DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because “the through-substrate electrode” should be changed to “the first through-substrate electrode”. Depending from claim 6, is it clear it is the first such electrode being referred to, since claims 1 and 6 do not claim the second through-substrate electrode.
Claim 28 is objected to because “one the front” should be changed to “on the front”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-25 and 27-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO/2019/130702 (“Nakazawa”), published 7/4/19.
US 2021/0084249 A1 claims priority to PCT/JP2018/036417, which is published as WO/2019/130712; the US document will be referred to herein, being used as an English translation of the WO document.
Nakazawa teaches, for example:
Nakazawa teaches:
1. An imaging element 1, comprising:
pixels (e.g. 12, see e.g. Fig. 1) each disposed on a first semiconductor substrate (e.g. 10, and possibly further comprising elements or layers thereon, such as 40 and 50, see e.g. Fig. 19) and including
a photoelectric conversion section (e.g. “photodiode 41”, see e.g. para 125, 127) that performs photoelectric conversion of incident light,
a charge holding section (e.g. “floating diffusion FD”, see e.g. para 125) that holds a charge generated by the photoelectric conversion, and
a charge transfer section (e.g. “transfer transistor TR”, see e.g. para 125) that transfers the charge from the photoelectric conversion section to the charge holding section (the “transfer gate TG” of a transistor may transfer the charge, see e.g. para 127);
a pixel circuit (e.g. “readout circuit 22” including elements thereof and wirings connected thereto within 20, see e.g. para 121 and e.g. Fig. 19) that is disposed on a second semiconductor substrate (e.g. 20, see e.g. Fig. 19) stacked on a front surface side (e.g. top side of 10 as shown in Fig. 19) of the first semiconductor substrate and generates an image signal on a basis of the held charge (certainly 22 contributes to the image output, see e.g. para 121, 283, etc.);
an isolating section (e.g. comprising at least “element separator 43”, see e.g. para 133 and Fig. 19) disposed at a boundary of the pixels (see e.g. Fig. 19);
a buried electrode (e.g. 73 and/or 74 in Fig. 35; or 72 and/or 71 in Fig. 32) that is disposed by being buried in the front surface side of the first semiconductor substrate at a boundary of the pixel overlapping with the isolating section and is connected to the first semiconductor substrate (see e.g. Figs. 32 and 35); and
a first through-substrate electrode (the “first through-substrate electrode” may be reasonably interpreted as an electrode or wiring that passes through a portion of a substrate, and which may comprise multiple portions; at least 54 passes vertically through a portion of substrate 20, is connected to another 55 which passes laterally through substrate 20, which is connected to a circuit having elements 23, 24, 58, and 65, which pass through portions of substrates 20 and 30; in total, at least some of these elements comprise the claimed electrode) connected to the buried electrode (see e.g. Fig. 19, wherein at least 54 couples to FD; see also the discussion of the modification examples below), wherein the first through-substrate electrode is coupled with a third semiconductor substrate (the electrode as identified above “couples” with a third substrate such as 30 in that they are connected or combined together or are in close proximity so as to permit mutual influence, which both read on the definition of couple shown below from Merriam Webster online dictionary) that is stacked on a side of the second semiconductor substrate different from the side on which the first semiconductor substrate is disposed (it is on the top, whereas 10 is on the bottom, see e.g. Fig. 19) and that includes a circuit connected to the pixel circuit (see e.g. logic circuit 32, see e.g. para 121).
Figs. 32 and 35 are “modification examples” that replace portions of Fig. 19 (i.e. only the bottommost portions of 20 and the uppermost portions of 10), while not showing the entirety of unmodified parts of Fig. 19 (i.e. the upper portions of 20, all portions of 30, and the lowermost portions of 10 of Fig. 19). See for example, para 193, 198-200. As such, it seems that the modification falls within the scope of 35 USC 102 because the portions relied upon above are a single coherent embodiment.
In any case, the obviousness of the modification of Fig. 19 to replace portions near the bottom of 20 and the top of 10 to instead include the portions shown in Fig. 32 or Fig. 35 is well within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, and the above rejection is proper under 35 USC 103. It has been established that “the [obviousness] analysis need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim” because the Office or “a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR Int’ Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007). It is also well settled that a reference stands for all of the specific teachings thereof as well as the inferences one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably been expected to draw therefrom. See In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264-65 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
Nakazawa teaches and/or would have suggested as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention:
2. The imaging element according to claim 1, further comprising a boundary wiring line (see e.g. 54, 55, 72, etc. in Figs. 32-33; see e.g. VSS, 47, etc. in Fig. 35) disposed at the boundary of the pixels and connected to the buried electrode.
3. The imaging element according to claim 2, wherein the boundary wiring line is disposed by being buried in the first semiconductor substrate (see e.g. Figs. 33 and 35, wherein 72 and 74, respectively, may be said “boundary wiring lines”’ and/or wherein 54 and 47 partially extend, and are thus buried within, first substrate 10).
4. The imaging element according to claim 2, wherein the boundary wiring line is disposed adjacent to the front surface side of the first semiconductor substrate (see e.g. Figs. 33 and 35).
