Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/18/2026 and 5/11/2026 have been considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 48-53, 55-60 and 62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2020/0267748) (Hereafter, Khoshnevisan ‘7748) in view of Ji et al. (US 2023/0023719).
Regarding claim 48, Khoshvenisan ‘7748 discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, at a user equipment, configuration information indicating that multi-transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme could be applicable, wherein the configuration information is received via a medium access control control element (Khoshvenisan ‘7748, paragraph [0006], network may schedule a UE for communications using a multi-TRP scheme, the network may transmit a DCI message to the UE to configure multiple TCI states for the multiple TRPs; paragraph [0135], TCI states may determine whether the communications correspond to single TRP or multiple TRP communications, TCI states may be determined based on a MAC CE; paragraph [0161], base station may communicate with the UE by transmitting and receiving signals through TRPs 305a and 305b); and
determining, at the user equipment, whether to apply the multi-transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme or a single-transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme for an uplink control information transmission on a determined physical uplink control channel resource (Khoshvenisan ‘7748, paragraph [0006], network may schedule a UE for communications using a multi-TRP scheme, the network may transmit a DCI message to the UE to configure multiple TCI states for the multiple TRPs; paragraph [0026], DCI includes a first set of bits indicating TCI states and a second set of bits indicating multi-TRP scheme or single-TRP scheme; paragraph [0135], TCI states may determine whether the communications correspond to single TRP or multiple TRP communications, TCI states may be determined based on a MAC CE; paragraph [0161], base station may communicate with the UE by transmitting and receiving signals through TRPs 305a and 305b),
wherein the determining further comprises determining whether to apply multi-transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme or single-transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme based on whether one or two subsets of control parameters are activated for the physical uplink control channel resource (Khoshvenisan ‘7748, paragraph [0006], network may schedule a UE for communications using a multi-TRP scheme, the network may transmit a DCI message to the UE to configure multiple TCI states for the multiple TRPs; paragraph [0026], DCI includes a first set of bits indicating TCI states and a second set of bits indicating multi-TRP scheme or single-TRP scheme; paragraph [0030], identifying the second set of bits based on a lookup table mapping the multi-TRP scheme to one or multiple TCI states; paragraph [0085], parameters for one or more TRPs active in the communication scheme; paragraph [0135], TCI states may determine whether the communications correspond to single TRP or multiple TRP communications, TCI states may be determined based on a MAC CE; paragraph [0191], UE may determine the configured multi-TCI scheme)
Khoshnevisan ‘7748 does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining further comprises determining whether to apply multi-transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme or single-transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme based on whether one or two subsets of power control parameters are activated for the physical uplink control channel resource.
Ji discloses wherein the determining further comprises determining whether to apply multi-transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme or single-transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme based on whether one or two subsets of power control parameters are activated for the physical uplink control channel resource (Ji, paragraph [0490], when the multi-TRP is used, an independent transmission power control parameter for each TRP may be configured to control the uplink transmission power, the independent control parameter needs to be configured and activated for each PUCCH resource through RRC/MAC-CE/DCI; paragraph [0499], the BS may configure or assume two or more PUCCH closed loop power controls in the UE for the purpose of multi-TRP power control. An index of the closed loop power control may be configured as 0 or 1, and the connection relation between the closed loop power control index and the TRP index may be established. The connection relation may be predefined. For example, closed loop power control index 0 may be connected to a first TRP index, and closed loop power control index 1 may be connected to a second TRP index).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Ji into the system of Khoshnevisan ‘7748 in order to reduce overhead for configuring TRPs (Ji; [0016]).
Regarding claim 49, the combination of Khoshnevisan ‘7748 and Ji, particularly Khoshnevisan ‘7748 discloses the method according to claim 48, wherein the determining comprises receiving, from a network node, a dedicated indication via downlink control information to indicate whether to apply the multi-transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme or single- transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme (Khoshvenisan ‘7748, paragraph [0006], network may schedule a UE for communications using a multi-TRP scheme, the network may transmit a DCI message to the UE to configure multiple TCI states for the multiple TRPs; paragraph [0135], TCI states may determine whether the communications correspond to single TRP or multiple TRP communications, TCI states may be determined based on a MAC CE; paragraph [0148], multi-TCI-scheme field explicitly indicating the scheme in a DCI message).
Regarding claim 50, the combination of Khoshnevisan ‘7748 and Ji, particularly Khoshnevisan ‘7748 discloses the method according to claim 48, further comprising receiving, from a network node, downlink control information carrying information related to uplink control information to be transmitted (Khoshvenisan ‘7748, paragraph [0006], network may schedule a UE for communications using a multi-TRP scheme, the network may transmit a DCI message to the UE to configure multiple TCI states for the multiple TRPs; paragraph [0135], TCI states may determine whether the communications correspond to single TRP or multiple TRP communications, TCI states may be determined based on a MAC CE; paragraph [0161], base station may communicate with the UE by transmitting and receiving signals through TRPs 305a and 305b) (Khoshvenisan ‘6770, paragraph [0071], UE may transmit the same PUCCH communication using different spatial parameters to different TRPs; paragraph [0104], DCI may indicate whether to operate in a single TRP transmission mode or a multi-TRP transmission mode, to permit dynamic switching between these modes, an TCI index value may be used with a table stored in memory, the table may indicate a number of spatial parameter values to be used for those TRPs).
