Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Chen et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2019/0334751), herein referred to as “Liu”, in view of Ding et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0021414), herein referred to as “Ding”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Liu discloses: A method of operating a transmitting radio node in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: transmitting communication signaling utilising a discrete Fourier transform-spread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing, DFT-s-OFDM-based waveform
[0010] According to a first aspect, an embodiment of this application provides a method for transmitting a reference signal, including: sending, by a network device to user equipment UE, information about a waveform scheduled by the network device for the UE, information about an antenna port scheduled by the network device for the UE, and information about a resource block scheduled by the network device for the UE, where the waveform includes an OFDM waveform or a DFT-s-OFDM waveform.
[0034] Further, in the foregoing four aspects, a sequence of the reference signal corresponding to the DFT-s-OFDM waveform is a Zadoff-Chu sequence or a complex Gold sequence CGS. Frequency division multiplexing is performed on the reference signal corresponding to the OFDM waveform and data. The information about the waveform, the information about the antenna port, or the information about the resource block may be carried in downlink control information DCI, RRC signaling, or MAC control signaling. The reference signal is a demodulation reference signal DMRS, a channel state information-reference signal CSI-RS, or a sounding reference signal SRS.
Liu does not disclose the final limitation of this claim.
However, Ding discloses transmitting a reference signaling sequence, the reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence or derived from a Zadoff-Chu root sequence, the communication signaling being unassociated to the reference signaling.
[0124] Specifically, the terminal or the base station determines the length N.sub.zc=1277 of the corresponding Zadoff-Chu sequence based on the modulation scheme π/2 BPSK of the uplink data transmission and the length 12 of the reference signal sequence. Then the terminal or the base station may determine the value of the root q of the Zadoff-Chu sequence based on configurations in the system, for example, system parameters such as a cell identity (cell identity) and a slot number.
Note: The reference signal (and this reference in general terms) contains no association with a DFT-s-OFDM-based waveform, which is utilized in the communication signaling.
Liu and Ding are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include the concept of having a reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence as taught by Ding so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 2,
Claim 2 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1, but from the perspective of the transmitter.
Liu discloses: A transmitting radio node for a wireless communication network, the transmitting radio node comprising one or both of processing circuitry and radio circuitry configured to: transmit communication signaling utilising a discrete Fourier transform-spread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing, DFT-s-OFDM-based waveform
[0010] According to a first aspect, an embodiment of this application provides a method for transmitting a reference signal, including: sending, by a network device to user equipment UE, information about a waveform scheduled by the network device for the UE, information about an antenna port scheduled by the network device for the UE, and information about a resource block scheduled by the network device for the UE, where the waveform includes an OFDM waveform or a DFT-s-OFDM waveform.
[0034] Further, in the foregoing four aspects, a sequence of the reference signal corresponding to the DFT-s-OFDM waveform is a Zadoff-Chu sequence or a complex Gold sequence CGS. Frequency division multiplexing is performed on the reference signal corresponding to the OFDM waveform and data. The information about the waveform, the information about the antenna port, or the information about the resource block may be carried in downlink control information DCI, RRC signaling, or MAC control signaling. The reference signal is a demodulation reference signal DMRS, a channel state information-reference signal CSI-RS, or a sounding reference signal SRS.
Liu does not disclose the final limitation of this claim.
However, Ding discloses transmit a reference signaling sequence, the reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence or derived from a Zadoff-Chu root sequence, the communication signaling being unassociated to the reference signaling.
[0124] Specifically, the terminal or the base station determines the length N.sub.zc=1277 of the corresponding Zadoff-Chu sequence based on the modulation scheme π/2 BPSK of the uplink data transmission and the length 12 of the reference signal sequence. Then the terminal or the base station may determine the value of the root q of the Zadoff-Chu sequence based on configurations in the system, for example, system parameters such as a cell identity (cell identity) and a slot number.
Note: The reference signal (and this reference in general terms) contains no association with a DFT-s-OFDM-based waveform, which is utilized in the communication signaling.
Liu and Ding are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include the concept of having a reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence as taught by Ding so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 3,
Claim 3 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1, but from the perspective of the receiver.
Liu discloses: A method of operating a receiving radio node in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: receiving communication signaling utilising a discrete Fourier transform-spread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing, DFT-s-OFDM-based waveform
[0016] According to a second aspect, an embodiment of this application provides a method for sending and receiving a reference signal, including: receiving, from a network device, information about a waveform scheduled by the network device for user equipment UE, information about an antenna port scheduled by the network device for the UE, and information about a resource block scheduled by the network device for the UE, where the waveform includes an OFDM waveform or a DFT-s-OFDM waveform, the antenna port indicates a resource mapping pattern used by the UE to send or receive a reference signal.
