Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that in regard to claim 1 that the combination of Vervisch and Suzuki prior art prior art, does not teach the limitation of “a layer of a porous material forming a porous region so that an effective thickness perceived by the particle beam when the particle beam passes through the device at the central part by passing through the porous region along an axis normal to the front face is less than the thickness of the central part, the space charge zone being situated outside the porous region.”
In response to this argument, the Examiner directs the applicant’s attention to the combination of Vervisch and Suzuki prior art, which teaches the recited limitation as follows:
Vervisch second embodiment Fig.9, teaches wherein a layer of a porous (7/oxide layer) material forming a porous region (7/oxide layer) so that an effective thickness perceived by the particle beam (FS) when the particle beam (FS) passes through the device at the central part (PC) by passing through the porous region (7/oxide layer) along an axis normal to the front face is less than the thickness of the central part (PC), the space charge zone (ZCE) being situated outside the porous region (7/oxide layer) (note: oxide layer were known as porous material, for support see Suzuki (col.10, lines 55-67, col.11, lines 1-7, col.15, lines 40-55, col.32, lines 45-67, and col.33, lines 1-35), which teaches thermally oxidized porous silicon layer. Hence, the prior art oxide layer 7 is equivalent to the claimed porous material) (see Vervisch, Fig.9 as shown above and ¶ [0093]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of first embodiment Fig.4 and second embodiment Fig.9 of Vervisch to enable a layer of a porous (7/oxide layer) material to covers the side wall PL and the bottom FD of the first orifice of Fig.4 in order to eliminate dangling bonds derived from the manufacture of the orifice.
In addition, during patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000). While the claims of issued patents are interpreted in light of the specification, prosecution history, prior art and other claims, this is not the mode of claim interpretation to be applied during examination. During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, F.3d, 2004 WL 1067528 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004) (The USPTO uses a different standard for construing claims than that used by district courts; during examination the USPTO must give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation.) This means that the words of the claim must be given their plain meaning unless applicant has provided a clear definition in the specification. In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989) >; Chef America, Inc. v. Lamb-Weston, Inc., 358 F.3d 1371, 1372, 69 USPQ2d 1857 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
The Examiner would further point out that “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Therefore, the combination of Vervisch and Suzuki prior art reference does meet all the limitation in claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for the allowance of the claims is the inclusion of the limitation, along with the other claimed features, “wherein the peripheral part includes: a third peripheral part layer of a conductive material;
a fifth peripheral part layer of a semiconductor material doped with a first doping type covering the third peripheral part layer and disposed in continuity with the fifth central part layer of the central part;
a first peripheral part layer of a semiconductor material doped with a first doping type (a) covering the fifth peripheral part layer and (b) disposed in continuity with the first central part layer of the central part, the first central part layer of the central part and the first peripheral part layer of the peripheral part having the same doping level, the doping level of the fifth peripheral part layer being higher than the doping level of the first peripheral part layer;
a sixth peripheral part layer of a dielectric material covering the first central part layer, and
a fourth peripheral part layer of a conductive material covering the sixth peripheral part layer;
the fourth peripheral part layer forming a step between the peripheral part and the central part covering a side surface of the sixth peripheral part layer so as to ensure continuity between the fourth central part layer of the central part and the fourth peripheral part layer of the peripheral part, the third peripheral part layer of a conductive material providing collection of a first type of charge carriers generated in the charge space zone”, as recited in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vervisch et al. (U.S. 2019/0277983 A1, hereinafter refer to Vervisch) in view of Suzuki et al. (US Pat. No. 5,644,156, hereinafter refer to Suzuki).
Regarding Claim 1: Vervisch discloses a device for measuring a particle beam comprising a front face and a rear face (see Vervisch, Figs.1, 3-5, and 9 as shown below and ¶ [0001]) as well as:
a central part (PC), including a space charge zone (ZCE) for a particle beam (FS) to be measured to pass therethrough, charge carriers of a first type and of a second type being generated by said particle beam (FS) when the particle beam passes through the space charge zone (ZCE) (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above);
a peripheral part (PP), including an electric charge collection zone (PP) for collecting at least one type of charge carrier among the first type or the second type of charge carriers generated at the space charge zone (ZCE) (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above);
the central part (PC) having a thickness less than or equal to a thickness of the peripheral part (PP), the peripheral part (PP) surrounding the central part (PC) so that a particle beam (FS) can pass through the central part (PC) without passing through the peripheral part (PP) (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 4 as shown above),
the device further including, in a region of the central part (PC) and opening (O1) onto the rear face (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above).
