Drawings
Figures 5-8 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 11, 17, 20, 29-30, 36, 40 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin US 5144630, herein referred to as Lin ‘630, in view of Zhou CN 210465939 herein after referred to as Zhou ‘939.
Regarding claim 1, Lin ‘630 discloses a deep ultraviolet (DUV) laser system (Column 4, lines 21-36, Figure 1) comprising: a laser source configured to emit a laser beam at a fundamental wavelength in the near-Infrared (Column 4, lines 21-36, Figure 1), the fundamental laser beam configured as a plurality of pulses having a pulse duration of less than 400 femtoseconds (fs) (Claim 3);
a nonlinear crystal assembly comprising first, second, and third nonlinear crystals and
configured to convert the fundamental laser beam to produce a fifth harmonic laser beam having
a wavelength in a range from 200 nanometers (nm) to 230 nm (Column 4, lines 21-36, Figure 1).
Lin ‘630 does not disclose at least one compensation plate disposed in at least one position preceding at least one of the first, second, and third nonlinear crystals and configured such that a pair of pulsed laser beams transmitted through the at least one compensation plate are spatially and temporally overlapped within the at least one of the first, second, and third nonlinear crystals.
In the same field of endeavor of laser systems, Zhou ‘939 teaches at least one compensation plate (40, Paragraphs 48 and 95, Figures 2-4) disposed in at least one position preceding at least one of the first, second, and third nonlinear crystals and configured such that a pair of pulsed laser beams transmitted through the at least one compensation plate are spatially and temporally overlapped within the at least one of the first, second, and third nonlinear crystals (Figure 2, Paragraph 95).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a compensation plate of Zhou ‘939 with the system of Lin ‘630 for the purpose of reduced cost, improved beam quality and high stability (Paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou ‘939 further discloses at least one oven, each oven configured to adjust a temperature of the at least one compensation plate to compensate a temporal delay between the pair of pulsed laser beams (Figure 2, Paragraphs 89 and 95); and Lin ‘630 further discloses at least one oven and a controller configured to control the temperature based on an intensity value of the laser beam emitted from the laser source (Column 4, lines 49-65 and Column 6, lines 62-68).
Regarding claim 5, Lin ‘630 further discloses wherein the first nonlinear crystal receives the fundamental laser beam and is configured to convert the fundamental laser beam to emit a second harmonic laser beam and the fundamental laser beam, the second nonlinear crystal receives the fundamental laser beam and the second harmonic laser beam and is configured to perform sum-frequency mixing of the fundamental laser beam and the second harmonic laser beam to produce a third harmonic laser beam and the second harmonic laser beam, and the third nonlinear crystal receives the second harmonic laser beam and the third harmonic laser beam and is configured to perform sum-frequency mixing of the second and third harmonic beams to produce the fifth harmonic laser beam (Column 5, lines 20-39).
Regarding claim 11, Lin ‘630 further discloses wherein the first, second, and third nonlinear crystals comprise LBO, LBO, and BBO respectively (Column 5, lines 8-39).
Regarding claim 17, Lin ‘630 further discloses wherein the first nonlinear crystal is configured to receive the fundamental laser beam and convert the fundamental laser beam to emit a second harmonic laser beam and the fundamental laser beam, the second nonlinear crystal is configured to convert the second harmonic laser beam to produce a fourth harmonic laser beam, and the third nonlinear crystal is configured to receive the fundamental laser beam and the fourth harmonic laser beam and perform sum-frequency mixing of the fundamental laser beam and the fourth harmonic laser beam to produce the fifth harmonic laser beam (Column 5, lines 20-39).
Regarding claim 20, Lin ‘630 further discloses at least one oven for adjusting a temperature of a nonlinear crystal of the nonlinear crystal assembly such that the nonlinear crystal is at an optimum temperature where nonlinear multi-photon absorption by a crystal material of the at least one nonlinear crystal is minimized (Column 4, lines 49-65).
