DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 07/02/2026 claims 1-4, 6, 8-10, and 12-20 are pending. Independent claim 1 now incorporates portions of claims 4, 6, and 7. Independent claim 8 now incorporates portions of claim 10. Independent claim 14 now incorporates portions of claim 17. Additionally, claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, and 17-19 are amended with new limitations not previously presented thus changing the scope of the claims. Claims 5, 7, and 11 are cancelled. Claims 1, 8, and 14 are independent.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 8, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The remaining arguments are moot as the applicant’s arguments for the remaining claims were based on dependency of the independent claims.
This Office Action is made Final due to the amendments.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 12 replace “ride” with --side-- to improve reading comprehension. For examination purposes below this limitation will be interpreted as “a right side”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maggert et al. (USPGPN 20040080298) and further in view of Miller et al. (USPGPN 20180316201), Taga et al. (USPGPN 20210028634), and Steiner et al. (USPGPN 20200220366).
With respect to independent claim 1, Maggert teaches a battery charger (Figs. 1-3; charger 100).
Maggert teaches a housing including a plurality of battery bays, wherein each battery bay is configured to receive a single cell battery (Fig. 1; ¶[16]; a housing with a plurality of pockets 106-108, wherein each pocket 106 is configured to receive a single battery).
Maggert teaches a mounting hole located on a bottom side surface of the housing, wherein the mounting hole is configured to receive a mounting fastener that has been mounted in a vertical wall to allow the battery charger to be mounted on the vertical wall (Fig. 1; ¶[18]; the “Vert. Bottom” represents a wall mount configuration with metal-lined holes that allows for the base member 103 to be fastened to a vertical wall).
Maggert teaches charging circuitry configured to charge the single cell battery (Fig. 3; charging circuitry 307 is configured to charge the batteries).
Maggert teaches a power cord configured to provide power from a power source to the battery charger (Fig. 3; power source 306 provides power to the charger via a power cord).
Maggert teaches a plurality of charging indicators located on the housing, wherein each charging indicator is associated with a respective battery bay of the plurality of battery bays, and wherein each charging indicator is configured to indicate a status of the single cell battery inserted in its respective battery bay (Fig. 1; ¶[20]; displays 114-116 for each battery within its respective pocket 106-108 wherein the displays 114-116 display charging information for each battery respectively).
Maggert teaches wherein the plurality of battery bays and the plurality of charging indicators are located on an angled top side surface of the housing (Fig. 1; ¶[17]; the plurality of pockets 106-108 and the plurality of displays 114-116 are located on an inclined plane 101).
Maggert teaches wherein an angle of the angled top side surface with respect to a horizontal plane is configured to be between approximately thirty degrees and approximately sixty degrees when the bottom side surface is located in a first position on a horizontal surface and when the bottom side surface is located in a second position mounted to the vertical wall (Fig. 1; ¶[17]; angle 102 is a range from 30 to 60 degrees when the base member 103 is located in a “Horiz. Bottom” configuration (i.e,. a first position) on a horizontal surface parallel to the horizontal plane and when the base member 103 is located in a “Vert. Bottom” configuration (i.e., a second position) mounted to the vertical wall, wherein the vertical wall is approximately perpendicular to the horizontal plane).
However, Maggert fails to explicitly teach a Universal Serial Bus (USB) port configured to supply power to a USB device connected to the USB port, wherein the USB port is located (i) on a side surface of the housing between an angled top side surface and the bottom side surface and (ii) adjacent to the bottom side surface; a cord holder located on a rear side surface of the housing, wherein the cord holder is configured to allow a portion of the power cord to be wound around the cord holder; and wherein each of the charging indicators is located circumferentially around an edge of its respective battery to surround its respective battery bay.
Miller teaches a Universal Serail Bus (USB) port configured to supply power to a USB device connected to the USB port, wherein the USB port is located (i) on a side surface of the housing between the top side surface and the bottom side surface and (ii) adjacent to the bottom side surface (Fig. 7; USB port 318 configured to supply power to a USB connected device connected to the USB port 318, wherein the USB port 318 is located between a top side surface and a bottom side surface and adjacent to the bottom side surface).
