Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 13 is directed to a computer storage medium which, given its broadest reasonable interpretation, would typically cover forms of both non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter.
In an effort to assist the patent community in overcoming the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101, the USPTO suggests the following approach. A claim drawn to such a computer readable medium (or the like) that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 by adding the limitation “non-transitory” to the claim. Such an amendment would typically not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes signals per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Pawar et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2019/0158331), herein referred to as “Pawar”, in view of Kim and Yang (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2019/0253193), herein referred to as “Kim”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Pawar discloses: A method of operating a transmitting radio node in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: transmitting communication signaling utilising a discrete Fourier transform-spread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing, DFT-s-OFDM-based waveform
[0125] Example 26 includes a base station operable to encode discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) (DFT-s-OFDM) data symbols for transmission to a user equipment (UE), the base station comprising: means for identifying, at the base station, DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE; and means for encoding, at the base station, the DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE in a subframe over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the subframe begins with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence followed by a guard interval (GI) sequence or a zero tail (ZT) sequence in a first symbol of the subframe, wherein each subsequent symbol in the subframe includes a DFT-s-OFDM data symbol followed by a GI sequence or a ZT sequence.
providing a guard interval in a time domain of at least one allocation unit or symbol between the communication signaling and reference signaling, the guard interval being empty of signaling
[0125] Example 26 includes a base station operable to encode discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) (DFT-s-OFDM) data symbols for transmission to a user equipment (UE), the base station comprising: means for identifying, at the base station, DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE; and means for encoding, at the base station, the DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE in a subframe over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the subframe begins with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence followed by a guard interval (GI) sequence or a zero tail (ZT) sequence in a first symbol of the subframe, wherein each subsequent symbol in the subframe includes a DFT-s-OFDM data symbol followed by a GI sequence or a ZT sequence.
Note: The zero tail can also be interpreted as the guard interval since it is empty.
transmitting the reference signaling, the reference signaling comprising a reference signaling sequence
[0125] Example 26 includes a base station operable to encode discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) (DFT-s-OFDM) data symbols for transmission to a user equipment (UE), the base station comprising: means for identifying, at the base station, DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE; and means for encoding, at the base station, the DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE in a subframe over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the subframe begins with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence followed by a guard interval (GI) sequence or a zero tail (ZT) sequence in a first symbol of the subframe, wherein each subsequent symbol in the subframe includes a DFT-s-OFDM data symbol followed by a GI sequence or a ZT sequence.
Pawar does not disclose: the reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence or derived from a Zadoff-Chu root sequence, the reference signaling sequence being unassociated to demodulation of the communication signaling and utilized for measurement reporting.
However, Kim discloses: the reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence or derived from a Zadoff-Chu root sequence, the reference signaling sequence being unassociated to demodulation of the communication signaling and utilized for measurement reporting.
[0073] For PUSCH demodulation, a PUSCH DM-RS may be transmitted in a PUSCH region and, for PUCCH demodulation, a PUCCH DM-RS may be transmitted in a PUCCH region. Meanwhile, a sounding reference signal (SRS) may be allocated to the PUSCH region. The SRS is a UL RS which is not associated with PUSCH or PUCCH transmission. The SRS is transmitted in an OFDM symbol which is located at the last part of a UL subframe in the time domain and in a data transmission band of the UL subframe, that is, in the PUSCH region, in the frequency domain. The eNB may measure a UL channel state between the UE and the eNB using the SRS. SRSs of multiple UEs transmitted/received in the last OFDM symbol of the same subframe may be distinguished according to frequency position/sequence. Since the PUCCH DM-RS, the PUSCH DM-RS, and the SRS are UE-specifically generated by a specific UE and are transmitted to the eNB, these signals may be regarded as UL UE-specific RSs (hereinafter, UL UE-RSs). A UL UE-RS is defined by a cyclic shift a of a base sequence r.sub.u,v(n) according to a predetermined rule. For the PUCCH DM-RS, the PUSCH DM-RS, and the SRS, a plurality of base sequences are defined. For example, the base sequences may be defined using a root Zadoff-Chu sequence.
