DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed, filed 7/21/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kudo’s disclosure does not teach “to compute a plan value of an amount of control for the plurality of storage batteries by using … a variation of a remaining power of at least a part of the plurality of storage batteries generated by controlling charge/discharge of at least a part of the plurality of storage batteries for securing the quality of the power grid”
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The claim only recites computing a plan using a variation of the remaining power, which is taught by Kudo in ¶[155] (“the power conditioning system 33 discharges the planned power with the storage battery 34 in a time zone from 10 o'clock to 17 o'clock. Moreover, the power conditioning system 33 discharges deficient power, which cannot be discharged in previous time zones, with the storage battery 34 in a time zone from 17 o'clock to 23 o'clock up to the lower-limit setting value of SOC (e.g. 5%).”). This anticipates the claim because the system is Kudo is creating a charge/discharge plan using the variation of remaining power (in this case, excess charge).
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/21/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C 112 have been fully considered. The rejection has been withdrawn due to amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed, filed 7/21/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The limitation added to Claim 1, “wherein the charge/discharge plan creation device is configured to transmit the plan value to a command device configured to generate a control command using the plan value and to transmit the control command to a charge/discharge device configured to charge and discharge the storage batteries based on the control command” does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Only transmitting the plan commands is not a practical application, therefore it does not overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 10-15, 17-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kudo (US 20200274363 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kudo teaches a charge/discharge plan creation device (Fig. 1) comprising:
constraint condition determination circuitry (S111) to determine a constraint condition related to an amount of control of charge/discharge of a plurality of storage batteries (34) (¶[40] “the supervisory control server device 22 is configured to set an upper-limit value of charging and discharging power for each of consumer-installed systems”) connected to a power grid (11) for securing quality of the power grid by using a prediction value of an amount of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[150] “For example, the terminal device 23 serving as an EMS terminal is configured to predict electricity demands … the terminal device 23 may predict dischargeable energy to be discharged in a time zone from 10 o'clock to 17 o'clock”) computed based on one or more actual values of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[82] “In this connection, the status information of the power storage system 32 may include a charging rate (SOC) of the storage battery 34, a chargeable/dischargeable power value”); and
plan value computation circuitry (23) to compute a plan value of an amount of control for the plurality of storage batteries by using the constraint condition (¶[150] “the terminal device 23 serving as an EMS terminal is configured to predict electricity demands … and to thereby make a discharge plan to discharge the charged power as much as possible within the upper-limit output Pe [W] secured for consumer-oriented services”) and a variation of a remaining power of at least a part of the plurality of storage batteries generated by controlling charge/discharge of at least a part of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[155] “According to the discharge plan, for example … the power conditioning system 33 discharges deficient power, which cannot be discharged in previous time zones, with the storage battery 34 (without causing a reverse power flow) in a time zone from 17 o'clock to 23 o'clock up to the lower-limit setting value of SOC (e.g. 5%)”) for securing the quality of the power grid (providing electricity during periods of high demand),
wherein the charge/discharge plan creation device is configured to transmit the plan value to a command device configured to generate a control command using the plan value (¶[180] “the power conditioning system 33 uses the received value of charge/discharge power as its calculated value of charge/discharge power”) and to transmit the control command to a charge/discharge device configured to charge and discharge the storage batteries based on the control command. (¶[192] “In step S212, a storage battery is controlled to charge or discharge power according to the summation of charge/discharge power produced in step S211”).
Regarding Claim 5, Kudo teaches the charge/discharge plan creation device according to claim 1,
Kudo further teaches wherein the plurality of storage batteries (32, 34) include a storage battery in a stationary power storage system installed in a consumer (¶[33-34] “The power storage system 32 further includes a power conditioning system (PCS) 33 and a storage battery 34. A combination of the terminal device 23 and the power storage system 32 will be referred to as a consumer-installed system 31”).
