notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12-13, 16-22, 36, and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adjakple et al. (Patent No: US20250056639A1), hereinafter, Adjakple, in view of KIM et al. (Patent No: US 2023/0217325 A1), hereinafter, KIM and further in view of Soumya Das (Patent No: US 2017/0019820 A1), hereinafter Das.
Regarding Claim 1, Adjakple teaches,
A method performed by a wireless device operating in a first network and a second network, -Paragraph [0171]([0171] recites, “This issue deals with the specification impacts due to the Time Domain Multiplexing (TDM) of UE capabilities such as transmitter chain(s) capabilities to maintain concurrent Uplink communications with two PLMNs. For example, considering Multi-SIM devices with single RX and single TX or Dual RX and single TX, procedures to enable TDM use of the single TX chain allowing for suspension (or release) and resumption of an ongoing connection in the 3GPP system associated with USIM A, so that the UE can temporarily access the 3GPP system associated with USIM B need to be investigated…”)
wherein the wireless device is in power saving mode in the second network, the method comprising: -Fig. 15; Paragraph [0208] ([0208] recites, “The RRC state machine for Multi-SIM UEs may be designed to reduce any increase in power consumption and avoid shortening of the UE battery life as a result of a Multi-SIM mode of operation. It is proposed to introduce a Multi-SIM power saving mode of operation. Multi-SIM mode UEs may be designed to operate in Multi-SIM power saving mode or may be designed to operate in such a mode based on the UE configuration (e.g. via GUI), UE capability or user preference.”
determining a first pattern for performing a set of power saving mode procedures in the second network; -Fig. 21; Paragraph [0284 [0292] (As shown in Fig. 21 RX/TX Chain Arbiter determines when to give the chain to first or second SIM, i.e., gap to perform power saving mode procedures (e.g., listening for pages, DRX etc.) from the second network. [0284] recites, “Various classes of solutions can be envisioned, where the type of solution is dependent on the number of RX/TX chains, the length of the gap that is required in the UL/DL communication with a first PLMN to accommodate the UL/DL transmissions with a second PLMN, and/or the level of coordination between the network nodes of the PLMNs.”
transmitting a first indication of the determined pattern to a first network node of the first network; -Paragraph [0293] ([0293] recites,” An indication of a missed RXOP/TXOP may also be provided to the network. The indication may be provided to the network during a TXOP that proceeds the occurrence of the missed RXOP/TXOP to enable the network to take proactive action to address the missed RXOP/TXOP. Alternatively, the UE may provide the indication during a subsequent TXOP to enable the network to take reactive action to the missed RXOP/TXOP. And in another alternative, to reduce signaling overhead associated with providing an explicit indication of a missed RXOP/TXOP, the UE may provide the network with a schedule for access to the RX/TX chain so the network can predict when a missed RXOP/TXOP may occur.” The schedule for access to the RX/TX chain is the gap pattern)
-Paragraph [0260] ([0260] recites, “Power Saving Mode (PSM) and Extended Idle Mode DRX parameters can be suggested by the UE, to the network in the Registration procedure.” Suggested DRX parameters include pattern for performing power saving mode of operation. )
performing the mobility procedure to the second network node; -Fig. 25, 26; Paragraph [0306-0307] (Fig. 25, 26 shows handover (mobility) from network node A (PLMN A) to network node B (PLMN B))
and transmitting to the second network node a second indication. -Paragraph [0255][0260] ([0260] recites, “Power Saving Mode (PSM) and Extended Idle Mode DRX parameters can be suggested by the UE, to the network in the Registration procedure…”[0255] recites, “..The UE may perform RRC_IDLE mode procedures or RRC_INACTIVE mode procedures specific to Multi-SIM power saving mode..” UE may exchange signaling with the network with suggested parameters (pattern) for power saving mode of operation)
Although implicit, Adjakple does not explicitly teach,
receiving a mobility command to perform a mobility procedure from the first network node to a second network node of the first network; wherein the second pattern is the same as the first pattern or the second pattern is based on the first pattern and a time domain radio property of the second network node;
However, in an analogous invention, KIM teaches,
receiving a mobility command to perform a mobility procedure from the first network node to a second network node of the first network; -Paragraph [0271, 0293] ([0271] recites, “…the UE may receive, from the source PSCell, an RRC Reconfiguration message including conditional reconfiguration (i.e., conditional mobility command) for PSCell change. In the conditional reconfiguration, one or more candidate target cell configurations (e.g., embedded RRC Reconfiguration) and one or more mobility execution conditions (i.e., mobility condition) for the candidate target cells, may be configured.” [0293] recites, “The conditional mobility command may comprise an RRC reconfiguration message that is applied for the mobility to the target PSCell,..”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Methods for Multi-SIM UE Connected Mode Operation” proposed by Adjakple to include the concept of “receiving a mobility command to perform a mobility procedure from the first network node to a second network node of the first network” of KIM . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service quality, and expand and improve coverage and system capacity [0002].
