DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 10/24/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-12, 16-23 are pending. Prior objections and rejections not included below are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments and amendments.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 recites “the at least one natural binding agent” and should properly read “the natural binding agent”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 6-9, 10-12, and 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 6, and 10 recite an amount of honey, chicory root syrup, and date paste in the binding agent of the meal replacement bar, but does not recite an amount of binding agent to be included in the meal replacement bar. The instant Specification describes the meal replacement bar (not the binding syrup) comprising the recited amounts of honey, chicory syrup, and date paste (Page 8). There is therefore insufficient support to claim the “binding agent” comprising honey, chicory syrup, and date paste in the amounts claimed.
Claims 2-5, 7-9, 11-12, and 16-23 depend from independent Claims 1, 6, and 10 and are therefore also rejected.
Claims 1-5, 6-9, 10-12, and 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 6, and 10 recite providing vitamins and minerals at a level of recommended daily intake (RDI). However, RDI is variable and would therefore encompass a different amount of vitamins and minerals depending on the target population. Since the claimed amount of vitamins and minerals is indefinite, the claim is indefinite.
Claims 2-5, 7-9, 11-12, and 16-23 depend from independent Claims 1, 6, and 10 and are therefore also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-12, and 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer (US 2005/0002989, January 2005) in view of DeRoode (WO 2017/078519).
Regarding Claims 1 and 10, Palmer teaches a meal replacement bar product [0091 and 0099]. The bar comprises ingredients such as oats [0088] (which comprise protein, carbohydrates, and fiber) and fats [0068].
Palmer teaches the use of honey [0088] and 3-15% of a humectant [0063] such as date paste [0065].
Regarding the limitation that the binding agent is “in an amount effective for the meal replacement bar to maintain a shape”, Palmer teaches that the bar is cut into bars [0094], which requires that the binding agent allow the bar to maintain a shape.
Palmer teaches that the bar comprises vitamins and minerals sufficient to provide 5-45% of RDI for vitamin and minerals [0085].
Palmer does not address an amount of honey.
However, where Palmer teaches the addition of honey, and additionally where Palmer teaches that the bar may comprise up to 50% sweetener [0081], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have utilized honey as a sweetener in an amount of up to 50%, which encompasses the claimed range of honey. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since honey is a known sweetener appropriate for use in a bar-style food product.
Palmer teaches the addition of up to 15 wt% of inulin [0079], which encompasses the claimed range of chicory root syrup, but does not address the use of chicory root syrup as the source of inulin.
DeRoode teaches a cereal bar product (Page 1, Line 1) comprising an inulin syrup (Page 3, Lines 21-27). The syrup is derived from chicory root (Page 13, Lines 5-6). DeRoode teaches that chicory is the main source of inulin in the food industry (Page 1, Lines 23-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize chicory root syrup as the inulin of Palmer. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since DeRoode teaches that chicory root is the main source of inulin in the food industry.
Note that modified Palmer does not explicitly teach that honey, date paste, and chicory root syrup are the “binding agent” of the meal replacement bar. However, given that modified Palmer teaches all the ingredients as claimed in the amounts claimed, the honey, date paste, and chicory root syrup of modified Palmer are expected to act as a binding agent in the meal replacement bar product.
Regarding Claim 2, Palmer teaches that the bar is molded and then cut into bars [0102].
Regarding Claim 3 and 16, Palmer teaches the use of soy and rice protein, which are plant proteins (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 4, Palmer teaches the use of grains [0093].
Regarding Claim 5, 18, 22, and 23, Palmer teaches that the bar has 50-250 kcals per 45-70g serving [0089], which overlaps the claimed range.
Palmer teaches that the bar may comprise, e.g. 22.4% protein (Page 6, Example 1, Bar A), which lies within the claimed range. Note that the amount of protein in the protein nuggets of Palmer is 60% * 6% + 80% * 23.5% = 22.4%.
Regarding Claims 11 and 12, Palmer teaches that the ingredients are mixed [0102] but does not specifically address the homogeneity of the binding agents and ingredients. However, it would be obvious to prepare a mixed meal replacement bar with well-dispersed and homogeneous ingredients. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to utilize a bar with uniform characteristics between bars.
Regarding Claim 17, Palmer teaches the addition of peanut butter [0088].
Regarding Claim 19, Palmer teaches an embodiment which does not comprise the claimed excluded ingredients (Page 6, Example 1).
Regarding Claim 20 and 21, Palmer does not address the total number of ingredients. However, one of ordinary skill would have been able to have adjusted the number of ingredients to have arrived at the number of ingredients as claimed through no more than routine experimentation. Since Applicant has not disclosed that the specific limitations recited in instant claims are for any particular purpose or solve any stated problem, absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum workable ranges of the method disclosed by the prior art by normal optimization procedures known in the art.
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer in view of DeRoode, and further in view of Food & Drink Business Europe (https://www.fdbusiness.com/pgp-launches-90-soy-protein-crisp/)
Regarding Claim 6, Palmer teaches a meal replacement bar product [0091 and 0099]. The bar comprises ingredients such as oats [0088], which comprises protein, carbohydrates, and fiber, and fats [0068].
Palmer teaches the use of honey [0088] and 3-15% of a humectant [0063] such as date paste [0065].
Regarding the limitation that the binding agent is “in an amount effective for the meal replacement bar to maintain a shape”, Palmer teaches that the bar is cut into bars [0094], which requires that the binding agent allow the bar to maintain a shape.
Palmer teaches that the bar comprises vitamins and minerals sufficient to provide 5-45% of RDI for vitamin and minerals [0085].
Palmer does not address an amount of honey.
However, where Palmer teaches the addition of honey, and additionally where Palmer teaches that the bar may comprise up to 50% sweetener [0081], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have utilized honey as a sweetener in an amount of up to 50%, which encompasses the claimed range of honey. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since honey is a known sweetener appropriate for use in a bar-style food product.
Palmer teaches the addition of up to 15 wt% of inulin [0079], which encompasses the claimed range of chicory root syrup, but does not address the use of chicory root syrup.
DeRoode teaches a cereal bar product (Page 1, Line 1) comprising an inulin syrup (Page 3, Lines 21-27). The syrup is derived from chicory root (Page 13, Lines 5-6). DeRoode teaches that chicory is the main source of inulin in the food industry (Page 1, Lines 23-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize chicory root syrup as the inulin of Palmer. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since DeRoode teaches that chicory root is the main source of inulin in the food industry.
Note that modified Palmer does not explicitly teach that honey, date paste, and chicory root syrup are the “binding agent” of the meal replacement bar. However, given that modified Palmer teaches all the ingredients as claimed in the amounts claimed, the honey, date paste, and chicory root syrup of modified Palmer are expected to act as a binding agent in the meal replacement bar product.
Palmer teaches the inclusion of soy protein [0035] but does not teach the addition of a protein crisp.
Food & Drink Business Europe (F&D) teaches that protein crisps deliver an optimum amount of soy protein, and are suitable for use in protein and energy bars.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a protein crisp as taught by F&D in the meal replacement bar of Palmer. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since F&D teaches that protein crisps are suitable for such an application.
Regarding Claim 7, Palmer teaches that the bar is molded and then cut into bars [0102].
Regarding Claim 8, Palmer teaches the use of soy and rice protein, which are plant proteins (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 9, Palmer teaches the use of grains [0093].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 and 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791