Regarding claim 51, the combination of Khoshnevisan ‘7748 and Ji, particularly Khoshnevisan ‘7748 discloses the method according to claim 48, wherein, when it is determined to apply the multi- transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme, the method comprises: interpreting at least one downlink control information field by considering an entirety of the at least one field in case of the multi-transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme and determining two parameter values based on the at least one field (Khoshvenisan ‘7748, paragraph [0006], network may schedule a UE for communications using a multi-TRP scheme, the network may transmit a DCI message to the UE to configure multiple TCI states for the multiple TRPs; paragraph [0135], TCI states may determine whether the communications correspond to single TRP or multiple TRP communications, TCI states may be determined based on a MAC CE; paragraph [0161], base station may communicate with the UE by transmitting and receiving signals through TRPs 305a and 305b).
Regarding claim 52, the combination of Khoshnevisan ‘7748 and Ji, particularly Khoshnevisan ‘7748 discloses the method according to claim 48, wherein, when it is determined that the multi- transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme is not applied, the method comprises: interpreting at least one downlink control information field by considering one part or subfield of the at least one field in case of single-transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme and determining a parameter value based on the one part or subfield (Khoshvenisan ‘7748, paragraph [0006], network may schedule a UE for communications using a multi-TRP scheme, the network may transmit a DCI message to the UE to configure multiple TCI states for the multiple TRPs; paragraph [0135], TCI states may determine whether the communications correspond to single TRP or multiple TRP communications, TCI states may be determined based on a MAC CE; paragraph [0161], base station may communicate with the UE by transmitting and receiving signals through TRPs 305a and 305b).
Regarding claim 53, the combination of Khoshnevisan ‘7748 and Ji, particularly Khoshnevisan ‘7748 discloses the method according to claim 48, wherein, when at least one of a physical uplink control channel resource is determined for which two spatial relation information are activated, or the number of physical uplink control channel repetitions is greater than one, the determining comprises determining to apply the multi-transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme (Khoshvenisan ‘7748, paragraph [0006], network may schedule a UE for communications using a multi-TRP scheme, the network may transmit a DCI message to the UE to configure multiple TCI states for the multiple TRPs; paragraph [0030], identifying the second set of bits based on a lookup table mapping the multi-TRP scheme to one or multiple TCI states; paragraph [0135], TCI states may determine whether the communications correspond to single TRP or multiple TRP communications, TCI states may be determined based on a MAC CE; paragraph [0161], base station may communicate with the UE by transmitting and receiving signals through TRPs 305a and 305b).
Claim 55 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 48. Khoshnevisan ‘7748 additionally discloses at least one processor; and at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and computer program code configured, with the at least one processor (Khoshvenisan ‘7748, Fig. 10; paragraph [0238], processor, memory).
Claim 56 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 49.
Claim 57 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 50.
Claim 58 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 51.
Claim 59 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 52.
Claim 60 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 53.
Claim 62 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 48. Khoshnevisan ‘7748 additionally discloses at least one processor; and at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and computer program code configured, with the at least one processor (Khoshvenisan ‘7748, Fig. 10; paragraph [0238], processor, memory).
Claim(s) 61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2020/0267748) (Hereafter, Khoshnevisan ‘7748) in view of Ji et al. (US 2023/0023719), and further in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2020/0136770) (Hereafter, Khoshnevisan ‘6770).
Regarding claim 61, the combination of Khoshnevisan ‘7748 and Ji does not explicitly disclose wherein, when at least one of a physical uplink control channel resource is determined for which two subsets of power control parameters are activated, or the number of physical uplink control channel repetitions is greater than one or equal to one, the determining comprises determining to apply the multi-transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme.
Khoshnevisan ‘6770 discloses the apparatus according to claim 55, wherein, when at least one of a physical uplink control channel resource is determined for which two subsets of power control parameters are activated, or the number of physical uplink control channel repetitions is greater than one or equal to one, the determining comprises determining to apply the multi-transmission reception point physical uplink control channel scheme (Khoshvenisan ‘6770, paragraph [0071], UE may transmit the same PUCCH communication using different spatial parameters to different TRPs in different TTIs using different spatial parameters; paragraph [0104], DCI may indicate whether to operate in a single TRP transmission mode or a multi-TRP transmission mode, to permit dynamic switching between these modes, an TCI index value may be used with a table stored in memory, the table may indicate a number of spatial parameter values to be used for those TRPs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Khoshvenisan ‘6770 into the system of the combination of Khoshnevisan ‘7748 and Ji in order to improve communication reliability (Khoshvenisan ‘6770; [0119]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Haghighat et al. (US 20210352629) discloses DCI fields in DCI Formats 1_0 and 1_1 may be used as a validation mechanism for multi-TRP transmission. A WTRU may not expect to receive different TPC commands for scheduled PUCCH, PUCCH resource indicators, and PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicators across multiple PDCCHs/DCIs. Accordingly, scheduling for multiple PDSCHs for transmission from multiple TRPs may be expected to be the same. However, the WTRU may expect a different transmission configuration indication (TCI) for PDSCH transmissions from multiple TRPs.
Vilaipornsawai et al. (US 2020/0015200) discloses solutions for facilitating multiple TRPs or beams using TCI states may also apply to other parameter indications in DCI, such as TPC commands for scheduled PUCCH and PUCCH resource indicator.
/A.L.L/ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413