Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
-The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because Abstract section exceeds max word limit: 150.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 68 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHITRAKAR et al US20230156840A1
Regarding claim 68, CHITRAKAR et al US20230156840A1 discloses A wireless communication device comprising: at least one processor; and a memory containing program code executable by the at least one processor, whereby execution of the program code by the at least one processor causes the wireless communication device (fig 27 and [0130]-[0131] controller 2706 for use in software and hardware aided execution of tasks ) ,to:
on a first channel, maintain a radio link to at least one further wireless communication device; receive from the at least one further wireless communication device an indication that the further wireless communication device supports multi-link operation( fig.2 [0051] a multi-link setup request 206 is transmitted from the non-AP MLD 204( i.e., communication device) to the AP MLD 202 ( i.e., further communication device) on link 2( i.e. on a first channel), The multi-link setup request comprises information on the link capabilities of links 1, 2 and 3)( see also fig. 20, a multi-link setup request );
send to the at least one further wireless communication device a request to utilize the multi-link operation to perform at least one measurement on a second channel while maintaining the radio link to the wireless communication device[0052] The AP MLD 202( i.e., further communication device) may send a link measurement request 214 on link 1 and a link measurement request 218 on link 3 in order to assess the link quality of the other links besides link 2)( fig. 20;Link Quality Assessment: link measurement request 2006 and 2010 and [0108]); and
receive from the at least one further wireless communication device one or more measurement reports representing the at least one measurement [0052] In response, the non-AP MLD 204 (i.e., communication device) transmits a link measurement report 216 and a link measurement report 220 to the AP MLD 202 over link 1 and link 3 respectively. The link measurement report 216 includes information of the link quality for link 1 and link measurement report 220 includes information of the link quality for link 3)( fig. 20;Link Quality Assessment :link measurement report 2008 on link 1 (in response to link measurement request 2006) and link measurement report 2012 on link 3) and [0108]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 43-50, 52-3,55,57-65 and 67 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over CHITRAKAR et al US20230156840A1 in view of Dong US20230262800A1
Claims 1-42 are Canceled.
Regarding claims 43 and 67, CHITRAKAR et al US20230156840A1 discloses
43- a method of controlling wireless transmissions in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
67 - A wireless communication device comprising: at least one processor; and a memory containing program code executable by the at least one processor, whereby execution of the program code by the at least one processor causes the wireless communication device(fig 27 and [0130]-[0131] controller 2706 for use in software and hardware aided execution of tasks ) ,
on a first channel, a wireless communication device maintaining a radio link to a further wireless communication device , ( fig.2 [0051] a multi-link setup request 206 is transmitted from the non-AP MLD 204( i.e., communication device) to the AP MLD 202 ( i.e., further communication device) on link 2( i.e. on a first channel), The multi-link setup request comprises information on the link capabilities of links 1, 2 and 3)( see also fig. 20, a multi-link setup request ),
the wireless communication device receiving from the further wireless communication device a request to utilize the multi-link operation to perform at least one measurement on a second channel while maintaining the radio link to the further wireless communication device [0052] The AP MLD 202( i.e., further communication device) may send a link measurement request 214 on link 1 and a link measurement request 218 on link 3 in order to assess the link quality of the other links besides link 2)( fig. 20;Link Quality Assessment: link measurement request 2006 and 2010 and [0108])
in response to the request, the wireless communication device utilizing the multi-link operation to perform at least one measurement on the second channel while maintaining the radio link to the further wireless communication device; and the wireless communication device sending to the further wireless communication device one or more measurement reports representing the at least one measurement [0052] In response, the non-AP MLD 204 ( i.e., communication device) transmits a link measurement report 216 and a link measurement report 220 to the AP MLD 202 over link 1 and link 3 respectively. The link measurement report 216 includes information of the link quality for link 1 and link measurement report 220 includes information of the link quality for link 3)( fig. 20;Link Quality Assessment :link measurement report 2008 on link 1 (in response to link measurement request 2006) and link measurement report 2012 on link 3) and [0108]).
