Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 3-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Solarek (EP0603727A1).
In regards to claim 1, Solarek teaches a method for producing high-purity derivatized starch, in which a raw starch material is subject to purifying and slurrying (Page 5 Lines 42-43, “Waxy corn starch (1000 g) was slurried in 1500 cc water, 150 g of 4% sodium hydroxide added and the slurry heated to 40°C”),
Derivatization (Page 5 Lines 44-46, “The mixture was reacted overnight at 40°C then split into three parts and each part was reacted with a different amount of epichlorohydrin: 0.002, 0.004 and 0.006% at 40°C for 16 hours”), where the epichlorohydrin substitutes hydroxyl groups with ethers,
Gelatinization (Pages 6-7, “Starches were cooked using either a boiling water bath (BWB) to simulate batch cooking or mini-jet cooker (Jet) to simulate commercial jet cooking, and evaluated for alkaline dynamic pigment retention using the procedure of Example I with the results given below in Table 2. The boiling water bath (BWB) cooking method involved slurrying the starch (1% solids) in an agitated or stirred beaker or container which is placed in a water bath tank. Heating was provided to a temperature of about 200-212°F by electric means (electric heating coil) immersed in the water bath with stirring and heating continued for about five minutes until the gel point and heaviest viscosity (peak viscosity) is past. The starch is allowed to remain in the boiling water for another 25 minutes to insure complete dispersion. After this time, it is removed and immediately placed into a cold water bath to simulate quenching. The procedure of jet cooking using the mini-jet cooker was the same as described in Example I”)
and pH adjustment (Page 7 Lines 37-39, “The slurry was heated to 45°C and 4.7% (dry basis of starch) of (3-chloro-2-hydroxy-propyl trimethylammonium chloride (Quab 188, Degussa Corporation, 65% solids) was added while maintaining the slurry pH between 11.0-11.7 using periodic additions of 4% sodium hydroxide”).
Solarek also teaches that a starch after gelatinization and derivatization is mixed with a dilute acid (Page 13 Lines 39-40, "Another amphoteric starch was prepared by reacting CBD-1 (Example IV) with an aminophosphonate reagent, N-(2-chloroethyliminobis(methylene)disphosphonic acid) or CMPA”).
In regards to claim 3, Solarek teaches a method where there is a first alkaline washing step (Page 5 Lines 44-46, “Waxy corn starch (1000 g) was slurried in 1500 cc water, 150 g of 4% sodium hydroxide added and the slurry heated to 40°C. One hundred (100) g of a 50% aqueous solution of diethylaminoethyl chloride hydrochloride (DEC) was added while maintaining the pH at 11.5 with 4% sodium hydroxide. The mixture was reacted overnight at 40°C then split into three parts and each part was reacted with a different amount of epichlorohydrin: 0.002, 0.004 and 0.006% at 40°C for 16 hours”) and a second step for washing and concentrating the slurry (Page 5 Lines 46-47, Samples were neutralized to 6.0 pH, filtered, washed with water (two parts water per part of starch) and dried”).
In regards to claim 4, Solarek teaches the use of an organic acid (diethylaminoethyl chloride hydrochloride) in the production of derivatized starch (Page 5 Lines 44-46, “Waxy corn starch (1000 g) was slurried in 1500 cc water, 150 g of 4% sodium hydroxide added and the slurry heated to 40°C. One hundred (100) g of a 50% aqueous solution of diethylaminoethyl chloride hydrochloride (DEC) was added while maintaining the pH at 11.5 with 4% sodium hydroxide”).
In regards to claim 5, Solarek teaches that the slurry is concentrated to a solid content between 2 to 42 wt % (Page 5 Lines 50-52, “The starch was typically slurried at 4 to 6% solids and was passed through the mini-jet cooker at a flow rate of about 0.034 gal/min (130 ml/min) with a retention time therein of about 2.3 seconds”)
In regards to claim 6, Solarek teaches a two stage acidification after gelatinization (Page 6 Lines 11-15, “The sample was acidified with sulfuric acid to solubilize the calcium carbonate and then filtered onto tared filter paper to recover the fine solids. A standard titration was run by adding Eriochrome Black "T" indicator and titrating with 0.1 N EDTA (ethylene diamine tetra-acetic acid, disodium salt) standard solution to a blue endpoint, using a calibrated burette.”).
