in STR with maximum power (or average power) of the terminal. Conversely, the transmit power means the maximum transmit power that can operate in STR at a corresponding distance. Table 1 below shows an example for this; ¶176; A distance may indicate the distance (X MHz) between center frequencies of the PPDUs transmitted between the two links, and is related to the bandwidth (Y MHz) of the PPDU and the UL TX power (Z dB/dBm). The TX power means the maximum TX power that can operate in STR at the corresponding distance and PPDU bandwidth. Table 2 below shows an example for this; ¶181; In the above example, the distance between the two links is taken as the distance between the ends of the two PPDUs, but as mentioned above, the distance of the center frequency may be used; ¶239; table 1; table 2; table 8); and
when a first link in the pair of radio links is associated with a first data load and a second link in the pair of radio links is associated with a second data load, the first data load being greater than the second data load: select the at least one communication parameter value by causing the MLD to select a first communication parameter value (selecting communication parameter value such as transmission power, signal bandwidth and MCS of the first link and second link based on the selected first and second bandwidths of the first link and second link in correspondence to the first link load and the second link load; abstract; In addition, the value of X MHz (/KHz) that determines the STR is related to the transmit power of the terminal. For example, it is assumed that STR operation is possible when the terminal transmits with its maximum power and the distance between links is X MHz or more. Even if the distance between the two links is less than X by Y MHz, the terminal may perform STR operation by reducing the transmit (TX) power of the terminal; ¶172; Referring to FIG. 15, the distance from the nearest end of the DL PPDU to the nearest end of the UL PPDU may be defined as X MHz. X represents a frequency interval in which links can operate in STR with maximum power (or average power) of the terminal. Conversely, the transmit power means the maximum transmit power that can operate in STR at a corresponding distance. Table 1 below shows an example for this; ¶176; The TX power means the maximum TX power that can operate in STR at the corresponding distance and PPDU bandwidth. Table 2 below shows an example for this; ¶181) for the first link assuming no data load on the second link (Table 5 shows selecting communication parameter value, transmission power as X6 dBm to enable STR operation of the MLD when the first link bandwidth is 160 MHZ and greater than the second link bandwidth 40 MHZ. The selected bandwidths for the first link and the second link are based on the loads of the links. In other words, the MLD based on the loads of the first link and the second load, selects bandwidths for the first link and the second link and based on the selected first and second bandwidths, selects the communication parameter value, transmission power as X6 dBm; The TX power may indicate a maximum transmit power value that links can operate in STR at the corresponding PPDU bandwidth; ¶187; 320 MHz (Link 1)+20 MHz (Link 2); ¶194; 160 MHz (Link 1)+20 MHz (Link 2); ¶199).
Furthermore, Kim-4802 in the same field of endeavor, AP-MLD, non-AP-MLD supporting STR (The EHT standard may support Simultaneous TX/RX (STR) Channel access according to Link capability in a multi-link support environment. A device supporting a multi-link may be defined as a Non-AP/AP Multi-Link Device (MLD). STR Capability may mean that data (or signals) can be transmitted/received simultaneously in multiple links. That is, an MLD supporting STR capability (hereinafter, STR MLD) may receive data through one link when data transmission occurs on another link; ¶126) discloses when a first link (anchor link) in the pair of radio links is associated with a first data load and a second link (non-anchor link) in the pair of radio links is associated with a second data load, the first data load being greater than the second data load: select the at least one communication parameter value by causing the MLD to select a first communication parameter value for the first link assuming no data load on the second link (selecting the communication parameter power value for the anchor link having a greater load than the non-anchor link and assuming no data load on the non-anchor link; On the other hand, in the case of a non-anchor link, if there is no explicit instruction, the STA of the non-AP MLD does not need to be awake based on TBTT to receive Beacon. Therefore, the operation to perform the anchor link function requires a relatively large load and power consumption compared to non-anchor links. On the other hand, in the case of a non-anchor link in which data frame exchange does not occur, power consumption can be reduced because it can enter a doze state (or an unavailable state in the case of an active mode); ¶181).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to select the at least one communication parameter value by causing the MLD to select a first communication parameter value for the first link assuming no data load on the second link when a first link (anchor link) in the pair of radio links is associated with a first data load and a second link (non-anchor link) in the pair of radio links is associated with a second data load, the first data load being greater than the second data load, as taught by Kim-4802 to modify Kim’s method and system in order to provide dynamic configuration of multi-link function in wireless system (title; ¶1).