Regarding Claim 10, Kudo teaches a power grid management system (Fig. 1) comprising:
the charge/discharge plan creation device (23) according to claim 1 (as taught by Kudo); and
a command device (194) to use a plan value of an amount of control of charge/discharge of a storage battery (34) (¶[90] “The charge/discharge controller 194 controls the storage battery 34 to charge or discharge its power based on the summation produced by the summation calculation part 193”) computed by the charge/discharge plan creation device (23) (¶[154] “the power conditioning system 33 calculates an amount of charge/discharge power for consumer-oriented services (e.g. peak shifting) according to the discharge plan and the charge plan made by the terminal device 23”, ¶[160] “The power conditioning system 33 calculates total charge/discharge power totaling charge/discharge power for each service”) to perform transmission to a charge/discharge device (33, see ¶[154] quoted above) that charges and discharges the storage battery based on a control command for charge/discharge of the storage battery (¶[192] “In step S212, a storage battery is controlled to charge or discharge power according to the summation of charge/discharge power produced in step S211”).
Regarding Claim 11, Kudo teaches a power grid management system (Fig. 1) comprising:
a data collection device (¶[199] “the term “computer-readable storage media” may include flexible disks, magneto-optical disks, ROM (Read-Only Memory), portable media such as CD-ROM, storage devices such as hard disks embedded in computer systems, and the like. The foregoing programs may achieve part of the foregoing functions, or the foregoing programs may be combined with preinstalled programs of computer systems to achieve the foregoing functions”) to collect an actual value of charge/discharge of a plurality of storage batteries (¶[82] “In this connection, the status information of the power storage system 32 may include a charging rate (SOC) of the storage battery 34, a chargeable/dischargeable power value”) connected to a power grid (11) and
a charge/discharge plan creation device (23) to compute a plan value of an amount of control of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries using the actual value,
wherein the charge/discharge plan creation device includes:
constraint condition determination circuitry to determine a constraint condition related to the amount of control of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries (34) (¶[40] “the supervisory control server device 22 is configured to set an upper-limit value of charging and discharging power for each of consumer-installed systems”) for securing quality of the power grid by using a prediction value of an amount of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[150] “For example, the terminal device 23 serving as an EMS terminal is configured to predict electricity demands … the terminal device 23 may predict dischargeable energy to be discharged in a time zone from 10 o'clock to 17 o'clock”) computed based on the actual value (¶[82] “In this connection, the status information of the power storage system 32 may include a charging rate (SOC) of the storage battery 34, a chargeable/dischargeable power value”); and
plan value computation circuitry to compute the plan value by using the constraint condition (¶[150] “the terminal device 23 serving as an EMS terminal is configured to predict electricity demands … and to thereby make a discharge plan to discharge the charged power as much as possible within the upper-limit output Pe [W] secured for consumer-oriented services”) and a variation of a remaining power of at least a part of the plurality of storage batteries generated by controlling charge/discharge of at least a part of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[155] “According to the discharge plan, for example … the power conditioning system 33 discharges deficient power, which cannot be discharged in previous time zones, with the storage battery 34 (without causing a reverse power flow) in a time zone from 17 o'clock to 23 o'clock up to the lower-limit setting value of SOC (e.g. 5%)”) for securing the quality of the power grid (providing electricity during periods of high demand),
a command device configured to receive the plan value from the charge/discharge plan creation device and to generate a control command using the plan value (¶[151] The terminal device calculates necessary charged power needed in a time zone from 23 o'clock to 7 o'clock according to the discharge plan (S114)); and
a charge/discharge device configured to receive the control command and to charge and discharge the storage batteries based on the received control command (¶[192] “In step S212, a storage battery is controlled to charge or discharge power according to the summation of charge/discharge power produced in step S211”).