CHITRAKAR does not disclose a further wireless communication device does not support multi-link operation.
Dong US20230262800A1 discloses a further wireless communication device does not support multi-link operation [0076]-[0077] the AP MLD is communicating with the device that does not support the multi-link communication (e.g., an old-style STA) on the link, i.e., in response to a presence of the device that does not support the multi-link communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHITRAKAR by including a further wireless communication device does not support multi-link operation, as taught by Dong, in order to reduce the signaling overhead, which allows the device to communicate on the multiple links, thereby increasing the network throughput (see Dong [0079]).
Regarding claim 58, CHITRAKAR et al US20230156840A1 discloses A method of controlling wireless transmissions in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
on a first channel, a wireless communication device, ( fig.2 [0051] a multi-link setup request 206 is transmitted from the non-AP MLD 204( i.e., communication device) to the AP MLD 202 ( i.e., further communication device) on link 2( i.e. on a first channel), The multi-link setup request comprises information on the link capabilities of links 1, 2 and 3)( see also fig. 20, a multi-link setup request );
the wireless communication device sending to the at least one further wireless communication device a request to utilize the multi-link operation to perform at least one measurement on a second channel while maintaining the radio link to the wireless communication device[0052] The AP MLD 202( i.e., further communication device) may send a link measurement request 214 on link 1 and a link measurement request 218 on link 3 in order to assess the link quality of the other links besides link 2)( fig. 20;Link Quality Assessment: link measurement request 2006 and 2010 and [0108]); and
the wireless communication device receiving from the at least one further wireless communication device one or more measurement reports representing the at least one measurement [0052] In response, the non-AP MLD 204 (i.e., communication device) transmits a link measurement report 216 and a link measurement report 220 to the AP MLD 202 over link 1 and link 3 respectively. The link measurement report 216 includes information of the link quality for link 1 and link measurement report 220 includes information of the link quality for link 3)( fig. 20;Link Quality Assessment :link measurement report 2008 on link 1 (in response to link measurement request 2006) and link measurement report 2012 on link 3) and [0108]).
Dong US20230262800A1 discloses a wireless communication device does not support multi-link operation [0076]-[0077] the AP MLD is communicating with the device that does not support the multi-link communication (e.g., an old-style STA) on the link, i.e., in response to a presence of the device that does not support the multi-link communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHITRAKAR by including a wireless communication device does not support multi-link operation, as taught by Dong, in order to reduce the signaling overhead, which allows the device to communicate on the multiple links, thereby increasing the network throughput (see Dong [0079]).
Regarding claims 44 and 59, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claims 43 and 58, respectively.
CHITRAKAR further discloses wherein the wireless communication device sends the indication in a probe request frame( fig.2 [0051] a multi-link setup request 206(i.e. a probe request frame) is transmitted from the non-AP MLD 204( i.e., communication device) to the AP MLD 202 ( i.e., further communication device) on link 2( i.e. on a first channel), The multi-link setup request comprises information on the link capabilities of links 1, 2 and 3)( see also fig. 20, a multi-link setup request ),
Regarding claims 45 and 60, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claims 43 and 58, respectively
CHITRAKAR further discloses wherein the wireless communication device sends the indication in an association request frame( fig.2 [0051] a multi-link setup request 206(i.e. an association request frame) is transmitted from the non-AP MLD 204( i.e., communication device) to the AP MLD 202 ( i.e., further communication device) on link 2( i.e. on a first channel), The multi-link setup request comprises information on the link capabilities of links 1, 2 and 3)( see also fig. 20, a multi-link setup request ).
Regarding claim 46 and 61, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claims 43 and 58, respectively.