5. The imaging element according to claim 2, wherein the first through-substrate electrode is connected to the buried electrode via the boundary wiring line (see e.g. Figs. 33 and 35).
6. The imaging element according to 6, wherein the buried electrode is connected to a well region of the first semiconductor substrate (see wherein “well layer 42” is connected to 73/74/47/VSS in Fig. 35), and the first through-substrate electrode supplies a reference potential (see e.g. para 125, 127).
7. The imaging element according to claim 6, wherein the buried electrode is formed in a shape surrounding the pixel (see e.g. wherein 49/TG1/TG2/TG3/TG4 fully surrounds the pixel in Fig. 31; the line itself seems to “surround” at least two portions of the pixel; see also Fig. 33).
8. The imaging element according to claim 6, wherein a plurality of the pixels are disposed on the first semiconductor substrate (see e.g. Fig. 1).
9. The imaging element according to claim 8, wherein the buried electrode is commonly connected to the well region (e.g. see Fig. 35 wherein the buried electrode touches at least four “well layers 42”; see also Fig. 33; see also Fig. 32, wherein the buried electrode contacts at least four FD regions, which each would in turn connect to each “well layer 42” shown in Fig. 19 but which is omitted from the partial views shown in Figs. 32 and 35) of each pixel of a pixel group including two or more pixels among the plurality of pixels.
10. The imaging element according to claim 9, wherein the first through-substrate electrode is disposed for each of the pixel groups (see e.g. Figs. 31, 33, etc.).
11. The imaging element according to claim 8, wherein the first through-substrate electrode is disposed on the first semiconductor substrate outside the plurality of pixels (see e.g. Figs. 31, 33, etc.).
12. The imaging element according to claim 8, wherein the pixel circuit is disposed for each of pixel sharing units, each pixel sharing unit including two or more pixels among the plurality of pixels (see e.g. Figs. 31, 33, etc.).
13. The imaging element according to claim 12, further comprising: a second through-substrate electrode connected to the charge holding section; and a charge holding section wiring line disposed between the first semiconductor substrate and the second semiconductor substrate and connected in common to the second through-substrate electrode of each of the plurality of pixels included in the pixel sharing unit, wherein the charge holding section wiring line is connected to the pixel circuit (see e.g. Figs. 30-35).
14. The imaging element according to claim 12, further comprising: a charge transfer section wiring line that is disposed between the first semiconductor substrate and the second semiconductor substrate, transmits a control signal to the charge transfer section, and is commonly connected to the charge transfer sections of another piece of the pixel sharing units; and a second through-substrate electrode that is connected to the charge transfer section wiring line and supplies the control signal (see e.g. Figs. 30-35).
15. The imaging element according to claim 6, wherein the first through-substrate electrode is connected to a well region (see e.g. “well layer 42”, para 127, Figs. 19, 32, 35, etc.) in which an element of the pixel circuit is disposed, on the second semiconductor substrate.
16. The imaging element according to claim 6, wherein the buried electrode is formed in a band shape in plan view (see e.g. Figs. 31, 33).
17. The imaging element according to 17, wherein the buried electrode is connected to the charge holding section, and the first through-substrate electrode is connected to the pixel circuit (see e.g. Figs. 32, 35).
18. The imaging element according to 18, wherein a plurality of the pixels is disposed on the first semiconductor substrate, and the pixel circuit is disposed for each of pixel sharing units, each pixel sharing unit including two or more pixels among the plurality of pixels (see e.g. Figs. 1, 31, 33).
19. The imaging element according to claim 18, wherein the buried electrode is commonly connected to the charge holding section of each pixel in the pixel sharing unit (see e.g. Figs. 32, 35).
20. The imaging element according to 20, wherein the buried electrode is formed in a shape protruding from the first semiconductor substrate (see e.g. Figs. 32, 35, wherein at least a portion of 54 and 47 are partially within 10 and partially protruding out of 10 into 20), and the charge transfer section includes a MOS transistor 22 including a gate electrode having a height equal to or less than a protruding height of the buried electrode from the first semiconductor substrate (see e.g. Fig. 32).
21. The imaging element according to claim 6, wherein the first through-substrate electrode is connected to the well region (e.g. “well layer 42”) via a semiconductor region having (e.g. FD) formed on the first semiconductor substrate (see e.g. para 233, 241, etc.).
22. The imaging element according to claim 1, wherein the buried electrode includes silicon (see “polysilicon”, para 151).
23. The imaging element according to claim 1, wherein the isolating section has a shape penetrating the first semiconductor substrate (see e.g. Fig. 19).
24. The imaging element according to claim 1, wherein the isolating section is formed with an insulator (43 is made of e.g. “silicon oxide”, see para 133).
25. The imaging element according to claim 1, wherein the isolating section is formed with a semiconductor region (see “p-well layer 44”, para 44 and/or the “fixed electric charge film” 45).
27. The imaging element according to claim 1, wherein the charge transfer section is formed with a MOS transistor (see e.g. the RST, SEL, and SMP, see e.g. para 126-127) that includes: a channel region disposed in a protrusion formed on a front surface side of the first semiconductor substrate; and a gate electrode adjacent to a side surface of the protrusion via an insulating film (see e.g. insulating films like 21, 52 in 20), and that transfers the charge in a thickness direction of the first semiconductor substrate (see “CMOS” transistors, see e.g. para 127).
