DETAILED ACTION
a. Claims 1-21 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA :
- claims 1-4 and 8 are amended
- claim 9 is cancelled
b. This is a final action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 12/12/2025.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 2 previously objected for informalities, claim 2 has been amended according to the examiner's recommendation and thus the previous objection has been withdrawn.
Regarding claim 8 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101, claim 8 has been amended according to the examiner's recommendation and thus the previous rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding Independent claims 1-4 and 8 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2), Applicant's arguments, see “Independent Claims 2-4 and 8 have been amended to recite similar features as the features of Claim 1 recited above. Deng does not disclose or suggest the features recited in amended Claims 1-4 and 8.” on page 11, filed on 12/12/2025, with respect to Deng et al. US Pub 2020/0053800 (hereinafter “Deng”), have been fully considered but are moot, over the limitations of “for the different frequency resources, there is a configured one-to-one mapping from a first frequency resource to a second frequency resource, such that selecting one of the resources automatically selects the other resource”. Said limitations are newly added to the amended Claims 1-4 and 8 and have been addressed in instant office action, as shown in section 35 USC 103 rejection below, with newly identified disclosures in previously applied reference Yang US Pub 2022/0304068, claiming parent US continuation priority 2019-11-29 (hereinafter “Yang”), in combination with previously applied reference, thus rendering said Applicant’s arguments moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. US Pub 2020/0053800 (hereinafter “Deng”), and in view of Yang US Pub 2022/0304068, claiming parent US continuation priority 2019-11-29 (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended)
Deng discloses a method of operating a wireless device (e.g. “A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU)”) for a wireless communication network (“A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) may be configured to receive RA resource sets, where each of the RA resource sets is associated with a node-B directional beam, select an RA resource set from among the RA resource sets, and initiate an RA procedure based on the selected RA resource set.” [Abstract]), the method comprising:
transmitting a first random access preamble (“The RA procedure may include selecting multiple preambles which include a preamble for each resource of a plurality of resources corresponding to the selected RA resource set.” [Abstract]) utilising a first antenna arrangement (“a directional transmit or receive beam is formed by a WTRU applying specific weight to each antenna elements of the antenna solution, be it a digital antenna array implementation as shown in FIG. 6, in which the weight is comprised of both amplitude and phase, or an analogue phase antenna array implementation as shown in FIG. 7, which comprises a phase-only weight.” [0078]) and transmitting a second random access preamble (“The RA procedure may include selecting multiple preambles which include a preamble for each resource of a plurality of resources corresponding to the selected RA resource set.” [Abstract]) utilising a second antenna arrangement (“a directional transmit or receive beam is formed by a WTRU applying specific weight to each antenna elements of the antenna solution, be it a digital antenna array implementation as shown in FIG. 6, in which the weight is comprised of both amplitude and phase, or an analogue phase antenna array implementation as shown in FIG. 7, which comprises a phase-only weight.” [0078]), the first random access preamble and the second random access preamble being transmitted on different frequency resources (“The RACH configuration may include one or more cell-specific preamble transmission sequences, transmit time instances, frequency resource allocations, initial power offsets, and the like.” [0165] and furthermore “The mWTRU may transmit a preamble at a frequency allocation corresponding to the maximum measured BMRS sequence. The frequency allocation or frequency allocations from which the mWTRU may chose for transmission may be per RACH configuration mapping (e.g. between BMRS and RACH frequency allocation or allocations).” [0161]).
Deng does not specifically teach for the different frequency resources, there is a configured one-to-one mapping from a first frequency resource to a second frequency resource, such that selecting one of the resources automatically selects the other resource.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses for the different frequency resources (“the frequency domain resource used by the terminal device to perform random access is: a frequency domain resource except overlapped frequency domain resources (also known as non-overlapped frequency domain resource) in the frequency domain resources indicated by the first frequency domain resources; where, the overlapped frequency domain resources are: resources overlapped between frequency domain resources indicated by the first frequency domain resource configuration and frequency domain resources indicated by the second frequency domain resource configuration; and the random access preamble used by the terminal device to perform random access is in the first random access preamble group and in the second random access preamble group.” [0234]), there is a configured one-to-one mapping from a first frequency resource (i.e. “first frequency domain resources”) to a second frequency resource (i.e. “second frequency domain resources”), such that selecting one of the resources automatically selects the other resource (“Since there is no overlap between the frequency domain resources in the first resource pool and the frequency domain resources in the second resource pool, a network device may distinguish a terminal device according to a frequency domain resource used by the terminal device to send a preamble after receiving the preamble, so that the network device can determine an initial TA of the terminal device. There is a same preamble existing in the preamble in the first resource pool and the preamble in the second resource pool (i.e. one-to-one mapping), or the preamble in the first resource pool and the preamble in the second resource pool may be exactly the same, which can make the utilization of the preamble higher.” [0217]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Deng’s method for transmitting selected multiple preambles in sequential RA transmissions, to include Yang’s method for transmitting/receiving multiple random access configurations, in order to select a specified random access configuration from the multiple random access configurations according to positioning capability of the terminal device to perform random access (Yang [Abstract]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Yang’s method for transmitting/receiving multiple random access configurations into Deng’s method for transmitting selected multiple preambles in sequential RA transmissions since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended)