Claims 3, 17, 27, 41, Kim in view of Kim-4802 discloses wherein the at least one communication parameter value comprises value of at least one of:
a transmit power for the first link in the pair of radio links; a transmit power for the second link in the pair of radio links; a modulation and coding scheme, MCS, for the first link; a MCS for the second link (Kim; table 6; at its maximum TX power for the assigned HE-MCS; ¶217); and a signal bandwidth for at least one of the first link and the second link (Kim; abstract; ¶5; ¶6; In a wireless local area network system, an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) may receive, from a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) station MLD (NSTR STA MLD), STR information related to transmit power information for the NSTR STA MLD to operate in STR. The NSTR STA MLD includes a first STA and a second STA, the first STA operates in a first link, the second STA operates in a second link, and the first and second links have NSTR relationship. The AP MLD may receive, from the NSTR STA MLD, a reference signal to calculate a path loss between the NSTR STA MLD and the AP MLD. The reference signal may include a transmit power value of the reference signal. The AP MLD may determine whether the NSTR STA MLD is capable of operating in STR based on the STR information and the path loss value; abstract; Referring to FIG. 14, the subfigure (a) shows a case in which Link 1 and Link2 are capable of STR operation, and the subfigure (b) shows a case in which Link1 and Link2 operate as non-STR. In order to operate in STR, the two links must be at least X MHz (/KHz/Hz) apart. However, in subfigure (b), since the two links are separated by a bandwidth smaller than X (i.e., by Y), STR cannot be operated but non-STR operation is enabled. These characteristics may be different for each terminal, and the AP cannot know the value of X of the terminal until the terminal informs it. In addition, the value of X MHz (/KHz) that determines the STR is related to the transmit power of the terminal. For example, it is assumed that STR operation is possible when the terminal transmits with its maximum power and the distance between links is X MHz or more. Even if the distance between the two links is less than X by Y MHz, the terminal may perform STR operation by reducing the transmit (TX) power of the terminal; ¶172; For this operation, information that links operating in non-STR at maximum TX power is changed into links operating in STR (for example, distance between two links, related power values) can be transmitted to the AP (/AP MLD) by a non-AP STA (/MLD); ¶173; ¶181; ¶184; ¶185).
Claims 5, 29, Kim in view of Kim-4802 discloses wherein the instructions are further to cause the processing circuitry to cause the MLD (AP MLD) to: obtain information about the pair of radio links, the information pertaining to at least one of the MLD’s capabilities and the second MLD’s capabilities for the pair of radio links (Kim; obtain information about the pair of radio links, STR MLD’s capabilities and non-STR MLD’s capabilities of the links and the non-AP MLDs in order to set up STR links; EHT (IEEE 802.11be) considers multi-link technology, where multi-link may include multi-band. That is, the multi-link can represent links of several bands and can represent multiple multi-links within one band at the same time. Two types of multi-link operation are being considered. The capability that enables simultaneous reception and transmission in multiple links is called STR. It may be called that links with STR capability have STR relationship, and links that do not have STR capability have non-STR relationship; ¶155; As mentioned above, a terminal having a non-STR (or constraints STR) has lower resource efficiency than a terminal having a STR (non-constraints STR) because DL/UL is not possible in both links. For example, when a DL frame is received through one link, UL transmission to the other link cannot be performed; ¶161; Capability for coordination of each MLD may be transmitted in the form of element or field in the ML setup process (including discovery, association, etc.). Also, even if ML aggregation coordination capability is negotiated in the setup phase, the corresponding coordination level information can be updated through the control field after setup is completed; ¶163; ¶172; ¶173; A MLD can inform possible combinations of STR (i.e., combination of power and bandwidth) based on the distance of the center frequency offset of the two links, the TX power of the terminal, and the bandwidth of the PPDU transmitted in each link. If the location of each bandwidth (e.g., 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 (or 80+80) MHz, 240 (or, 160+80) MHz, 320 MHz (or 160+160 MHz), etc.) is fixed in each link, the distance value of the center frequency for the two links can be omitted, and the combination of TX power and PPDU bandwidth of the terminal can inform possible combinations of STR. That is, the distance can be derived only based on the information of the PPDU bandwidth. Table 3 below shows an example for this; ¶184; ¶226; ¶228).
