Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant argues, “Da Silva fails to teach or reasonably suggest every feature of amended independent claim 1. Thus, Applicant respectfully submits that amended independent claim 1 is not anticipated by Da Silva, and therefore is patentable.”
The examiner calls attention to the prior art of YANG et al. (US 20230035119 A1) and XU et al. (US 20210051534 A1). The references and the citations may be found below in the Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 section as they relate to the amended portions of claim 1 in view of DA SILVA.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DA SILVA et al. (US 20240098588 A1, hereinafter, "DA SILVA") in view of YANG et al. (US 20230035119 A1, hereinafter, "YANG"), XU et al. (US 20210051534 A1, hereinafter, "XU"), FABIEN et al. (US 7729703 B2, hereinafter, "FABIEN"), WU et al. (US 20210105690 A1, hereinafter, "WU"), and RUGELAND et al. (US 20220007246 A1, hereinafter, "RUGELAND").
Regarding claim 1, DA SILVA teaches a network node (paragraph 0116; figure 4, 160: network
node) comprising
at least one processor (paragraph 0118; figure 4, 170: processing circuitry);
and at least one memory including computer program code (paragraph 0122; figure 4, 180:
device readable medium);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one
processor, cause the network node at least to perform:
DA SILVA writes, “Device readable medium 180 may comprise any form of volatile or non-volatile
computer readable memory...that store information, data, and/or instructions that may be used by
processing circuitry 170” (paragraph 0112).
transmitting a request to a plurality of nodes to prepare one or more cell candidates,
DA SILVA writes, “From the network perspective, the method may include one or more network nodes
(e.g., a gNodeB at a next generation radio access network (NG-RAN)) receiving a measurement report
including measurement information of [conditional handover (CHO)] target cell candidate(s) in a
measurement report. Based on the information from the UE, the network node may then determine
CHO reconfigurations for the UE that transmitted the measurement report. Depending on the conditions
of the network and the information in the measurement report, the CHO reconfigurations may comprise
adding one or more new CHO target cell candidates...” (paragraph 0028).
receiving an indication from at least one of the plurality of nodes indicating a capacity to prepare one or more further cell candidates, wherein the indication comprises:
DA SILVA writes, “In particular embodiments, the method further comprises obtaining an indication that
indicates whether the wireless device includes measurement information for the one or more
[conditional handover (CHO)] candidate cells in the measurement report. The indication may be
obtained as part of the CHO configuration or as part of a measurement configuration” (paragraph 0030).
DA SILVA indicates the measurement report contains measurement information about the one or more
CHO candidate cells. Therefore, capacity may be determined from the report.
at least one flag,
DA SILVA writes, “The configuration may consist of a flag (implemented as BOOLEAN, an ON/OFF
indication, TRUE/FALSE, etc.)” (paragraph 0076). DA SILVA adds, “...as part of the CHO configuration for
a given trigger/execution condition associated to a measurement identifier, an indication like a flag
(‘include’)” (paragraph 0078).
a value representing a number of cell candidates a node has the capacity to prepare above the requested number of cell candidates,
DA SILVA writes, “In particular embodiments, the method further comprises obtaining an indication that
indicates whether the wireless device includes measurement information for the one or more CHO
candidate cells in the measurement report. The indication may be obtained as part of the CHO
configuration or as part of a measurement configuration” (paragraph 0030). DA SILVA indicates the
measurement report contains measurement information about the one or more CHO candidate cells .
Therefore, capacity may be determined from the report.
and a list of the one or more cell candidates that can be prepared above the requested number of cell candidates, wherein the list comprises:
DA SILVA writes, “These measurements can be used as input by the network to configure a list of target
cell candidates for CHO. A typical network implementation may try to select out of the reported cells,
the best according to quality criteria (if possible, such as best reference signal received power (RSRP),
best reference signal received quality (RSRQ), etc.)” (paragraph 0019). DA SILVA informs the reader of a
list of target cell candidates for CHO.
a corresponding measurement for the one or more cell candidates in the list, the corresponding measurement including a reference signal received power (RSRP),
DA SILVA writes, “These measurements can be used as input by the network to configure a list of target
cell candidates for CHO. A typical network implementation may try to select out of the reported cells,
the best according to quality criteria (if possible, such as best reference signal received power (RSRP),
best reference signal received quality (RSRQ), etc.)” (paragraph 0019). DA SILVA informs the reader of a
list of target cell candidates for CHO. DA SILVA indicates the list is configured by measurements, which
may be included in the list. DA SILVA indicates the quality criteria includes RSRP.
