DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the reply filed 5/15/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-11, 14-17 and 18-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/23/2025. Applicants indicated that claim 7 reads on the elected species, however, while claim 7 lists Lilial, claim 7 also requires a combination of perfuming ingredients having a LogP above 3 and applicant did not elect a combination.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 5/15/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Application 18/260297 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
All of Applicant’s arguments filed 5/15/2026 have been fully considered.
The amendments to the claims filed 5/15/2026 were sufficient to overcome the claim objections, 112 rejections and 102 rejections presented in the office action mailed 12/15/2025.
New rejections are presented below to address the claims as newly amended.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the DP rejection over 18/689307 are not persuasive at this time as the DP rejection is not the only rejection remaining in the application. As such the DP rejection is maintained.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Struillou (WO 2018/037121), as evidenced by ChemSpider (Lilial). WO’121 is newly cited.
Regarding claim 1: Struillou teaches a deodorant or antiperspirant composition comprising a β-thio carbonyl profragrance (Abs). The β-thio carbonyl profragrance can be 3-(dodecylthio)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohex-3-en-1-yl)-1-butanone, also known as Haloscent D ([037], Struillou - claim 8 and working examples.)
Struillou teaches the inclusion of 0.0001-10% of a free perfume [0053], which overlaps with the claimed 10-20%. The free perfume can be Lilial (3-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-2-methylpropanol) [020 and 058], as evidenced by ChemSpider, Lilial is also known as 2-methyl-3-[4-(2-methyl-2-propanyl)phenyl]propanol and (3-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-2-methylpropanol).
It would have been prima facie obvious to formulate a composition comprising both 3-(dodecylthio)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohex-3-en-1-yl)-1-butanone and Lilial with a reasonable expectation of success as thee are both taught to be suitable embodiments for use.
Regarding claim 2: As the prior art makes obvious the elected species and as compound and its properties are inseparable, the 3-(dodecylthio)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohex-3-en-1-yl)-1-butanone is inherently capable of releasing a perfume raw material upon exposure to oxygen or enzymes.
Regarding claim 3-5: As discussed above, the composition comprises 3-(dodecylthio)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohex-3-en-1-yl)-1-butanone, also known as Haloscent D (i.e. the elected species). While the prior doesn’t specify the trans isomer, the prior art makes obvious the elected species and Applicant states that the elected species reads on instant claims 5, as such the limitations of the claims have been met.
Modified Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-9 of copending Application No. 18689307 (reference application), as evidenced by SciFinder (Haloscent D). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teaches perfuming compositions of matter comprising as least 2-methyl-3-[4-(2-methyl-2-propanyl)phenyl]propanol and 3-(dodecylthio)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohex-3-en-1-yl)-1-butanone. As evidenced by SciFinder, 3-(dodecylthio)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohex-3-en-1-yl)-1-butanone is also known as Haloscent D. While the prior doesn’t specify the trans isomer, the prior art teaches the elected species and Applicant states that the elected species reads on instant claim 5, as such the limitations of the claims have been met.
US’307 teaches using at least .75% of the 2-methyl-3-[4-(2-methyl-2-propanyl)phenyl]propanol, this overlaps with the claimed ranges as at least .75% embraces amounts of 10%+.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613