Claims 14, 38, Kim discloses a simultaneous transmit and receive, STR (abstract; IEEE 802.11be can support mainly two types of multi-link operation. For example, simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) and non-STR operations may be considered. For example, an STR may be referred to as an asynchronous multi-link operation, and a non-STR may be referred to as a synchronous multi-link operation. A multi-link may include a multi-band. That is, the multi-link may mean a link included over several frequency bands, or may mean a plurality of links included in one frequency band; ¶154), capable multi- link device, MLD, comprising a non-access point, non-AP, station, STA (non-AP MLD; Fig. 1, el. 120), the MLD comprising processing circuitry (Fig. 1, el. 121; For example, a processor 121 of the non-AP STA may receive a signal through the transceiver 123, process an RX signal, generate a TX signal, and provide control for signal transmission. A memory 122 of the non-AP STA may store a signal (e.g., RX signal) received through the transceiver 123, and may store a signal (e.g., TX signal) to be transmitted through the transceiver; ¶50) and memory (Fig. 1, el. 122), the memory comprising instructions that when executed (instructions stored in memory (Fig. 1, el. 122) and executed by processor (Fig. 1, el. 121)), causes the processing circuitry to cause the MLD to:
transmit information about a pair of radio links to a second MLD (Fig. 18 shows non-AP MLD transmitting information about a pair of radio links to a AP MLD ; The above information may be transmitted in various frame types, and may be included in the Association Request frame, Multi-link Setup Request frame, new management frame, or public action frame. Instead of the management frame, the corresponding information may be transmitted through an A-Control field (e.g., HE A-Control field) of the Control frame or QoS Data/Null frame. FIG. 18 shows an example of sending the above information through a multi-link setup procedure; ¶232); and perform a multi-link operation, MLO, on the pair of radio links between the MLD and the second MLD, the pair of radio links using at least one communication parameter value (communication parameter value such as transmission power , signal bandwidth and MCS of the first link and second link), the at least one communication parameter value being based at least in part on the transmitted information and the at least one communication parameter value comprising a value of at least one of: at least one first communication parameter for a first link in the pair and at least one second communication parameter for a second link in the pair, the at least one communication parameter value is based at least in part on an amount of frequency separation between each link in the pair of links (abstract; ¶5; ¶6; ¶7; ¶155; ¶163; Figs. 14-19; In a wireless local area network system, an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) may receive, from a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) station MLD (NSTR STA MLD), STR information related to transmit power information for the NSTR STA MLD to operate in STR. The NSTR STA MLD includes a first STA and a second STA, the first STA operates in a first link, the second STA operates in a second link, and the first and second links have NSTR relationship. The AP MLD may receive, from the NSTR STA MLD, a reference signal to calculate a path loss between the NSTR STA MLD and the AP MLD. The reference signal may include a transmit power value of the reference signal. The AP MLD may determine whether the NSTR STA MLD is capable of operating in STR based on the STR information and the path loss value; abstract; Referring to FIG. 14, the subfigure (a) shows a case in which Link 1 and Link2 are capable of STR operation, and the subfigure (b) shows a case in which Link1 and Link2 operate as non-STR. In order to operate in STR, the two links must be at least X MHz (/KHz/Hz) apart. However, in subfigure (b), since the two links are separated by a bandwidth smaller than X (i.e., by Y), STR cannot be operated but non-STR operation is enabled. These characteristics may be different for each terminal, and the AP cannot know the value of X of the terminal until the terminal informs it. In addition, the value of X MHz (/KHz) that determines the STR is related to the transmit power of the terminal. For example, it is assumed that STR operation is possible when the terminal transmits