[0034] Further, in the foregoing four aspects, a sequence of the reference signal corresponding to the DFT-s-OFDM waveform is a Zadoff-Chu sequence or a complex Gold sequence CGS. Frequency division multiplexing is performed on the reference signal corresponding to the OFDM waveform and data. The information about the waveform, the information about the antenna port, or the information about the resource block may be carried in downlink control information DCI, RRC signaling, or MAC control signaling. The reference signal is a demodulation reference signal DMRS, a channel state information-reference signal CSI-RS, or a sounding reference signal SRS.
Liu does not disclose the final limitation of this claim.
However, Ding discloses receiving reference signaling sequence, the reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence or derived from a Zadoff-Chu root sequence, the communication signaling being unassociated to the reference signaling.
[0124] Specifically, the terminal or the base station determines the length N.sub.zc=1277 of the corresponding Zadoff-Chu sequence based on the modulation scheme π/2 BPSK of the uplink data transmission and the length 12 of the reference signal sequence. Then the terminal or the base station may determine the value of the root q of the Zadoff-Chu sequence based on configurations in the system, for example, system parameters such as a cell identity (cell identity) and a slot number.
Note: The reference signal (and this reference in general terms) contains no association with a DFT-s-OFDM-based waveform, which is utilized in the communication signaling.
Liu and Ding are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include the concept of having a reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence as taught by Ding so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 4,
Claim 4 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1, but from the perspective of the receiver.
Liu discloses: A receiving radio node for a wireless communication network, the receiving radio node comprising one or both of processing circuitry and radio circuitry, configured to: receive communication signaling utilising a discrete Fourier transform-spread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing, DFT-s-OFDM-based waveform
[0016] According to a second aspect, an embodiment of this application provides a method for sending and receiving a reference signal, including: receiving, from a network device, information about a waveform scheduled by the network device for user equipment UE, information about an antenna port scheduled by the network device for the UE, and information about a resource block scheduled by the network device for the UE, where the waveform includes an OFDM waveform or a DFT-s-OFDM waveform, the antenna port indicates a resource mapping pattern used by the UE to send or receive a reference signal.
[0034] Further, in the foregoing four aspects, a sequence of the reference signal corresponding to the DFT-s-OFDM waveform is a Zadoff-Chu sequence or a complex Gold sequence CGS. Frequency division multiplexing is performed on the reference signal corresponding to the OFDM waveform and data. The information about the waveform, the information about the antenna port, or the information about the resource block may be carried in downlink control information DCI, RRC signaling, or MAC control signaling. The reference signal is a demodulation reference signal DMRS, a channel state information-reference signal CSI-RS, or a sounding reference signal SRS.
Liu does not disclose the final limitation of this claim.
However, Ding discloses receive reference signaling sequence, the reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence or derived from a Zadoff-Chu root sequence, the communication signaling being unassociated to the reference signaling.
[0124] Specifically, the terminal or the base station determines the length N.sub.zc=1277 of the corresponding Zadoff-Chu sequence based on the modulation scheme π/2 BPSK of the uplink data transmission and the length 12 of the reference signal sequence. Then the terminal or the base station may determine the value of the root q of the Zadoff-Chu sequence based on configurations in the system, for example, system parameters such as a cell identity (cell identity) and a slot number.
Note: The reference signal (and this reference in general terms) contains no association with a DFT-s-OFDM-based waveform, which is utilized in the communication signaling.
Liu and Ding are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include the concept of having a reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence as taught by Ding so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 5,
Liu discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the reference signaling sequence is a Channel State Information Reference Signaling, CSI-RS.
[0034] Further, in the foregoing four aspects, a sequence of the reference signal corresponding to the DFT-s-OFDM waveform is a Zadoff-Chu sequence or a complex Gold sequence CGS. Frequency division multiplexing is performed on the reference signal corresponding to the OFDM waveform and data. The information about the waveform, the information about the antenna port, or the information about the resource block may be carried in downlink control information DCI, RRC signaling, or MAC control signaling. The reference signal is a demodulation reference signal DMRS, a channel state information-reference signal CSI-RS, or a sounding reference signal SRS.
Regarding Claim 6,
Liu discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein reference signaling sequence comprises first reference signaling and second reference signaling.