Regarding claim 29, Lin ‘630 discloses a method for generating deep ultraviolet (DUV) laser light, comprising (Column 4, lines 21-36, Figure 1): generating in a laser source a laser beam at a fundamental wavelength in the near-infrared (Column 4, lines 21-36, Figure 1) and having a pulse duration of less than 400 femtoseconds (fs) (Claim 3); directing the fundamental laser beam through a nonlinear crystal assembly comprising first, second, and third nonlinear crystals and configured to convert the fundamental laser beam into a fifth harmonic laser beam having a wavelength in a range from 200 nanometers (nm) to 230 nm (Column 4, lines 21-36, Figure 1).
Lin ‘630 does not disclose disposing at least one compensation plate in at least one position preceding at least one of the first, second, and third nonlinear crystals, the at least one compensation plate configured such that a pair of pulsed laser beams transmitted through the at least one compensation plate are spatially and temporally overlapped within the at least one of the first, second, and third nonlinear crystals.
In the same field of endeavor of laser systems, Zhou ‘939 teaches disposing least one compensation plate (40, Paragraphs 48 and 95, Figures 2-4) in at least one position preceding at least one of the first, second, and third nonlinear crystals and configured such that a pair of pulsed laser beams transmitted through the at least one compensation plate are spatially and temporally overlapped within the at least one of the first, second, and third nonlinear crystals (Figure 2, Paragraph 95).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a compensation plate of Zhou ‘939 with the method of Lin ‘630 for the purpose of reduced cost, improved beam quality and high stability (Paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 30, Lin ‘630 further discloses an oven (see Column 4, lines 49-65) and Zhou ‘939 further teaches positioning the at least one compensation plate in an oven, the oven configured to adjust a temperature of the at least one compensation plate; and controlling the oven such that the temperature of the at least one compensation plate compensates for a temporal delay between the pair of pulsed laser beams (Figure 2, Paragraphs 89 and 95).
Regarding claim 36, Zhou ‘939 further discloses providing the at least one compensation plate (40), the at least one compensation plate made from LBO (Paragraphs 89 and 95, Figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 40, Lin ‘630 further discloses positioning at least one of the first, second, and third nonlinear crystals in an oven configured to adjust a temperature of the at least one nonlinear crystal, and controlling the oven such that the temperature of the at least one nonlinear crystal is at an
optimum temperature where nonlinear multi-photon absorption by a crystal material of the at
least one nonlinear crystal is minimized (Column 4, lines 49-65).
Regarding claim 42, Lin ‘630 further discloses controlling the oven to heat to a temperature in a range from 10 °C to 500 °C (Column 4, lines 49-65 and Column 6, lines 62-68).
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin ‘630, in view of Zhou ‘939, and further in view of Horain US 201102225656, herein referred to as Horain ‘565.
Regarding claim 6, Zhou ‘939 further teaches where the at least one compensation plate is made of LBO (Paragraphs 89 and 95, Figures 2-4), but Lin ‘630 and Zhou ‘939 do not disclose that the at least one compensation plate comprises a first compensation plate disposed upstream from the first nonlinear crystal or between the first and second nonlinear crystals, and a second compensation plate disposed between the second and third nonlinear crystals.
In the same field of endeavor, Horain ‘565 teaches of a first compensation plate (2) disposed upstream from a first nonlinear crystal (1-Figure 4) or between the first and second nonlinear crystals (Figure 8), and a second compensation plate (3) disposed between the second (1) and third nonlinear crystals (Paragraphs 12, 23-24, 57, 72 Figures 4 and 8, Figure 4 shows a first plate upstream from a first crystal and Figure 8 shows 2 plates between crystals). ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of multiple compensation plates as taught by Horain ‘565 with the system of Lin ‘360 as modified for the purpose of extending the lifetime of the system (Abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Lin ‘630 further discloses wherein the second nonlinear crystal is a type I crystal of LBO or a type II crystal of LBO (Column 5, lines 8-39).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin ‘630, in view of Zhou ‘939, and Horain ‘565 in view of Avdokhin et al US 20190329357, herein referred to as Avdokhin ‘357.