Although implicit, Adjakple explicitly does not mention,
wherein the second pattern is the same as the first pattern or the second pattern is based on the first pattern and a time domain radio property of the second network node.
However, in an analogous invention Das teaches,
wherein the second pattern is the same as the first pattern or the second pattern is based on the first pattern and a time domain radio property of the second network node. -Fig. 12, Paragraph [0093-0095] ( [0093-0095] recites, “the UE may communicate with a first base station utilizing a first DRX configuration (e.g., a first DRX configuration) among a plurality of predetermined DRX configurations……. UE may hand over from the first base station to a second base station…. During the handover operation, the first base station transmits UE context information to the second base station. The UE context information may include the plurality of predetermined DRX configurations including the first DRX configuration…. At block 1206, the UE receives, after handover to the second base station, a communication from the second base station for configuring the UE to utilize a third DRX configuration. The third DRX configuration may be the same as the first DRX configuration. That is, the second base station configures the UE to utilize the same DRX configuration after the handover.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Methods for Multi-SIM UE Connected Mode Operation” proposed by Adjakple to include the concept of “the second pattern is the same as the first pattern” of Das. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve spectral efficiency, lower costs, improve services [0003].
Claim 12 is the apparatus Claim corresponding to the method Claim 1. The applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 1 above which is rejected. Claim 12 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13, Adjakple, KIM and Das combination teach the limitations of Claim 12
Adjakple further teaches,
The wireless device of claim 12, wherein the power saving mode corresponds with an idle or inactive state of the wireless device. -Paragraph [0255] ([0255] recites,” The UE may perform RRC_IDLE mode procedures or RRC_INACTIVE mode procedures specific to Multi-SIM power saving mode …”)
Regarding Claim 16, Adjakple, KIM and Das combination teach the limitations of Claim 12.
Adjakple further teaches,
The wireless device of claim 12, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to transmit the second indication to the second network node based on a determination that the first network node and the second network node are the same network node. -Fig. 15, Paragraph [0210] ([0210] recites, “In FULL RRC_IDLE state 1501, the UE may perform “reduced power” idle mode operation such as “reduced power” support for PLMN selection, “reduced power” cell reselection and “reduced power” cell camping. The term “reduced power” and the term “Multi-SIM power saving” mode may be used interchangeably herein.” It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that cell reselection may happen from one cell to another cell belonging to the same network node.)
Regarding Claim 17, Adjakple, KIM and Das combination teach the limitations of Claim 12.
Adjakple further teaches,
The wireless device of claim 12, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to transmit the second indication to the second network node -Paragraph [0260] ([0260] recites, “Power Saving Mode (PSM) and Extended Idle Mode DRX parameters can be suggested by the UE, to the network in the Registration procedure.” Although not explicitly mentioned, registration procedure happens after the wireless device receives the mobility command from the network)
Although implicit, Adjakple does not explicitly mention,
based on an indication in the mobility procedure command.
However, in an analogous invention, KIM teaches,
based on an indication in the mobility procedure command. -Paragraph [0271, 0293] ([0271] recites, “the UE may receive, from the source PSCell, an RRC Reconfiguration message including conditional reconfiguration (i.e., conditional mobility command) for PSCell change. In the conditional reconfiguration, one or more candidate target cell configurations (e.g., embedded RRC Reconfiguration) and one or more mobility execution conditions (i.e., mobility condition) for the candidate target cells, may be configured.” [0293] recites, “The conditional mobility command may comprise an RRC reconfiguration message that is applied for the mobility to the target PSCell” It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that based on the mobility command the wireless device may transmit the second indication including the parameters for power saving mode of operation, pattern etc.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Methods for Multi-SIM UE Connected Mode Operation” proposed by Adjakple to include the concept of “based on an indication in the mobility procedure command” of KIM . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service quality, and expand and improve coverage and system capacity [0002].