Deng discloses a wireless device (“wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d” in Fig. 1A; [0039]) for a wireless communication network (“FIG. 1A is a system diagram of an example communications system in which one or more disclosed embodiments may be implemented” [0008]), the wireless device configured to:
transmit a first random access preamble utilising a first antenna arrangement and transmit a second random access preamble utilising a second antenna arrangement, the first random access preamble and the second random access preamble being transmitted on different frequency resources, for the different frequency resources, there is a configured one-to-one mapping from a first frequency resource to a second frequency resource, such that selecting one of the resources automatically selects the other resource.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 2 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 1. Therefore apparatus claim 2 corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended)
Deng discloses a method of operating a network node (“the base stations 114a, 114b may be a base transceiver station (BTS), a Node-B, an eNode B, a Home Node B, a Home eNode B, a site controller, an access point (AP), a wireless router, and the like.” In Fig. 1A; [0040]) for a wireless communication network (“FIG. 1A is a system diagram of an example communications system in which one or more disclosed embodiments may be implemented” [0008]), the method comprising:
receiving a first random access preamble and receiving a second random access preamble (“receive, from the node-B, in response to the sequential RA transmissions, at least one RAR, where each of the received at least one RAR corresponds to one of the transmitted multiple preambles.” [0004]), the first random access preamble and the second random access preamble (“The RA procedure may include selecting multiple preambles which include a preamble for each resource of a plurality of resources corresponding to the selected RA resource set.” [Abstract]) being transmitted on different frequency resources (“The RACH configuration may include one or more cell-specific preamble transmission sequences, transmit time instances, frequency resource allocations, initial power offsets, and the like.” [0165] and furthermore “The mWTRU may transmit a preamble at a frequency allocation corresponding to the maximum measured BMRS sequence. The frequency allocation or frequency allocations from which the mWTRU may chose for transmission may be per RACH configuration mapping (e.g. between BMRS and RACH frequency allocation or allocations).” [0161])
Deng does not specifically teach for the different frequency resources, there is a configured one-to-one mapping from a first frequency resource to a second frequency resource, such that selecting one of the resources automatically selects the other resource.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses for the different frequency resources (“the frequency domain resource used by the terminal device to perform random access is: a frequency domain resource except overlapped frequency domain resources (also known as non-overlapped frequency domain resource) in the frequency domain resources indicated by the first frequency domain resources; where, the overlapped frequency domain resources are: resources overlapped between frequency domain resources indicated by the first frequency domain resource configuration and frequency domain resources indicated by the second frequency domain resource configuration; and the random access preamble used by the terminal device to perform random access is in the first random access preamble group and in the second random access preamble group.” [0234]), there is a configured one-to-one mapping from a first frequency resource (i.e. “first frequency domain resources”) to a second frequency resource (i.e. “second frequency domain resources”), such that selecting one of the resources automatically selects the other resource (“Since there is no overlap between the frequency domain resources in the first resource pool and the frequency domain resources in the second resource pool, a network device may distinguish a terminal device according to a frequency domain resource used by the terminal device to send a preamble after receiving the preamble, so that the network device can determine an initial TA of the terminal device. There is a same preamble existing in the preamble in the first resource pool and the preamble in the second resource pool (i.e. one-to-one mapping), or the preamble in the first resource pool and the preamble in the second resource pool may be exactly the same, which can make the utilization of the preamble higher.” [0217]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Deng’s method for transmitting selected multiple preambles in sequential RA transmissions, to include Yang’s method for transmitting/receiving multiple random access configurations, in order to select a specified random access configuration from the multiple random access configurations according to positioning capability of the terminal device to perform random access (Yang [Abstract]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Yang’s method for transmitting/receiving multiple random access configurations into Deng’s method for transmitting selected multiple preambles in sequential RA transmissions since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended)
Deng discloses a network node (“the base stations 114a, 114b may be a base transceiver station (BTS), a Node-B, an eNode B, a Home Node B, a Home eNode B, a site controller, an access point (AP), a wireless router, and the like.” In Fig. 1A; [0040]) for a wireless communication network, the network node configured to:
receive a first random access preamble and receive a second random access preamble, the first random access preamble and the second random access preamble being transmitted on different frequency resources, for the different frequency resources, there is a configured one-to-one mapping from a first frequency resource to a second frequency resource, such that selecting one of the resources automatically selects the other resource.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 4 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 3. Therefore apparatus claim 4 corresponds to method claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 3 rejection above.
Regarding claim 5
Deng, as modified by Yang, previously discloses the method according to Claim 1,
Deng further discloses wherein the first random access preamble is based on a first signaling sequence, and the second random access preamble is based on a second signaling sequence (“The mWTRU may use a preamble sequence corresponding to the maximum measured BMRS sequence. The preamble sequence (or sequences from which the mWTRU may choose) for transmission may be per the RACH configuration mapping (e.g., between BMRS and preamble transmission sequence or sequences).” [0161]).