Including a USB port on a tool battery charger turns the charging base into a dual-purpose power source that can charge mobile devices like phones, tablets, or job-site lights using the battery charger via a USB connection. Furthermore, the applicant does not disclose a criticality for the location of the USB port or the amount of USB ports. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Miller’s USB port to Maggert’s charging system. The advantage being the charger can be provided with multiple and various power output and input interfaces to connect with various electronic devices and power sources (see ¶[14] of Miller).
However, Maggert fails to explicitly teach a cord holder located on a rear side surface of the housing, wherein the cord holder is configured to allow a portion of the power cord to be wound around the cord holder.
Taga teaches a cord holder located on a side surface of the housing, wherein the cord holder is configured to allow a portion of the power cord to be wound around the cord holder (Fig. 9; a cord holding portion 32 on the side of the housing 21, wherein the cord holding portion 32 is configured to allow a portion of the power source cord 24 to be wound around the cord holding portion 32).
Applicant does not disclose a criticality for which side surface the cord holder is located. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Taga’s cord holder to Maggert’s charging system by placing the cord holder on the rear side as an option between a limited amount of possibilities. The benefit being organizing the cords while preventing them from getting tangled with the rechargeable batteries on the top surface.
However, Maggert fails to explicitly teach wherein each of the charging indicators is located circumferentially around an edge of its respective battery to surround its respective battery bay.
Steiner teaches wherein each of the charging indicators is located circumferentially around an edge of its respective battery to surround its respective battery bay (Fig. 5B; ¶[95]; visual indicator 550 circumferentially is around an edge of each battery slot 560. It is understood that circumferential means relating to the outer edge of an object however it does not require a complete 360° circle of the object. Thus circumferentially around an edge is understood to be either fully encircled or partially covered).
A visual indicator circumferentially located along the edge of a battery slot improves usability and safety by illuminating the insertion region of the battery bay. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Steiner’s visual indicator to Maggert’s battery charging system. The advantage being an individual receives visual feedback on the status of the battery inserted into the battery bay (see ¶[95] of Steiner).
With respect to dependent claim 2, Maggert teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Maggert teaches wherein a viewing angle of the angled top side surface from a perspective along the horizontal plane is between approximately 120 degrees and approximately 150 degrees when the bottom side surface is located in the first position and when the bottom side surface is located in the second position (Fig. 1; ¶[17]; angle 102 is a range from 30 to 60 degrees which when taken from a viewing angle from a perspective along a horizontal plane is between 120 to 150 degrees (e.g., 180 – 120 = 60 and 180 – 150 = 30 degrees) when the base member 103 is located in a “Horiz. Bottom” configuration (i.e,. a first position) on a horizontal surface parallel to the horizontal plane and when the base member 103 is located in a “Vert. Bottom” configuration (i.e., a second position) mounted to the vertical wall).
With respect to dependent claim 3, Maggert teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Maggert teaches wherein in the first position, the bottom side surface faces downward, a front side surface of the housing faces forward, and a rear side surface of the housing faces rearward (Fig. 1; in the “Horiz. Bottom” configuration, the base member 103 faces downward, the front 105 faces forward, and the back 104 faces rearward).
Maggert teaches wherein in the second position, the bottom side surface faces rearward, the front side surface faces upward, and the rear side surface faces downward (Fig. 1; in the “Vert. Bottom” configuration, the base member 103 faces rearward, the front 105 faces upward, and the back 104 faces downward).
With respect to dependent claim 4, Maggert teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Maggert fails to explicitly teach further comprising a ring-shaped lens or light guide associated with each charging indicator to distribute light from each charging indicator.
Steiner teaches further comprising a ring-shaped lens or light guide associated with each charging indicator to distribute light from each charging indicator (Fig. 5B; ¶[95]; each visual indicator 550 is respectively illuminated to indicate a status of the battery 540 and battery slot 560).
A visual indicator circumferentially located along the edge of a battery slot improves usability and safety by illuminating the insertion region of the battery bay. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Steiner’s visual indicator to Maggert’s battery charging system. The advantage being an individual receives visual feedback on the status of the battery inserted into the battery bay (see ¶[95] of Steiner).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maggert in view of Miller, Taga, and Steiner, and further in view of Schneider et al. (USPGPN 20150303717).
With respect to dependent claim 6, Maggert teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Maggert fails to explicitly teach a first printed circuit board (PCB) located in the housing and on which terminals are mounted to electrically couple the charging circuitry associated with one of the battery bays to the single cell battery inserted into the one of the battery bays; and a second PCB located in the housing and including the charging circuitry for each battery bay.
