Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 10, 15 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feuillet ( Pub. No. WO 2019122461 A1 ), hereinafter Feuillet.
Regarding Independent Claim 1 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet teaches a method for obtaining at least one nitride layer ( Feuillet, FIG. 1e, 550; page 2, Abstract, nitride layer (550) ) based on a first III-N material ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 400; page 13, buffer layer 400 is typically aluminum nitride (AlN) ), the method comprising the following successive steps:
providing a stack ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 100, 220, 300; page 2, Abstract, a stack comprising a substrate (100) and at least the following layers successively positioned from the substrate (100): ■ a flow layer (220) having a glass transition temperature Glass transition ■ a crystalline layer (300) ) comprising a support substrate ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 100; page 2, Abstract, substrate (100) ) and a plurality of pads ( Feuillet, FIG. 1c, 1000a-1000e; page 2, Abstract, pads (1000a-1000e) ) extending from the support substrate, the pads ( Feuillet, FIG. 1c, 1000a-1000e ) being distributed over the support substrate ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 100 ) so as to form at least one pad assembly ( Feuillet, FIG. 6a, FIG. 7a, 580; page 21, FIGS. 6a to 6c and 7a to 7c are photos representing matrices 580 of crystallites 510 of GaN ), each pad ( Feuillet, FIG. 1c, 1000a-1000e ) comprising at least:
one crystalline and silicon-based basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 200, 220, 300; page 2, Abstract, flow layer (220) … crystalline layer (300) … flow layer (200); page 12, creep layer 200 ) extending from an upper face of the support substrate ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 100 ),
one crystalline germination section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 400, 500; page 12, buffer layer 400 is deposited by epitaxial growth on the upper face of the crystalline layer 300 … buffer layer 400 is typically aluminum nitride (AlN); page 13, priming layer 500 serves to facilitate the resumption of growth of the crystallites 510 during next steps. In this case, it is from an upper face of the priming layer 500 that at least part of the epitaxial growth of the crystallite (510a-510e) occurs … ultimately wishes to obtain is a layer 550 of gallium nitride GaN, the priming layer 500 is also made of GaN ), and made from a second III-N material and based on at least one from among gallium (Ga), indium (In) and aluminium (Al), carried by the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 200, 220, 300 ) and having a top,
selectively modifying the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 200 ) with respect to the germination section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 400, 500 ) so as to form a modified basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 200 ) having a lower rigidity ( Feuilet, page 13, line 6, The creep layer 200 has a glass transition temperature … creep layer 200 under the effect of a rise in temperature, deforms without breaking and without returning to its initial position after a drop in temperature ) than the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 200 ) before modification, and
after modification of the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 200 ), epitaxially growing a crystallite ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 510a-510e; page 2, Abstract, epitaxially growing a crystallite (510a-510e) on each of the pads (1000a- 1000e) and continuing the epitaxial growth of the crystallites (510a-510e) so as to form said nitride layer (550) ) from the top of at least some of the pads ( Feuillet, FIG. 1c, 1000a-1000e ) of the assembly and continuing the epitaxial growth of the crystallites until coalescence of the crystallites ( Feuillet, FIG. 3b, 560; page 16, coalescence joint 560 ) carried by adjacent ones of at least some of the pads of the assembly, so as to form the nitride layer ( Feuillet, FIG. 1e, 550 ) on the pad assembly ( Feuillet, FIG. 6a, FIG. 7a, 580 ),
wherein the step of modifying the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 200 ) being configured to, during the coalescence of the crystallites ( Feuillet, FIG. 3b, 560 ), deform the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 3b, 200a, 200b; page 17, FIG. 3b very schematically illustrates the deformation of the creep section 220 making it possible to form a coalescence joint 560 without dislocation ), so as to make up for a disorientation of crystallites carried by two adjacent pads.