Pawar and Kim are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pawar to include the concept of having a reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence as taught by Kim so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 2,
Claim 2 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1, but from the perspective of the transmitter.
Pawar discloses: A transmitting radio node for a wireless communication network, the transmitting radio node comprising one or both of processing circuitry and radio circuitry configured to: transmit communication signaling utilising a discrete Fourier transform-spread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing, DFT-s-OFDM-based waveform
[0125] Example 26 includes a base station operable to encode discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) (DFT-s-OFDM) data symbols for transmission to a user equipment (UE), the base station comprising: means for identifying, at the base station, DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE; and means for encoding, at the base station, the DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE in a subframe over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the subframe begins with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence followed by a guard interval (GI) sequence or a zero tail (ZT) sequence in a first symbol of the subframe, wherein each subsequent symbol in the subframe includes a DFT-s-OFDM data symbol followed by a GI sequence or a ZT sequence.
provide a guard interval in a time domain of at least one allocation unit or symbol between the communication signaling and reference signaling, the guard interval being empty of signaling
[0125] Example 26 includes a base station operable to encode discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) (DFT-s-OFDM) data symbols for transmission to a user equipment (UE), the base station comprising: means for identifying, at the base station, DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE; and means for encoding, at the base station, the DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE in a subframe over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the subframe begins with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence followed by a guard interval (GI) sequence or a zero tail (ZT) sequence in a first symbol of the subframe, wherein each subsequent symbol in the subframe includes a DFT-s-OFDM data symbol followed by a GI sequence or a ZT sequence.
Note: The zero tail can also be interpreted as the guard interval since it is empty.
transmit the reference signaling, the reference signaling comprising a reference signaling sequence
[0125] Example 26 includes a base station operable to encode discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) (DFT-s-OFDM) data symbols for transmission to a user equipment (UE), the base station comprising: means for identifying, at the base station, DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE; and means for encoding, at the base station, the DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE in a subframe over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the subframe begins with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence followed by a guard interval (GI) sequence or a zero tail (ZT) sequence in a first symbol of the subframe, wherein each subsequent symbol in the subframe includes a DFT-s-OFDM data symbol followed by a GI sequence or a ZT sequence.
Pawar does not disclose: the reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence or derived from a Zadoff-Chu root sequence, the reference signaling sequence being unassociated to demodulation of the communication signaling and utilized for measurement reporting.
However, Kim discloses: the reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence or derived from a Zadoff-Chu root sequence, the reference signaling sequence being unassociated to demodulation of the communication signaling and utilized for measurement reporting.
[0073] For PUSCH demodulation, a PUSCH DM-RS may be transmitted in a PUSCH region and, for PUCCH demodulation, a PUCCH DM-RS may be transmitted in a PUCCH region. Meanwhile, a sounding reference signal (SRS) may be allocated to the PUSCH region. The SRS is a UL RS which is not associated with PUSCH or PUCCH transmission. The SRS is transmitted in an OFDM symbol which is located at the last part of a UL subframe in the time domain and in a data transmission band of the UL subframe, that is, in the PUSCH region, in the frequency domain. The eNB may measure a UL channel state between the UE and the eNB using the SRS. SRSs of multiple UEs transmitted/received in the last OFDM symbol of the same subframe may be distinguished according to frequency position/sequence. Since the PUCCH DM-RS, the PUSCH DM-RS, and the SRS are UE-specifically generated by a specific UE and are transmitted to the eNB, these signals may be regarded as UL UE-specific RSs (hereinafter, UL UE-RSs). A UL UE-RS is defined by a cyclic shift a of a base sequence r.sub.u,v(n) according to a predetermined rule. For the PUCCH DM-RS, the PUSCH DM-RS, and the SRS, a plurality of base sequences are defined. For example, the base sequences may be defined using a root Zadoff-Chu sequence.