Regarding Claim 18, Adjakple, KIM and Das combination teach the limitations of Claim 12
Adjakple further teaches,
The wireless device of claim 12, the processing circuitry further operable to: transmit an indication to the second network node that an indication of a pattern for performing a set of power saving mode procedures in the second network is available; and receive a request from the second network node to transmit the second indication. -Paragraph [0208] (The Claim is not a new feature, rather minor implementation detail. [0208] recites, “Multi-SIM mode UEs may be designed to operate in Multi-SIM power saving mode or may be designed to operate in such a mode based on the UE configuration (e.g. via GUI), UE capability or user preference. The UE may exchange signaling with the network to determine if it may operate in Multi-SIM power saving mode.” It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that UE exchange signaling information with the network including power saving parameters (patterns) in request and response mechanism before starting power saving mode procedures in the second network)
Regarding Claim 19, Adjakple, KIM and Das combination teach the limitations of Claim 12.
Adjakple further teaches,
The wireless device of claim 12, wherein the first pattern and the second pattern are based on one or more of the following procedures in the second network: paging frames and paging occasions configured for the wireless device, discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle, periods for performing measurements, and periodic registration area updates. -Paragraph [0260] ([0260] recites,” Power Saving Mode (PSM) and Extended Idle Mode DRX parameters can be suggested by the UE, to the network in the Registration procedure…”[0217-0218] recites, “Monitors a Paging channel for CN paging using 5G-S-TMSI Monitoring of paging may be performed using Multi-SIM non-power saving mode or Multi-SIM power saving mode; Perform neighboring cell measurements and cell (re-)selection as needed taking into account the UE operation and SIM level state with respect to other SIM; Cell measurement and cell (re-)selection may be performed using Multi-SIM non-power saving mode or Multi-SIM power saving mode;” As explained above during power saving mode of operation wireless device (UE) may monitor paging, perform measurements, and may operate in DRX cycle. Therefore, it is easily understandable that the first/second pattern is selected based on one or more or all of the procedures like page monitoring, measurements and DRX operation)
Regarding Claim 20, Adjakple, KIM and Das combination teach the limitations of Claim 12.
Adjakple explicitly does not recite (although evident)
The wireless device of claim 12,wherein the mobility command comprises a handover command.
However, in an analogous invention, KIM teaches,
The wireless device of claim 12,wherein the mobility command comprises a handover command. -Paragraph [0128] ([0128] recites, “‘Mobility’ refers to a procedure for i)changing a PCell of a UE (i.e., handover or PCell change), ii)changing a PSCell of a UE (i.e., SN change or PSCell change), and/or iii)adding a PSCell for a UE (i.e., SN addition or PSCell addition). Therefore, the mobility may comprise at least one of a handover, an SN change or an SN addition. In other words, the mobility may comprise at least one of PCell change, PSCell change or PSCell addition. Throughout the disclosure, performing a mobility to a target cell may refer to applying a mobility command of the target cell or applying a target cell configuration for the target cell in the mobility command of the target cell. The target cell configuration for the target cell may comprise RRC reconfiguration parameters associated with the mobility to the target cell.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Methods for Multi-SIM UE Connected Mode Operation” proposed by Adjakple to include the concept of “the mobility command comprises a handover command.” of KIM . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service quality, and expand and improve coverage and system capacity [0002].
Regarding Claim 21, Adjakple, KIM and Das combination teach the limitations of Claim 20.
Adjakple further teaches
The wireless device of claim 20, wherein the mobility procedure comprises a handover procedure from the first network node to the second network node. -Fig. 25, 26 (Fig. 25, 26 show handover procedure from PLMN A to PLMN B)
Regarding Claim 22, Adjakple, KIM, and Das combination teach the limitations of Claim 12.