Regarding Claim 2 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Feuillet further teaches:
wherein providing the stack ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 100, 220, 300 ) comprising a plurality of pads ( Feuillet, FIG. 1c, 1000a-1000e ) comprises:
providing a base structure ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 100, 220, 300 ) comprising at least:
a crystalline, silicon‑based base substrate ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 200 ), and
at least one germination layer ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 400, 500 ) surmounting the base substrate ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 200 );
defining in the base structure ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 100, 220, 300 ), by etching ( Feuillet, page 2, Abstract, forming pads (1000a-1000e) by etching of the stack so that each pad (1000a-1000e) ) through a whole thickness of the germination layer ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 400, 500 ) and through a portion only of a thickness of the base substrate ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 200 ), the plurality of pads ( Feuillet, FIG. 1c, 1000a-1000e ), said etching defining:
in the germination layer ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 400, 500 ), the germination section of each pad ( Feuillet, FIG. 1c, 1000a-1000e ), and
in the base substrate ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 200 ), the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 220 ) of each pad ( Feuillet, FIG. 1c, 1000a-1000e ) and the support substrate ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 210 ) from which the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 220 ) of each pad ( Feuillet, FIG. 1c, 1000a-1000e ) extends.
Regarding Claim 3 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet teaches the method as claimed in claim 2, on which this claim is dependent, Feuillet further teaches:
wherein the etching ( Feuillet, page 2, Abstract, forming pads (1000a-1000e) by etching of the stack so that each pad (1000a-1000e) ) to define the plurality of pads ( Feuillet, FIG. 1c, 1000a-1000e ) in the base structure ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 100, 220, 300 ) comprises using an etching mask surmounting the germination layer ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 400, 500 ), the etching mask being made by ultraviolet photolithography ( Feuillet, page 14, To form the pads by etching … such as photolithography techniques including the formation of a mask ).
Regarding Claim 4 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Feuillet further teaches:
wherein selectively modifying the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 220 ) comprises an etching ( Feuillet, page 2, Abstract, forming pads (1000a-1000e) by etching of the stack so that each pad (1000a-1000e) ) of the basal section selectively to the germination section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 510a – 510e ) so as to form a modified basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 220a – 220e ) having a section d310 smaller than a section d500 of the germination section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 510a – 510e ).
Regarding Claim 6 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet teaches the method as claimed in
claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Feuillet further teaches:
wherein selectively modifying the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 220 ) comprises transforming the basal section ( Feuillet, page 5, Thus, during epitaxy, the portion of the pad that is formed by the creep section reaches (or exceeds) its glass transition temperature … this pad portion can thus be deformed … It is thus possible to considerably reduce, or even avoid, the appearance and the propagation of dislocations at the level of the coalescence joints between two crystallites) so as to make the material of the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 220 ) more easily deformable ( Feuillet, FIG. 3b, 200a, 200b; page 17, FIG. 3b very schematically illustrates the deformation of the creep section 220 making it possible to form a coalescence joint 560 without dislocation ).
Regarding Claim 7 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet teaches the method as claimed in
claim 6, on which this claim is dependent, Feuillet further teaches:
wherein transforming the material of the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 220 ) comprises an at least partial amorphisation of the basal section, selectively to the germination section, so as to form a modified amorphous basal section the amorphisation being obtained by oxidation or by nitridation of the basal section ( Feuillet, page 13, Preferably, the creep layer 200 is made of a viscous material. It is made of an amorphous material such as an oxide, preferably a SixOy silicon oxide, such as SiO2 ).
Regarding Claim 8 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet teaches the method as claimed in
claim 7, on which this claim is dependent, Feuillet further teaches:
wherein the amorphisation is obtained by oxidation of the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 220 ), the basal section being made of silicon and the modified basal section being made of SixOy, x and y being non-zero integers ( Feuillet, page 13, Preferably, the creep layer 200 is made of a viscous material. It is made of an amorphous material such as an oxide, preferably a SixOy silicon oxide, such as SiO2 ).
Regarding Claim 9 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet teaches the method as claimed in
claim 7, on which this claim is dependent, Feuillet further teaches:
wherein the amorphisation is obtained by oxidation of the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 220 ) and wherein the modified basal section has a behaviour of a viscous material and has a vitreous transition temperature Tvitreous transition, the epitaxial growth being carried out at a temperature Tepitaxy, such that:
Tepitaxy ≥ k1 × Tvitreous transition, with k1 ≥ 0.8.