Pawar and Kim are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pawar to include the concept of having a reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence as taught by Kim so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 3,
Claim 3 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1, but from the perspective of the receiver.
Pawar discloses: A method of operating a receiving radio node in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: receiving communication signaling utilising a discrete Fourier transform-spread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing, DFT-s-OFDM-based waveform
[0125] Example 26 includes a base station operable to encode discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) (DFT-s-OFDM) data symbols for transmission to a user equipment (UE), the base station comprising: means for identifying, at the base station, DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE; and means for encoding, at the base station, the DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE in a subframe over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the subframe begins with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence followed by a guard interval (GI) sequence or a zero tail (ZT) sequence in a first symbol of the subframe, wherein each subsequent symbol in the subframe includes a DFT-s-OFDM data symbol followed by a GI sequence or a ZT sequence.
providing a guard interval in a time domain of at least one allocation unit or symbol between the communication signaling and reference signaling, the guard interval being empty of signaling
[0125] Example 26 includes a base station operable to encode discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) (DFT-s-OFDM) data symbols for transmission to a user equipment (UE), the base station comprising: means for identifying, at the base station, DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE; and means for encoding, at the base station, the DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE in a subframe over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the subframe begins with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence followed by a guard interval (GI) sequence or a zero tail (ZT) sequence in a first symbol of the subframe, wherein each subsequent symbol in the subframe includes a DFT-s-OFDM data symbol followed by a GI sequence or a ZT sequence.
Note: The zero tail can also be interpreted as the guard interval since it is empty.
receiving the reference signaling, the reference signaling comprising a reference signaling sequence
[0125] Example 26 includes a base station operable to encode discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) (DFT-s-OFDM) data symbols for transmission to a user equipment (UE), the base station comprising: means for identifying, at the base station, DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE; and means for encoding, at the base station, the DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE in a subframe over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the subframe begins with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence followed by a guard interval (GI) sequence or a zero tail (ZT) sequence in a first symbol of the subframe, wherein each subsequent symbol in the subframe includes a DFT-s-OFDM data symbol followed by a GI sequence or a ZT sequence.
Pawar does not disclose: the reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence or derived from a Zadoff-Chu root sequence, the reference signaling sequence being unassociated to demodulation of the communication signaling and utilized for measurement reporting.
However, Kim discloses: the reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence or derived from a Zadoff-Chu root sequence, the reference signaling sequence being unassociated to demodulation of the communication signaling and utilized for measurement reporting.
[0073] For PUSCH demodulation, a PUSCH DM-RS may be transmitted in a PUSCH region and, for PUCCH demodulation, a PUCCH DM-RS may be transmitted in a PUCCH region. Meanwhile, a sounding reference signal (SRS) may be allocated to the PUSCH region. The SRS is a UL RS which is not associated with PUSCH or PUCCH transmission. The SRS is transmitted in an OFDM symbol which is located at the last part of a UL subframe in the time domain and in a data transmission band of the UL subframe, that is, in the PUSCH region, in the frequency domain. The eNB may measure a UL channel state between the UE and the eNB using the SRS. SRSs of multiple UEs transmitted/received in the last OFDM symbol of the same subframe may be distinguished according to frequency position/sequence. Since the PUCCH DM-RS, the PUSCH DM-RS, and the SRS are UE-specifically generated by a specific UE and are transmitted to the eNB, these signals may be regarded as UL UE-specific RSs (hereinafter, UL UE-RSs). A UL UE-RS is defined by a cyclic shift a of a base sequence r.sub.u,v(n) according to a predetermined rule. For the PUCCH DM-RS, the PUSCH DM-RS, and the SRS, a plurality of base sequences are defined. For example, the base sequences may be defined using a root Zadoff-Chu sequence.
Pawar and Kim are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pawar to include the concept of having a reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence as taught by Kim so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 4,
Claim 4 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1, but from the perspective of the receiver.