Regarding claim 10, Lin ‘630 as modified does not specifically disclose a half-wave
plate positioned upstream from the first compensation plate, or between the first compensation plate and the second nonlinear crystal, or between the second compensation plate and the third nonlinear crystal.
In the same field of endeavor, Avdokhin ‘357 teaches of a half-wave plate (Figure 10, paragraph 51) positioned upstream from crystals (Figure 10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a half wave plate of Avdokhin ‘357 with the system of Lin ‘360 for the purpose of providing a cost-efficient laser system with beams at fundamental and harmonic wavelengths propagating coaxially through a lens system (Paragraph 51).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin ‘630, in view of Zhou ‘939, and further in view of Moulton JP 2007298934 US herein referred to as Moulton ‘934.
Regarding claim 15, Lin ‘630 as modified does not specifically teach at least one telescopic
lens positioned upstream from the first nonlinear crystal, wherein the at least one telescopic lens
is configured such that a light beam incident on the at least one telescopic lens enters the at least
one telescopic lens as a light beam of a first diameter and exits the at least one telescopic lens as
a light beam of a second diameter.
In the same field of endeavor, Moulton ‘934 teaches of at least one telescopic lens (8) positioned upstream from the first nonlinear crystal (2), wherein the at least one telescopic lens
is configured such that a light beam incident on the at least one telescopic lens enters the at least
one telescopic lens as a light beam of a first diameter and exits the at least one telescopic lens as
a light beam of a second diameter (Paragraphs 1, 10, 18-20, Figure 1A)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a half wave plate of Moulton ‘934 with the system of Lin ‘360 as modified for the purpose of providing efficient wavelength conversion in a UV laser (Paragraphs 1, 10, 18-20, Figure 1A).
Claims 23, 27, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin ‘630, in view of Zhou ‘939, and further in view of Mead US 5742626, herein referred to as Mead ‘626.
Regarding claim 23, 27, and 35, Lin ‘630 further teaches wherein the fifth harmonic laser beam has a wavelength close to 206 nm (Column 4, lines 21-36). However, Lin ‘630 and Zhou ‘939, do not specifically disclose a wherein the fifth harmonic laser beam has a wavelength is about 206 nm and has an output power of at least 1 watt (W).
In the same field of endeavor, Mead ‘626 teaches of using a fifth harmonic laser beam has a wavelength is about 206 nm (Column 2, line 66-Column 3, line 11, wherein the range of 180nm-213nm is cited, 206nm falls within that range) and has an output power of at least 1 watt (W) (Column 3, lines 25-32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Mead ‘626 with Lin ‘630 as modified for the purpose of providing efficient highly coherent dep UV beams for improved system reliability (Column 3, lines 25-32).
Claims 28 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin ‘630, in view of Zhou ‘939, and further in view of Munroe US 20090107962, herein referred to as Munroe ‘962.
Regarding claim 28 and 39, Lin ‘630 and Zhou ‘939 do not specifically disclose that the laser source comprises a mode-locked fiber laser and a chirped pulse amplifier comprising a pulse stretcher and a pulse compressor configured for chirped pulse amplification.
In the same field of endeavor, Munroe ‘962 teaches of using a mode-locked fiber laser and a chirped pulse amplifier comprising a pulse stretcher and a pulse compressor configured for chirped pulse amplification (Paragraphs 9, 41-42, 52, 54, Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Munroe ‘962 with Lin ‘630 as modified for the purpose of providing peak power for various applications as desired (Paragraph 9).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin ‘630, in view of Zhou ‘939, and Moulton ‘934 and further in view of Avdokhin ‘357.
Regarding claim 33, Lin ‘630 as modified does not specifically disclose disposing a half-wave plate in a position preceding at least one of the first, second, and third crystals of the nonlinear crystal assembly and pair of telescopic lens in a position preceding the first nonlinear crystal.