wherein the one or more radio properties include a radio link quality, a strength, and a radio relevance of the one or more candidate cells in the list,
DA SILVA writes, “These measurements can be used as input by the network to configure a list of target
cell candidates for CHO. A typical network implementation may try to select out of the reported cells,
the best according to quality criteria (if possible, such as best reference signal received power (RSRP),
best reference signal received quality (RSRQ), etc.)” (paragraph 0019). DA SILVA informs the reader of a
list of target cell candidates for CHO. DA SILVA indicates the list is configured by measurements, which
may be included in the list.
transmitting, to one or more of the at least one of the plurality of nodes, a further request to prepare at least one further cell candidate;
DA SILVA writes, “Depending on the conditions of the network and the information in the measurement
report, the CHO reconfigurations may comprise adding one or more new CHO target cell candidates”
(paragraph 0028).
amending a number of cell candidates to be prepared by at least one node based, at least in part, on the received indication from at least one of the plurality of nodes indicating a capacity to prepare one or more further cell candidates;
DA SILVA writes, “Depending on the conditions of the network and the information in the measurement
report, the CHO reconfigurations may comprise adding one or more new CHO target cell candidates,
where a new cell may be one of the cells included in the measurement report (e.g., a triggered cell) (this
may be done, e.g., if the UE has configured a number of cells that do not exceed the maximum number
of configured CHO cells); modify a CHO configuration associated with one of the CHO target cell
candidates (e.g., change the trigger/execution condition, replace the stored RRCReconfiguration within
the container, etc.); or remove a CHO configuration associated to one of the CHO target cell candidates”
(paragraph 0028). DA SILVA specifies that depending on the conditions of the network and the
information in the measurement report, the CHO may be reconfigured to add, modify, or remove a CHO
configuration associated with the CHO target cell candidates.
DA SILVA fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the request is a secondary gNB (SgNB) addition request message indicating a maximum number of cell candidates,”, “and wherein the maximum number of cell candidates is a local maximum number of cell candidates less than or equal to a global maximum number of cell candidates;”, “and an associated weight for the one or more cell candidates in the list, the associated weight indicating a comparison with one or more prepared cell candidates,”, “wherein the associated weight provides an indication of one or more radio properties for the one or more cell candidates in the list and a priority of the one or more cell candidates in the list,”, “and the associated weight includes RSRP thresholds and associated rankings of the one or more cell candidates;”, “determining, based at least in part on the indication, the one or more of the at least one of the plurality of nodes to which the further request is to be transmitted;”, “and transmitting the indication to a network node to enable a determination of the one or more of the at least one of the plurality of nodes to which the further request is to be transmitted;”, “receiving, from at least one of the plurality of nodes, an indication that at least one additional cell candidate above the requested number of cell candidates has been prepared;”, “transmitting, to one or more of the at least one of the plurality of nodes from which an indication that at least one additional cell candidate has been prepared, a confirmation that one or more of the at least one additional cell candidate should be maintained, wherein the transmitting is prior to expiry of a predetermined timer;”, “and transmitting a reconfiguration message to a terminal node when an overall maximum number of cell candidates has been prepared, the reconfiguration message comprising a radio resource control (RRC) message,”, and “wherein the overall maximum number of cell candidates is the global maximum number of cell candidates.”
However, in analogous art, YANG teaches wherein the request is a secondary gNB (SgNB) addition request message indicating a maximum number of cell candidates,
YANG writes, “In an implementation, sending of the first dual connection control message to the second communication node includes: sending a first pre-configuration message to the second communication node, where the first pre-configuration message is used to limit a pre-configured maximum number of the conditional candidate target PSCells in the currently serving second communication node. In an implementation, the maximum number is the maximum total number of conditional candidate target PSCells of the second communication node at all carrier frequencies; or, the maximum number is the local maximum number of conditional candidate target PSCells of the second communication node at a certain carrier frequency” (paragraph 0058-0059).
wherein the overall maximum number of cell candidates is the global maximum number of cell candidates.