First embodiment Fig.4 of Vervisch is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a layer of a porous material forming a porous region so that an effective thickness perceived by the particle beam when the particle beam passes through the device at the central part by passing through the porous region along an axis normal to the front face is less than the thickness of the central part, the space charge zone being situated outside the porous region.
However, second embodiment Fig.9 of Vervisch teaches wherein a layer of a porous (7/oxide layer) material forming a porous region (7/oxide layer) so that an effective thickness perceived by the particle beam (FS) when the particle beam (FS) passes through the device at the central part (PC) by passing through the porous region (7/oxide layer) along an axis normal to the front face is less than the thickness of the central part (PC), the space charge zone (ZCE) being situated outside the porous region (7/oxide layer) (note: oxide layer were known as porous material, for support see Suzuki (col.10, lines 55-67, col.11, lines 1-7, col.15, lines 40-55, col.32, lines 45-67, and col.33, lines 1-35), which teaches thermally oxidized porous silicon layer. Hence, the prior art oxide layer 7 is equivalent to the claimed porous material) (see Vervisch, Fig.9 as shown above and ¶ [0093]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of first embodiment Fig.4 and second embodiment Fig.9 of Vervisch to enable a layer of a porous (7/oxide layer) material to covers the side wall PL and the bottom FD of the first orifice of Fig.4 in order to eliminate dangling bonds derived from the manufacture of the orifice.
Regarding Claim 2: Vervisch as modified teaches a device for measuring a particle beam comprising a front face and a rear face as set forth in claim 1 as above. Vervisch further teaches wherein the central part (PC) is made of a wide band gap semiconductor material (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above and ¶ [0013]).
Regarding Claim 3: Vervisch as modified teaches a device for measuring a particle beam comprising a front face and a rear face as set forth in claim 2 as above. Vervisch further teaches wherein the semiconductor is silicon carbide (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above and ¶ [0013]).
Regarding Claim 4: Vervisch as modified teaches a device for measuring a particle beam comprising a front face and a rear face as set forth in claim 1 as above. Vervisch further teaches wherein the space charge zone (ZCE) is formed by a Schottky diode, a PN diode or a PIN diode (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above and ¶ [0014]).
Regarding Claim 5: Vervisch as modified teaches a device for measuring a particle beam comprising a front face and a rear face as set forth in claim 1 as above. Vervisch further teaches wherein the space charge zone (ZCE) of the central part (PC) is only located in a region of the central part facing the porous region (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 6: Vervisch as modified teaches a device for measuring a particle beam comprising a front face and a rear face as set forth in claim 1 as above. Vervisch further teaches wherein the space charge zone (ZCE) of the central part (PC) extends beyond the central part (PC) facing the porous region (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 7: Vervisch as modified teaches a device for measuring a particle beam comprising a front face and a rear face as set forth in claim 1 as above. Vervisch further teaches wherein the central part (PC) comprises:
a first layer (1) of a semiconductor material (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above);
a second layer (2) of a conductive material covering the first layer (1) (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above), and
the space charge zone (ZCE) being formed by the Schottky diode formed by the first layer (1) and the second layer (2), the porous region being formed in the first layer (1) (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 8: Vervisch as modified teaches a device for measuring a particle beam comprising a front face and a rear face as set forth in claim 7 as above. Vervisch further teaches wherein the peripheral part comprises:
a third layer (3) of a conductive material (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above);
a first layer (1) of a semiconductor material covering the third layer (3) and disposed in continuity with the first layer (1) of the central part (PC) (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above); and
a second layer (2) of a conductive material covering the first layer (1) and disposed in continuity with the second layer (2) of the central part (PC) (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above), and
the third layer (3) of a conductive material ensuring collection of a first type of charge carriers generated in the charge space zone (ZCE) (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 9: Vervisch as modified teaches a device for measuring a particle beam comprising a front face and a rear face as set forth in claim 5 as above. Vervisch further teaches wherein the central part comprises: a first central part layer (1) of a semiconductor material doped with a first doping type (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above and ¶ [0078]- ¶ [0080]);
a second central part layer (2) of a semiconductor material doped with a second doping type opposite to the first doping type, said second central part layer (2) covering the first central part layer (1) (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above and ¶ [0078]- ¶ [0080]);
a fourth central part layer (4) of a conductive material, said fourth central part layer (4) covering the second central part layer (2) (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above and ¶ [0078]- ¶ [0080]), and
the space charge zone (ZCE) being formed by the PN diode formed by the first central part layer (1) and the second central part layer (2), the porous region (7) being formed in the first central part layer (1) (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above and ¶ [0078]- ¶ [0080]).