Moulton ‘934 teaches of a pair of telescopic lens (8) in a position preceding the first nonlinear crystal (2) (Paragraphs 1, 10, 18-20, Figure 1A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a half wave plate of Moulton ‘934 with the system of Lin ‘360 as modified for the purpose of providing efficient wavelength conversion in a UV laser (Paragraphs 1, 10, 18-20, Figure 1A).
In the same field of endeavor, Avdokhin ‘357 teaches of a half-wave plate (Figure 10, paragraph 51) positioned upstream from crystals (Figure 10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a half wave plate of Avdokhin ‘357 with the system of Lin ‘360 for the purpose of providing a cost-efficient laser system with beams at fundamental and harmonic wavelengths propagating coaxially through a lens system (Paragraph 51).
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin ‘630, in view of Zhou ‘939, and further in view of Tribelski US 6468433, herein referred to as Tribelski ‘433.
Regarding claim 43, Lin ‘630 as modified does not specifically teach of the step of irradiating at least one of a microbial or viral pathogen with the fifth harmonic laser beam.
Tribelski ‘433 teach of irradiating at least one of a microbial or viral pathogen with a fifth harmonic laser beam (Column 8, lines 16-28, Column 9, lines 51-54 and Column 11, lines 1-19 and 53-63). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tribelski ‘433 with the system of Lin ‘360 as modified for the purpose of remote disinfecting in filtration units (Column 8, lines 16-28).
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin US 5144630, herein referred to as Lin ‘630, in view of Avdokhin ‘357.
Regarding claim 44, Lin ‘630 discloses a deep ultraviolet (DUV) laser system, comprising(Column 4, lines 21-36, Figure 1: a laser source configured to emit a laser beam at a fundamental wavelength in the near-infrared (Column 4, lines 21-36, Figure 1), wherein the fundamental laser beam is a broadband laser beam and is configured as a plurality of pulses having a pulse duration of less than 400 femtoseconds (fs) (claim 3): and a nonlinear crystal assembly comprising first, second, and third nonlinear crystals and configured to convert the fundamental laser beam to produce a fifth harmonic laser beam having a wavelength in a range from 200 nanometers (nm) to 230 nm (Column 4, lines 21-36, Figure 1).
Lin ‘630 does not specifically disclose that the laser source is a fiber laser source.
In the same field of endeavor, Avdokhin ‘357 teaches of the use of fiber lasers (Paragraph 1, 11, 17). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a fiber laser of Avdokhin ‘357 with the system of Lin ‘360 for the purpose of providing a cost-efficient laser system with beams at fundamental and harmonic wavelengths propagating coaxially through a lens system.
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin ‘630, in view of Avdokhin ‘357, and further in view of Mead US 5742626, herein referred to as Mead ‘626.
Regarding claim 45, Lin ‘630 further teaches wherein the fifth harmonic laser beam has a wavelength close to 206 nm (Column 4, lines 21-36) and Avdokhin ‘357 further teaches wherein the fundamental laser beam has a bandwidth of at least 2.8 nm (Paragraphs 1 and 11), and of a laser beam in the deep UV range (Paragraph 19), wherein the beam has an average output power of at least 1 watt (W) (Paragraph 17). However, Lin ‘630 and Avdokhin ‘357, do not specifically disclose a wherein the fifth harmonic laser beam has a wavelength is about 206 nm.
Mead ‘626 teaches of using a fifth harmonic laser beam has a wavelength is about 206 nm (Column 2, line 66-Column 3, line 11, wherein the range of 180nm-213nm is cited, 206nm falls within that range) and has an output power of at least 1 watt (W) (Column 3, lines 25-32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Mead ‘626 with Lin ‘630 as modified for the purpose of providing efficient highly coherent dep UV beams for improved system reliability (Column 3, lines 25-32).
Conclusion
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898