Regarding Claim 12, Kudo teaches a terminal device (23) to transmit, to a power grid management system (21), an actual value of charge/discharge of at least one of a plurality of storage batteries (¶[82] “In this connection, the status information of the power storage system 32 may include a charging rate (SOC) of the storage battery 34, a chargeable/dischargeable power value”) connected to a power grid (11, see Fig. 1), the power grid management system being configured to:
determine a constraint condition related to an amount of control of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries (34) (¶[40] “the supervisory control server device 22 is configured to set an upper-limit value of charging and discharging power for each of consumer-installed systems”) for securing quality of the power grid by using a prediction value of an amount of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[150] “For example, the terminal device 23 serving as an EMS terminal is configured to predict electricity demands … the terminal device 23 may predict dischargeable energy to be discharged in a time zone from 10 o'clock to 17 o'clock”) computed based on the actual value of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[82] “In this connection, the status information of the power storage system 32 may include a charging rate (SOC) of the storage battery 34, a chargeable/dischargeable power value”); and
compute a plan value of an amount of control for the plurality of storage batteries by using the constraint condition (¶[150] “the terminal device 23 serving as an EMS terminal is configured to predict electricity demands … and to thereby make a discharge plan to discharge the charged power as much as possible within the upper-limit output Pe [W] secured for consumer-oriented services”) and a variation of a remaining power of at least a part of the plurality of storage batteries generated by controlling charge/discharge of at least a part of the plurality of storage batteries ¶[155] “According to the discharge plan, for example … the power conditioning system 33 discharges deficient power, which cannot be discharged in previous time zones, with the storage battery 34 (without causing a reverse power flow) in a time zone from 17 o'clock to 23 o'clock up to the lower-limit setting value of SOC (e.g. 5%)”) for securing the quality of the power grid (providing electricity during periods of high demand),
generate a control command using the plan value (¶[151] The terminal device calculates necessary charged power needed in a time zone from 23 o'clock to 7 o'clock according to the discharge plan (S114)); and
charge and discharge the storage batteries based on the control command (¶[192] “In step S212, a storage battery is controlled to charge or discharge power according to the summation of charge/discharge power produced in step S211”).
Regarding Claim 13, Kudo teaches a power storage system comprising one of a plurality of storage batteries connected to a power grid, the power storage system being configured to:
receive, from a power grid management system (21), a control command for charge/discharge of the storage batteries (¶[180] “the power conditioning system 33 uses the received value of charge/discharge power as its calculated value of charge/discharge power”), the control command corresponding to the power storage system (32); and
charge and discharge the storage batteries based on the control command received (¶[192] “In step S212, a storage battery is controlled to charge or discharge power according to the summation of charge/discharge power produced in step S211”), the power grid management system being configured to:
determine a constraint condition related to an amount of control of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries (34) (¶[40] “the supervisory control server device 22 is configured to set an upper-limit value of charging and discharging power for each of consumer-installed systems”) for securing quality of the power grid by using a prediction value of an amount of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[150] “For example, the terminal device 23 serving as an EMS terminal is configured to predict electricity demands … the terminal device 23 may predict dischargeable energy to be discharged in a time zone from 10 o'clock to 17 o'clock”) computed based on an actual value of charge/discharge (¶[82] “In this connection, the status information of the power storage system 32 may include a charging rate (SOC) of the storage battery 34, a chargeable/dischargeable power value”);
compute a plan value of an amount of control for the plurality of storage batteries by using the constraint condition (¶[150] “the terminal device 23 serving as an EMS terminal is configured to predict electricity demands … and to thereby make a discharge plan to discharge the charged power as much as possible within the upper-limit output Pe [W] secured for consumer-oriented services”) and a variation of a remaining power of at least a part of the plurality of storage batteries generated by controlling charge/discharge of at least a part of the plurality of storage batteries ¶[155] “According to the discharge plan, for example … the power conditioning system 33 discharges deficient power, which cannot be discharged in previous time zones, with the storage battery 34 (without causing a reverse power flow) in a time zone from 17 o'clock to 23 o'clock up to the lower-limit setting value of SOC (e.g. 5%)”) for securing the quality of the power grid(providing electricity during periods of high demand); and
transmit the control command for charge/discharge of the storage batteries using the plan value (¶[180] “the power conditioning system 33 uses the received value of charge/discharge power as its calculated value of charge/discharge power”).