[0109] FIG. 15 is a schematic diagram of a resource mapping pattern of reference signals according to an embodiment of this application. Resource element sets p+1 and p+2 are comb-shaped in frequency domain, and each may correspond to one antenna port. The resource element sets p+1 and p+2 are scheduled to UE that sends or receives a reference signal by using the DFT-s-OFDM waveform. The resource element set p is scheduled to UE that sends or receives a reference signal by using the OFDM waveform. The resource element set p includes a plurality of basic units each including two consecutive subcarriers in frequency domain. Particularly, reference signals may be orthogonalized, by using orthogonal codes, on a basic unit including two consecutive subcarriers, so that the reference signals on the basic unit including two consecutive subcarriers do not interfere with each other. Specifically, assuming that s1 and s2 are reference signal symbols on the two consecutive subcarriers, the reference signal symbols may be orthogonalized by using orthogonal codes {[1 1], [1 −1]}.
Note: The claim does not specifically state what a first referencing signal or second referencing signal is (e.g., one is CSI-RS, the other is DMRS). Here, the reference demonstrated that “s1” and “s2” are separate and distinct reference signals.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Liu discloses: A computer storage medium storing a computer program comprising instructions causing processing circuitry to one or both control and perform a method of operating a transmitting radio node in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: transmitting communication signaling utilising a discrete Fourier transform-spread-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing, DFT-s-OFDM-based waveform
[0010] According to a first aspect, an embodiment of this application provides a method for transmitting a reference signal, including: sending, by a network device to user equipment UE, information about a waveform scheduled by the network device for the UE, information about an antenna port scheduled by the network device for the UE, and information about a resource block scheduled by the network device for the UE, where the waveform includes an OFDM waveform or a DFT-s-OFDM waveform.
[0034] Further, in the foregoing four aspects, a sequence of the reference signal corresponding to the DFT-s-OFDM waveform is a Zadoff-Chu sequence or a complex Gold sequence CGS. Frequency division multiplexing is performed on the reference signal corresponding to the OFDM waveform and data. The information about the waveform, the information about the antenna port, or the information about the resource block may be carried in downlink control information DCI, RRC signaling, or MAC control signaling. The reference signal is a demodulation reference signal DMRS, a channel state information-reference signal CSI-RS, or a sounding reference signal SRS.
Liu does not disclose the final limitation of this claim.
However, Ding discloses transmitting a reference signaling sequence, the reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence or derived from a Zadoff-Chu root sequence, the communication signaling being unassociated to the reference signaling.
[0124] Specifically, the terminal or the base station determines the length N.sub.zc=1277 of the corresponding Zadoff-Chu sequence based on the modulation scheme π/2 BPSK of the uplink data transmission and the length 12 of the reference signal sequence. Then the terminal or the base station may determine the value of the root q of the Zadoff-Chu sequence based on configurations in the system, for example, system parameters such as a cell identity (cell identity) and a slot number.
Note: The reference signal (and this reference in general terms) contains no association with a DFT-s-OFDM-based waveform, which is utilized in the communication signaling.
Liu and Ding are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include the concept of having a reference signaling sequence being based on a root sequence that is a Zadoff-Chu root sequence as taught by Ding so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 15,
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Ding, held further in view of Islam et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2018/0139036), herein referred to as “Islam.”
Regarding Claim 7,
Liu in view of Ding does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 7.
However, Islam discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the Zadoff-Chu sequence is from a set of Zadoff-Chu sequences having a Peak-to-Average-Power Ratio, PAPR, below a threshold value.
[0065] When transmitting the synchronization signals, base station 105-a may select a sequence to transmit the synchronization signals on the different component carriers. In such cases, the sequence used by base station 105-a (e.g., including a root and a cyclic shift, or a length of a base sequence) may be chosen to reduce the PAPR or CM within the system. For instance, a root and a cyclic shift (or the root and a base sequence length) of the Zadoff-Chu sequence may be chosen to minimize the PAPR or CM. Additionally or alternatively, the Zadoff-Chu sequence may be chosen so that the PAPR or CM of the system remains below a predetermined threshold. Similar techniques may be used for choosing an M sequence such that the PAPR or CM of the system is minimized or remains below a predetermined threshold. For instance, a polynomial and a cyclic shift, or combinations thereof, may be selected to minimize the PAPR or CM, or both.
Liu in view of Ding and Islam are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Ding to include the concept of having a PAPR below a threshold value as taught by Islam so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Claims 8-12 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view Ding, held further in view of Pawar et. al. (WO 2018045028 A1), herein referred to as “Pawar.” This reference was provided in the information disclosure statement dated July 31, 2023.
Regarding Claim 8,
Liu in view of Ding does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 8.
However, Pawar discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein transmitting the reference signaling sequence comprises performing a DFT spreading operation on a Zadoff-Chu sequence.
