DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Claims 1-8 have been examined.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2021/085062 filed on 12/09/2021 and claims foreign priority of EP 20306528.9 filed on 12/10/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/9/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 contains the acronym “MAIT”, and an acronym in the first instance of claims should be expanded upon/spelled out as “mucosal-associated invariant T” with the acronym indicated in parentheses as (MAIT). The abbreviations can be used thereafter.
Claim 2 is objected to due to missing a comma “,” between the claim number and the word of “wherein”. Claim 2 should be revised to “The method of claim 2, wherein….” with the format in claim 8.
Similarly, claims 3-7 are objected to due to missing a comma “,” between the claim number and the word of “wherein”. Claims 3-7 should be revised by adding a comma “,” between the claim numbers and the word “wherein” with the format in claim 8.
Claim 4 is further objected to the word of “subject” in line 1. Claim 4 should be revised by replacing the word “subject” with the word “patient”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magnani et al. (WO 2017/079,215 A1) in view of Gao et al. (Blood. (2019) 134 (Supplement 1): 2001) and Varelias et al. (J Clin Invest. 2018;128(5):1919-1936, cited in IDS 6/9/2023).
Claim 1 is drawn to a method of controlling Graft Versus Host Disease (GVHD) in a patient after transplantation comprising administering to the patient a therapeutically effective amount of a population of MAIT cells.
Magnani et al. teach hematopoietic cell transplantation is a promising therapeutic approach in the treatment of hematologic diseases, disorders, or conditions (e.g., thalassemias, sickle cell disease, leukemias, lymphomas, myelomas) as well as in rescue from chemotherapy and high-dose radiation such as cancer therapy [p2, 004; p38, 0114]. Magnani et al. teach, a patient may avoid reintroducing diseased cells from his own autologous donation into his system by using allogenic cells (reading allogeneic hematopoietic cell transplantation), but risks such complications as graft-versus-host disease (GVHD) [p2, 004].
Magnani et al. do not teach administering a therapeutically effective amount of a population of MAIT cells to control Graft Versus Host Disease (GVHD) in the patient after transplantation.
Gao et al. teach gut graft-versus-host disease (GVHD) is a serious complication after hematopoietic stem cell transplantation (HSCT) and is associated with high mortality. Mucosal-associated invariant T cells (MAIT) are a group of innate-like T cells enriched in the intestine, which may alter the composition of the intestinal microflora or exert a certain immunomodulatory effect to protect the intestinal mucosa from further damage for the inflammatory response known in the art (p1, Background & Purpose). Gao et al. teach the total number of infused MAITs in the graft of gut GVHD patients was significantly lower than that of no GVHD patients (p1, Results to p2, para 2). Gao et al. further show gut GVHD was more likely to occur in patients who were infused with a smaller number of MAIT cells in grafts (p2, Fig. 1), suggesting the potential functional effects of MAIT cells on gut GVHD. Gao et al. further suggest MAIT cells may function through direct immunosuppression or regulation of intestinal microflora (p2, Conclusion).
Similarly, Varelias et al. teach “Recipient mucosal-associated invariant T cells
control GVHD within the colon” (Title) consistent with Gao’s suggestion. Varelias et al. teach
MAIT cells are present in small but definable numbers in graft-versus-host disease (GVHD)
target organs and protect from acute GVHD in the colon following bone marrow transplantation (BMT). Varelias et al. teach recipient MAIT cells abrogate GVHD induced by allogeneic stem
cell transplantation and further suggest any effect on survival was due to the absence of MAIT cells alone (p1923, col 1, last para to col 2, last line 4-5; Fig 1 A and B). Varelias et al. further teach in order to regulate disease during GVHD, recipient MAIT cells must survive conditioning and the incoming alloreactive donor graft in the early transplant period (p1924, col 2, para 1).
Because (a) Gao et al. teach infused MAIT cells in the graft of gut GVHD patients significantly lower than that of no GVHD patients (p1, Results to p2, para 2) and (b) Varelias et al. teach MAIT cells abrogate GVHD induced by allogeneic stem cell transplantation and further suggest any effect on survival was due to the absence of MAIT cells alone (p1923, col 1, last para to col 2, last line 4-5; Fig 1 A and B), one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to administer an effective amount of MAIT cells taught by Gao et al. in view of Varelias et al. to reduce the risk of developing complications of graft-versus-host disease GVHD for Magnani’s patients after allogeneic hematopoietic cell transplantation, reading on controlling Graft Versus Host Disease (GVHD) in a patient after transplantation comprising administering to the patient.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fining date of this invention would have found it obvious to combine (i) Magnani et al. and (ii) Gao et al. in view of Varelias et al. because (a) Magnani et al. teach allogeneic hematopoietic cell transplantation is a promising therapeutic approach in the treatment of hematologic diseases with risks of developing graft-versus-host disease (GVHD) [p2, 004], (b) Gao et al. teach the total number of infused MAITs in the graft of gut GVHD patients was significantly lower than that of no GVHD patients and suggest the potential functional effects of infused MAIT cells on gut GVHD(p1, Results to p2, para 2; p2, Fig 1), and (c) Varelias et al. teach MAIT cells abrogate GVHD induced by allogeneic stem cell transplantation and further suggest any effect on survival was due to the absence of MAIT cells alone (p1923, col 1, last para to col 2, last line 4-5; Fig 1 A and B). The combination would have reasonable expectation of success because all references teach graft-versus-host disease (GVHD) as a complication resulting from allogeneic hematopoietic cell transplantation.