Regarding Claim 14, Kudo teaches a charge/discharge system comprising:
a plurality of storage batteries (34) connected to a power grid (11); and
a charge/discharge plan creation device (23) to:
determine a constraint condition related to an amount of control of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries (34) (¶[40] “the supervisory control server device 22 is configured to set an upper-limit value of charging and discharging power for each of consumer-installed systems”) for securing quality of the power grid by using a prediction value of an amount of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[150] “For example, the terminal device 23 serving as an EMS terminal is configured to predict electricity demands … the terminal device 23 may predict dischargeable energy to be discharged in a time zone from 10 o'clock to 17 o'clock”) computed based on an actual value of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[82] “In this connection, the status information of the power storage system 32 may include a charging rate (SOC) of the storage battery 34, a chargeable/dischargeable power value”); and
compute a plan value of an amount of control for the plurality of storage batteries by using the constraint condition (¶[150] “the terminal device 23 serving as an EMS terminal is configured to predict electricity demands … and to thereby make a discharge plan to discharge the charged power as much as possible within the upper-limit output Pe [W] secured for consumer-oriented services”) and a variation of a remaining power of at least a part of the plurality of storage batteries generated by controlling charge/discharge of at least a part of the plurality of storage batteries ¶[155] “According to the discharge plan, for example … the power conditioning system 33 discharges deficient power, which cannot be discharged in previous time zones, with the storage battery 34 (without causing a reverse power flow) in a time zone from 17 o'clock to 23 o'clock up to the lower-limit setting value of SOC (e.g. 5%)”) for securing the quality of the power grid (providing electricity during periods of high demand),
a command device configured to generate a control command using the plan value (¶[151] The terminal device calculates necessary charged power needed in a time zone from 23 o'clock to 7 o'clock according to the discharge plan (S114)); and
a charge/discharge device configured to charge and discharge the storage batteries based on the control command (¶[192] “In step S212, a storage battery is controlled to charge or discharge power according to the summation of charge/discharge power produced in step S211”).
Regarding Claim 15, Kudo teaches a storage battery (34) that is one of a plurality of storage batteries (see Fig. 1) connected to a power grid (11),
wherein the storage battery is charged and discharged based on a control command transmitted from the power grid management system (¶[192] “In step S212, a storage battery is controlled to charge or discharge power according to the summation of charge/discharge power produced in step S211”) according to claim 10 (as taught by Kudo).
Regarding Claim 17, Kudo teaches a charge/discharge plan creation and execution method for a charge/discharge plan creation device of a charge/discharge system, the charge/discharge plan creation method comprising:
determining a constraint condition related to an amount of control of charge/discharge of a plurality of storage batteries (34) (¶[40] “the supervisory control server device 22 is configured to set an upper-limit value of charging and discharging power for each of consumer-installed systems”) connected to a power grid for securing quality of the power grid by using a prediction value of an amount of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[150] “For example, the terminal device 23 serving as an EMS terminal is configured to predict electricity demands … the terminal device 23 may predict dischargeable energy to be discharged in a time zone from 10 o'clock to 17 o'clock”) computed based on an actual value of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[82] “In this connection, the status information of the power storage system 32 may include a charging rate (SOC) of the storage battery 34, a chargeable/dischargeable power value”);
computing a plan value of an amount of control for the plurality of storage batteries by using the constraint condition (¶[150] “the terminal device 23 serving as an EMS terminal is configured to predict electricity demands … and to thereby make a discharge plan to discharge the charged power as much as possible within the upper-limit output Pe [W] secured for consumer-oriented services”) and a variation of a remaining power of at least a part of the plurality of storage batteries generated by controlling charge/discharge of at least a part of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[155] “According to the discharge plan, for example … the power conditioning system 33 discharges deficient power, which cannot be discharged in previous time zones, with the storage battery 34 (without causing a reverse power flow) in a time zone from 17 o'clock to 23 o'clock up to the lower-limit setting value of SOC (e.g. 5%)”) for securing the quality of the power grid (providing electricity during periods of high demand);
generating a control command using the plan value (¶[151] The terminal device calculates necessary charged power needed in a time zone from 23 o'clock to 7 o'clock according to the discharge plan (S114)); and
charging and discharging the storage batteries based on the control command (¶[192] “In step S212, a storage battery is controlled to charge or discharge power according to the summation of charge/discharge power produced in step S211”) .