CHITRAKAR further discloses the wireless communication device receiving from the further wireless communication device a further indication that the further wireless communication device supports cooperation with a wireless communication device utilizing multi-link operation for communication on one channel(FIG. 2 [0051] The multi-link setup request comprises information on the link capabilities of links 1, 2 and 3. In response to the request, the AP MLD 202 sets up the requested links 1, 2 and 3, and then transmits a multi-link setup response 208 to the non-AP MLD 204 informing the setting up of the links), and performing measurements on another channel[0052] The AP MLD 202( i.e., further communication device) may send a link measurement request 214 on link 1 and a link measurement request 218 on link 3 in order to assess the link quality of the other links besides link 2, In response, the non-AP MLD 204 ( i.e., communication device) transmits a link measurement report 216 and a link measurement report 220 to the AP MLD 202 over link 1 and link 3 respectively. The link measurement report 216 includes information of the link quality for link 1 and link measurement report 220 includes information of the link quality for link 3 ( fig. 20;Link Quality Assessment: link measurement request 2006 and 2010, in response to link measurement request 2006) and link measurement report 2012 on link 3 and [0108]).
Regarding claim 47, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claim 46.
CHITRAKAR further discloses wherein the wireless communication device receives the further indication in a probe response frame (FIG. 2 [0051] The multi-link setup request comprises information on the link capabilities of links 1, 2 and 3. In response to the request, the AP MLD 202 sets up the requested links 1, 2 and 3, and then transmits a multi-link setup response 208 (i.e., a probe response frame) to the non-AP MLD 204 informing the setting up of the links
Regarding claim 48, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claim 46.
CHITRAKAR further discloses wherein the wireless communication device receives the further indication in an association response frame(FIG. 2 multi-link setup request (Association ) [0051] The multi-link setup request (probe )comprises information on the link capabilities of links 1, 2 and 3. In response to the request, the AP MLD 202 sets up the requested links 1, 2 and 3, and then transmits a multi-link setup response 208(i.e., an association response frame) to the non-AP MLD 204 informing the setting up of the links.
Regarding claim 49, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claim 46.
CHITRAKAR further discloses wherein the wireless communication device receives the further indication in a beacon frame ( fig.2 [0051] a multi-link setup request 206(i.e. a beacon frame) is transmitted from the non-AP MLD 204( i.e., communication device) to the AP MLD 202 ( i.e., further communication device) on link 2( i.e. on a first channel), The multi-link setup request comprises information on the link capabilities of links 1, 2 and 3)( see also fig. 20, a multi-link setup request ).
Regarding claim 50, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claim 43.
CHITRAKAR further discloses wherein the one or more measurement reports comprise at least one measurement report representing a measured signal strength associated with one or more received frames. 0134] The request information may identify the one or more STAs of the first plurality of STAs. The request frame may further comprise information about quality of wireless channels for each of the one or more links. The first plurality of STAs may be configured to collect information about quality of wireless channels for each of the one or more links prior to transmitting the request frame, and wherein the quality of wireless channel comprises one or more of link margin, path loss, receive signal strength indication (RSSI) and receive channel power indication (RCPI). The request information may further comprise information about quality of wireless channels for a plurality of links that can be set up between the first plurality and second plurality of STAs, and wherein the quality of wireless channels are set to implicitly indicate the one or more links to be set up. The first MLD may be a non-AP MLD and the second MLD may be an AP MLD. See also [0066]). Regarding claim 52, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claim 43.
CHITRAKAR further discloses wherein the one or more measurement reports comprise at least one measurement report representing noise power on the second channel.
[0106] In accordance with the first embodiment, MLDs may also maintain a record of the link quality of all enabled links based on Link quality measurements such as signal noise ratio (SNR), packet error ratio (PER), RSSI etc. wherein the link quality may be measured based on the transmitted/received frames
Regarding claim 53, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claim 43.
CHITRAKAR further discloses wherein the one or more measurement reports comprise at least one measurement report representing interference power on the second channel [0047] an MLD is in range in the other supported links, some links may not be of good quality e.g. due to excessive overlapping basic service set (OBSS) interference, frequency-dependent fading etc., or due to co-existence interference (e.g. due to Bluetooth in the 2.4 GHz band etc.) and hence may not be suitable for link enablement
Regarding claims 55 and 65, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claim 43 and 58, respectively.
