DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kishimoto et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2021/0005134 A1, hereinafter, “Kishimoto”).
Regarding claim 1, Kishimoto discloses a method for manufacturing a display device (see Kishimoto, FIGs. 5A-5G),
wherein a first conductor (25a, ¶ [0038]) is formed,
wherein a first insulator (30, ¶ [0038]) is formed over the first conductor (25a, FIG. 5B),
wherein an opening (30a, ¶ [0038]) reaching the first conductor (25a) is provided in the first insulator (30, FIG. 5B),
wherein a second conductor is (45, ¶ [0066]) formed inside the opening (30a) and over the first insulator (30, FIG. 5C),
wherein a third conductor (410, ¶ [0038]) is formed by removing part of the second conductor (45) to expose a top surface of the first insulator (30, FIG. 5D),
wherein a first light-emitting layer (43, ¶ [0038]) is formed over the third conductor (410) and over the first insulator (30, FIG. 5F),
wherein a fourth conductor (44, ¶ [0038]) is formed over the first light-emitting layer (43, FIG. 5F), and
wherein a fifth conductor (44) is formed by removing part of the fourth conductor (44, ¶ [0089] and FIG. 5G).
Regarding claim 2, Kishimoto discloses the method for manufacturing a display device, according to claim 1, wherein the second conductor (45) comprises a first region in contact with the inside of the opening (30a) and a second region in contact with the first insulator (30, FIG. 5C).
Regarding claim 4, Kishimoto discloses the method for manufacturing a display device, according to claim 1, wherein the third conductor (410) is formed by removing part of the second conductor (45) by chemical mechanical polishing (¶ [0084]) to expose the top surface of the first insulator (30, FIG. 5D).
Regarding claim 6, Kishimoto discloses the method for manufacturing a display device, according to claim 1, wherein the third conductor (410) is configured to reflect visible light (made of Ti+Cu, ¶ [0083]), and wherein the fifth conductor (44) is configured to transmit visible light (¶ [0071]).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US PG-Pub No.: 2006/0001091 A1, hereinafter, “Kim”).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses a display device (see Kim, FIG. 6) comprising:
a first conductor (131, ¶ [0054]);
a first insulator (160+175, ¶ [0085]) over the first conductor (131);
a second conductor (170, ¶ [0085]) provided inside an opening (160a+175a) of the first insulator (160+175);
a first light-emitting layer (200, ¶ [0085]) in contact with a top surface of the second conductor (170) and a top surface of the first insulator (160+175); and
a third conductor (220, ¶ [0085]) in contact with a top surface of the first light-emitting layer (200, FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the display device according to claim 12, wherein the first conductor (131) and the second conductor (170) are electrically connected to each other (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the display device according to claim 12, wherein the second conductor (170) comprises a region in contact with a sidewall of the opening (165a+170a, FIG. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2021/0005134 A1, hereinafter, “Kishimoto”), as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Kishimoto discloses the method for manufacturing a display device, according to claim 1,
Kishimoto fails to explicitly disclose that formation of the fifth conductor (44) is performed by formation of a resist mask over the fourth conductor (44) and etching using the resist mask.
However, Kishimoto discloses patterning the fourth conductor (44, ¶ [0089]). And etching using a resist mask is a well-known patterning method.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to pattern Kishimoto’s fifth conductor by formation of a resist mask over the fourth conductor and etching using the resist mask.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 are allowed.
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected claim 4, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 12, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious all the claimed subject of claim 5, in particular, a top surface of the third conductor and the top surface of the first insulator are substantially aligned with each other.
The prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious all the claimed subject of base claim 7, in particular, a first light-emitting layer is formed over the fifth conductor, over the sixth conductor, over the seventh conductor, and over the first insulator, wherein part of the first light-emitting layer is removed to form a second light-emitting layer over the fifth conductor, wherein a third light-emitting layer is formed over the fifth conductor, over the sixth conductor, over the seventh conductor, over the first insulator, and over the second light-emitting layer, wherein part of the third light-emitting layer is removed to form a fourth light-emitting layer over the sixth conductor, wherein a fifth light-emitting layer is formed over the fifth conductor, over the sixth conductor, over the seventh conductor, over the first insulator, over the second light-emitting layer, and over the fourth light-emitting layer, and wherein part of the fifth light-emitting layer is removed to form a sixth light-emitting layer over the seventh conductor. Therefore, claim 7 is allowable. Accordingly, claims 8-11 are allowable as they depend upon claim 7.
The prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious all the claimed subject of claim 15, in particular, the top surface of the second conductor and the top surface of the first insulator are substantially level with each other.
Conclusion
/XIA L CROSS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892