with its maximum power and the distance between links is X MHz or more. Even if the distance between the two links is less than X by Y MHz, the terminal may perform STR operation by reducing the transmit (TX) power of the terminal; ¶172; For this operation, information that links operating in non-STR at maximum TX power is changed into links operating in STR (for example, distance between two links, related power values) can be transmitted to the AP (/AP MLD) by a non-AP STA (/MLD); ¶173; Referring to FIG. 15, the distance from the nearest end of the DL PPDU to the nearest end of the UL PPDU may be defined as X MHz. X represents a frequency interval in which links can operate in STR with maximum power (or average power) of the terminal. Conversely, the transmit power means the maximum transmit power that can operate in STR at a corresponding distance. Table 1 below shows an example for this; ¶176; A distance may indicate the distance (X MHz) between center frequencies of the PPDUs transmitted between the two links, and is related to the bandwidth (Y MHz) of the PPDU and the UL TX power (Z dB/dBm). The TX power means the maximum TX power that can operate in STR at the corresponding distance and PPDU bandwidth. Table 2 below shows an example for this; ¶181; ¶184; The terminal may inform the AP of whether the terminal operates in STR at which a TX power index in which bandwidth index as a combination of the above two indexes (bandwidth combination index and STA's TX power index). At this time, one or more combinations of bandwidth and TX power may be included; ¶226; Referring to FIG. 17, the bandwidth (BW) and TX Power combination for STR field transmitted by the non-STR MLD to the AP MLD may be repeated as many as the number of combinations of BW and TX Power; ¶228; ¶232; In the above example, the distance between the two links is taken as the distance between the ends of the two PPDUs, but as mentioned above, the distance of the center frequency may be used; ¶239; table 1; table 2; table 8); and
when a first link in the pair of radio links is associated with a first data load and a second link in the pair of radio links is associated with a second data load, the first data load being greater than the second data load: the at least one communication parameter comprising a first communication parameter value (the communication parameter comprising transmission power, signal bandwidth and MCS of the first link and second link based on the selected first and second bandwidths of the first link and second link in correspondence to the first link load and the second link load; abstract; In addition, the value of X MHz (/KHz) that determines the STR is related to the transmit power of the terminal. For example, it is assumed that STR operation is possible when the terminal transmits with its maximum power and the distance between links is X MHz or more. Even if the distance between the two links is less than X by Y MHz, the terminal may perform STR operation by reducing the transmit (TX) power of the terminal; ¶172; Referring to FIG. 15, the distance from the nearest end of the DL PPDU to the nearest end of the UL PPDU may be defined as X MHz. X represents a frequency interval in which links can operate in STR with maximum power (or average power) of the terminal. Conversely, the transmit power means the maximum transmit power that can operate in STR at a corresponding distance. Table 1 below shows an example for this; ¶176; The TX power means the maximum TX power that can operate in STR at the corresponding distance and PPDU bandwidth. Table 2 below shows an example for this; ¶181) for the first link assuming no data load on the second link (Table 5 shows the communication parameter comprising the transmission power as X6 dBm to enable STR operation of the MLD when the first link bandwidth is 160 MHZ and greater than the second link bandwidth 40 MHZ. The selected bandwidths for the first link and the second link are based on the loads of the links. In other words, the MLD based on the loads of the first link and the second load, selects bandwidths for the first link and the second link and based on the selected first and second bandwidths, selects the communication parameter value, transmission power as X6 dBm; The TX power may indicate a maximum transmit power value that links can operate in STR at the corresponding PPDU bandwidth; ¶187; 320 MHz (Link 1)+20 MHz (Link 2); ¶194; 160 MHz (Link 1)+20 MHz (Link 2); ¶199).