Schneider teaches a first printed circuit board (PCB) located in the housing and on which terminals are mounted to electrically couple the charging circuitry associated with one of the battery bays to the single cell battery inserted into the one of the battery bays (Fig. 6; ¶[20]; terminal block 82 on which terminals are mounted to electrically couple the charging circuit 42 with one of the battery bays to the battery inserted into the battery bay); and a second PCB located in the housing and including the charging circuitry for each battery bay (Fig. 6; ¶[25]; circuit board 114 is located in the housing and includes the charging circuit 42 for each battery bay).
Using separate, electrically connected PCBs helps with apparatus placement by providing physical flexibility, efficient space utilization, and modular adaptation to non-standard or tight enclosures. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Schneider’s PCBs to Maggert’s charging system.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maggert et al. (USPGPN 20040080298) and further in view of Miller et al. (USPGPN 20180316201) and Steiner et al. (USPGPN 20200220366).
With respect to independent claim 8, Maggert teaches a battery charger (Figs. 1-3; charger 100).
Maggert teaches a housing including a plurality of battery bays, wherein each battery bay is configured to receive a single cell battery (Fig. 1; ¶[16]; a housing with a plurality of pockets 106-108, wherein each pocket 106 is configured to receive a single battery).
Maggert teaches a mounting hole located on a bottom side surface of the housing, wherein the mounting hole is configured to receive a mounting fastener that has been mounted in a vertical wall to allow the battery charger to be mounted on the vertical wall (Fig. 1; ¶[18]; the “Vert. Bottom” represents a wall mount configuration with metal-lined holes that allows for the base member 103 to be fastened to a vertical wall).
Maggert teaches charging circuitry configured to charge the single cell battery (Fig. 3; charging circuitry 307 is configured to charge the batteries).
Maggert teaches a plurality of charging indicators located on the housing, wherein each charging indicator is associated with a respective battery bay of the plurality of battery bays, and wherein each charging indicator is configured to indicate a status of the single cell battery inserted in its respective battery bay (Fig. 1; ¶[20]; displays 114-116 for each battery within its respective pocket 106-108 wherein the displays 114-116 display charging information for each battery respectively).
Maggert teaches wherein the plurality of battery bays and the plurality of charging indicators are located on an angled top side surface of the housing (Fig. 1; ¶[17]; the plurality of pockets 106-108 and the plurality of displays 114-116 are located on an inclined plane 101).
Maggert teaches wherein a viewing angle of the angled top side surface from a perspective along a horizontal plane is between approximately 120 degrees and approximately 150 degrees when the bottom side surface is located in a first position on a horizontal surface parallel to the horizontal plane and when the bottom side surface is located in a second position mounted to the vertical wall, wherein the vertical wall is approximately perpendicular to the horizontal plane (Fig. 1; ¶[17]; angle 102 is a range from 30 to 60 degrees which when taken from a viewing angle from a perspective along a horizontal plane is between 120 to 150 degrees (e.g., 180 - 120 = 60 and 180 - 150 = 30 degrees) when the base member 103 is located in a “Horiz. Bottom” configuration (i.e,. a first position) on a horizontal surface parallel to the horizontal plane and when the base member 103 is located in a “Vert. Bottom” configuration (i.e., a second position) mounted to the vertical wall, wherein the vertical wall is approximately perpendicular to the horizontal plane).
However, Maggert fails to explicitly teach at least two Universal Serial Bus (USB) ports configured to supply power to a USB device connected to one of the USB ports, wherein a first USB port and a second USB port are located separately from each other on an angled top side surface, wherein the first USB port is located on a left side of at least some of the battery bays, and wherein the second USB port is located on a right ride of the at least some of the battery bays; and wherein each of the charging indicators is located circumferentially around an edge of its respective battery bay to surround its respective battery bay.
Miller teaches teach at least two Universal Serial Bus (USB) ports configured to supply power to a USB device connected to one of the USB ports, wherein a first USB port and a second USB port are located separately from each other on a top side surface, wherein the first USB port is located on a left side, and wherein the second USB port is located on a right ride (Fig. 3A; at least two USB ports 118, wherein a first USB port 118 and a second USB port 118 are located separately on a top side surface, wherein the first USB port 118 is located on a left side, and wherein the second USB port 118 is located on the right side).