[0086] In various aspects, each repeat of beam management CSI-RS can be generated (e.g., by processor(s) 510) with a shortened GI sequence. Referring to FIG. 7, illustrated is a diagram showing an example scenario of beam management CSI-RS transmission with a shortened GI sequence in each repetition, according to various aspects discussed herein. To accommodate a GI sequence in each RRS, the ZC (etc.) sequence that forms the beam management CSI-RS can be DFT spread. N can be the total number of samples in a GI-DFT-s-OFDM symbol, and N.sub.Gi can be the length of the GI (or zero tail) sequence. Additionally, M can be the DFT spread size, where M < N. Then the length N.sub.zc of the used ZC (etc.) sequence used for beam management CSI- RS can be a largest prime such that, \N. N.sub.ZC/M]≤ (JV - N.sub.GI)/4. In FIG. 7, the length of the shortened GI sequence in the beam management CSI-RS symbols is N.sub.Gi/4.
Liu in view of Ding and Pawar are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Ding to include the concept of having the referencing signaling perform a DFT spreading operation on a Zadoff-Chu sequence as taught by Pawar so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 9,
Liu in view of Ding does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 9.
However, Pawar discloses: The method according to claim 8, wherein one or both of the Zadoff-Chu sequence and the Zadoff-Chu root sequence has a length that is a prime number.
[00148] In addition to satisfying the basic reference signal properties mentioned above, ZC sequences have zero-auto correlation and the best cross correlation for prime lengths. ZC sequences also have low PAPR. One concern in constructing ZC sequences is the relative inflexibility in the terms of sequence lengths. So in order to support flexible bandwidth assignments for NR CSI-RS, in various aspects, a BS can employ block-wise ZC sequences and/or ZC sequences with cyclic extensions (e.g., via generation of such sequences by processor(s) 510).
Liu in view of Ding and Pawar are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Ding to include the concept of having the Zadoff-Chu sequence having a prime number length as taught by Pawar so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 10,
Liu does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 10.
However, Pawar discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the reference signaling sequence based on the root sequence is such that a signaling sequence representing the reference signaling is cyclically extended relative to the root
sequence.
[00148] In addition to satisfying the basic reference signal properties mentioned above, ZC sequences have zero-auto correlation and the best cross correlation for prime lengths. ZC sequences also have low PAPR. One concern in constructing ZC sequences is the relative inflexibility in the terms of sequence lengths. So in order to support flexible bandwidth assignments for NR CSI-RS, in various aspects, a BS can employ block-wise ZC sequences and/or ZC sequences with cyclic extensions (e.g., via generation of such sequences by processor(s) 510).
[00150] Cyclic shifts of ZC sequences: One option for multiplexing (e.g., via processor(s) 510) channel estimation CSI-RS (e.g., generated by processor(s) 510) of different antenna ports is using different cyclic shifts of ZC sequences. The channel estimation CSI-RS of neighboring cells can use different root values and/or can be scheduled in different sub-frames, slots, or symbols to avoid or minimize the channel estimation CSI-RS interference. Further, if more than one symbol is used for CSI-RS transmission in a sub-frame/slot/etc. (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520), symbol-wise OCC-2 spreading across time can be applied (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520) for full power utilization.
Liu in view of Ding and Pawar are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include the concept of having the reference signal based on a root sequence and have reference signal cyclically extended relative to the sequence as taught by Pawar so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 11,
Liu in view of Ding does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 11.
However, Pawar discloses: The method according to claim 6, wherein the first reference signaling is shifted relative to the second reference signaling.[00122] In various aspects, channel estimation CSI-RS of multiple ports for a GI-DFT- s-OFDM (or ZT-DFT-s-OFDM) waveform can be multiplexed (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520). Referring to FIG. 15, illustrated is an example of multiplexing channel estimation CSI-RS of two ports using different cyclic shifts of a ZC sequence, according to various aspects discussed herein.
[00123] Cyclic shifts of ZC sequences: In various aspects, according to one option for multiplexing channel estimation CSI-RS of different beam/antenna ports, different cyclic shifts of the same ZC sequence can be employed (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520). For example, in FIG. 15, beam/antenna port-0 can use (e.g., as generated by processor(s) 510 and transmitted by communication circuitry 520) a ZC sequence with root 'u' and a cyclic shift of n.sub.0, while beam/antenna port-2 can use (e.g., as generated by processor(s) 510 and transmitted by communication circuitry 520) a ZC sequence with root 'u' and cyclic shift of rii . In various aspects, these techniques can be extended for multiplexing more than two ports. The number and amount of cyclic shifts can be provisioned based on a delay spread profile in the system (e.g., by one or more systems 500, by other network elements, etc.). The channel estimation CSI-RS of neighboring cells can use a base ZC sequence with different root indices than a given cell (e.g., employing system 500).