Furthermore, Kim-4802 in the same field of endeavor, AP-MLD, non-AP-MLD supporting STR (The EHT standard may support Simultaneous TX/RX (STR) Channel access according to Link capability in a multi-link support environment. A device supporting a multi-link may be defined as a Non-AP/AP Multi-Link Device (MLD). STR Capability may mean that data (or signals) can be transmitted/received simultaneously in multiple links. That is, an MLD supporting STR capability (hereinafter, STR MLD) may receive data through one link when data transmission occurs on another link; ¶126) discloses when a first link (anchor link) in the pair of radio links is associated with a first data load and a second link (non-anchor link) in the pair of radio links is associated with a second data load, the first data load being greater than the second data load: the at least one communication parameter comprising a first communication parameter value for the first link assuming no data load on the second link (the communication parameter comprising the power value for the anchor link having a greater load than the non-anchor link and assuming no data load on the non-anchor link; On the other hand, in the case of a non-anchor link, if there is no explicit instruction, the STA of the non-AP MLD does not need to be awake based on TBTT to receive Beacon. Therefore, the operation to perform the anchor link function requires a relatively large load and power consumption compared to non-anchor links. On the other hand, in the case of a non-anchor link in which data frame exchange does not occur, power consumption can be reduced because it can enter a doze state (or an unavailable state in the case of an active mode); ¶181).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide at least one communication parameter comprising a first communication parameter value for the first link assuming no data load on the second link when a first link (anchor link) in the pair of radio links is associated with a first data load and a second link (non-anchor link) in the pair of radio links is associated with a second data load, the first data load being greater than the second data load, as taught by Kim-4802 to modify Kim’s method and system in order to provide dynamic configuration of multi-link function in wireless system (title; ¶1).
Claims 15, 39, Kim in view of Kim-4802 discloses wherein the at least one communication parameter value is based at least in part on the transmitted information to enable STR on the pair of radio links (Kim; selecting communication parameter value such as transmission power, signal bandwidth and MCS based on the non-AP MLD transmitted information; Fig. 18); In a wireless local area network system, an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) may receive, from a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) station MLD (NSTR STA MLD), STR information related to transmit power information for the NSTR STA MLD to operate in STR. The NSTR STA MLD includes a first STA and a second STA, the first STA operates in a first link, the second STA operates in a second link, and the first and second links have NSTR relationship. The AP MLD may receive, from the NSTR STA MLD, a reference signal to calculate a path loss between the NSTR STA MLD and the AP MLD. The reference signal may include a transmit power value of the reference signal. The AP MLD may determine whether the NSTR STA MLD is capable of operating in STR based on the STR information and the path loss value; abstract; ¶5; ¶6; ¶7; ¶155; ¶163; Figs. 14-19; Referring to FIG. 14, the subfigure (a) shows a case in which Link 1 and Link2 are capable of STR operation, and the subfigure (b) shows a case in which Link1 and Link2 operate as non-STR. In order to operate in STR, the two links must be at least X MHz (/KHz/Hz) apart. However, in subfigure (b), since the two links are separated by a bandwidth smaller than X (i.e., by Y), STR cannot be operated but non-STR operation is enabled. These characteristics may be different for each terminal, and the AP cannot know the value of X of the terminal until the terminal informs it. In addition, the value of X MHz (/KHz) that determines the STR is related to the transmit power of the terminal. For example, it is assumed that STR operation is possible when the terminal transmits with its maximum power and the distance between links is X MHz or more. Even if the distance between the two links is less than X by Y MHz, the terminal may perform STR operation by reducing the transmit (TX) power of the terminal; ¶172; For this operation, information that links operating in non-STR at maximum TX power is changed into links operating in STR (for example, distance between two links, related power values) can be transmitted to the AP (/AP MLD) by a non-AP STA (/MLD); ¶173; ¶176; A distance may indicate the distance (X MHz) between center frequencies of the PPDUs transmitted between the two links, and is related to the bandwidth (Y MHz) of the PPDU and the UL TX power (Z dB/dBm). The TX power means the maximum TX power that can operate in STR at the corresponding distance and PPDU bandwidth. Table 2 below shows an example for this; ¶181; ¶184; The terminal may inform the AP of whether the terminal operates in STR at which a TX power index in which bandwidth index as a combination of the above two indexes (bandwidth combination index and STA's TX power index). At this time, one or more combinations of bandwidth and TX power may be included; ¶226; Referring to FIG. 17, the bandwidth (BW) and TX Power combination for STR field transmitted by the non-STR MLD to the AP MLD may be repeated as many as the number of combinations of BW and TX Power; ¶228; ¶232; ¶239; table 1; table 2; table 8).