YANG writes, “In an implementation, the maximum number is the maximum total number of conditional candidate target PSCells of the second communication node at all carrier frequencies; or, the maximum number is the local maximum number of conditional candidate target PSCells of the second communication node at a certain carrier frequency” (paragraph 0059).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of DA SILVA to include aspects described by YANG that "relates to the field of wireless communication networks, for example, to a cell management method and apparatus, a device and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium." YANG provides motivation for modification of the invention noting, "Through the CHO mechanism, the source cell can reserve and configure resources for multiple target side (cell) in advance when the source side wireless link is in good condition (such as non cell edge). The terminal UE selects the most appropriate target cell to perform handover according to the local dynamic situation, so as to reduce the probability of handover failure and improve the user's mobile service experience, and the like" (paragraph 0037).
DA SILVA and YANG fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and wherein the maximum number of cell candidates is a local maximum number of cell candidates less than or equal to a global maximum number of cell candidates;”, “and an associated weight for the one or more cell candidates in the list, the associated weight indicating a comparison with one or more prepared cell candidates,”, “wherein the associated weight provides an indication of one or more radio properties for the one or more cell candidates in the list and a priority of the one or more cell candidates in the list,”, “and the associated weight includes RSRP thresholds and associated rankings of the one or more cell candidates;”, “determining, based at least in part on the indication, the one or more of the at least one of the plurality of nodes to which the further request is to be transmitted;”, “and transmitting the indication to a network node to enable a determination of the one or more of the at least one of the plurality of nodes to which the further request is to be transmitted;”, “receiving, from at least one of the plurality of nodes, an indication that at least one additional cell candidate above the requested number of cell candidates has been prepared;”, “transmitting, to one or more of the at least one of the plurality of nodes from which an indication that at least one additional cell candidate has been prepared, a confirmation that one or more of the at least one additional cell candidate should be maintained, wherein the transmitting is prior to expiry of a predetermined timer;”, and “and transmitting a reconfiguration message to a terminal node when an overall maximum number of cell candidates has been prepared, the reconfiguration message comprising a radio resource control (RRC) message,”.
However, in analogous art, XU teaches and wherein the maximum number of cell candidates is a local maximum number of cell candidates less than or equal to a global maximum number of cell candidates;
XU writes, “Further, the number of cells for which conditional handover information is provided may be selected to be less than or equal to the maximum number of conditional handover candidate cells supported by the UE 1602. The network 1604 may additionally or alternatively base whether to provide the conditional handover command to the UE 1602 and/or which information to include in the conditional handover command on any of various other possible types of capability information provided by the UE 1602, among other possible considerations, according to various embodiments” (paragraph 0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of DA SILVA and YANG to include aspects described by XU that "relates to wireless communications, and more particularly to systems, apparatuses, and methods for performing consecutive conditional handovers." XU provides motivation for modification of the invention noting, "Such techniques may help minimize handover signaling and improve handover reliability, particularly in high speed/high mobility/high density scenarios in which in-time signaling may be vulnerable to rapidly changing channel conditions, and may help reduce data losses, gaps, and stalls that could be caused by such less reliable handover operations, at least according to some embodiments" (paragraph 0008).
DA SILVA, YANG, and XU fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and an associated weight for the one or more cell candidates in the list, the associated weight indicating a comparison with one or more prepared cell candidates,”, “wherein the associated weight provides an indication of one or more radio properties for the one or more cell candidates in the list and a priority of the one or more cell candidates in the list,”, “and the associated weight includes RSRP thresholds and associated rankings of the one or more cell candidates;”, “determining, based at least in part on the indication, the one or more of the at least one of the plurality of nodes to which the further request is to be transmitted;”, “and transmitting the indication to a network node to enable a determination of the one or more of the at least one of the plurality of nodes to which the further request is to be transmitted;”, “receiving, from at least one of the plurality of nodes, an indication that at least one additional cell candidate above the requested number of cell candidates has been prepared;”, “transmitting, to one or more of the at least one of the plurality of nodes from which an indication that at least one additional cell candidate has been prepared, a confirmation that one or more of the at least one additional cell candidate should be maintained, wherein the transmitting is prior to expiry of a predetermined timer;”, and “and transmitting a reconfiguration message to a terminal node when an overall maximum number of cell candidates has been prepared, the reconfiguration message comprising a radio resource control (RRC) message,”.