Adjakple further teaches,
The wireless device of claim 12,wherein the wireless device comprises a multi-SIM wireless device. -Fig. 25; Paragraph [0283] (Fig. 25 shows UE with two SIMs, SIM 1 and SIM 2. [0283] recites, “AS procedures to enable TDM sharing of an RX/TX chain are described herein in accordance with another embodiment. To maintain concurrent UL/DL communication with multiple PLMNs for Multi-SIM devices with a single RX and single TX chain or Dual RX and single TX chain, AS procedures are proposed herein to enable sharing of the RX/TX chain(s) in a TDM manner. Signaling at the AS layer internal to the UE and/or between the UE and network is used to coordinate the communication with the multiple PLMNs. For illustrative purposes, scenarios are considered herein wherein a UE is configured with two SIMs, SIM 1 and SIM 2, although the solutions described herein may be extended to configurations where more than 2 SIMs are configured.”)
Claim 36 is essentially similar to Claim 19. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 19 which is rejected above. Claim 36 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 19.
Claim 38 is essentially similar to Claim 20. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 20 which is rejected above. Claim 38 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 20.
Claim 39 is essentially similar to Claim 21. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 21 which is rejected above. Claim 39 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 21.
Claim 40 is essentially similar to Claim 22. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 22 which is rejected above. Claim 40 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 22.
Claims 23, 32, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adjakple in view of KIM, and further in view of Masato Kitazoe (Patent No: US 2009/0092056 A1), hereinafter, Kitazoe.
Regarding Claim 23, Adjakple teaches,
A method performed by a wireless device operating in a first network and a second network, -Paragraph [0171]([0171] recites, “This issue deals with the specification impacts due to the Time Domain Multiplexing (TDM) of UE capabilities such as transmitter chain(s) capabilities to maintain concurrent Uplink communications with two PLMNs. For example, considering Multi-SIM devices with single RX and single TX or Dual RX and single TX, procedures to enable TDM use of the single TX chain allowing for suspension (or release) and resumption of an ongoing connection in the 3GPP system associated with USIM A, so that the UE can temporarily access the 3GPP system associated with USIM B need to be investigated…”)
wherein the wireless device is in power saving mode in the second network, the method comprising: -Fig. 15; Paragraph [0208] ([0208] recites, “The RRC state machine for Multi-SIM UEs may be designed to reduce any increase in power consumption and avoid shortening of the UE battery life as a result of a Multi-SIM mode of operation. It is proposed to introduce a Multi-SIM power saving mode of operation. Multi-SIM mode UEs may be designed to operate in Multi-SIM power saving mode or may be designed to operate in such a mode based on the UE configuration (e.g. via GUI), UE capability or user preference.”
determining a first pattern for performing a set of power saving mode procedures in the second network; -Fig. 21; Paragraph [0284 [0292] (As shown in Fig. 21 RX/TX Chain Arbiter determines when to give the chain to first or second SIM, i.e., gap to perform power saving mode procedures (e.g., listening for pages) from the second network. [0284] recites, “Various classes of solutions can be envisioned, where the type of solution is dependent on the number of RX/TX chains, the length of the gap that is required in the UL/DL communication with a first PLMN to accommodate the UL/DL transmissions with a second PLMN, and/or the level of coordination between the network nodes of the PLMNs.”
