DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 3/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-38 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-38 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1-38, numerous recitations of “respective” are unclear. For example, it is unclear with respect to what element(s) and/or feature(s) is relating to the “respective time domain variation”, “respective sidelink resources”, etc. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, “to cause the UE to:” should be changed to “to cause the first UE to:” for clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-12, 19-20 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0267025 (hereinafter Yu) in view of US 2024/0022375 (hereinafter Keating).
Regarding claims 1, 12, 28, and 31, Yu teaches a method / apparatus for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the UE to: receive, from a network entity, a first indication of a periodic set of sidelink resources for a reference signal measurement associated with a plurality of reference signals ([0038]-[0040]: details The SL SRS configuration is obtained by the remote/relay UE through receiving the SL SRS configuration from a network equipment such as eNB; The transmission/receiving of SRS from the relay/remote UE can be either periodic or aperiodic in which the transmission/receiving of SL SRS usually follows indication information indicating the SRS transmission/receiving; Additionally, the SRS may be… a set of SRS; The SL SRS is used for SL channel measurement hereinafter) and a respective time-domain variation ([0056]: details the frequency/time resource of subband SL SRS can follow legacy hopping rules) for each UE of a plurality of UEs ([0038][0030]: details The SL SRS configuration is obtained by the remote/relay UE through… receiving the SL SRS configuration from the relay/remote unit); transmit, to each UE of the plurality of UEs, a second indication of the periodic set of sidelink resources for the reference signal measurement ([0038][0030]: details The SL SRS configuration is obtained by the remote/relay UE through… receiving the SL SRS configuration from the relay/remote unit) and the respective time-domain variation for each UE of the plurality of UEs ([0056]: details the frequency/time resource of subband SL SRS can follow legacy hopping rules); and communicate the plurality of reference signals over the periodic set of sidelink resources according to each respective time-domain variation for each UE of the plurality of UEs ([0038]: details Disclosed herein are methods, apparatus, and systems that provide a mechanism of SL SRS transmission on a SL. As described herein, the SRS is based on a SL SRS configuration which configures location information of the SRS in the time-frequency domain.).
Yu does not explicitly teach wherein each respective time-domain variation is indicative of one or more offsets by which one or more reference signals of the plurality of reference signals are to be communicated with each UE of the plurality of UEs via respective sidelink resources of the periodic set of sidelink resources.
However, Keating teaches wherein each respective time-domain variation is indicative of one or more offsets by which one or more reference signals of the plurality of reference signals are to be communicated with each UE of the plurality of UEs via respective sidelink resources of the periodic set of sidelink resources ([0077][0086]: details the resource configuration comprises a set of resource offsets, where each resource offset indicates an offset from a second sidelink resource to one of the sidelink resources for transmitting RSs. The second sidelink resource used for transmitting a second reference signal from the first terminal device 110 to the plurality of positioning terminal devices 120. In some example embodiments, the resource configuration comprises a set of timing offsets, which indicates the time offset between a time point of receiving the second RS at the positioning terminal devices 120 and the time points of transmitting the RSs to the first terminal device 110 by the positioning terminal devices 120, respectively).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu to incorporate the teachings of Keating and include wherein each respective time-domain variation is indicative of one or more offsets by which one or more reference signals of the plurality of reference signals are to be communicated with each UE of the plurality of UEs via respective sidelink resources of the periodic set of sidelink resources of Keating with Yu. Doing so would provide a solution for coordinated positioning via sidelink resource (Keating, at paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 8, Yu teaches wherein, to indicate the periodic set of sidelink resources for the reference signal measurement, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first UE to: broadcast an indication of the periodic set of sidelink resources including a periodicity for the periodic set of sidelink resources and the respective time-domain variation for each UE ([0006]: details Both 3GPP Rel-12/Rel-13 D2D communication and 3GPP Rel-14 V2V communication are typical broadcast-based communications; see also claim 1).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Yu teaches wherein, to communicate the plurality of reference signals, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first UE to: transmit the plurality of reference signals over the periodic set of sidelink resources according to the respective time-domain variation for each UE of the plurality of UEs ([0038]-[0040][0056]: see claim 1).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Yu teaches wherein, to communicate the plurality of reference signals, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: monitor for the plurality of reference signals over the periodic set of sidelink resources according to the respective time-domain variation for each UE of the plurality of UEs ([0079]: details FIG. 8A is a call flow illustrating that a remote UE periodically transmits a SL SRS to a relay UE in the bidirectional case according to one embodiment).
Regarding claim 11, Yu teaches wherein the reference signal measurement is a sidelink channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) measurement, a sidelink positioning reference signal (PRS) measurement, a sounding reference signal (SRS) measurement, or any combination thereof ([0038]-[0040][0056]: See claim 1).