Including a USB port on a tool battery charger turns the charging base into a dual-purpose power source that can charge mobile devices like phones, tablets, or job-site lights using the battery charger via a USB connection. Furthermore, the applicant does not disclose a criticality for the location of the USB port or the amount of USB ports. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Miller’s USB port to Maggert’s charging system. The advantage being the charger can be provided with multiple and various power output and input interfaces to connect with various electronic devices and power sources (see ¶[14] of Miller).
However, Maggert fails to explicitly teach wherein each of the charging indicators is located circumferentially around an edge of its respective battery bay to surround its respective battery bay.
Steiner teaches wherein each of the charging indicators is located circumferentially around an edge of its respective battery to surround its respective battery bay (Fig. 5B; ¶[95]; visual indicator 550 circumferentially is around an edge of each battery slot 560. It is understood that circumferential means relating to the outer edge of an object however it does not require a complete 360° circle of the object. Thus circumferentially around an edge is understood to be either fully encircled or partially covered).
A visual indicator circumferentially located along the edge of a battery slot improves usability and safety by illuminating the insertion region of the battery bay. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Steiner’s visual indicator to Maggert’s battery charging system. The advantage being an individual receives visual feedback on the status of the battery inserted into the battery bay (see ¶[95] of Steiner).
With respect to dependent claim 9, Maggert teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 8. Further, Maggert teaches wherein in the first position, the bottom side surface faces downward, a front side surface of the housing faces forward, and a rear side surface of the housing faces rearward (Fig. 1; in the “Horiz. Bottom” configuration, the base member 103 faces downward, the front 105 faces forward, and the back 104 faces rearward).
Maggert teaches wherein in the second position, the bottom side surface faces rearward, the front side surface faces upward, and the rear side surface faces downward (Fig. 1; in the “Vert. Bottom” configuration, the base member 103 faces rearward, the front 105 faces upward, and the back 104 faces downward).
With respect to dependent claim 10, Maggert teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 8. However, Maggert fails to explicitly teach further comprising a ring-shaped lens or light guide associated with each charging indicator to distribute light from each charging indicator.
Steiner teaches further comprising a ring-shaped lens or light guide associated with each charging indicator to distribute light from each charging indicator (Fig. 5B; ¶[95]; each visual indicator 550 is respectively illuminated to indicate a status of the battery 540 and battery slot 560).
A visual indicator circumferentially located along the edge of a battery slot improves usability and safety by illuminating the insertion region of the battery bay. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Steiner’s visual indicator to Maggert’s battery charging system. The advantage being an individual receives visual feedback on the status of the battery inserted into the battery bay (see ¶[95] of Steiner).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maggert in view of Miller and Steiner, and further in view of Taga et al. (USPGPN 20210028634).
With respect to dependent claim 12, Maggert teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Maggert fails to explicitly teach a cord holder located on a rear side surface of the housing, wherein the cord holder is configured to allow a portion of the power cord to be wound around the cord holder.
Taga teaches a cord holder located on a side surface of the housing, wherein the cord holder is configured to allow a portion of the power cord to be wound around the cord holder (Fig. 9; a cord holding portion 32 on the side of the housing 21, wherein the cord holding portion 32 is configured to allow a portion of the power source cord 24 to be wound around the cord holding portion 32).
Applicant does not disclose a criticality for which side surface the cord holder is located. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Taga’s cord holder to Maggert’s charging system by placing the cord holder on the rear side as an option between a limited amount of possibilities. The benefit being organizing the cords while preventing them from getting tangled with the rechargeable batteries on the top surface.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maggert in view of Miller and Steiner, and further in view of Schneider et al. (USPGPN 20150303717).
With respect to dependent claim 13, Maggert teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 8. However, Maggert fails to explicitly teach a first printed circuit board (PCB) located in the housing and on which terminals are mounted to electrically couple the charging circuitry associated with one of the battery bays to the single cell battery inserted into the one of the battery bays; and a second PCB located in the housing and including the charging circuitry for each battery bay.
Schneider teaches a first printed circuit board (PCB) located in the housing and on which terminals are mounted to electrically couple the charging circuitry associated with one of the battery bays to the single cell battery inserted into the one of the battery bays (Fig. 6; ¶[20]; terminal block 82 on which terminals are mounted to electrically couple the charging circuit 42 with one of the battery bays to the battery inserted into the battery bay); and a second PCB located in the housing and including the charging circuitry for each battery bay (Fig. 6; ¶[25]; circuit board 114 is located in the housing and includes the charging circuit 42 for each battery bay).