Pawar discloses: A receiving radio node for a wireless communication network, the receiving radio node comprising one or both of processing circuitry and radio circuitry, configured to: receive communication signaling utilising a discrete Fourier transform-spread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing, DFT-s-OFDM-based waveform
[0125] Example 26 includes a base station operable to encode discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) (DFT-s-OFDM) data symbols for transmission to a user equipment (UE), the base station comprising: means for identifying, at the base station, DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE; and means for encoding, at the base station, the DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE in a subframe over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the subframe begins with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence followed by a guard interval (GI) sequence or a zero tail (ZT) sequence in a first symbol of the subframe, wherein each subsequent symbol in the subframe includes a DFT-s-OFDM data symbol followed by a GI sequence or a ZT sequence.
providing a guard interval in a time domain of at least one allocation unit or symbol between the communication signaling and reference signaling, the guard interval being empty of signaling
[0125] Example 26 includes a base station operable to encode discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) (DFT-s-OFDM) data symbols for transmission to a user equipment (UE), the base station comprising: means for identifying, at the base station, DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE; and means for encoding, at the base station, the DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE in a subframe over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the subframe begins with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence followed by a guard interval (GI) sequence or a zero tail (ZT) sequence in a first symbol of the subframe, wherein each subsequent symbol in the subframe includes a DFT-s-OFDM data symbol followed by a GI sequence or a ZT sequence.
Note: The zero tail can also be interpreted as the guard interval since it is empty.
receive the reference signaling, the reference signaling comprising a reference signaling sequence
[0125] Example 26 includes a base station operable to encode discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) (DFT-s-OFDM) data symbols for transmission to a user equipment (UE), the base station comprising: means for identifying, at the base station, DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE; and means for encoding, at the base station, the DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE in a subframe over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the subframe begins with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence followed by a guard interval (GI) sequence or a zero tail (ZT) sequence in a first symbol of the subframe, wherein each subsequent symbol in the subframe includes a DFT-s-OFDM data symbol followed by a GI sequence or a ZT sequence.
Pawar does not disclose: the reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence or derived from a Zadoff-Chu root sequence, the reference signaling sequence being unassociated to demodulation of the communication signaling and utilized for measurement reporting.
However, Kim discloses: the reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence or derived from a Zadoff-Chu root sequence, the reference signaling sequence being unassociated to demodulation of the communication signaling and utilized for measurement reporting.
[0073] For PUSCH demodulation, a PUSCH DM-RS may be transmitted in a PUSCH region and, for PUCCH demodulation, a PUCCH DM-RS may be transmitted in a PUCCH region. Meanwhile, a sounding reference signal (SRS) may be allocated to the PUSCH region. The SRS is a UL RS which is not associated with PUSCH or PUCCH transmission. The SRS is transmitted in an OFDM symbol which is located at the last part of a UL subframe in the time domain and in a data transmission band of the UL subframe, that is, in the PUSCH region, in the frequency domain. The eNB may measure a UL channel state between the UE and the eNB using the SRS. SRSs of multiple UEs transmitted/received in the last OFDM symbol of the same subframe may be distinguished according to frequency position/sequence. Since the PUCCH DM-RS, the PUSCH DM-RS, and the SRS are UE-specifically generated by a specific UE and are transmitted to the eNB, these signals may be regarded as UL UE-specific RSs (hereinafter, UL UE-RSs). A UL UE-RS is defined by a cyclic shift a of a base sequence r.sub.u,v(n) according to a predetermined rule. For the PUCCH DM-RS, the PUSCH DM-RS, and the SRS, a plurality of base sequences are defined. For example, the base sequences may be defined using a root Zadoff-Chu sequence.
Pawar and Kim are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pawar to include the concept of having a reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence as taught by Kim so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 5,
Pawar discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the reference signaling
sequence is a Channel State Information Reference Signaling, CSI-RS.