transmitting a first indication of the determined first pattern to a first network node of the first network; -Paragraph [0293] ([0293] recites,” An indication of a missed RXOP/TXOP may also be provided to the network. The indication may be provided to the network during a TXOP that proceeds the occurrence of the missed RXOP/TXOP to enable the network to take proactive action to address the missed RXOP/TXOP. Alternatively, the UE may provide the indication during a subsequent TXOP to enable the network to take reactive action to the missed RXOP/TXOP. And in another alternative, to reduce signaling overhead associated with providing an explicit indication of a missed RXOP/TXOP, the UE may provide the network with a schedule for access to the RX/TX chain so the network can predict when a missed RXOP/TXOP may occur.” The schedule for access to the RX/TX chain is the gap pattern)
the mobility procedure command including a measurement gap configuration for performing a set of power saving mode procedures in the second network; -Paragraph [0208][0324]([0324] recites, “…the MAC entity may take into account the possible occurrence of measurement gaps when determining the next available PRACH occasion corresponding to the selected SSB.”[0208] recites, “The UE may exchange signaling with the network to determine if it may operate in Multi-SIM power saving mode.” From the above recitations it is clear that parameters related to mobility (handover) including measurement gap configuration can be conveyed to the wireless device (UE) so that UE can perform power saving mode procedures (e.g., page monitoring) in the second network)
performing the mobility procedure to the second network node; -Fig. 25, 26; Paragraph [0306-0307] (Fig. 25, 26 shows handover (mobility) from network node A (PLMN A) to network node B (PLMN B))
and monitoring the second network according to the measurement gap configuration. -Paragraph [0324](UE tunes in the measurement gap period to monitor PDCCH from the second network. [0324] recites, “ determine the next available PRACH occasion from the PRACH occasions corresponding to the selected SSB permitted by the restrictions given by the ra-ssb-OccasionMaskIndex if configured or indicated by PDCCH and for which access to the TX chain is granted (the MAC entity may select a PRACH occasion randomly with equal probability amongst the consecutive PRACH occasions, corresponding to the selected SSB; the MAC entity may take into account the possible occurrence of measurement gaps when determining the next available PRACH occasion corresponding to the selected SSB)“)
Although implicit, Adjakple does not explicitly teach,
receiving a mobility command to perform a mobility procedure from the first network node to a second network node of the first network;
However, in an analogous invention, KIM teaches,
receiving a mobility command to perform a mobility procedure from the first network node to a second network node of the first network; -Paragraph [0271] ([0271] recites, “the UE may receive, from the source PSCell, an RRC Reconfiguration message including conditional reconfiguration (i.e., conditional mobility command) for PSCell change. In the conditional reconfiguration, one or more candidate target cell configurations (e.g., embedded RRC Reconfiguration) and one or more mobility execution conditions (i.e., mobility condition) for the candidate target cells, may be configured.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Methods for Multi-SIM UE Connected Mode Operation” proposed by Adjakple to include the concept of “receiving a mobility command to perform a mobility procedure from the first network node to a second network node of the first network” of KIM . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service quality, and expand and improve coverage and system capacity [0002].
Although implicit Adjakple and KIM combination do not explicitly mention,
wherein the measurement gap configuration is based on the first pattern and a time domain radio property of the second network node;
However, in an analogous invention Kitazoe teaches,
wherein the measurement gap configuration is based on the first pattern and a time domain radio property of the second network node;-Paragraph [0013] ([0013] recites, “in one aspect the subject innovation exploits UE behavior in DRX mode and reduces allocation of measurement gaps. Moreover, the UE is enabled to perform inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements autonomously by employing the "natural gaps" from its DRX pattern” As the measurement is done on second network during the gap period, it is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that the gap length also depends on the time domain property (e.g., signal strength etc.) of the second network)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Methods for Multi-SIM UE Connected Mode Operation” proposed by Adjakple to include the concept of “the measurement gap configuration is based on the first pattern and a time domain radio property of the second network node” of Kitazoe. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve a signal-to-noise ratio of forward links [0063].
Claim 32 is the apparatus Claim corresponding to the method Claim 23. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 23 which is rejected above. Claim 32 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 23.
Regarding Claim 37, Adjakple, KIM and Kitazoe combination teach the limitations of Claim 32.
Adjakple further teaches,
The wireless device of claim 32, wherein the power saving mode corresponds with an idle or inactive state of the wireless device. -Paragraph [0238-0239] ([0239] recites, “For the SIMs in RRC_IDLE state, the UE may perform RRC_IDLE mode procedures specific to Multi-SIM power saving mode..”[0238] recites, “Transition to MIXED_RRC_INACTIVE_CONNECTED state 1504: the UE may transition into this state from FULL_RRC_CONNECTED state 1503 when the UE transitions to SIM level RRC_INACTIVE for one of the SIM in the UE. The UE may perform RRC_INACTIVE mode procedures specific to Multi-SIM power saving mode..”)
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adjakple in view of KIM, Kitazoe and further in view of YAVUZ et al. (Patent No: WO2014058373A1), hereinafter, YAVUZ.
Regarding Claim 33, Adjakple, KIM and Kitazoe combination teach the limitations of Claim 32.
Adjakple explicitly does not teach
The wireless device of claim 32, wherein the first indication is transmitted to the first network node via a measurement report.