However, in analogous art, FABIEN teaches and an associated weight for the one or more cell candidates in the list, the associated weight indicating a comparison with one or more prepared cell candidates,
FABIEN writes, “The wireless communication device according to claim 1, wherein an order of the list of
the multiple candidate cells in the active set of cells is based further on at least one of a desired order of
the candidate cells, weights assigned to the candidate cells, and an indication of a preference of
the candidate cells” (claim 8).
wherein the associated weight provides an indication of one or more radio properties for the one or more cell candidates in the list and a priority of the one or more cell candidates in the list,
FABIEN writes, “The wireless communication device according to claim 1, wherein an order of
the list of the multiple candidate cells in the active set of cells is based further on at least one of a
desired order of the candidate cells, weights assigned to the candidate cells, and an indication of a
preference of the candidate cells” (claim 8). FABIEN indicates the weights are assigned to the candidate
cell, which may include radio properties or priority.
and the associated weight includes RSRP thresholds and associated rankings of the one or more cell candidates;
FABIEN writes, “The candidate cell map can include a desired order of candidate cells, a weight of candidate cells, an indication of a preference of candidate cells, or other information indicating a preference of candidate cells over other candidate cells for cell switching” (column 5, lines 6-10). DA SILVA also writes, “In another variant, the indication contains more detailed configuration for the reporting of these cells, e.g., different thresholds compared to the CHO thresholds, possibly equivalent to the thresholds of early measurement reports the enabled the network to configure the CHO candidates in the first place” (paragraph 0093). FABIEN indicates the candidate cells may be mapped where the candidate cells may be assigned a weight. DA SILVA indicates the cell may include more detailed configuration for the reporting including thresholds to configure the CHO candidates. DA SILVA earlier indicated quality criteria like RSRP to configure a list of target cell candidates for CHO.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of DA SILVA, YANG, and XU to include aspects described by FABIEN that "report a channel quality indication to non-serving cells. More particularly, the present disclosure is directed to sending a channel quality indicator directly to multiple candidate cells in an active set of cells that can enable fast handover procedure for uplink and downlink High Speed Data Shared transmissions." FABIEN provides motivation for modification of the invention noting, "...the system 100 can allow for fast cell selection because the ranking in the cell map and the CQI field allows for a faster decision, either at the terminal 120 or in the network 110, for a new scheduling/serving cell. The system 100 can also allow for a more efficient handover procedure because the CQI reporting, in addition to context transfer, such as channel transfer information, between Nodes, allows for a make before break procedure and mitigates the need for uplink macro diversity" (column 3, lines 51-59).
DA SILVA, YANG, XU, and FABIEN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “determining, based at least in part on the indication, the one or more of the at least one of the plurality of nodes to which the further request is to be transmitted;”, “and transmitting the indication to a network node to enable a determination of the one or more of the at least one of the plurality of nodes to which the further request is to be transmitted;”, “receiving, from at least one of the plurality of nodes, an indication that at least one additional cell candidate above the requested number of cell candidates has been prepared;”, “transmitting, to one or more of the at least one of the plurality of nodes from which an indication that at least one additional cell candidate has been prepared, a confirmation that one or more of the at least one additional cell candidate should be maintained, wherein the transmitting is prior to expiry of a predetermined timer;”, and “and transmitting a reconfiguration message to a terminal node when an overall maximum number of cell candidates has been prepared, the reconfiguration message comprising a radio resource control (RRC) message,”.
However, in analogous art, WU teaches determining, based at least in part on the indication, the one or more of the at least one of the plurality of nodes to which the further request is to be transmitted;
WU writes, “In the handover preparation, the source base station 104A may send a Handover Request
message to the target base station 106A. In response, the target base station 106A may include an
immediate handover command message in a Handover Request Acknowledge message, and send the
Handover Request Acknowledge message to the source base station 104A” (paragraph 0044). WU
indicates the source base station may send a handover request message to the target base station. The
target base station may send a handover request acknowledge message to the source base station in
response to the handover request message.
and transmitting the indication to a network node to enable a determination of the one or more of the at least one of the plurality of nodes to which the further request is to be transmitted;
WU writes, “In the handover preparation, the source base station 104A may send a Handover Request
message to the target base station 106A. In response, the target base station 106A may include an
immediate handover command message in a Handover Request Acknowledge message, and send the
Handover Request Acknowledge message to the source base station 104A” (paragraph 0044). WU
indicates the source base station may send a handover request message to the target base station. The
target base station may send a handover request acknowledge message to the source base station in
response to the handover request message.