[0049] In one example, a downlink and uplink switch gap period can consume a duration of one or more symbols. In another example, various types of reference symbols can consume one or more symbols when multiplexed into the flexible subframe structure. The types of reference symbols can include, but are not limited to, channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS), sounding reference signals (SRS), primary synchronization signals (PSS), random access channel (RACH) signals.
Regarding Claim 6,
Pawar discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein reference signaling sequence comprises first reference signaling and second reference signaling.
[0034] In one example, the same subframe can be used for multiple UEs. For example, the same subframe can be used for two different UEs, i.e., two UEs can be time division multiplexed within the same subframe. A first region of the subframe can be used for a first UE and a second region of the subframe can be used for a second UE. The first region of the subframe can start with a symbol with a first DMRS sequence followed by a GI/ZT sequence, and then the first region of the subframe can include subsequent symbols, where each subsequent symbol can include a data symbol (e.g., GI/ZT DFT-s-OFDM data symbol) and a GI/ZT sequence. Similarly, the second region of the subframe can start with a symbol with a second DMRS sequence followed by a GI/ZT sequence, and then the second region of the subframe can include subsequent symbols, where each subsequent symbol can include a data symbol (e.g., GI/ZT DFT-s-OFDM data symbol) and a GI/ZT sequence. Therefore, the first and second GI/ZT sequences following the first and second DMRS sequences, respectively, can be used by the subsequent data symbols to achieve circular convolution.
Note: There are two DRMS sequences being interpreted as the first and second reference signaling.
Regarding Claim 8,
Pawar discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein transmitting the reference signaling sequence comprises performing a DFT spreading operation on a Zadoff-Chu sequence.
[0044] FIG. 8A illustrates an exemplary technique for generating data symbols, which can include DMRS symbols. The data symbols can be generated using an M-point discrete Fourier transform (DFT), subcarrier mapping and an N-point inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT), which can all use linear processing. A N.sub.ZC length ZC sequence or M-N.sub.ZC zeros can be provided to the M-point DFT, and the N-point IFFT can provide a GI sequence. In one example, for a DFT spread waveform, a specific number of zeros can be added before a DFT spread, which can result in an output having a zero tail at the end. Then, a GI sequence can be appended at the tail, which causes a GI sequence occurring at the tail of every symbol. In another example, rather than appending zeros, an equivalent of the GI sequence to be added can be appended.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Pawar discloses: A computer storage medium storing a computer program comprising instructions causing processing circuitry to one or both control and perform a method of operating a transmitting radio node in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: transmitting communication signaling utilising a discrete Fourier transform-spread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing, DFT-s-OFDM-based waveform
[0125] Example 26 includes a base station operable to encode discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) (DFT-s-OFDM) data symbols for transmission to a user equipment (UE), the base station comprising: means for identifying, at the base station, DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE; and means for encoding, at the base station, the DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE in a subframe over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the subframe begins with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence followed by a guard interval (GI) sequence or a zero tail (ZT) sequence in a first symbol of the subframe, wherein each subsequent symbol in the subframe includes a DFT-s-OFDM data symbol followed by a GI sequence or a ZT sequence.
providing a guard interval in a time domain of at least one allocation unit or symbol between the communication signaling and reference signaling, the guard interval being empty of signaling
[0125] Example 26 includes a base station operable to encode discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) (DFT-s-OFDM) data symbols for transmission to a user equipment (UE), the base station comprising: means for identifying, at the base station, DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE; and means for encoding, at the base station, the DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE in a subframe over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the subframe begins with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence followed by a guard interval (GI) sequence or a zero tail (ZT) sequence in a first symbol of the subframe, wherein each subsequent symbol in the subframe includes a DFT-s-OFDM data symbol followed by a GI sequence or a ZT sequence.