Claims 16, 40, Kim in view of Kim-4802 discloses wherein the instructions are further to cause the processing circuitry to cause the MLD to:
receive an indication of the at least one communication parameter value to use for the pair of radio links from the second MLD (Kim; AP MLD sending response and negotiating with non-AP MLD as shown in Fig. 19 to select and set up the links according to the negotiated communication parameter values such as transmission power, signal bandwidth and MCS; In a wireless local area network system, an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) may receive, from a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) station MLD (NSTR STA MLD), STR information related to transmit power information for the NSTR STA MLD to operate in STR. The NSTR STA MLD includes a first STA and a second STA, the first STA operates in a first link, the second STA operates in a second link, and the first and second links have NSTR relationship. The AP MLD may receive, from the NSTR STA MLD, a reference signal to calculate a path loss between the NSTR STA MLD and the AP MLD. The reference signal may include a transmit power value of the reference signal. The AP MLD may determine whether the NSTR STA MLD is capable of operating in STR based on the STR information and the path loss value; abstract; ¶5; ¶6; ¶7; ¶155; ¶163; Figs. 14-19; Referring to FIG. 14, the subfigure (a) shows a case in which Link 1 and Link2 are capable of STR operation, and the subfigure (b) shows a case in which Link1 and Link2 operate as non-STR. In order to operate in STR, the two links must be at least X MHz (/KHz/Hz) apart. However, in subfigure (b), since the two links are separated by a bandwidth smaller than X (i.e., by Y), STR cannot be operated but non-STR operation is enabled. These characteristics may be different for each terminal, and the AP cannot know the value of X of the terminal until the terminal informs it. In addition, the value of X MHz (/KHz) that determines the STR is related to the transmit power of the terminal. For example, it is assumed that STR operation is possible when the terminal transmits with its maximum power and the distance between links is X MHz or more. Even if the distance between the two links is less than X by Y MHz, the terminal may perform STR operation by reducing the transmit (TX) power of the terminal; ¶172; For this operation, information that links operating in non-STR at maximum TX power is changed into links operating in STR (for example, distance between two links, related power values) can be transmitted to the AP (/AP MLD) by a non-AP STA (/MLD); ¶173; ¶176; A distance may indicate the distance (X MHz) between center frequencies of the PPDUs transmitted between the two links, and is related to the bandwidth (Y MHz) of the PPDU and the UL TX power (Z dB/dBm). The TX power means the maximum TX power that can operate in STR at the corresponding distance and PPDU bandwidth. Table 2 below shows an example for this; ¶181; ¶184; The terminal may inform the AP of whether the terminal operates in STR at which a TX power index in which bandwidth index as a combination of the above two indexes (bandwidth combination index and STA's TX power index). At this time, one or more combinations of bandwidth and TX power may be included; ¶226; Referring to FIG. 17, the bandwidth (BW) and TX Power combination for STR field transmitted by the non-STR MLD to the AP MLD may be repeated as many as the number of combinations of BW and TX Power; ¶228; ¶232; The above example shows that four combinations (power, bandwidth, distance) are configured for one link pair (e.g., A1); ¶235; Method 1-2: When a terminal transmits a UL frame to an AP after the terminal performs multi-link setup and negotiation with the AP through a frame (e.g., association request/response frame or ML association request/response frame) including STR/NSTR capability information, the terminal can transmit a reference signal including TX power; ¶267; ¶239).