Regarding Claim 10: Vervisch as modified teaches a device for measuring a particle beam comprising a front face and a rear face as set forth in claim 9 as above. Vervisch further teaches wherein the peripheral part (PP) comprises: a third peripheral part layer (3) of a conductive material (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above and ¶ [0078]- ¶ [0080]);
a first peripheral part layer (1) of a semiconductor material doped with a first doping type covering the third peripheral part layer (3) and disposed in continuity with the first central part layer (1) of the central part (PC) (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above and ¶ [0078]- ¶ [0080]);
a second peripheral part layer (2) of a semiconductor material doped with a second doping type opposite to the first doping type and covering the first peripheral part layer (1), said second peripheral part layer (2) being disposed in continuity with the second central part layer (2) of the central part (PC) (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above and ¶ [0078]- ¶ [0080]), and
a fourth peripheral part layer (4) of a conductive material, said fourth layer (4) covering the second peripheral part layer (2), said fourth peripheral part layer (4) being disposed in continuity with the fourth central part layer (4) of the central part (PC) (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above and ¶ [0078]- ¶ [0080]), and
the third peripheral part layer (3) of a conductive material ensuring collection of a first type of charge carriers generated in the charge space zone (ZCE) (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above and ¶ [0078]- ¶ [0080]).
Regarding Claim 11: Vervisch as modified teaches a device for measuring a particle beam comprising a front face and a rear face as set forth in claim 9 as above. Vervisch further teaches wherein the peripheral part (PP) comprises: a third peripheral part layer (3) of a conductive material (see Vervisch, Fig.6 as shown above);
a first peripheral part layer (1) of a semiconductor material doped with a first doping type covering the third peripheral part layer (3) and disposed in continuity with the first central part layer (1) of the central part (PC), the first central part layer (1) of the central part and the first peripheral part layer (1) of the peripheral part having the same doping level (see Vervisch, Fig.6 as shown above and ¶ [0078]- ¶ [0080]);
a sixth peripheral part layer (6) of a dielectric material covering the first central part layer (1) (see Vervisch, Fig.6 as shown above);
a fourth peripheral part layer (4) of a conductive material covering the sixth peripheral part layer (6) (see Vervisch, Fig.6 as shown above), and
the fourth peripheral part layer (4) forming a step between the peripheral part (PP) and the central part (PC) covering a side surface of the sixth peripheral part layer (6) so as to ensure continuity between the fourth central part layer (4) of the central part and the fourth peripheral part layer (4) of the peripheral part, the third peripheral part layer (3) of a conductive material ensuring collection of a first type of charge carriers generated in the charge space zone (ZCE) (see Vervisch, Fig.6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 12: Vervisch as modified teaches a device for measuring a particle beam comprising a front face and a rear face as set forth in claim 5 as above. Vervisch further teaches wherein the central part (PC) comprises: a fifth central part layer (1) of a semiconductor material doped with a first doping type, at least part of the porous region (7) being formed in the fifth central part layer (5) (see Vervisch, Fig.3 as shown below and Fig.9 as shown above and ¶ [0078]- ¶ [0080]);
a first central part layer (ZCE central part) of a semiconductor material doped with a first doping type, said first central part layer covering the fifth central part layer (1), the doping level of the fifth central part layer (1) being higher than the doping level of the first central part layer (ZCE central part) (see Vervisch, Figs.3 as shown above);
a second central part layer (2) of a semiconductor material doped with a second doping type opposite to the first doping type, said second central part layer (2) covering the first central part layer (ZCE central part) (see Vervisch, Figs.3 as shown above);
a fourth central part layer (4) of a conductive material, said fourth central part layer (4) covering the second central part layer (2) (see Vervisch, Figs.3 as shown above), and
the space charge zone (ZCE) being formed by the PIN diode formed by the fifth central part layer (1), the first central part layer (ZCE central part) and the second central part layer (2) (see Vervisch, Figs.3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 13: Vervisch as modified teaches a device for measuring a particle beam comprising a front face and a rear face as set forth in claim 12 as above. Vervisch further teaches wherein the peripheral part (PP) comprises: a third peripheral part layer (3) of a conductive material (see Vervisch, Figs.3 as shown above);