Note: The zero tail can also be interpreted as the guard interval since it is empty.
transmitting the reference signaling, the reference signaling comprising a reference signaling sequence
[0125] Example 26 includes a base station operable to encode discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) (DFT-s-OFDM) data symbols for transmission to a user equipment (UE), the base station comprising: means for identifying, at the base station, DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE; and means for encoding, at the base station, the DFT-s-OFDM data symbols for transmission to the UE in a subframe over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the subframe begins with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence followed by a guard interval (GI) sequence or a zero tail (ZT) sequence in a first symbol of the subframe, wherein each subsequent symbol in the subframe includes a DFT-s-OFDM data symbol followed by a GI sequence or a ZT sequence.
Pawar does not disclose: the reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence or derived from a Zadoff-Chu root sequence, the reference signaling sequence being unassociated to demodulation of the communication signaling and utilized for measurement reporting.
However, Kim discloses: the reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence or derived from a Zadoff-Chu root sequence, the reference signaling sequence being unassociated to demodulation of the communication signaling and utilized for measurement reporting.
[0073] For PUSCH demodulation, a PUSCH DM-RS may be transmitted in a PUSCH region and, for PUCCH demodulation, a PUCCH DM-RS may be transmitted in a PUCCH region. Meanwhile, a sounding reference signal (SRS) may be allocated to the PUSCH region. The SRS is a UL RS which is not associated with PUSCH or PUCCH transmission. The SRS is transmitted in an OFDM symbol which is located at the last part of a UL subframe in the time domain and in a data transmission band of the UL subframe, that is, in the PUSCH region, in the frequency domain. The eNB may measure a UL channel state between the UE and the eNB using the SRS. SRSs of multiple UEs transmitted/received in the last OFDM symbol of the same subframe may be distinguished according to frequency position/sequence. Since the PUCCH DM-RS, the PUSCH DM-RS, and the SRS are UE-specifically generated by a specific UE and are transmitted to the eNB, these signals may be regarded as UL UE-specific RSs (hereinafter, UL UE-RSs). A UL UE-RS is defined by a cyclic shift a of a base sequence r.sub.u,v(n) according to a predetermined rule. For the PUCCH DM-RS, the PUSCH DM-RS, and the SRS, a plurality of base sequences are defined. For example, the base sequences may be defined using a root Zadoff-Chu sequence.
Pawar and Kim are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pawar to include the concept of having a reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence as taught by Kim so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 15,
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Pawar in view of Kim, held further in view of Islam et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2018/0139036), herein referred to as “Islam.”
Regarding Claim 7,
Pawar in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 7.
However, Islam discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the Zadoff-Chu sequence is from a set of Zadoff-Chu sequences having a Peak-to-Average-Power Ratio, PAPR, below a threshold value.
[0065] When transmitting the synchronization signals, base station 105-a may select a sequence to transmit the synchronization signals on the different component carriers. In such cases, the sequence used by base station 105-a (e.g., including a root and a cyclic shift, or a length of a base sequence) may be chosen to reduce the PAPR or CM within the system. For instance, a root and a cyclic shift (or the root and a base sequence length) of the Zadoff-Chu sequence may be chosen to minimize the PAPR or CM. Additionally or alternatively, the Zadoff-Chu sequence may be chosen so that the PAPR or CM of the system remains below a predetermined threshold. Similar techniques may be used for choosing an M sequence such that the PAPR or CM of the system is minimized or remains below a predetermined threshold. For instance, a polynomial and a cyclic shift, or combinations thereof, may be selected to minimize the PAPR or CM, or both.
Pawar in view of Kim and Islam are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pawar in view of Kim to include the concept of having a PAPR below a threshold value as taught by Islam so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Claims 9-12 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Pawar in view Kim, held further in view of Pawar et. al. (WO 2018045028 A1), herein referred to as “Pawar II.” This reference was provided in the information disclosure statement dated July 31, 2023.
Regarding Claim 9,
Pawar in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 9.
However, Pawar II discloses: The method according to claim 8, wherein one or both of the Zadoff-Chu sequence and the Zadoff-Chu root sequence has a length that is a prime number.