28. The imaging element according to claim 27, wherein the protrusion includes an annular groove shape on the front surface side of the first semiconductor substrate (e.g. see Figs. 31, 33).
29. The imaging element according to claim 27, wherein the gate electrode is formed in a shape surrounding (e.g. see Figs. 31, 33) a side surface of the protrusion.
30. The imaging element according to claim 27, wherein the charge holding section is disposed at an end of the protrusion (e.g. see Figs. 31, 33).
31. The imaging element according to claim 30, wherein the gate electrode is disposed to be separated from the charge holding section in a thickness direction of the first semiconductor substrate (e.g. see Figs. 19, 32, 35).
32. The imaging element according to claim 27, wherein the channel region is formed to have a conductivity type different from a conductivity type of a well region of the first semiconductor substrate (this is well-known in CMOS transistors, see e.g. para 127; because the channel region needs to be of a conductivity type opposite that of the source/drain electrodes for a channel to form).
33. An imaging device (e.g. 2, see e.g. Fig. 68 and para 281-282), comprising:
pixels (e.g. 12, see e.g. Fig. 1) each disposed on a first semiconductor substrate (e.g. 10, and possibly further comprising elements or layers thereon, such as 40 and 50, see e.g. Fig. 19) and including
a photoelectric conversion section (e.g. “photodiode 41”, see e.g. para 125, 127) that performs photoelectric conversion of incident light,
a charge holding section (e.g. “floating diffusion FD”, see e.g. para 125) that holds a charge generated by the photoelectric conversion, and
a charge transfer section (e.g. “transfer transistor TR”, see e.g. para 125) that transfers the charge from the photoelectric conversion section to the charge holding section (the “transfer gate TG” of a transistor may transfer the charge, see e.g. para 127);
a pixel circuit (e.g. “readout circuit 22” including elements thereof and wirings connected thereto within 20, see e.g. para 121 and e.g. Fig. 19) that is disposed on a second semiconductor substrate (e.g. 20, see e.g. Fig. 19) stacked on a front surface side (e.g. top side of 10 as shown in Fig. 19) of the first semiconductor substrate and generates an image signal on a basis of the held charge (certainly 22 contributes to the image output, see e.g. para 121, 283, etc.);
an isolating section (e.g. comprising at least “element separator 43”, see e.g. para 133 and Fig. 19) disposed at a boundary of the pixels (see e.g. Fig. 19);
a buried electrode (e.g. 73 and/or 74 in Fig. 35; or 72 and/or 71 in Fig. 32) that is disposed by being buried in the front surface side of the first semiconductor substrate at a boundary of the pixel overlapping with the isolating section and is connected to the first semiconductor substrate (see e.g. Figs. 32 and 35);
a first through-substrate electrode () connected to the buried electrode, wherein the first through-substrate electrode is coupled with a third semiconductor substrate that is stacked on a side of the second semiconductor substrate different from the side on which the first semiconductor substrate is disposed and that includes a circuit connected to the pixel circuit.
a processing circuit that processes the generated image signal (see e.g. para 165, circuits in 30 in Fig. 1, etc.; see e.g. Fig. 68 and para 284, etc.).
Figs. 32 and 35 are “modification examples” that replace portions of Fig. 19 (i.e. only the bottommost portions of 20 and the uppermost portions of 10), while not showing the entirety of unmodified parts of Fig. 19 (i.e. the upper portions of 20, all portions of 30, and the lowermost portions of 10 of Fig. 19). See for example, para 193, 198-200. As such, it seems that the modification falls within the scope of 35 USC 102 because the portions relied upon above are a single coherent embodiment.
In any case, the obviousness of the modification of Fig. 19 to replace portions near the bottom of 20 and the top of 10 to instead include the portions shown in Fig. 32 or Fig. 35 is well within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, and the above rejection is proper under 35 USC 103. It has been established that “the [obviousness] analysis need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim” because the Office or “a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR Int’ Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007). It is also well settled that a reference stands for all of the specific teachings thereof as well as the inferences one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably been expected to draw therefrom. See In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264-65 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered. Regarding the rejection over Nakazawa, Applicant states (see remarks filed 4/3/26, pages 12-13) “Nakazawa’s second substrate 20 and third substrate 30 are coupled together via Nakazawa’s coupling section 59, vertical signal line 24, pixel drive line 23, electrode pad 58, and wiring line 65”. However, this does not convincingly illustrate why Applicant then merely summarizes “therefore, Nakazawa fails to disclose, teach or suggest” the new limitation. See the rejections above where it is explained how Nakazawa does indeed teach or suggest the limitation.
Conclusion
Conclusion / Finality
Applicant's amendment changed the scope of the claims and necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion / Prior Art
The prior art made of record, because it is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, but which is not relied upon specifically in the rejections above, is listed on the Notice of References Cited.
Conclusion / Contact Information
/Kevin Parendo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896