receiving, from at least one of the plurality of nodes, an indication that at least one additional cell candidate above the requested number of cell candidates has been prepared;
WU writes, “In another scenario, the S-BS 104A also performs a second conditional handover
preparation procedure with the C-BS 106A via the interface (e.g., X2 or Xn), to prepare a potential
handover of the UE 102 to the C-BS 106A, in a procedure similar to that described above. In this
scenario, however, the S-BS 104A also transmits to the UE 102 a second conditional handover command
message that the S-BS 104A received from the C-BS 106A, for the potential handover in the second
conditional handover preparation. The C-BS 106A may provide a conditional handover configuration of
an additional candidate target cell (not shown in FIG. 1A) in the second conditional handover command
message” (paragraph 0050). WU specifies that the handover preparation procedure provides a second
conditional handover command message for a configuration of an additional candidate target cell.
transmitting, to one or more of the at least one of the plurality of nodes from which an indication that at least one additional cell candidate has been prepared, a confirmation that one or more of the at least one additional cell candidate should be maintained, wherein the transmitting is prior to expiry of a predetermined timer;
WU writes, “In some implementations, a candidate base station (e.g., C-BS 106A) may start a first timer
in response to the conditional handover preparation for the UE (e.g., UE 102). If the first timer expires,
the C-BS 106A releases a conditional handover configuration for the UE 102. If the C-BS 106A connects
to the UE 102 (e.g., in a random access procedure as described above), the C-BS 106A stops the first
timer for the UE 102. A target base station (e.g., T-BS 104B) may start a second timer in response to the
immediate handover preparation for a second UE (e.g., another UE similar to the UE 102) that has a
shorter value than the first timer. If the second timer expires, the T-BS 104B releases an immediate
handover configuration for the second UE. If the T-BS 106A connects to the second UE in a random
access procedure, the T-BS 104B stops the second timer” (paragraph 0195). WU specifies a first and
second timer, where the first timer is implemented by the candidate base station and the second timer
is implemented by the target base station. If the first timer expires, the conditional handover
configuration for the UE is released. If the second timer expires, the conditional handover configuration
for the second UE is released. Therefore, WU indicates the transmitting must occur prior to the expiry of
the timer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of DA SILVA, YANG, XU, and FABIEN to include aspects described by WU that "relates generally to wireless communications and, more particularly, to conditional handover procedures." WU provides motivation for modification of the invention noting, "Base stations and UEs of this disclosure implement techniques that enable a UE to conditionally handover from a source base station or cell to a candidate base station or cell in a manner that avoids or reduces network inefficiencies" (paragraph 0009). WU continues, "In some implementations and/or scenarios, the source base station and/or the candidate base station can modify or replace one or more conditional handover configurations and/or conditions that the source base station previously sent to the UE" (paragraph 0009).
DA SILVA, YANG, XU, FABIEN, and WU fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and transmitting a reconfiguration message to a terminal node when an overall maximum number of cell candidates has been prepared, the reconfiguration message comprising a radio resource control (RRC) message,”.
However, in analogous art, RUGELAND teaches and transmitting a reconfiguration message to a terminal node when an overall maximum number of cell candidates has been prepared, the reconfiguration message comprising a radio resource control (RRC) message,
RUGELAND writes, “In another alternative, the failure may be declared upon a random access channel
(RACH)/procedure failure (e.g. identified via an indication from lower layers, like the MAC layer), which
may be declared upon reaching a maximum number of preamble transmissions, or upon reaching an
uplink power maximum, upon a number of power ramping procedures. In another alternative,
the failure may be declared upon a lack of compliance of the RRCReconfiguration or RRC
ConnectionReconfiguration message prepared by the target node of candidate target cell-X that has
triggered the CHO condition” (paragraph 0213-0214).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of DA SILVA, YANG, XU, FABIEN, and WU to include aspects described by RUGELAND that "relates generally to a method and a wireless device for handling a handover from a source cell to a target cell." RUGELAND provides motivation for modification of the invention noting, "When using either of the above method and wireless device, it is an advantage that the amount of signaling over the air can be greatly reduced when the device selects a target cell with a handover configuration that has already been obtained and stored by the device, and this handover configuration is thus not necessary to be obtained in an RRC re-establishment procedure after the cell selection. By omitting the time-consuming RRC re-establishment procedure after the cell selection, signaling and delays caused by the handover operation are reduced and the risk for losing the connection before handover completion is thus also reduced" (paragraph 0011). RUGELAND continues, "It is also an advantage that the wireless device is able to easily decide whether to use an already stored handover configuration or initiate an RRC re-establishment procedure, depending on whether the selected target cell is amongst the one(s) for which the wireless device has stored handover configurations or not, thereby saving signaling and reducing delay whenever possible" (paragraph 0011).
Claims 2-25 are cancelled by the applicant, respectively.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 12/3/2025
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475