DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 26 to 31, 35 to 38, 41 to 43 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (WO 2020/041650) in view of Abhay et al (Chem of Materials article).
The Kim et al reference teaches manufacturing a two-dimensional stack and said stack, note entire reference. On a substrate, a two-dimensional stack is first formed with multiple layers, note page 2. The grown layers can be graphene. The layers can be removed from the growth substrate by applying a transfer film and separating the layer or layers from the growth substrate, note, page 10. This step can be repeated several times, note fig 1a. The difference between the instant claim and the prior art is the specific steps to remove the layers. However, the Abhay et al reference teaches a method of manufacturing a water-soluble transfer stack comprising multilayer two-dimensional (2D) material, see the abstract and the section "Experimental methods" in pages 2329 and 2330. The method consists growing CVD graphene on a copper foil 25 microns thick, a growth stack. Then placing the graphene-copper foil in water for a night to decouple the graphene from copper (page 2330, left-hand column, top) thereby applying an intercalating solution (water) to the growth stack. The next step of laminating a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) film onto the graphene ,a transfer layer comprising a water-soluble polymer film. Finally, delaminating the PVA and the graphene, a delaminated film, from the growth substrate and of multilayer of two or more graphene layers (page 2330, left-hand column, par. 2, last sentence, Fig. 7, 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Kim et al reference by the teachings of the Abhay et al reference to separate a graphene stack by use of water and a polymer in order to not crack the graphene during delamination and still have a flexible structure.
With regards to claim 27, the references both teach graphene stacks as the two-dimensional material, note Kim et al page 2.
With regards to claims 28 and 45, the Abhay et al reference teaches graphene with an area larger than 1cm2, note exp. Section.
With regards to claim 29, the Kim et al reference teaches reusing the growth substrate, note page 11.
With regards to claim 30, the Abhay et al reference teaches using water as the intercalating solution note exp. Section.
With regards to claim 31, the Abhay et al reference teaches oxidization of the substrate, note figure 1 description.
With regards to claim 35, the Abhay et al reference teaches a post bake of the transfer layer at 110c for 30 sec, note fig 1.
With regards to claim 36, the Abhay et al reference teaches a hot roll laminate for the transfer film, note fig 1.
With regards to claim 37, the Abhay et al reference teaches a polyvinyl alcohol as the water soluble polymer, note experimentation section.
With regards to claim 38, the Abhay et al reference teaches the PVA thickness to be 30 microns, note experimental sec.
With regards to claim 41, the Kim et al reference teaches repeat applying of the delamination film, note, page 11.
With regards to claim 42, the Abhay et al reference teaches using a second substrate, note, fig 1.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (WO 2020/041650) in view of Abhay et al (Chem of Materials article).
The Kim et al and Abhay et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in the temperature of the intercalation solution. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable temperature of solution in the combined references in order to increase the reaction of the solution with the stack and substrate.
Claim(s) 33,and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (WO 2020/041650) in view of Abhay et al (Chem of Materials article).
The Kim et al and Abhay et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in the process conditions of depositing the transfer layer. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable process conditions, temperatures, pressures in the combined references in order to ensure that the layer covers the surface layer of the stack material.
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (WO 2020/041650) in view of Abhay et al (Chem of Materials article).
The Kim et al and Abhay et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in the addition graphene deposition after delamination. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable further deposition in the combined references in order to reuse the substrate to create more stacks.
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (WO 2020/041650) in view of Abhay et al (Chem of Materials article).
The Kim et al and Abhay et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in the mechanical separation. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable separation method in the combined references in order to remove stack layers without damage to either stack or substrate.
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (WO 2020/041650) in view of Abhay et al (Chem of Materials article).
The Kim et al and Abhay et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in the roughness of the stack. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to have a smooth film or stack in the combined references in order to have the layers be used in further devices.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art in graphene growth and separation methods.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714