a fifth peripheral part layer (1’) of a semiconductor material doped with a first doping type covering the third peripheral part layer (3) and disposed in continuity with the fifth central part layer (1) of the central part (PC) (see Vervisch, Figs.3 as shown above);
a first peripheral part layer (ZCE peripheral part) of a semiconductor material doped with a first doping type covering the fifth peripheral part layer (1’) and disposed in continuity with the first central part layer (ZCE central part) of the central part, the doping level of the fifth peripheral part layer (1’) being higher than the doping level of the first peripheral part layer (ZCE peripheral part) (see Vervisch, Figs.3 as shown above);
a second peripheral part layer (2’) of a semiconductor material doped with a second doping type opposite to the first doping type (a) covering the first peripheral part layer (ZCE peripheral part), said second layer (2’) and (b) being disposed in continuity with the second central part layer (2) of the central part (see Vervisch, Figs.3 as shown above);
a fourth peripheral part layer (4’) of a conductive material, said fourth layer (c) covering the second peripheral part layer (2’), said fourth layer (4’) and (d) being disposed in continuity with the fourth central part layer (4) of the central part (see Vervisch, Figs.3 as shown above), and
the third peripheral part layer (3) of a conductive material ensuring collection of a first type of charge carriers generated in the charge space zone (ZCE) (see Vervisch, Figs.3 as shown above).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vervisch et al. (U.S. 2019/0277983 A1, hereinafter refer to Vervisch) and Suzuki et al. (US Pat. No. 5,644,156, hereinafter refer to Suzuki) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guenard (U.S. 2017/0040518 A1, hereinafter refer to Guenard).
Regarding Claim 15: Vervisch as modified teaches a device for measuring a particle beam comprising a front face and a rear face as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Vervisch and Suzuki further teaches a method for manufacturing a detector according to claim 1, from a semiconductor substrate (5) doped with a first doping type comprising a front face and a rear face (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above and ¶ [0086]), the manufacturing method comprising:
a first layer (1) of an intrinsic semiconductor material (note: doping level of 5 x 1015 is known as intrinsic concentration level) (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above and ¶ [0086]);
a second layer (2) of a semiconductor material doped with a second doping type opposite to the first doping type (see Vervisch, Figs.1 and 3-4 as shown above and ¶ [0086]);
depositing, onto the rear face of the substrate (5), a third layer (3) of a conductive material (see Vervisch, Figs.3-4 as shown above);
performing photolithography on the third layer (3) of a conductive material so as to provide at least one first opening within said third layer (3) (see Vervisch, Figs.3-4 as shown above); and
etching, at the rear face of the part of the substrate (5) not covered in the third conductive layer (3) so as to form a porous region in the substrate (5) facing the first opening (see Vervisch, Figs.3-4 as shown above), and
depositing, onto the front face of the substrate (5), a fourth layer of a conductive material (4) (see Vervisch, Figs.3-4 as shown above).
Vervisch is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein epitaxially growing, on the front face of the substrate,
epitaxially growing, on the front face of the substrate.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed processing conditions were known for forming a diode layers.
For support see Guenard, which teaches wherein epitaxially growing, on the front face of the substrate (12) (see Guenard, Fig.2A and ¶ [0047]),
epitaxially growing, on the front face of the substrate (10) (see Guenard, Fig.2A and ¶ [0047]).
Thus, it would have been within the scope of one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Vervisch, Suzuki, and Guenard to enable the known epitaxial growing process for forming the Vervisch diode layers according to the teachings of Guenard because one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to look to alternative suitable methods of performing the disclosed diode layers of Vervisch and art recognized suitability for an intended purpose has been recognized to be motivation to combine. MPEP § 2144.07.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812