CHITRAKAR further discloses wherein the one or more measurement reports at least one measurement report indicating a candidate set of channels for selection of a new operating channel of the further wireless communication device[0108] AP MLD may initiate link quality assessment of the requested links including/excluding the link on which the Multi-link request is received to decide whether or not to setup the links. FIG. 20 depicts communication flow 2000 between an AP MLD 2002 and a non-AP MLD 2004 including the link quality assessment step in accordance with the second embodiment. After the non-AP MLD 2004 initiates multi-link setup by transmitting a multi-link request on link 2 to the AP MLD to request set up of links 1, 2 and 3, the AP MLD 2002 initiates link quality assessment by transmitting link measurement requests 2006 and 2010 on each of links 1 and 3. In this example, link quality assessment of the requested links excludes the link on which the Multi-link request is received (i.e. link 2), but AP MLD may choose to include that link as well. In response to the link measurement request, the non-AP MLD 2004 transmits link measurement report 2008 on link 1 (in response to link measurement request 2006) and link measurement report 2012 on link 3 (in response to link measurement request 2010) to the AP MLD 2002. Based on the gathered information of link qualities provided by the link measurement reports 2008 and 2012, AP MLD decides to setup/establish (at 2014) links 1 and 2 only. Link 3 is refused. Accordingly, the AP MLD 2002 transmits a multi-link setup response indicating that links 1 and 2 are set up.
Regarding claim 57, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claim 43.
CHITRAKAR further discloses wherein the further wireless communication device is an access point of the wireless communication system and the wireless communication device is a station served by the access point. [0066]It will also be appreciated that each of links 1, 2 and 3 is connecting an affiliated AP of the AP MLD 502 and an affiliated STA of the non-AP MLD 504, such that these STAs are transmitting or receiving any data or frames on the concerned link. Prior to transmitting the setup request 514, the affiliated STAs of the non-AP MLD 504 may be configured to collect information about quality of wireless channels for each of the one or more links, wherein the quality of wireless channel comprises one or more of link margin, path loss, receive signal strength indication (RSSI) and receive channel power indication (RCPI).
Regarding claim 62, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claim 61.
CHITRAKAR further discloses wherein the wireless communication device sends the further indication in one of: a probe response frame, an association response frame, or a beacon frame (FIG. 2 [0051] The multi-link setup request comprises information on the link capabilities of links 1, 2 and 3. In response to the request, the AP MLD 202 sets up the requested links 1, 2 and 3, and then transmits a multi-link setup response 208 (i.e., a probe response frame) to the non-AP MLD 204 informing the setting up of the links
Regarding claim 63, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claim 58.
CHITRAKAR further discloses wherein the one or more measurement reports comprise at least one measurement report representing any of:
a measured signal strength associated with one or more received frames[0066]It will also be appreciated that each of links 1, 2 and 3 is connecting an affiliated AP of the AP MLD 502 and an affiliated STA of the non-AP MLD 504, such that these STAs are transmitting or receiving any data or frames on the concerned link. Prior to transmitting the setup request 514, the affiliated STAs of the non-AP MLD 504 may be configured to collect information about quality of wireless channels for each of the one or more links, wherein the quality of wireless channel comprises one or more of link margin, path loss, receive signal strength indication (RSSI) and receive channel power indication (RCPI),
a load on the second channel, or
noise power on the second channel [0106] In accordance with the first embodiment, MLDs may also maintain a record of the link quality of all enabled links based on Link quality measurements such as signal noise ratio (SNR), packet error ratio (PER), RSSI etc. wherein the link quality may be measured based on the transmitted/received frames. Regarding claim 64, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claim 58.
CHITRAKAR further discloses wherein the one or more measurement reports comprise at least
one measurement report representing interference power on the second channel [0047] an MLD is in range in the other supported links, some links may not be of good quality e.g. due to excessive overlapping basic service set (OBSS) interference, frequency-dependent fading etc., or due to co-existence interference (e.g. due to Bluetooth in the 2.4 GHz band etc.) and hence may not be suitable for link enablement
or
at least one measurement report indicating a number of frames received per time interval.