Regarding claim 6
Deng, as modified by Yang, previously discloses the method according to Claim 1,
Deng further discloses wherein the first random access preamble is shifted relative to the second random access preamble based on one or both of a cyclic shift (“The PRACH transmission sequences may be or may include preambles included in a RA resource set and may be or may be based on Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequences. Each preamble sequence may have a unique index number associated with a specific cyclic shift of the ZC sequence. The set of preamble sequences for each RA resource set may be configured or may be determined based on pre-configured criteria. For example, each RA resource set may have a designated ZC base sequence and each preamble in the resource set may use a different cyclic shift based on the designated ZC base sequence.” [0250]) and a code (“one Zadoff-Chu (ZC) base sequence with different cyclic shift, Walsh code, Golay sequence, and the like.” [0139]).
Regarding claim 7
Deng, as modified by Yang, previously discloses the method according to Claim 1,
Yang further discloses wherein the first random access preamble and the second random access preamble shifted by being based on different root sequences (“The first root sequence may be a first preamble root sequence, and the second root sequence may be a second preamble root sequence.” [0194] and furthermore “obtaining the first preamble group by performing cyclic shift on a first root sequence; and obtaining the second preamble group by performing cyclic shift on a second root sequence.” [0193]).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended)
A non-transitory computer storage medium storing a computer program comprising instructions causing processing circuitry to one or both control and perform a method, the method comprising:
transmitting a first random access preamble utilising a first antenna arrangement and transmitting a second random access preamble utilising a second antenna arrangement, the first random access preamble and the second random access preamble being transmitted on different frequency resources, for the different frequency resources, there is a configured one-to-one mapping from a first frequency resource to a second frequency resource, such that selecting one of the resources automatically selects the other resource.
The scope and subject matter of non-transitory computer readable medium claim 8 is drawn to the computer program product of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 1. Therefore computer program product claim 8 corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 10
The wireless device according to Claim 2, wherein the first random access preamble is based on a first signaling sequence, and the second random access preamble is based on a second signaling sequence.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 10 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 5. Therefore apparatus claim 10 corresponds to method claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 5 rejection above.
Regarding claim 11
The wireless device according to Claim 2, wherein the first random access preamble is shifted relative to the second random access preamble based on one or both of a cyclic shift and a code.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 11 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 6. Therefore apparatus claim 11 corresponds to method claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 6 rejection above.
Regarding claim 12
The wireless device according to Claim 2, wherein the first random access preamble and the second random access preamble shifted by being based on different root sequences.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 12 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 7. Therefore apparatus claim 11 corresponds to method claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 7 rejection above.
Regarding claim 13
The method according to Claim 3, wherein the first random access preamble is based on a first signaling sequence, and the second random access preamble is based on a second signaling sequence.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 13 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in method claim 5. Therefore method claim 13 corresponds to method claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 5 rejection above.
Regarding claim 14
The method according to Claim 3, wherein the first random access preamble is shifted relative to the second random access preamble based on one or both of a cyclic shift and a code.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 14 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in method claim 6. Therefore method claim 14 corresponds to method claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 6 rejection above.
Regarding claim 15
The method according to Claim 3, wherein the first random access preamble and the second random access preamble shifted by being based on different root sequences.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 15 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in method claim 7. Therefore method claim 15 corresponds to method claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 7 rejection above.
Regarding claim 16
The network node according to Claim 4, wherein the first random access preamble is based on a first signaling sequence, and the second random access preamble is based on a second signaling sequence.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 16 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 10. Therefore apparatus claim 16 corresponds to apparatus claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 10 rejection above.
Regarding claim 17
The network node according to Claim 4, wherein the first random access preamble is shifted relative to the second random access preamble based on one or both of a cyclic shift and a code.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 17 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 11. Therefore apparatus claim 17 corresponds to apparatus claim 11 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 11 rejection above.
Regarding claim 18
The network node according to Claim 4, wherein the first random access preamble and the second random access preamble shifted by being based on different root sequences.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 18 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 12. Therefore apparatus claim 18 corresponds to apparatus claim 12 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 12 rejection above.
Regarding claim 19
The method according to Claim 5, wherein the first random access preamble is shifted relative to the second random access preamble based on one or both of a cyclic shift and a code.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 19 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in method claim 6. Therefore method claim 19 corresponds to method claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 6 rejection above.
Regarding claim 20
The method according to Claim 14, wherein the first random access preamble and the second random access preamble shifted by being based on different root sequences.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 20 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in method claim 7. Therefore method claim 20 corresponds to method claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 7 rejection above.
Regarding claim 21
The method according to Claim 5, wherein the first random access preamble and the second random access preamble shifted by being based on different root sequences.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 21 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in method claim 7. Therefore method claim 21 corresponds to method claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 7 rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411