Using separate, electrically connected PCBs helps with apparatus placement by providing physical flexibility, efficient space utilization, and modular adaptation to non-standard or tight enclosures. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Schneider’s PCBs to Maggert’s charging system.
Claims 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maggert et al. (USPGPN 20040080298) and further in view of Schneider et al. (USPGPN 20150303717) and Steiner et al. (USPGPN 20200220366).
With respect to independent claim 14, Maggert teaches a battery charger (Figs. 1-3; charger 100).
Maggert teaches a housing including a plurality of battery bays, wherein each battery bay is configured to receive a battery (Fig. 1; ¶[16]; a housing with a plurality of pockets 106-108, wherein each pocket 106 is configured to receive a single battery).
Maggert teaches charging circuitry configured to charge the battery (Fig. 3; charging circuitry 307 is configured to charge the batteries).
Maggert teaches a plurality of charging indicators located on the housing, wherein each charging indicator is associated with a respective battery bay of the plurality of battery bays, and wherein each charging indicator is configured to indicate a status of the battery inserted in its respective battery bay (Fig. 1; ¶[20]; displays 114-116 for each battery within its respective pocket 106-108 wherein the displays 114-116 display charging information for each battery respectively).
Maggert teaches wherein the plurality of battery bays and the plurality of charging indicators are located on an angled top side surface of the housing (Fig. 1; ¶[17]; the plurality of pockets 106-108 and the plurality of displays 114-116 are located on an inclined plane 101).
Maggert teaches wherein the charger is configured to be selectively mounted in a first position with a bottom side surface of the housing on a horizontal surface and in a second position with the bottom side surface on a vertical wall, wherein the vertical wall is approximately perpendicular to the horizontal surface, wherein a viewing angle of the angled top side surface from a perspective along a horizontal plane parallel to the horizontal surface is between approximately 120 degrees and approximately 150 degrees when the charger is located in either of the first position and the second position (Fig. 1; ¶[17]; angle 102 is a range from 30 to 60 degrees which when taken from a viewing angle from a perspective along a horizontal plane is between 120 to 150 degrees (e.g., 180 - 120 = 60 and 180 - 150 = 30 degrees) when the base member 103 is located in a “Horiz. Bottom” configuration (i.e,. a first position) on a horizontal surface parallel to the horizontal plane and when the base member 103 is located in a “Vert. Bottom” configuration (i.e., a second position) mounted to the vertical wall, wherein the vertical wall is approximately perpendicular to the horizontal plane).
However, Maggert fails to explicitly teach a first printed circuit board (PCB) located in the housing and on which terminals are mounted to electrically couple the charging circuitry associated with one of the battery bays to the single cell battery inserted into the one of the battery bays; and a second PCB located in the housing and including the charging circuitry for each battery bay; and wherein each of the charging indicators is located circumferentially around an edge of its respective battery to surround its respective battery bay.
Schneider teaches a first printed circuit board (PCB) located in the housing and on which terminals are mounted to electrically couple the charging circuitry associated with one of the battery bays to the single cell battery inserted into the one of the battery bays (Fig. 6; ¶[20]; terminal block 82 on which terminals are mounted to electrically couple the charging circuit 42 with one of the battery bays to the battery inserted into the battery bay); and a second PCB located in the housing and including the charging circuitry for each battery bay (Fig. 6; ¶[25]; circuit board 114 is located in the housing and includes the charging circuit 42 for each battery bay).
Using separate, electrically connected PCBs helps with apparatus placement by providing physical flexibility, efficient space utilization, and modular adaptation to non-standard or tight enclosures. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Schneider’s PCBs to Maggert’s charging system.
However, Maggert fails to explicitly teach wherein each of the charging indicators is located circumferentially around an edge of its respective battery to surround its respective battery bay.
Steiner teaches wherein each of the charging indicators is located circumferentially around an edge of its respective battery to surround its respective battery bay (Fig. 5B; ¶[95]; visual indicator 550 circumferentially is around an edge of each battery slot 560. It is understood that circumferential means relating to the outer edge of an object however it does not require a complete 360° circle of the object. Thus circumferentially around an edge is understood to be either fully encircled or partially covered).