[00148] In addition to satisfying the basic reference signal properties mentioned above, ZC sequences have zero-auto correlation and the best cross correlation for prime lengths. ZC sequences also have low PAPR. One concern in constructing ZC sequences is the relative inflexibility in the terms of sequence lengths. So in order to support flexible bandwidth assignments for NR CSI-RS, in various aspects, a BS can employ block-wise ZC sequences and/or ZC sequences with cyclic extensions (e.g., via generation of such sequences by processor(s) 510).
Pawar in view of Kim and Pawar II are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pawar in view of Kim to include the concept of having the Zadoff-Chu sequence having a prime number length as taught by Pawar II so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 10,
Pawar in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 10.
However, Pawar II discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the reference signaling sequence based on the root sequence is such that a signaling sequence representing the reference signaling is cyclically extended relative to the root
sequence.
[00148] In addition to satisfying the basic reference signal properties mentioned above, ZC sequences have zero-auto correlation and the best cross correlation for prime lengths. ZC sequences also have low PAPR. One concern in constructing ZC sequences is the relative inflexibility in the terms of sequence lengths. So in order to support flexible bandwidth assignments for NR CSI-RS, in various aspects, a BS can employ block-wise ZC sequences and/or ZC sequences with cyclic extensions (e.g., via generation of such sequences by processor(s) 510).
[00150] Cyclic shifts of ZC sequences: One option for multiplexing (e.g., via processor(s) 510) channel estimation CSI-RS (e.g., generated by processor(s) 510) of different antenna ports is using different cyclic shifts of ZC sequences. The channel estimation CSI-RS of neighboring cells can use different root values and/or can be scheduled in different sub-frames, slots, or symbols to avoid or minimize the channel estimation CSI-RS interference. Further, if more than one symbol is used for CSI-RS transmission in a sub-frame/slot/etc. (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520), symbol-wise OCC-2 spreading across time can be applied (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520) for full power utilization.
Pawar in view of Kim and Pawar II are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pawar in view of Kim to include the concept of having the reference signal based on a root sequence and have reference signal cyclically extended relative to the sequence as taught by Pawar II so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 11,
Pawar in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 11.
However, Pawar II discloses: The method according to claim 6, wherein the first reference signaling is shifted relative to the second reference signaling.[00122] In various aspects, channel estimation CSI-RS of multiple ports for a GI-DFT- s-OFDM (or ZT-DFT-s-OFDM) waveform can be multiplexed (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520). Referring to FIG. 15, illustrated is an example of multiplexing channel estimation CSI-RS of two ports using different cyclic shifts of a ZC sequence, according to various aspects discussed herein.
[00123] Cyclic shifts of ZC sequences: In various aspects, according to one option for multiplexing channel estimation CSI-RS of different beam/antenna ports, different cyclic shifts of the same ZC sequence can be employed (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520). For example, in FIG. 15, beam/antenna port-0 can use (e.g., as generated by processor(s) 510 and transmitted by communication circuitry 520) a ZC sequence with root 'u' and a cyclic shift of n.sub.0, while beam/antenna port-2 can use (e.g., as generated by processor(s) 510 and transmitted by communication circuitry 520) a ZC sequence with root 'u' and cyclic shift of rii . In various aspects, these techniques can be extended for multiplexing more than two ports. The number and amount of cyclic shifts can be provisioned based on a delay spread profile in the system (e.g., by one or more systems 500, by other network elements, etc.). The channel estimation CSI-RS of neighboring cells can use a base ZC sequence with different root indices than a given cell (e.g., employing system 500).