However, YAVUZ teaches
The wireless device of claim 32, wherein the first indication is transmitted to the first network node via a measurement report. -Page 5; line 35-38 (It recites, “The UE 110 continues communicating with the source eNB 120 until the source eNB 120 makes a handover decision (step 3), e.g., based on signal strength measurement reports provided to the source eNB 120 by the UE 110 (step 2).”
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Methods for Multi-SIM UE Connected Mode Operation” proposed by Adjakple to include the concept of “first indication is transmitted to the first network node via a measurement report” of YAVUZ . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the network efficiency, extend UE battery lifetime, reduce signaling overhead, and/or enhance user experience and system performance (Page 1, line 14-16)
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adjakple in view of KIM, Kitazoe and further in view of Yiu et al. (Patent No: US20190044689A1), hereinafter, Yiu.
Regarding Claim 34, Adjakple, KIM and Kitazoe combination teach the limitations of Claim 32.
Adjakple does not explicitly teach,
The wireless device of claim 32, wherein the first indication is transmitted to the first network node based on an indication in a measurement configuration.
However, Yiu teaches
The wireless device of claim 32, wherein the first indication is transmitted to the first network node based on an indication in a measurement configuration. -Paragraph [0125] ([0125] recites, “ the UE 401 autonomously performs serving cell RRM measurement using the measurement configuration 420, which includes the location of the SS block. For this approach, the UE 401 can obtain the RRM measurement without a measurement gap reconfiguration via RRC.”
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Methods for Multi-SIM UE Connected Mode Operation” proposed by Adjakple to include the concept of “the first indication is transmitted to the first network node based on an indication in a measurement configuration” of Yiu . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve data rates, reliability and performance [0021]
Claims 41, 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adjakple in view of Das and further in view of Park et al. (Patent No: US20210410107A1), hereinafter, Park.
Regarding Claim 41, Adjakple teaches,
A method performed by a first network node in a first network serving a first wireless device, wherein the wireless device is in a power saving mode in a second network -Fig. 14; Paragraph [0239] (Fig. 14 shows UE (1401) connected to two network nodes PLMN A and PLMN B using muti-SIM configuration. [0239] recites, “MIXED RRC IDLE_CONNECTED 1506: In this state, the UE is in a SIM level RRC_IDLE state for one or more SIM and in a SIM level RRC_CONNECTED state for one or more SIM, and no SIM in the UE is in RRC_INACTIVE state. For the SIMs in RRC_IDLE state, the UE may perform RRC_IDLE mode procedures specific to Multi-SIM power saving mode..” As explained above in MIXED RRC IDLE_CONNECTED state, the UE is connected with first network with one SIM while idle with the second network in power saving mode with the second SIM)
the method comprising: receiving, from the wireless device, a first indication of a first pattern for performing a set of power saving mode procedures in the second network; -Paragraph [0221] ([0221] recites, “A SIM specific DRX may be configured by upper layers; Additionally, a UE specific DRX may be configured by upper layers. In this case, the UE may provide the SIM specific DRX or the UE specific DRX to the network.” As explained above the SIM specific DRX (DRX pattern for power saving mode) is sent by the UE to the second network, i.e., the second network with which the UE is in IDLE state receives the pattern (DRX) to perform power saving procedures in the second network.
determining the wireless device is to perform a mobility procedure to a second network node of the first network; -Paragraph [0580] ([0580] recites, “Each of the eNode-Bs 160a, 160b, and 160c may be associated with a particular cell (not shown) and may be configured to handle radio resource management decisions, handover decisions, scheduling of users in the uplink and/or downlink, and the like.” The network device makes the mobility decision based on UE reporting and decides when the wireless device is to make mobility procedure (handover) to a second network and notify the wireless device using handover command)
transmitting to the second network node a second indication of a second pattern for performing a set of power saving mode procedures in the second network; -Fig. 27D; Paragraph [0580][0589]([0580] recites, “As shown in FIG. 27D, the eNode-Bs 160a, 160b, 160c may communicate with one another over an X2 interface.”[0589] recites, “The communication link between each of the base stations 180a, 180b, and 180c may be defined as an R8 reference point that includes protocols for facilitating WTRU handovers and the transfer of data between base stations…” The first network transfers to the second network configurations and related parameters including DRX patterns to facilitate DRX (power saving mode procedure) in the second network)
receiving from the second network node a third indication of a third pattern for performing a set of power saving mode procedures in the second network; -Fig. 27D (The parameters/commands to facilitate handover are communicated between the networks are carried over X2 interface as shown. It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that, if the suggested pattern from the UE/first network to second network is not agreeable, the second network might indicate (third indication) it’s supported pattern to the first network over X2 interface.)