Regarding Claim 18, A non-transitory storage medium storing a charge/discharge plan creation program for causing a computer (¶[199] “it is possible to store programs achieving the entirety or part of processing carried out by any one of the foregoing devices (e.g. the supervisory control server device 22, the terminal device 23, the power conditioning system 33, and the control device 300) on computer-readable storage media”) to execute:
determining a constraint condition related to an amount of control of charge/discharge of a plurality of storage batteries (34) (¶[40] “the supervisory control server device 22 is configured to set an upper-limit value of charging and discharging power for each of consumer-installed systems”) connected to a power grid (11) for securing quality of the power grid by using a prediction value of an amount of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[150] “For example, the terminal device 23 serving as an EMS terminal is configured to predict electricity demands … the terminal device 23 may predict dischargeable energy to be discharged in a time zone from 10 o'clock to 17 o'clock”) computed based on an actual value of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[82] “In this connection, the status information of the power storage system 32 may include a charging rate (SOC) of the storage battery 34, a chargeable/dischargeable power value”); and
computing a plan value of an amount of control for the plurality of storage batteries by using the constraint condition (¶[150] “the terminal device 23 serving as an EMS terminal is configured to predict electricity demands … and to thereby make a discharge plan to discharge the charged power as much as possible within the upper-limit output Pe [W] secured for consumer-oriented services”) and a variation of a remaining power of at least a part of the plurality of storage batteries generated by controlling charge/discharge of at least a part of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[155] “According to the discharge plan, for example … the power conditioning system 33 discharges deficient power, which cannot be discharged in previous time zones, with the storage battery 34 (without causing a reverse power flow) in a time zone from 17 o'clock to 23 o'clock up to the lower-limit setting value of SOC (e.g. 5%)”) for securing the quality of the power grid (providing electricity during periods of high demand),
generating a control command using the plan value (¶[151] The terminal device calculates necessary charged power needed in a time zone from 23 o'clock to 7 o'clock according to the discharge plan (S114)); and
charging and discharging the storage batteries based on the control command (¶[192] “In step S212, a storage battery is controlled to charge or discharge power according to the summation of charge/discharge power produced in step S211”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo (US 20200274363 A1) in view of Matsuzaki et al. (JP 2020089087 A).
Regarding Claim 2, Kudo teaches the charge/discharge plan creation device according to claim 1.
Kudo does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of storage batteries are used by consumers corresponding to the storage batteries,
the plurality of storage batteries are grouped into groups including two or more of the consumers, the constraint condition determination circuitry determines the constraint condition for each of the groups using the prediction value aggregated for each of the groups,
and the plan value computation circuitry computes, as the plan value for each of the groups, a sum of amounts of control for the storage batteries belonging to the group.
Matsuzaki teaches wherein the plurality of storage batteries (21, Fig. 1) are used by consumers (20) corresponding to the storage batteries (¶[19] “The power management system 1 shown in Figure 1 comprises a power management device 10, multiple customer facilities 20 such as ordinary households, and a large-scale customer facility 30. Each of the multiple customer facilities 20 has a storage battery 21”),
the plurality of storage batteries are grouped into groups including two or more of the consumers (¶[45] “the power management system 1 divides multiple consumer facilities into multiple groups”),
the constraint condition determination circuitry determines the constraint condition for each of the groups using the prediction value aggregated for each of the groups,
and the plan value computation circuitry computes, as the plan value for each of the groups, a sum of amounts of control for the storage batteries belonging to the group (¶[48] “the power management device 10 can be configured to manage (predict and control) the charging and discharging power of multiple storage batteries 21 and 31 owned by multiple customer facilities 20 and 30, as well as to manage (predict and control) the power generated by power generation equipment and the power consumption of load equipment, for example”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kudo to incorporate the teachings of Matsuzaki to provide wherein the plurality of storage batteries are used by consumers corresponding to the storage batteries,
the plurality of storage batteries are grouped into groups including two or more of the consumers, the constraint condition determination circuitry determines the constraint condition for each of the groups using the prediction value aggregated for each of the groups,
and the plan value computation circuitry computes, as the plan value for each of the groups, a sum of amounts of control for the storage batteries belonging to the group,
in order to improve the efficiency of the plan creation device by grouping multiple batteries and consumers together.
Regarding Claim 3, Kudo in view of Matsuzaki teaches the charge/discharge plan creation device according to claim 2.
Kudo in view of Matsuzaki does not explicitly teach wherein the plan value computation circuitry computes the plan value through quadratic programming using, as an evaluation function, a sum of squares of the variation of each of the groups in a period for which the plan value is to be computed.
Sundström teaches wherein the plan value computation circuitry computes the plan value through quadratic programming using, as an evaluation function, a sum of squares (see equations 11 and 12) of the variation of each of the groups in a period for which the plan value is to be computed ([Pg. 6 Col 1] “The reference load curve that minimizes the total cost is thus determined by solving the following nonlinear optimization problem … This optimization problem can be solved using sequential quadratic programming, see Appendix C.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kudo in view of Matsuzaki to incorporate the teachings of Sundström to provide wherein the plan value computation circuitry computes the plan value through quadratic programming using, as an evaluation function, a sum of squares of the variation of each of the groups in a period for which the plan value is to be computed, in order to effectively determine the charging plan with the minimum cost.
