DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 and 17, and the species of 3-(dodecylthio)-1-(2,6,6-trimethyl-3-cyclohexen-1-yl)-1-butanone as the profragrance compound (i.e. Haloscent D) and 2-methyl-3-[4-(2-methyl-2-propanyl)phenyl] ]propanol as the perfuming ingredient of Log P above 3 (i.e. Lilial) with claims 1-7 and 17 reading on the elected species, in the reply filed on 9/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-11, 14-16 and 18-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/23/2025. Applicants indicated that claim 7 reads on the elected species, however, while claim 7 lists Lilial, claim 7 also requires a combination of perfuming ingredients having a LogP above 3 and applicant did not elect a combination.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Section e) recites “in which formulae..” this is grammatically awkward. The Examiner suggest amending the claim to recite “wherein in the formula…”
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 3 recites “where at least one profragrance…” instead of “where the at least one profragrance…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recite “air/oxygen” thus it’s unclear if the claim is embracing oxygen or air (which is a mixture of gases which including oxygen), thus the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite.
In Claim 3, section f), the phrase “(with a m+1 valence)”renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 3, section g), the phrase “(in which case w=1 and n=1))”renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 3, section g), the phrase "e.g" and renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 3, section g), the phrase “or still a…”, it’s unclear what is meant by this phrase as section g does hasn’t previously defined Q in the manner following the phrase.
Regarding claim 3, section g), the phrase "such as" and renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 17 is rejected in view of its dependency on claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2016035059, as evidenced by ChemSpider (Lilial) and SciFinder (Haloscent D).
JP’059 discloses a liquid detergent, which reads on a perfuming composition of matter. Working examples 18-24 teach a detergent formulation comprising F-1 (i.e. 3-(dodecylthio)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohex-3-en-1-yl)-1-butanone, elected species of profragrance compound) and D-1 which is taught to comprise Lilial (elected species of perfuming ingredient having a LogP above 3).
Regarding claim 1a and 3-5: As discussed above, the detergent comprises 3-(dodecylthio)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohex-3-en-1-yl)-1-butanone. As evidenced by SciFinder, 3-(dodecylthio)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohex-3-en-1-yl)-1-butanone is also known as Haloscent D (i.e. the elected species). While the prior doesn’t specify the trans isomer, the prior art anticipates the elected species and Applicant states that the elected species reads on instant claim 5, as such the limitations of the claims have been met.
Regarding claims 1b, 6 and 17: As discussed above, the detergent comprises Lilial. As evidenced by ChemSpider, Lilial is also known as 2-methyl-3-[4-(2-methyl-2-propanyl)phenyl]propanol.
Regarding claim 2: As the prior art anticipates the elected species and a compound and its properties are inseparable, the 3-(dodecylthio)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohex-3-en-1-yl)-1-butanone is inherently capable of releasing a perfume raw material upon exposure to oxygen or enzymes.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 17 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/260297 (reference application), as evidenced by SciFinder (Haloscent D). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teaches perfuming compositions of matter comprising as least 2-methyl-3-[4-(2-methyl-2-propanyl)phenyl]propanol and 3-(dodecylthio)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohex-3-en-1-yl)-1-butanone. As evidenced by SciFinder, 3-(dodecylthio)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohex-3-en-1-yl)-1-butanone is also known as Haloscent D. While the prior doesn’t specify the trans isomer, the prior art teaches the elected species and Applicant states that the elected species reads on instant claim 5, as such the limitations of the claims have been met.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-9 of copending Application No. 18689307 (reference application), as evidenced by SciFinder (Haloscent D). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teaches perfuming compositions of matter comprising as least 2-methyl-3-[4-(2-methyl-2-propanyl)phenyl]propanol and 3-(dodecylthio)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohex-3-en-1-yl)-1-butanone. As evidenced by SciFinder, 3-(dodecylthio)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohex-3-en-1-yl)-1-butanone is also known as Haloscent D. While the prior doesn’t specify the trans isomer, the prior art teaches the elected species and Applicant states that the elected species reads on instant claim 5, as such the limitations of the claims have been met.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613