DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed June 14, 2023 & July 18, 2024 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and an initialed copied is attached herewith.
Claim Interpretation
The “separated cross section” is considered any cross section “through which flow can take place and through which flow does take place.” See the instant specification, Page 3. The specification consistently describes the separated cross section as such, and separated cross section 161 - 168 are the inside of the nozzle See the instant specification, Page 9 & Fig. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 2 & 6, the term “preferably” is vague and indefinite. It is unclear as to the following feature is a required element or optional. An appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is rejected based on dependency to claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 & 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas et al. US Pub. 2020/0373591 in view of Kato et al. JP 2007294442A and further in view of Inger et al., CN 110748690A.
With respect to claim 1, Lucas teaches a device for supplying air to a fuel cell (humidifying cathode gas to a fuel cell; See the Abstract), having at least one air conveying device (a gas inlet 9 connected to a feed line 8 for the cathode gas which is to be humidified; where feed line 8 is the air conveying device; Fig. 3) and at least one humidifying device (14; Fig. 3), which is configured to supply condensed product water from the fuel cell (water collected from the separator of the fuel cell is collected as liquid 11, and supplied to the nozzle of the humidifier by inlet 21; [0036]; Fig. 3) to the compressed supply air flow by means of at least one nozzle (liquid supply 11 is connected to the feed line 8 ; [0037]; cathode gas is drawn in through the compressor 10, introduced into the feed line 8 [0032]; thus the humidifier supplies water from liquid supply 11 to compressed air in feed line 8) wherein a field of two-substance nozzle
With respect to claim 4, the restoring force for each of the separated cross sections
With respect to claim 7, the separated cross sections through which flow can take place are arranged directly in the outlet of a flow compressor used as an air conveying device (separated cross section is identical to the flow of the outlet of a flow compressor used as an air conveying device which is feed line 8 ; at the arrow in Fig. 3). With respect to claim 8, the supply air flow is free of an intercooler and a membrane humidifier (the heat exchanger 13 is a charge air cooler, not an intercooler as there is no down stream compression stage before entering the fuel cell. Fig. 3 and [0034]; The only separators are in the fuel cell [0035] and in the anode circuit (fuel line) for water collection, not air flow line [0036]. With respect to claim 10, the limitation supplying a vehicle with at least part of its electrical drive power is an intended use. As to claim 10, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ F.2d 1647 (1987). Therefore, although the limitations have been considered they are not given patentable weight, as they do not differentiate the claimed apparatus from Lucas.
Although Lucas teaches one two-substance nozzle, the reference does not expressly disclose two-substance nozzles for the supply of water is formed in the flow cross section of the supply air flow (claim 1); each of the separated cross sections claim 1); the restoring force is formed as a magnetic force between a switchable and/or permanent magnet in the area of the valve body or preferably in the area of the valve seat and a magnetizable material of the valve seat or preferably the valve body (claim 2); the valve body is designed as a hollow sphere made of a magnetizable material (claim3); at least two air conveying devices and/or humidifying devices are provided as a sequential cascade (claim 8).
Kato teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: two-substance nozzles for the supply of water is formed in the flow cross section of the supply air flow (first and second nozzles 55 a and 55 b may be provided in the air manifold 54; See Best Mode; Fig. 15, FIGS. 15A to 15E, the maximum reach region MRa of the first nozzle 55a and the maximum reach region MRb of the second nozzle 55b are made to coincide with each other; FIGS. 15A to 15E; claim 1); at least two air conveying devices and/or humidifying devices are provided as a sequential cascade (first and second nozzles 55 a and 55 b may be provided in the air manifold 54, thus two humidifiers; FIGS. 15A to 15E; claim 8).
Inger teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: each of the separated cross sections through which flow can take place comprises a valve having a valve seat and a valve body, which is pressed counter to the flow by a restoring force in the direction of the valve seat (valve having valve body; summary of invention paragraph 10, valve seat 14; Fig. 1a; soft magnetic pieces can pertinently be used for holding force of executing mechanism and when necessary as the sealing force of the sealing element, said sealing element sealing pressure overcomes the medium for the valve seat seal; summary of invention paragraph 13, claim 1); the restoring force is formed as a magnetic force between a switchable and/or permanent magnet in the area of the valve body or preferably in the area of the valve seat and a magnetizable material of the valve seat or preferably the valve body (soft magnetic pieces can pertinently be used for holding force of executing mechanism and when necessary as the sealing force of the sealing element, said sealing element sealing pressure overcomes the medium for the valve seat seal; summary of invention paragraph 13, valve having valve body; summary of invention paragraph 10, valve seat 14; Fig. 1a; claim 2); the valve body is designed as a hollow sphere made of a magnetizable material (magnetic pieces are a plurality of spheres; teaching claim 3; claim 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ two-substance nozzles for the supply of water is formed in the flow cross section of the supply air flow of Kato, as the device of Lucas, in order to increase the humidification area of the air flow, as suggested by Kato. See the maximum reach region MRa of the first nozzle 55a and the maximum reach region MRb of the second nozzle 55b are made to coincide with each other; FIGS. 15A to 15E; See Best mode, paragraph 36. Also, duplication of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to each of the separated cross sections through which flow can take place comprises a valve having a valve seat and a valve body, which is pressed counter to the flow by a restoring force in the direction of the valve seat (claim 1); it would have been obvious to employ the valve having a valve seat and a valve body of Inger, in the separated cross sections of Lucas in view of Kato, to improve control of the flowrate. Regarding being pressed counter to the flow by a restoring force in the direction of the valve seat, it would have been obvious in the separated cross sections of Lucas in view of Kato & Inger, as rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 & 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas et al. US Pub. 2020/0373591 in view of Kato et al. JP 2007294442A and further in view of Inger et al., CN 110748690A, and even further in view of 神家 規寿 JP 4502468 B2.
Lucas in view of Kato and Inger teach a device as described in the rejection recited hereinabove.
Lucas does not expressly disclose: the water can be conveyed via a conveying pump directly or via a collecting line to the two-substance nozzles (claim 5); the water flows upstream of the two-component nozzles through a heat exchanger, which is preferably operable by means of waste heat from a fuel cell system comprising the fuel cell (claim 6).
神家 規寿 teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: the water can be conveyed via a conveying pump directly or via a collecting line to the two-substance nozzles (water pump 52 to deliver water in a fuel cell system; [0013];claim 5); the water flows upstream of the two-component nozzles through a heat exchanger, which is preferably operable by means of waste heat from a fuel cell system comprising the fuel cell ( heat exchanger 55 is provided for exchanging heat between the cooling water; claim 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the pump of 神家 規寿,to pump directly or via a collecting line to the two-substance nozzles of Lucas in view of Kato and Inger, to expedite flow of fluid.
Conclusion
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723