Claims 20, 44, Kim in view of Kim-4802 discloses wherein the at least one communication parameter value is based at least in part on a comparison of the transmitted information pertaining to the MLD’s capabilities to information pertaining to the second MLD’s capabilities in order to enable the STR on the pair of radio links (Kim; selecting and setting up the MLD links according to the negotiated communication parameter values of the transmission power, signal bandwidth and MCS, pertaining to the STR MLD’s capabilities and the non-STR MLD’s capabilities of the links and the non-AP MLDs and the AP MLD in order to set up STR links; EHT (IEEE 802.11be) considers multi-link technology, where multi-link may include multi-band. That is, the multi-link can represent links of several bands and can represent multiple multi-links within one band at the same time. Two types of multi-link operation are being considered. The capability that enables simultaneous reception and transmission in multiple links is called STR. It may be called that links with STR capability have STR relationship, and links that do not have STR capability have non-STR relationship; ¶155; As mentioned above, a terminal having a non-STR (or constraints STR) has lower resource efficiency than a terminal having a STR (non-constraints STR) because DL/UL is not possible in both links. For example, when a DL frame is received through one link, UL transmission to the other link cannot be performed; ¶161; Capability for coordination of each MLD may be transmitted in the form of element or field in the ML setup process (including discovery, association, etc.). Also, even if ML aggregation coordination capability is negotiated in the setup phase, the corresponding coordination level information can be updated through the control field after setup is completed; ¶163; ¶172; ¶173; A MLD can inform possible combinations of STR (i.e., combination of power and bandwidth) based on the distance of the center frequency offset of the two links, the TX power of the terminal, and the bandwidth of the PPDU transmitted in each link. If the location of each bandwidth (e.g., 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 (or 80+80) MHz, 240 (or, 160+80) MHz, 320 MHz (or 160+160 MHz), etc.) is fixed in each link, the distance value of the center frequency for the two links can be omitted, and the combination of TX power and PPDU bandwidth of the terminal can inform possible combinations of STR. That is, the distance can be derived only based on the information of the PPDU bandwidth. Table 3 below shows an example for this; ¶184; ¶226; ¶228).
Claims 21, 45, Kim in view of Kim-4802 discloses the instructions are further to cause processing circuitry to cause the MLD to: receive a request for information about the pair of radio links from the second MLD (AP MLD); and the transmission of the information about the pair of radio links is responsive to the received request (Kim; negotiating between AP MLD and non-AP MLD capabilities to select the communication parameter values of the transmission power, signal bandwidth and MCS, in order to set up STR links; EHT (IEEE 802.11be) considers multi-link technology, where multi-link may include multi-band. That is, the multi-link can represent links of several bands and can represent multiple multi-links within one band at the same time. Two types of multi-link operation are being considered. The capability that enables simultaneous reception and transmission in multiple links is called STR. It may be called that links with STR capability have STR relationship, and links that do not have STR capability have non-STR relationship; ¶155; As mentioned above, a terminal having a non-STR (or constraints STR) has lower resource efficiency than a terminal having a STR (non-constraints STR) because DL/UL is not possible in both links. For example, when a DL frame is received through one link, UL transmission to the other link cannot be performed; ¶161; Capability for coordination of each MLD may be transmitted in the form of element or field in the ML setup process (including discovery, association, etc.). Also, even if ML aggregation coordination capability is negotiated in the setup phase, the corresponding coordination level information can be updated through the control field after setup is completed; ¶163; ¶172; ¶173; ¶226; Method 2-2: When a terminal transmits a UL frame to an AP After the terminal performs multi-link setup and negotiation with the AP through a frame (e.g., association request/response frame or ML association request/response frame) including STR/NSTR capability information, the terminal can transmit the UL frame by including recently measured path loss information with the AP; ¶267; ¶228).
Claims 22, 46, Kim in view of Kim-4802 discloses wherein the instructions are further to cause the processing circuitry to cause the MLD (non-AP MLD) to: reclassify the pair of radio links from non-STR to STR based at least in part on the at least one communication parameter value (Kim; selecting the communication parameter values of the transmission power, signal bandwidth and MCS, in order to changing/enhancing non-STR link to STR links; For this operation, information that links operating in non-STR at maximum TX power is changed into links operating in STR (for example, distance between two links, related power values) can be transmitted to the AP (/AP MLD) by a non-AP STA (/MLD); ¶173; Fig. 19; Referring to FIG. 19, the subfigure (a) shows the distance X between the two links and PPDU BW Y MHz that satisfy the STR when the terminal transmits with maximum (or average) power (i.e., Z dB). However, if the link selected through the multi-link setup procedure is configured as a non-STR link pair as in the subfigure (b), the distance between the two links when transmitting at maximum (or average) power (Z dB) in Y1 MHz bandwidth is X′ MHz which is less than X MHz, resulting that the link pair in the subfigure (b) operates in non-STR. However, in the situation as the subfigure (c), when Z′ dB Tx power and Y′ MHz bandwidth are used, the terminal can operate in STR with X′ MHz distance, and can report to the AP using the above-mentioned method. These combinations (power, bandwidth, distance) can be achieved by using various combinations (for example, (Z1, Y1, X1), (Z1, Y2, X2), etc.) as mentioned above in addition to (Z′, Y′, X′); ¶238).