A visual indicator circumferentially located along the edge of a battery slot improves usability and safety by illuminating the insertion region of the battery bay. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Steiner’s visual indicator to Maggert’s battery charging system. The advantage being an individual receives visual feedback on the status of the battery inserted into the battery bay (see ¶[95] of Steiner).
With respect to dependent claim 15, Maggert teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 14. Further, Maggert teaches wherein in the first position, the bottom side surface faces downward, a front side surface of the housing faces forward, and a rear side surface of the housing faces rearward (Fig. 1; in the “Horiz. Bottom” configuration, the base member 103 faces downward, the front 105 faces forward, and the back 104 faces rearward).
Maggert teaches wherein in the second position, the bottom side surface faces rearward, the front side surface faces upward, and the rear side surface faces downward (Fig. 1; in the “Vert. Bottom” configuration, the base member 103 faces rearward, the front 105 faces upward, and the back 104 faces downward).
With respect to dependent claim 16, Maggert teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 14. Further, Maggert teaches comprising a mounting hole located on the bottom side surface of the housing, wherein the mounting hole is configured to receive a mounting fastener that has been mounted in the vertical wall to allow the battery charger to be mounted on the vertical wall (Fig. 1; ¶[18]; the “Vert. Bottom” represents a wall mount configuration with metal-lined holes that allows for the base member 103 to be fastened to a vertical wall).
With respect to dependent claim 17, Maggert teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 14. However, Maggert fails to explicitly teach further comprising a ring-shaped lens or light guide associated with each charging indicator to distribute light from each charging indicator.
Steiner teaches further comprising a ring-shaped lens or light guide associated with each charging indicator to distribute light from each charging indicator (Fig. 5B; ¶[95]; each visual indicator 550 is respectively illuminated to indicate a status of the battery 540 and battery slot 560).
A visual indicator circumferentially located along the edge of a battery slot improves usability and safety by illuminating the insertion region of the battery bay. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Steiner’s visual indicator to Maggert’s battery charging system. The advantage being an individual receives visual feedback on the status of the battery inserted into the battery bay (see ¶[95] of Steiner).
With respect to dependent claim 20, Maggert teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 14. Further, Maggert teaches wherein each battery bay is configured to receive a single cell battery (Fig. 1; ¶[16]; a housing with a plurality of pockets 106-108, wherein each pocket 106 is configured to receive a single battery).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maggert et al. (USPGPN 20040080298) in view of Schneider and Steiner, and further in view of Miller et al. (USPGPN 20180316201).
With respect to dependent claim 18, Maggert teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 14. However, Maggert fails to explicitly teach further comprising a Universal Serial Bus (USB) port configured to supply power to a USB device connected to the USB port (Fig. 7; USB port 318 configured to supply power to a USB connected device connected to the USB port 318).
Including a USB port on a tool battery charger turns the charging base into a dual-purpose power source that can charge mobile devices like phones, tablets, or job-site lights using the battery charger via a USB connection. Furthermore, the applicant does not disclose a criticality for the location of the USB port or the amount of USB ports. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Miller’s USB port to Maggert’s charging system. The advantage being the charger can be provided with multiple and various power output and input interfaces to connect with various electronic devices and power sources (see ¶[14] of Miller).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maggert et al. (USPGPN 20040080298) in view of Schneider and Steiner, and further in view of Taga et al. (USPGPN 20210028634).
With respect to dependent claim 19, Maggert teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 14. However, Maggert fails to explicitly teach a cord holder located on a rear side surface of the housing, wherein the cord holder is configured to allow a portion of the power cord to be wound around the cord holder.
Taga teaches a cord holder located on a side surface of the housing, wherein the cord holder is configured to allow a portion of the power cord to be wound around the cord holder (Fig. 9; a cord holding portion 32 on the side of the housing 21, wherein the cord holding portion 32 is configured to allow a portion of the power source cord 24 to be wound around the cord holding portion 32).
Applicant does not disclose a criticality for which side surface the cord holder is located. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Taga’s cord holder to Maggert’s charging system by placing the cord holder on the rear side as an option between a limited amount of possibilities. The benefit being organizing the cords while preventing them from getting tangled with the rechargeable batteries on the top surface.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The additional prior art identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) were considered by the examiner, however, for examination purposes were not relied upon for citation purposes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859