Regarding Claim 6, Kudo teaches the charge/discharge plan creation device according to claim 5.
Kudo further teaches wherein the one or more actual values include an actual value of the amount of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries and an actual value of the remaining power of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[82] “In this connection, the status information of the power storage system 32 may include a charging rate (SOC) of the storage battery 34, a chargeable/dischargeable power value”).
Kudo does not explicitly teach the charge/discharge plan creation device includes:
prediction processing circuitry to hold storage battery correlation information indicating a relationship between a difference between power consumption and power generation in the consumers corresponding to the storage batteries and an amount of charge/discharge of the storage batteries in the consumers, and
compute the prediction value of the amount of charge/discharge of the storage batteries using the storage battery correlation information, a prediction value of power consumption in the consumers, and a prediction value of power generation in the consumers.
Matsuzaki teaches prediction processing circuitry (power management apparatus 10) to hold storage battery correlation information indicating a relationship between a difference between power consumption and power generation in the consumers (20) corresponding to the storage batteries (21) and an amount of charge/discharge of the storage batteries in the consumers (¶[44] “When there is no request for power adjustment and the actual power is predicted as shown by the solid line, the power management device 10 sets a reference value that changes for each metering unit (for example, every 30 minutes) as shown by the dashed line”), and
compute the prediction value of the amount of charge/discharge of the storage batteries (see ¶[44] quoted above, “and formulates a demand plan and a power generation plan”) using the storage battery correlation information, a prediction value of power consumption in the consumers, and a prediction value of power generation in the consumers (reference value in ¶[44], “power demand is represented as a positive value, and power generation is represented as a negative value”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kudo to incorporate the teachings of Matsuzaki to provide the charge/discharge plan creation device includes:
prediction processing circuitry to hold storage battery correlation information indicating a relationship between a difference between power consumption and power generation in the consumers corresponding to the storage batteries and an amount of charge/discharge of the storage batteries in the consumers, and
compute the prediction value of the amount of charge/discharge of the storage batteries using the storage battery correlation information, a prediction value of power consumption in the consumers, and a prediction value of power generation in the consumers,
in order to compute a more accurate and therefore more cost effective charge/discharge plan by predicting the demand and generated power.
Regarding Claim 8, Kudo further teaches a command device (23) comprising:
control command generation circuitry (S114) to generate a control command for charge/discharge of each of a plurality of storage batteries connected to a power grid by using:
a plan value that is a sum of amounts of control of charge/discharge of the plurality of storage batteries for each group including the plurality of storage batteries (¶[168] “the terminal device 23 may calculate an amount of charge/discharge power by itself (with its charge/discharge power calculation part), calculate summation of the received or calculated value of charge/discharge power by its summation calculation part”), the plan value being computed by the charge/discharge plan creation device according to claim 2 (as taught by Kudo in view of Matsuzaki above); and
an actual value of an amount of charge/discharge of the storage batteries transmitted from each of the plurality of storage batteries (¶[82] “In this connection, the status information of the power storage system 32 may include a charging rate (SOC) of the storage battery 34, a chargeable/dischargeable power value”) and
communication circuitry to transmit the control command (¶[168] “then transmit the calculated summation to the power conditioning system 33 by its communication part”) to a charge/discharge device (33) that charges and discharges the storage batteries (¶[168] “…thus controlling the storage battery 34 to charge or discharge power”).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo (US 20200274363 A1) in view of Matsuzaki et al. (JP 2020089087 A) further in view of Gadh et al (US 20130179061 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Kudo in view of Matsuzaki teaches the command device according to claim 8.