( Feuillet, page 2, Abstract, the epitaxial growth being carried out at a temperature Tepitaxy, such that: Tepitaxy ≥ k1. TGlass transition with k1 = 0.8 )
Regarding Claim 10 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet teaches the method as claimed in
claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Feuillet further teaches: wherein selectively modifying the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 220 ) comprises:
transformation of the basal section ( Feuillet, page 5, Thus, during epitaxy, the portion of the pad that is formed by the creep section reaches (or exceeds) its glass transition temperature … this pad portion can thus be deformed … It is thus possible to considerably reduce, or even avoid, the appearance and the propagation of dislocations at the level of the coalescence joints between two crystallites), and
before or after the transformation, etching ( Feuillet, page 2, Abstract, forming pads (1000a-1000e) by etching of the stack so that each pad (1000a-1000e) ) of the basal section selectively to the germination section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 510a – 510e ).
Regarding Claim 15 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet teaches the method as claimed in
claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Feuillet further teaches:
wherein the pads are distributed over the support substrate so as to form a plurality of pad assemblies ( Feuillet, page 21, FIGS. 6a to 6c and 7a to 7c are photos representing matrices 580 of crystallites 510 of GaN forming pyramids and obtained after growth on the pads ) and the epitaxial growth step is interrupted before the crystallites belonging to two distinct assemblies coalesce ( Feuillet, page 21, FIGS. 5a and 5b, coalescence joints 560 ), such that the layer formed on each assembly forms a platelet, the platelets ( Feuillet, page 21, FIGS. 6a to 6c and 7a to 7c ) being distant from one another.
Regarding Claim 16 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet teaches the method as claimed in
claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Feuillet further teaches:
wherein the germination sections ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 510a – 510e ) are separated by a distance D and a section d500 of the germination sections is such that D < d500. ( Feuillet, page 8, These values make it possible to obtain a deformation sufficient to reduce the stresses at the grain boundary )
Regarding Claim 17 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet teaches the method as claimed in
claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Feuillet further teaches:
wherein the selectively modified is performed such that a force F1 that must be applied to obtain a given deformation of the modified basal section is less than 0.8*F2, F2 being a force that must be applied to obtain an identical deformation of a non-modified basal section ( Feuillet, page 19, a numerical model shows that to turn the pad by 2 ° in about one second, it is necessary to provide a mechanical work of the order of 0.5E -20 to 1E -20 Joules, taking into account the rupture of the oxide at high temperature. The energy released by contacting the two surfaces, of the order of 10E -11 to 10E -13 Joules is therefore very much greater than the mechanical energy of deformation of 1000a-1000e pads underlying. This energy is also several orders of magnitude lower than would have been necessary to align pads built on bulk silicon or to align pads formed by a material having no glass transition phase around the temperature epitaxial growth of crystallites 510 ).
Regarding Claim 18 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet teaches the method as claimed in
claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Feuillet further teaches:
wherein the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 200, 220, 300 ) is made of one from among Si, SiGe or SiC ( Feuillet, page 9, For example, the crystalline layer may be based on SiC or Al2O3. These materials are furthermore usable in the form of SiCOI (SiC on Insulator, i.e. SiC on insulator) or SOS. (silicon on sapphire); page 25, claim 13, wherein the crystalline layer (300) is based on SiC or Al2O3 ).
Regarding Claim 19 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet teaches the method as claimed in
claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Feuillet further teaches:
wherein the second III-N material ( Feuillet, FIG. 1e, 550 ) is identical to the first III-N material ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 500 ) ( Feuillet, page 13; ultimately wishes to obtain is a layer 550 of gallium nitride GaN, the priming layer 500 is also made of GaN ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feuillet.
