Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-15, 17, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, lines 3-4, recites “an acid-functional acrylic polymer prepared from a reaction mixture comprising isobornyl acrylate”. While there is support in original Claim 6 for an acid-functional acrylic polymer, and there is support in the present Specification for Polymers B-F, which are specific polymers prepared from a reaction mixture comprising isobornyl acrylate, there is not support in the present disclosure to recite any acid-functional acrylic polymer prepared from a reaction mixture comprising isobornyl acrylate.
Claims 3-5, 7-15, 17, and 19-22 are rejected as dependent on rejected Claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 12-15, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oscar et al. (US 2014/0127499) in view of Gielens et al. (US 2005/0182186 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 3-4, 15, Oscar discloses two part composition where part A includes acrylic tackifying resin and water (para 0022) and part B includes epoxy curing agent which includes an epoxy-functional component (para 0026). Oscar further discloses solvent is not required (para 0022) so the VOC, measured excluding water, may be 0 (i.e. below 420 g/L and below 400 g/L).
Oscar does not disclose the acid-functional acrylic polymer as claimed, but the acrylic tackifying resin is not limited. Oscar discloses the composition may be used as an adhesive (para 0013).
Gielens discloses tackifier resin made from acrylate such as isobornyl acrylate (paras 0008, 0016, and 0018) and having acid number of 0-300 mg KOH/g (para 0061) and weight average molecular weight of 2,000 to 25,000 daltons (para 0062). This resin has low residual monomer concentration, so it produces a clear product with low fogging (para 0030). The resin is used to modify acrylic polymers to produce adhesive compositions in various applications (para 0002-0005).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Oscar to incorporate the teachings of Gielens and produce the two part composition of Oscar using the tackifier resin of Gielens as the acrylic tackifying resin. Doing so would produce a clear product with low fogging.
Regarding Claim 12, Oscar in view of Gielens discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Oscar does not disclose or require use of pigment. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to produce the composition which is free of pigment.
Regarding Claim 13, Oscar in view of Gielens discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Oscar does not disclose or require use of isocyanate. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to produce the composition which is free of isocyanate.
Regarding Claim 14, Oscar in view of Gielens discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Oscar further discloses part B is 100% epoxy and therefore does not comprise water (para 0026).
Regarding Claim 19-20, Oscar in view of Gielens discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Oscar further discloses the epoxy component may comprise a combination of epoxy-functional compounds, including epoxidized polybutadiene acrylonitrile (i.e. epoxy-functional acrylic) (para 0026).
Regarding Claim 21, Oscar in view of Gielens discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Oscar further discloses the two component coating is used on a substrate (para 0013).
Response to Arguments
In light of applicant’s amendment filed 02/27/2026, the 35 USC 103 rejections of record are withdrawn. New grounds of rejection are set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY M MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787