Kudo in view of Matsuzaki does not explicitly teach wherein the control command generation circuitry generates the control command in every control cycle, the command device includes an additional command generation circuitry to generate an additional command within the control cycle corresponding to the control command by using a difference between the control command and an actual value of the amount of charge/discharge of the storage batteries transmitted from each of the plurality of storage batteries after transmission of the control command, and the communication unit circuitry transmits the additional command to the charge/discharge device corresponding to the additional command. Gadh teaches a feedback control loop (¶[117] “The two-way communication between the collectors 906 and the gateway 910 forms the feedback control loop. The signal fed in the control block diagram is the user profile and the real-time price” in view of ¶[116] “When the electric vehicle 902 connects to the charging station 904, no matter if the EV is charging or discharging, the information of battery status of the electric vehicle will be passed to the charging station… The collectors 906 search and join an available mesh network automatically after startup and play the role of controllers to decide the charging/discharging process for the charging stations ... The collector 906 in each area 908 collects the data such as the charging status, voltage and temperature of the battery from the charging stations and then passes them to the gateway”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kudo in view of Matsuzaki to incorporate the teachings of Gadh to provide a feedback control loop, wherein the control command generation circuitry generates the control command in every control cycle, the command device includes an additional command generation circuitry to generate an additional command within the control cycle corresponding to the control command by using a difference between the control command and an actual value of the amount of charge/discharge of the storage batteries transmitted from each of the plurality of storage batteries after transmission of the control command, and the communication unit circuitry transmits the additional command to the charge/discharge device corresponding to the additional command,
in order to keep the charging or discharging plan aligned with the planned values and limits.
Claim(s) 4, 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo (US 20200274363 A1) in view of Gadh et al (US 20130179061 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Kudo in view of Matsuzaki teaches the charge/discharge plan creation device according to claim 2.
Kudo in view of Matsuzaki does not explicitly teach power flow calculation circuitry to compute a current through each facility of the consumers using facility information for each facility and the prediction value for each of the groups and prediction values of power consumption and power generation for each of the groups, and
determine whether the current through each facility of the consumers exceeds a maximum allowable current allowed for each facility included in the facility information,
wherein in response to the power flow calculation circuitry determining that the current through each facility of the consumers exceeds the maximum allowable current the constraint condition determination circuitry changes the constraint condition related to the amount of charge/discharge for each of the groups.
Gadh teaches power flow calculation circuitry (120) to compute a current through each facility of the consumers using facility information for each facility and the prediction value for each of the groups and prediction values of power consumption and power generation for each of the groups (¶[67] “The aggregator also preferably provides a portal for utilities to chronologically view and control "big picture" charging status for a large number of vehicles, predict load demand, and plan demand response 122. Demand response 122 would concentrate on stability, rates, and grid impacts for various load and backfill situations”),
wherein in response to the power flow calculation circuitry determining that the current through each facility of the consumers exceeds the maximum allowable current (¶[75] “an alert may be issued to a driver's smart interface 110 when a predicted instability in the grid is detected) the constraint condition determination circuitry changes the constraint condition related to the amount of charge/discharge for each of the groups (¶[315] “An aggregator, or expert system 120, which is part of the architecture, determines the optimized charging and backfill operations based on various inputs such as EV profile, user preference, demand respond event, grid capacities”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kudo in view of Matsuzaki to incorporate the teachings of Gadh to provide power flow calculation circuitry to compute a current through each facility of the consumers using facility information for each facility and the prediction value for each of the groups and prediction values of power consumption and power generation for each of the groups, and
determine whether the current through each facility of the consumers exceeds a maximum allowable current allowed for each facility included in the facility information,
wherein in response to the power flow calculation circuitry determining that the current through each facility of the consumers exceeds the maximum allowable current the constraint condition determination circuitry changes the constraint condition related to the amount of charge/discharge for each of the groups,
in order to prevent blackouts or damage caused by grid overload or instability.
Regarding Claim 7, Kudo teaches the charge/discharge plan creation device according to claim 1.
Kudo does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of storage batteries include a storage battery mounted on an electric vehicle.
Gadh teaches wherein the plurality of storage batteries include a storage battery mounted on an electric vehicle (¶[15] “The charging station may include a grid tie inverter connected to a power grid whereby power from a connected electric vehicle is backfilled to the power grid”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kudo to incorporate the teachings of Gadh to provide wherein the plurality of storage batteries include a storage battery mounted on an electric vehicle, in order to provide backup power in the case of a power grid overload.
Regarding Claim 16, Gadh teaches an electric vehicle (114) on which the storage battery is mounted (¶[15] “The charging station may include a grid tie inverter connected to a power grid whereby power from a connected electric vehicle is backfilled to the power grid”).
Kudo teaches the storage battery according to claim 15.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kudo to incorporate the teachings of Gadh to provide an electric vehicle on which the storage battery is mounted in order to allow consumers to selectively use their battery as backfill during a period of high energy demand.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859