Regarding Claim 5 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet teaches the method as claimed in claim 4, on which this claim is dependent,
Feuillet did not explicitly disclose that d310 ≤ 0.8*d500.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to create d310 ≤ 0.8*d500, by using the same approach of deforming the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 220a – 220e; Feuillet, FIG. 3b, 200a, 200b; page 17, FIG. 3b very schematically illustrates the deformation of the creep section 220 making it possible to form a coalescence joint 560 without dislocation ), so as to make up for a disorientation of crystallites carried by two adjacent pads, since this is within the skill level of one in the art. Furthermore, “ [W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. ” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 11 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feuillet, in view of Cheng (Pub. No. 20170200604 A1), hereinafter Cheng.
Regarding Claim 11 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Feuillet further teaches:
wherein selectively modifying the basal section.
Feuillet fails to disclose:
wherein selectively modifying the basal section comprises a porosification of the basal.
However, Cheng teaches:
wherein selectively modifying the basal section comprises a porosification of the basal (Cheng, [0035], Referring to FIG. 6, the epitaxial layer 22 grown may include, e.g., GaN. The strain in the GaN layer 22 is relieved by stretching the fins 18 in the direction of arrows 24. GaN stretches because the porous silicon core has a very low Young's modulus and thus high compliance. The fins 18 need to be able to handle at least the relaxation deflection. In other embodiments, the direction of relaxation may be perpendicular to arrows 24. In still other embodiments, the relaxation may be in multiple directions. The thickness ratio between the fins 18 (fin thickness) and the epitaxial layer (22) thickness may be between about 2:1 to about 1:5).
Feuillet and Cheng are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are forming GaN layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Feuillet ( selectively modifying the basal section ), to incorporate the teachings of Cheng ( GaN stretches because the porous silicon core has a very low Young's modulus and thus high compliance ), to implement the selectively modifying the basal section comprises a porosification of the basal. Doing so would provide specific solution to relax the dislocation in GAN layer, and therefore thick and high quality GaN layer can be implemented.
Regarding Claim 12 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet and Cheng teach the method as claimed in claim 11, on which this claim is dependent, Feuillet and Cheng further teach:
wherein selectively modifying the basal section comprises:
transformation of the basal section (Feuillet, page 5, this pad portion can thus be deformed … It is thus possible to considerably reduce, or even avoid, the appearance and the propagation of dislocations), and
before the transformation, the porosification of the basal section (Cheng, [0035], The strain in the GaN layer 22 is relieved by stretching the fins 18 in the direction of arrows 24. GaN stretches because the porous silicon core has a very low Young's modulus and thus high compliance. The fins 18 need to be able to handle at least the relaxation deflection).
Regarding Claim 13 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet and Cheng teach the method as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Feuillet and Cheng further teach:
wherein selectively modifying the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 220 ) comprises at least two of following steps:
etching ( Feuillet, page 2, Abstract, forming pads (1000a-1000e) by etching of the stack so that each pad (1000a-1000e) ) of the basal section selectively to the germination section (Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 510a – 510e),
porosification of the basal section (Cheng, [0035], GaN stretches because the porous silicon core has a very low Young's modulus and thus high compliance), and
transformation of the basal section (Feuillet, page 5, this pad portion can thus be deformed … It is thus possible to considerably reduce, or even avoid, the appearance and the propagation of dislocations).
Regarding Claim 14 ( Currently Amended ), Feuillet and Cheng teach the method as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Feuillet and Cheng further teach:
wherein selectively modifying the basal section ( Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 220 ) comprises at least the following three steps carried out in the following order:
etching ( Feuillet, page 2, Abstract, forming pads (1000a-1000e) by etching of the stack so that each pad (1000a-1000e) ) of the basal section selectively to the germination section (Feuillet, FIG. 1d, 510a – 510e),
said porosification of the basal section (Cheng, [0035], GaN stretches because the porous silicon core has a very low Young's modulus and thus high compliance), and
said transformation of the basal section (Feuillet, page 5, this pad portion can thus be deformed … It is thus possible to considerably reduce, or even avoid, the appearance and the propagation of dislocations).
Conclusion
/DA-WEI LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ALI NARAGHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2817