DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-10, specifically, the applied prior art fails to teach the accelerator is the claimed cerium salt and the composition further comprises a surfactant as the current amendments, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4,6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-2020-0057566 A (KR-566, herein after; provided with the IDS dated 10/23/2023) in view of Minamihaba et al (US 2006/0243702) and Komatsu et al (US 2019/0367777).
Regarding claim 1, KR-566 discloses a polishing composition for (amorphous carbon layer (ACL), wherein the composition comprises an abrasive particle, cerium salts (see abstract), wherein the cerium salt may comprise trivalent and/or tetravalent cerium ions (e.g., tetravalent cerium ions).Examples of such cerium salts include cerium nitrate, cerium ammonium nitrate, cerium sulfate, cerium chloride, cerium carbonate, cerium acetate, cerium phosphate, hydrates thereof, or combinations thereof [0038] in the translated version); and aforesaid “cerium salt” reads on the claimed “accelerator”.
and a pH adjustor and balance of solvent [0023]); aforesaid “cerium salts” reads on the claimed “accelerator”.
Unlike the instant invention, KR-566 fails to teach the composition further comprises a stabilizer, which is represented by Formula 3.
However, Minamihaba et al disclose a polishing composition comprising abrasive particles of colloidal silica, oxidizing agent, first and second complexing agent (abstract, [0008]).
Minamihaba et al disclose that the first complexing agent comprises picolinic acid [0024]; and aforesaid picolinic acid reads on the claimed stabilizer compound represented by Formula 3 because the chemical structure of picolinic acid is below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Minamihaba et al's teaching of introducing picolinic acid as a first complexing agent into the teaching of KR-566 for effectively forming a protective coating during polishing process as suggested by Minamihaba et al ([0008],[0023]).
Minamihaba et al further disclose that the first and the second complexing agents may be employed singly or in combination of two or more kinds thereof [0029].
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the polishing composition include both the picolinic acid (as the first complexing agent) and amino acid or organic acid (as the second complexing agent) as suggested by Minamihaba et al.
Minamihaba et al disclose that the CMP slurry for metallic film according to one embodiment of the present invention may include, as required, a surfactant [0035] but fail to disclose specific the surfactant comprises a nonionic fluorine- based polymer compound.
However, Komatsu et al disclose a polishing composition comprises a nonionic surfactant of fluorine- based compound [00254] to improve the dispersibility and stability of the polishing composition [0251].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Komatsu et al's teaching of introducing nonionic surfactant into the teaching of modified KR-566 for improving the dispersibility and stability of the polishing composition as suggested by Komatsu et al.
The modified teaching above still fails to disclose the polishing composition has a value of less than 38% as calculated by Equation 1 as the context of claim 1.
However, examiner noted that the polishing performance or removal rate of a particular material is purely an intended use of the polishing composition or in other words, it is purely an inherent property of the claimed composition and the modified teaching above appears to have the similar composition as the instant invention and expected to have the similar property, namely, the value fo less than 38% as calculated by equation 1. Additionally, according to the MPEP 2112.01(II) "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present".
Regarding claim 4, Minamihaba et al disclose that the second complexing agent and examples of the second complexing agent include amino acid such as glycine, alanine and tryptophan [0027].
Minamihaba et al also disclose above that the second complexing agent may comprises lactic acid (resemble as the claimed hydroxyl acid) [0027].
Regarding claim 6, Minamihaba et al disclose that the pH of the slurry according to one embodiment of the present invention, there is not any particular limitation so that it can be adjusted depending on specific application. For example, a pH adjusting agent being used [0037].
Regarding claims 8-9, Minamihaba et al disclose the slurry used in the polishing of the Cu film was prepared as follows. First of all, each of components was mixed with deionized water according to the following recipe to obtain a stock liquid of slurry. Incidentally, the content of each component indicates a ratio based on a total quantity of slurry [0112]; and the pH of the slurry is about 5 [0116].
Regarding claim 10, Minamihaba et al disclose a polishing method according to another aspect of the present invention comprises contacting a semiconductor substrate having a metallic film with a polishing pad attached to a turntable; and supplying a metallic film-CMP slurry onto the polishing pad to polish the metallic film [0009]; and the polishing slurry composition having all the components including abrasive, stabilizer and accelerator (see the rejection for claim 1 above).
Double Patenting
Claim 1,4,6 and 8-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-11 of copending Application No. 18/255,600 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the invention in the co-pending application ‘600 broadly encompasses the instant invention because the surfactant (claim 7 in application’ 600) broadly reads on the specific surfactant in the instant application; and the weight ratio of the stabilizer and accelerator in application’600 would have been obvious as both the amino acid and the stabilizer of Formula 3 exist in both the claimed inventions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SHAMIM AHMED
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/SHAMIM AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713