With respect to claim 2, Magnani et al. teach, a patient may avoid reintroducing diseased cells from his own autologous donation into his system by using allogenic cells, reading allogeneic hematopoietic cell transplantation [p2, 004].
With respect to claims 3-4 and 8, Magnani et al. teach hematopoietic cell transplantation is a promising therapeutic approach in the treatment of hematologic diseases, disorders, or conditions (e.g., thalassemias, sickle cell disease, leukemias, lymphomas, myelomas) as well as in rescue from chemotherapy and high-dose radiation such as cancer therapy [p2, 004].
With respect to claim 5, Magnani et al. teach the transplanted patients under chemotherapy or high-dose radiation [p12, 037; p57, claim 37], reading on undergone a cytoablative therapy.
With respect to claim 6, Varelias et al. teach MAIT cells found in relatively high frequencies in the blood, liver, and GI tract (p1921, col 1, last para to col 2, line 1-2); thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to isolate MAIT cells from blood samples. Furthermore, Varelias et al. teach MAIT cell expansion ex vivo (p1934, col 1, para 5), reading on prepared from cell culture.
With respect to claim 7, Varelias et al. teach functional MAIT cells are activated and expressing IL-17 (p1928, col 1, last para to col 2, para 1). Varelias et al. teach MAIT cell activation requires presentation of riboflavin-based precursors captured by the MHC class I–related molecule MR1. In addition, MAIT cells can also be activated in an antigen-independent manner by IL-12 and IL-18. The end result of MAIT cell activation is to limit microbial colonization and disease by potential pathogens (p1931, col 2, para 2). Varelias et al. further teach IL-17 is required to maintain epithelial cell barrier function, and perturbation of IL-17 in this context can lead to enhanced inflammation and GI damage. It is thus likely that the protection from GVHD in the GI tract by MAIT cells reflects their role in maintaining mucosal integrity and that the enhanced donor T cell responses (p1932, col 1, para 1). Because (i) Varelias et al. teach MAIT cell expansion ex vivo (p1934, col 1, para 5) and (ii0 functional MAIT cells are beneficially activated to express IL-17 (p1928, col 1, last para to col 2, para 1) to maintain epithelial cell barrier function (p1932, col 1, para 1), one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to beneficially administer activated and expanded MAIT cells to reduce the risk of developing complications of graft-versus-host disease GVHD for Magnani’s patients after allogeneic hematopoietic cell transplantation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 17/414,689 (the ‘689 application) in view of Magnani et al. (WO 2017/079,215 A1) in view of Gao et al. (Blood. (2019) 134 (Supplement 1): 2001) and Varelias et al. (J Clin Invest. 2018;128(5):1919-1936, cited in IDS 6/9/2023).
Claim 1 of the ‘689 application disclosed a method of administering mucosa
associated invariant T (MAIT) cells to a subject with cancer in need.
Claim 2 of the ‘689 application disclosed the cancer is a hematologic malignancy.
Claims 1-2 of the ‘689 application do not teach administering a therapeutically effective amount of a population of MAIT cells to control Graft Versus Host Disease (GVHD) for hematologic malignancy therapy in the patient after transplantation.
The relevancy of Magnani et al. in view of Gao et al. and Varelias et al. as applied to claims 1-8 above not repeated here.
Because Magnani et al. in view of Gao et al. and Varelias et al. teach beneficial administration of an effective amount of MAIT cells to control Graft Versus Host Disease (GVHD) in the patient after transplantation for hematologic malignancy therapy, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine an effective amount of mucosa associated invariant T (MAIT) cells taught by claims 1-2 of the ‘689 application for hematologic malignancy therapy with Magnani et al. in view of Gao et al. and Varelias et al. for the same purpose of hematologic malignancy therapy.
Thus, claims 1-2 of the ‘689 application in view of Magnani et al., Gao et al. and Varelias et al. are obvious to the instant claims 1-8
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/J.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1658
31-December-2025
/LI N KOMATSU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658