In regards to claims 7 and 8, Solarek teaches using a sodium hydroxide solution in the cationization step (Page 5 Lines 44-46, “Waxy corn starch (1000 g) was slurried in 1500 cc water, 150 g of 4% sodium hydroxide added and the slurry heated to 40°C. One hundred (100) g of a 50% aqueous solution of diethylaminoethyl chloride hydrochloride (DEC) was added while maintaining the pH at 11.5 with 4% sodium hydroxide. The mixture was reacted overnight at 40°C then split into three parts and each part was reacted with a different amount of epichlorohydrin: 0.002, 0.004 and 0.006% at 40°C for 16 hours. Samples were neutralized to 6.0 pH, filtered, washed with water (two parts water per part of starch) and dried”).
In regards to claim 10, Solarek teaches that the raw starch material is a waxy maize starch (Page 5 Lines 44-46, “Waxy corn starch (1000 g) was slurried in 1500 cc water, 150 g of 4% sodium hydroxide added and the slurry heated to 40°C”).
In regards to claim 11, Solarek teaches that the starch produced is used in the method of making paper (Page 3 Lines 1-5, “ More particularly, this invention relates to a method of making paper having a pH of about 4.5 or more comprising adding a crosslinked, cationized or amphoteric starch to the wet end of the system wherein the starch has been crosslinked by adding enough crosslinking agent to provide a starch having a percent breakdown viscosity of from about 2 to 85% and wherein the crosslinked, cationized or amphoteric starch has been jet cooked under super atmospheric pressure at a temperature of from about 195 to 325°F”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solarek (EP0603727A1) in view of Frans van Esch (“The Efficiency of Hydrocyclones for the Separation of Different Starches”, Starch, Volume 43, Issue 11, 1991).
In regards to claim 2, Solarek teaches a method involving purification of a slurry obtained by washing and drying at an alkaline pH (Page 6 Lines 49-54, “The starches were prepared using the following general method. Starch was slurried in water (1 part starch/1.5 parts water) and 0.6 - 0.8% sodium hydroxide, based on weight of starch, was added as a 4% solution. The slurry was heated to 40-45°C and 3.1-4.7% (3-chloro-2-hydroxypropyl) trimethyl ammonium chloride was added as a 65% aqueous solution. After 12-16 hours reaction at 40-45°C, the reactions were split into equal parts and reacted further with varying amounts of epichlorohydrin at 40-45°C, 11.3-11.7 pH, 12-16 hours”).
Solarek does not explicitly teach using a decanter, hydrocyclone, or separators during the purification step of the slurry. Frans van Esch teaches using a hydrocyclone to purify a starch slurry (1 Introduction, “In each stage, a starch slurry, containing im-purities, is first mixed with relatively clean water from the next washing stage, then the starch is separated from the liquid, which contains the impurities”; “In many plants, hydrocyclones are used to separate the starch from the impurities in a starch washing system”). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a hydrocyclone for the purification of starch as it is well known to do so due to low costs, no moving parts, and wide usage (1 Introduction, “The advantage of hydrocyclones are the low cost, the absence of moving parts, and the wide operating range”).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solarek (EP0603727A1).
In regards to claim 9, Solarek teaches a degree of cationization between 0.02 to 0.5 (Page 4 Lines 14-15, “The amount of cationic substituent on the starch can be varied and generally a degree of substitution (DS) of from about 0.005 to 0.2 and preferably from about 0.01 to 0.05 will be used”). This presents an overlapping range with the instant claim and overlapping ranges are prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
/JAANZEB C RAJA/ Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736