[00124] Combination of cyclic shift of ZC sequences and frequency division multiplexing: Referring to FIG. 16, illustrated is a diagram showing an example of multiplexing channel estimation CSI-RS of 4 beam/antenna ports using a combination of CDM (e.g., cyclic shifts of ZC sequence) and FDM, according to various aspects discussed herein. As an example, referring again to FIG. 16, channel estimation CSI-RS of ports 0 and 2 can be multiplexed (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520) using CDM (using distinct cyclic shifts of a ZC sequence) and can be loaded on even sub-carriers (e.g., via mapping by processor(s) 510 and transmission by communication circuitry 520), while ports 1 and 3 can be loaded on odd sub-carriers (e.g., via mapping by processor(s) 51 0 and transmission by communication circuitry 520) and again multiplexed using CDM (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520).
Liu in view of Ding and Pawar are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Ding to include the concept of having one reference signal shifted with respect to the other signal as taught by Pawar so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 12,
Liu in view of Ding does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 12.
However, Pawar discloses: The method according to claim 6, wherein second reference signaling has a different transmission source than first reference signaling.
[00122] In various aspects, channel estimation CSI-RS of multiple ports for a GI-DFT- s-OFDM (or ZT-DFT-s-OFDM) waveform can be multiplexed (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520). Referring to FIG. 15, illustrated is an example of multiplexing channel estimation CSI-RS of two ports using different cyclic shifts of a ZC sequence, according to various aspects discussed herein.
[00123] Cyclic shifts of ZC sequences: In various aspects, according to one option for multiplexing channel estimation CSI-RS of different beam/antenna ports, different cyclic shifts of the same ZC sequence can be employed (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520). For example, in FIG. 15, beam/antenna port-0 can use (e.g., as generated by processor(s) 510 and transmitted by communication circuitry 520) a ZC sequence with root 'u' and a cyclic shift of n.sub.0, while beam/antenna port-2 can use (e.g., as generated by processor(s) 510 and transmitted by communication circuitry 520) a ZC sequence with root 'u' and cyclic shift of rii . In various aspects, these techniques can be extended for multiplexing more than two ports. The number and amount of cyclic shifts can be provisioned based on a delay spread profile in the system (e.g., by one or more systems 500, by other network elements, etc.). The channel estimation CSI-RS of neighboring cells can use a base ZC sequence with different root indices than a given cell (e.g., employing system 500).
[00124] Combination of cyclic shift of ZC sequences and frequency division multiplexing: Referring to FIG. 16, illustrated is a diagram showing an example of multiplexing channel estimation CSI-RS of 4 beam/antenna ports using a combination of CDM (e.g., cyclic shifts of ZC sequence) and FDM, according to various aspects discussed herein. As an example, referring again to FIG. 16, channel estimation CSI-RS of ports 0 and 2 can be multiplexed (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520) using CDM (using distinct cyclic shifts of a ZC sequence) and can be loaded on even sub-carriers (e.g., via mapping by processor(s) 510 and transmission by communication circuitry 520), while ports 1 and 3 can be loaded on odd sub-carriers (e.g., via mapping by processor(s) 51 0 and transmission by communication circuitry 520) and again multiplexed using CDM (e.g., by processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520).
Liu in view of Ding and Pawar are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Ding to include the concept of having one reference signal having a different transmission source than the other reference signal as taught by Pawar so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 18,
Liu in view of Ding does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 18.
However, Pawar discloses: The method according to claim 3, wherein receiving the reference signaling sequence comprises measurements on the reference signaling.
[00101] Referring to FIG. 10, illustrated is a flow diagram of an example method 1 000 employable at a UE that facilitates refinement of a receive beam based on beam management CSI-RS, according to various aspects discussed herein. In other aspects, a machine readable medium can store instructions associated with method 1 000 that, when executed, can cause a UE to perform the acts of method 1000.
[00104] At 1030, a best Rx beam can be selected based on the measured beam management CSI-RS.
Liu in view of Ding and Pawar are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Ding to include the concept of having a reference signaling sequence comprises measurements on the reference signaling as taught by Pawar so as to aid in communicating at millimeter-wave frequencies.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 9.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 10.
Regarding Claim 21,
Claim 21 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 11.
Response to Arguments
• Applicant’s response filed on December 15, 2025 is acknowledged.
• The following claims were amended: 1-13, and 17-21.
• There are no new claims and no further canceled claims.
• Claims 1-13 and 15-21 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411