Although implicit, Adjakple explicitly does not teach
and transmitting the third indication to the wireless device.
However, In an analogous invention Park teaches
and transmitting the third indication to the wireless device. -Paragraph [0196] ([0196] recites, “In an example, the wireless device may determine the active state in response to a power saving mode (PSM) being on-duration (e.g., PSM on-time duration, non-sleep mode). The wireless device may determine the active state in response to a power saving mode (PSM) being in the on-duration (e.g., being not in off-duration and/or being not in sleep mode; the off-duration and/or the sleep mode is for communication with the second wireless network) during the RRC connected state at the first wireless network. The wireless device may determine the on-duration of the power saving mode based on PSM configuration parameters. The wireless device may receive an RRC message (e.g., a downlink RRC message, the second RRC message) comprising the PSM configuration parameters (e.g., PSM-Config). The wireless device may determine the on-duration of the power saving mode in response to receiving an indication (e.g., wake-up signal (WUS), PDCCH, PDCCH order, DCI, MAC CE, etc.) indicating/commanding deactivation/disabling of the power saving mode (e.g., indication to go to the non-sleep mode, indication to wake up). The wireless device may receive the indication from a base station (e.g., the first base station and/or the first wireless network). The wireless device may determine the on-duration of the power saving mode in response to expiration of a timer for the power saving mode”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Methods for Multi-SIM UE Connected Mode Operation” proposed by Adjakple to include the concept of “transmit the third indication to the wireless device “ of Park . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase resource utilization efficiency and decrease service latency[0165].
Although implicit, Adjakple does not explicitly teach,
wherein at least one of the second pattern and the third pattern are based on the first pattern and a time domain radio property of the second network node.
However, Das teaches,
wherein at least one of the second pattern and the third pattern are based on the first pattern and a time domain radio property of the second network node. -Fig. 12, Paragraph [0093-0095] ( [0093-0095] recites, “the UE may communicate with a first base station utilizing a first DRX configuration (e.g., a first DRX configuration) among a plurality of predetermined DRX configurations……. UE may hand over from the first base station to a second base station…. During the handover operation, the first base station transmits UE context information to the second base station. The UE context information may include the plurality of predetermined DRX configurations including the first DRX configuration…. At block 1206, the UE receives, after handover to the second base station, a communication from the second base station for configuring the UE to utilize a third DRX configuration. The third DRX configuration may be the same as the first DRX configuration. That is, the second base station configures the UE to utilize the same DRX configuration after the handover.” It is easily conceivable that the third configuration is related to the second network measurement and listening in power save mode, it is related to time domain property of the second network.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Methods for Multi-SIM UE Connected Mode Operation” proposed by Adjakple to include the concept of “one of the second pattern and the third pattern are based on the first pattern and a time domain radio property of the second network node” of Das. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve spectral efficiency, lower costs, improve services [0003].
Claim 47 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 41. The applicant’s attention is drawn towards Claim 41 which is rejected above. Claim 47 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 41.
Regarding Claim 48, Adjakple, Das and Park teach the limitations of Claim 47.
Adjakple further teaches,
The network node of claim 47, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to: transmit the second indication to the second network node by transmitting a mobility command request; receive the third indication from the second network node by receiving mobility command acknowledgement; and transmit the third indication to the wireless device by transmitting a mobility command. -Fig. 27D; Paragraph [0580][0589](Claim 48 is not a new feature, rather just implementation process which is well known mobility (handover) protocol based on request/response. Serving (first) network requests the target (second) network mobility command request over X2 interface and receives from the target network acknowledgement and upon receiving acknowledgement, transmits to the wireless device mobility command. [0580] recites, “As shown in FIG. 27D, the eNode-Bs 160a, 160b, 160c may communicate with one another over an X2 interface.”[0589] recites, “The communication link between each of the base stations 180a, 180b, and 180c may be defined as an R8 reference point that includes protocols for facilitating WTRU handovers and the transfer of data between base stations…”)
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475