[00124] Combination of cyclic shift of ZC sequences and frequency division multiplexing: Referring to FIG. 16, illustrated is a diagram showing an example of multiplexing channel estimation CSI-RS of 4 beam/antenna ports using a combination of CDM (e.g., cyclic shifts of ZC sequence) and FDM, according to various aspects discussed herein. As an example, referring again to FIG. 16, channel estimation CSI-RS of ports 0 and 2 can be multiplexed (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520) using CDM (using distinct cyclic shifts of a ZC sequence) and can be loaded on even sub-carriers (e.g., via mapping by processor(s) 510 and transmission by communication circuitry 520), while ports 1 and 3 can be loaded on odd sub-carriers (e.g., via mapping by processor(s) 51 0 and transmission by communication circuitry 520) and again multiplexed using CDM (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520).
Pawar in view of Kim and Pawar II are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pawar in view of Kim to include the concept of having one reference signal shifted with respect to the other signal as taught by Pawar II so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 12,
Pawar in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 12.
However, Pawar II discloses: The method according to claim 6, wherein second reference signaling has a different transmission source than first reference signaling.
[00122] In various aspects, channel estimation CSI-RS of multiple ports for a GI-DFT- s-OFDM (or ZT-DFT-s-OFDM) waveform can be multiplexed (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520). Referring to FIG. 15, illustrated is an example of multiplexing channel estimation CSI-RS of two ports using different cyclic shifts of a ZC sequence, according to various aspects discussed herein.
[00123] Cyclic shifts of ZC sequences: In various aspects, according to one option for multiplexing channel estimation CSI-RS of different beam/antenna ports, different cyclic shifts of the same ZC sequence can be employed (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520). For example, in FIG. 15, beam/antenna port-0 can use (e.g., as generated by processor(s) 510 and transmitted by communication circuitry 520) a ZC sequence with root 'u' and a cyclic shift of n.sub.0, while beam/antenna port-2 can use (e.g., as generated by processor(s) 510 and transmitted by communication circuitry 520) a ZC sequence with root 'u' and cyclic shift of rii . In various aspects, these techniques can be extended for multiplexing more than two ports. The number and amount of cyclic shifts can be provisioned based on a delay spread profile in the system (e.g., by one or more systems 500, by other network elements, etc.). The channel estimation CSI-RS of neighboring cells can use a base ZC sequence with different root indices than a given cell (e.g., employing system 500).
[00124] Combination of cyclic shift of ZC sequences and frequency division multiplexing: Referring to FIG. 16, illustrated is a diagram showing an example of multiplexing channel estimation CSI-RS of 4 beam/antenna ports using a combination of CDM (e.g., cyclic shifts of ZC sequence) and FDM, according to various aspects discussed herein. As an example, referring again to FIG. 16, channel estimation CSI-RS of ports 0 and 2 can be multiplexed (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520) using CDM (using distinct cyclic shifts of a ZC sequence) and can be loaded on even sub-carriers (e.g., via mapping by processor(s) 510 and transmission by communication circuitry 520), while ports 1 and 3 can be loaded on odd sub-carriers (e.g., via mapping by processor(s) 51 0 and transmission by communication circuitry 520) and again multiplexed using CDM (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520).
Pawar in view of Kim and Pawar II are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pawar in view of Kim to include the concept of having one reference signal having a different transmission source than the other reference signal as taught by Pawar II so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 18,
Pawar in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 18.
However, Pawar II discloses: The method according to claim 3, wherein receiving the reference signaling sequence comprises measurements on the reference signaling.
[00101] Referring to FIG. 10, illustrated is a flow diagram of an example method 1 000 employable at a UE that facilitates refinement of a receive beam based on beam management CSI-RS, according to various aspects discussed herein. In other aspects, a machine readable medium can store instructions associated with method 1 000 that, when executed, can cause a UE to perform the acts of method 1000.
[00104] At 1030, a best Rx beam can be selected based on the measured beam management CSI-RS.
Pawar in view of Kim and Pawar II are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pawar in view of Kim to include the concept of having a reference signaling sequence comprises measurements on the reference signaling as taught by Pawar II so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 9.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 10.
Regarding Claim 21,
Claim 21 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 11.
Response to Arguments
• Applicant’s response filed on July 6, 2026, is acknowledged.
• Claims 1-13 and 15-21 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411