Claims 7, 18, 21, 27 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Keating and US 2019/0090092 (hereinafter Hwang).
Regarding claims 21 and 35, Yu teaches a method / an apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the network entity to: output a first indication of a periodic set of sidelink resources for the reference signal measurement ([0038][0040]: details The SL SRS configuration is obtained by the remote/relay UE through receiving the SL SRS configuration from a network equipment such as eNB; The transmission/receiving of SRS from the relay/remote UE can be either periodic or aperiodic in which the transmission/receiving of SL SRS usually follows indication information indicating the SRS transmission/receiving; Additionally, the SRS may be… a set of SRS; The SL SRS is used for SL channel measurement hereinafter) and a respective time-domain variation ([0056]: details the frequency/time resource of subband SL SRS can follow legacy hopping rules) for each UE of the first plurality of UEs ([0038][0030]: details The SL SRS configuration is obtained by the remote/relay UE through… receiving the SL SRS configuration from the relay/remote unit).
Yu does not explicitly teach obtain a first request for sidelink resources for a reference signal measurement associated with a plurality of reference signals for a first plurality of user equipments (UEs); wherein each respective time-domain variation is indicative of one or more offsets by which one or more reference signals of the plurality of reference signals are to be communicated with each UE of the plurality of UEs via respective sidelink resources of the periodic set of sidelink resources.
However, Hwang teaches obtain a first request for sidelink resources for a reference signal measurement associated with a plurality of reference signals for a first plurality of user equipments (UEs) ([0070][0094]: details In the description of embodiments of the present disclosure, an “anchor node” may be a fixed D2D UE pre-installed at a specific position by a network operator; Meanwhile, upon receipt of the Positioning Request message from the UE 401, the anchor nodes 403 request PRS scheduling to the eNB 405 in operation 523).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu to incorporate the teachings of Hwang and include obtain a first request for sidelink resources for a reference signal measurement associated with a plurality of reference signals for a first plurality of user equipments (UEs) of Hwang with Yu. Doing so would improve the accuracy of reference signal time difference estimation (Hwang, at paragraph [0009]).
Moreover, Keating teaches wherein each respective time-domain variation is indicative of one or more offsets by which one or more reference signals of the plurality of reference signals are to be communicated with each UE of the plurality of UEs via respective sidelink resources of the periodic set of sidelink resources ([0077][0086]: details the resource configuration comprises a set of resource offsets, where each resource offset indicates an offset from a second sidelink resource to one of the sidelink resources for transmitting RSs. The second sidelink resource used for transmitting a second reference signal from the first terminal device 110 to the plurality of positioning terminal devices 120. In some example embodiments, the resource configuration comprises a set of timing offsets, which indicates the time offset between a time point of receiving the second RS at the positioning terminal devices 120 and the time points of transmitting the RSs to the first terminal device 110 by the positioning terminal devices 120, respectively).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu to incorporate the teachings of Keating and include wherein each respective time-domain variation is indicative of one or more offsets by which one or more reference signals of the plurality of reference signals are to be communicated with each UE of the plurality of UEs via respective sidelink resources of the periodic set of sidelink resources of Keating with Yu. Doing so would provide a solution for coordinated positioning via sidelink resource (Keating, at paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claims 7, 18 and 27, Yu does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first UE to: receive, from a second UE of the plurality of UEs, a reference signal resource request for the periodic set of sidelink resources for the reference signal measurement; and transmit, to the network entity, a request for sidelink resources for the reference signal measurement for the plurality of UEs based at least in part on reception of the reference signal resource request from the second UE.
However, Hwang teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first UE to: receive, from a second UE of the plurality of UEs, a reference signal resource request for the periodic set of sidelink resources for the reference signal measurement; and transmit, to the network entity, a request for sidelink resources for the reference signal measurement for the plurality of UEs based at least in part on reception of the reference signal resource request from the second UE ([0070][0093][0094]: details In the description of embodiments of the present disclosure, an “anchor node” may be a fixed D2D UE; In <Option 1.2> 520, the UE 401 requests positioning to the neighboring anchor nodes 403 in operation 521. Meanwhile, upon receipt of the Positioning Request message from the UE 401, the anchor nodes 403 request PRS scheduling to the eNB 405 in operation 523).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu to incorporate the teachings of Hwang and include wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first UE to: receive, from a second UE of the plurality of UEs, a reference signal resource request for the periodic set of sidelink resources for the reference signal measurement; and transmit, to the network entity, a request for sidelink resources for the reference signal measurement for the plurality of UEs based at least in part on reception of the reference signal resource request from the second UE of Hwang with Yu. Doing so would improve the accuracy of RSTD estimation (Hwang, at paragraph [0009]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhao (US 2022/0116916) details sidelink data transmission.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASPER KWOH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415