Claim 51 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over CHITRAKAR et al US20230156840A1 in view of Dong US20230262800A1 in view of PanjeUS20190200289A1.
Regarding claim 51, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claim 43.
The combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong does not disclose wherein the one or more measurement reports comprise at least one measurement report representing a load on the second channel.
Panje US20190200289A1 discloses wherein the one or more measurement reports comprise at least one measurement report representing a load on the second channel [0023] discloses the AP 20 and the STA 22 may share channel load reports, which indicate the respective fractions of time a particular channel is busy/idle. In some embodiments channel load requests may be communicated using BLE, by which an STA or AP may use BLE to request that the load of a particular channel be measured and a channel load report be generated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong, by including wherein the one or more measurement reports comprise at least one measurement report representing a load on the second channel, as taught by Panje, in order to measure and report the load of channel (see Panje [0023]).
Claim 56 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over CHITRAKAR et al US20230156840A1 in view of Dong US20230262800A1 in view of Mueck et al US20120142293A1.
Regarding claim 56, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claim 43.
The combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong does not disclose wherein the wireless communication system is based on a Wireless Local Area Network technology according to the IEEE 802.11 standards family.
Mueck et al US20120142293A1 discloses wherein the wireless communication system is based on a Wireless Local Area Network technology according to the IEEE 802.11 standards family [0028]-[0029] discloses radio communication technology families may be: a Wireless Local Area Network radio communication technology (e.g. according to an IEEE 802.11 (e.g. IEEE 802.11n) radio communication standard.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong, by including wherein the wireless communication system is based on a Wireless Local Area Network technology according to the IEEE 802.11 standards family, as taught by Mueck, in order to control a mobile radio communication device (see Mueck [0002]).
Claim 54 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over CHITRAKAR et al US20230156840A1 in view of Dong US20230262800A1 in view of Lim et al US20180158436A1.
Regarding claim 54, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claim 43.
The combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong does not disclose wherein the one or more measurement reports comprise at least one measurement report indicating a number of frames received per time interval.
Lim et al US20180158436A1 discloses wherein the one or more measurement reports comprise at least one measurement report indicating a number of frames received per time interval [0019] a total of 120 frames is reported in a time period.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong, by including wherein the one or more measurement reports comprise at least one measurement report indicating a number of frames received per time interval, as taught by Lim, in order to report number of frames in a period of time (see Lim [0002]).
Claim 66 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over CHITRAKAR et al US20230156840A1 in view of Dong US20230262800A1 in view of Reial et al US20180227814A1.
Regarding claim 66, the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong discloses all features with respect to claim 58.
The combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong does not disclose based on the received one or more measurement reports, the wireless communication device controlling switching of communication operation to the second channel.
Reial et al US20180227814A1 discloses based on the received one or more measurement reports, the wireless communication device controlling switching of communication operation to the second channel [0094]-[0095] FIGS. 4A and 4B generally indicate processing performed by a wireless device 16 and a network node 18, respectively, according to some embodiments. As shown in FIG. 4A, processing by the wireless device 16 includes configuring the device 16 to perform measurements on a set 20 of candidate links for supporting a network node 18 in the system 10 to make a decision as to which of the candidate links is to be a target link for a link switch (Block 100). Processing by the wireless device 16 further includes reporting (e.g., at the physical layer) measured candidate links one link subset at a time in order of the wireless device's preference for the target link, until the wireless device 16 receives a target indication signal indicating which of the candidate links in the set 20 is to be the target link (Block 110). Any given link subset reports one or more candidate links which the wireless device has measured for the decision. Processing by the wireless device 16 also includes, responsive to receiving the target indication signal, performing the link switch to the indicated target link (Block 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of CHITRAKAR and Dong, by including based on the received one or more measurement reports, the wireless communication device controlling switching of communication operation to the second channel, as taught by Reial in order to perform measurements on a set of candidate links for supporting a network node in the system to make a decision as to which of the candidate links is to be a target link for a link switch (see Reial [0094]-[0095]).
Conclusion
/ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478