Claims 23, 47, Kim in view of Kim-4802 discloses wherein at least one of:
the pair of radio links is a STR constrained pair of links (Kim; Considering that TX/RX is not possible at the same time in multiple links, that is, STR MLD (or MLD with constraints), this MLD only supports TX/TX and RX/RX through multi-link aggregation. That is, simultaneous reception or simultaneous transmission is possible on a plurality of links, but reception/transmission cannot be performed on other links during transmission/reception on some links. The meaning of multi-link aggregation may be as follows; ¶158; As mentioned above, a terminal having a non-STR (or constraints STR) has lower resource efficiency than a terminal having a STR (non-constraints STR) because DL/UL is not possible in both links. For example, when a DL frame is received through one link, UL transmission to the other link cannot be performed; ¶161); and
the pair of radio links is a pair of non-STR links for a first set of communication parameter values and the pair of radio links is a pair of STR links for a second set of communication parameter values, the first set being different from the second set (Kim; the non-STR link having different communication parameter values (transmission power, signal bandwidth and MCS) from the STR links; EHT (IEEE 802.11be) considers multi-link technology, where multi-link may include multi-band. That is, the multi-link can represent links of several bands and can represent multiple multi-links within one band at the same time. Two types of multi-link operation are being considered. The capability that enables simultaneous reception and transmission in multiple links is called STR. It may be called that links with STR capability have STR relationship, and links that do not have STR capability have non-STR relationship; ¶155; Referring to FIG. 14, the subfigure (a) shows a case in which Link 1 and Link2 are capable of STR operation, and the subfigure (b) shows a case in which Link1 and Link2 operate as non-STR. In order to operate in STR, the two links must be at least X MHz (/KHz/Hz) apart. However, in subfigure (b), since the two links are separated by a bandwidth smaller than X (i.e., by Y), STR cannot be operated but non-STR operation is enabled. These characteristics may be different for each terminal, and the AP cannot know the value of X of the terminal until the terminal informs it. In addition, the value of X MHz (/KHz) that determines the STR is related to the transmit power of the terminal. For example, it is assumed that STR operation is possible when the terminal transmits with its maximum power and the distance between links is X MHz or more. Even if the distance between the two links is less than X by Y MHz, the terminal may perform STR operation by reducing the transmit (TX) power of the terminal; ¶172; For this operation, information that links operating in non-STR at maximum TX power is changed into links operating in STR (for example, distance between two links, related power values) can be transmitted to the AP (/AP MLD) by a non-AP STA (/MLD); ¶173; Fig. 19; Referring to FIG. 19, the subfigure (a) shows the distance X between the two links and PPDU BW Y MHz that satisfy the STR when the terminal transmits with maximum (or average) power (i.e., Z dB). However, if the link selected through the multi-link setup procedure is configured as a non-STR link pair as in the subfigure (b), the distance between the two links when transmitting at maximum (or average) power (Z dB) in Y1 MHz bandwidth is X′ MHz which is less than X MHz, resulting that the link pair in the subfigure (b) operates in non-STR. However, in the situation as the subfigure (c), when Z′ dB Tx power and Y′ MHz bandwidth are used, the terminal can operate in STR with X′ MHz distance, and can report to the AP using the above-mentioned method. These combinations (power, bandwidth, distance) can be achieved by using various combinations (for example, (Z1, Y1, X1), (Z1, Y2, X2), etc.) as mentioned above in addition to (Z′, Y′, X′); ¶238).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KOUROUSH MOHEBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471