DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 12/08/2025 has been entered. Claims 12, 14-17, 20, 23, and 27-31 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 14, 16-17, 23, 27, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0062452), hereinafter "Kim '452", in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0053805), hereinafter “Kim ‘805”, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0191776), hereinafter “Kim ‘776”.
Regarding claims 12, 23, Kim ‘452 teaches:
A method performed by a User Equipment (UE) or a UE, comprising:
at least one processor (see Kim ‘452, par. [0051]: the case where the electronic device 50 is mounted with the edge computing service application may mean that the application installed in the electronic device 50 can be loaded on at least one processor to perform an operation for providing the edge computing service); and
a computer readable storage medium, the computer readable storage medium containing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE (see Kim ‘452, par. [0052]: The edge enabler client 52 may be installed in the memory (not illustrated in the drawing) of the electronic device 50 mounted with the application for being provided with the edge computing service. Further, the edge enabler client 52 may mean that it is loaded on at least one processor instead of the installed application, and is able to perform at least some of operations that are required for the edge computing service application) to
transmit, to a first network function implementing application data management function in a data network, a first message comprising UE information indicating a dynamic UE identifier (ID) (see Kim ‘452, Fig. 3A, par. [0085]: The edge enabler client (EEC) 52 in the user equipment (UE) 50 may provide supportable CN type information to an edge enabler client server (EES) 100 in a registration procedure at operation 300. Accordingly, at operation 302, the EES 100 may check the supportable CN type information provided from the EEC 52. The EES 100 may perform operation 310 for selecting a wireless communication network interworking node that proceeds with operation 312, operation 314, or operation 316 in accordance with the test result at operation 302, and see par. [0090]: the core network type supportable by the UE 50 can be known based on the UE IP address (or source IP address of a packet received from the UE), or a public land mobile network (PLMN) ID being used by the UE 50, or a service set identifier (SSID). The above information can be known through the service provisioning procedure through the edge data network configuration server 30 or the registration procedure between the edge enabler server 100 and the edge enabler client 52 (the corresponding information may be provided by the UE or may be locally configured));
wherein the first network function is implemented in an Edge Enabler Server (EES) (see Kim ‘452, Fig. 3A, par. [0085]: The edge enabler client (EEC) 52 in the user equipment (UE) 50 may provide supportable CN type information to an edge enabler client server (EES) 100 in a registration procedure at operation 300. Accordingly, at operation 302, the EES 100 may check the supportable CN type information provided from the EEC 52. The EES 100 may perform operation 310 for selecting a wireless communication network interworking node that proceeds with operation 312, operation 314, or operation 316 in accordance with the test result at operation 302).
However, Kim ‘452 does not teach:
wherein the first message is in a UE identifier Application Programming Interface (API) request;
receiving, from the first network function, a second message including a static UE identifier (ID) to be exposed
Kim ‘805, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
receiving, from the first network function, a second message including a static UE identifier (ID) to be exposed (see Kim ‘805, Fig. 2, par. [0089]: In step 3, the EES may notify the EEC and EAS of the configured or coordinated relocation mode. In case that the relocation mode is configured differently for each UE, the EES may include information (e.g., UE ID, UE IP address, or EEC ID) capable of identifying the UE or the EEC in the UE; in this case, the EEC receives a message including information on a UE ID (corresponding to a static UE ID)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or UE of Kim ‘452 with the receiving a second message of Kim ‘805 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing overhead and maintaining continuity (see Kim ‘805, par. [0008]).
However, the combination of Kim ‘452 in view of Kim ‘805 does not teach:
wherein the first message is in a UE identifier Application Programming Interface (API) request;
Kim ‘776, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the first message is in a UE identifier Application Programming Interface (API) request (see Kim ‘776, Fig. 5, par. [0183]: the edge enabling layer 113 of the UE 110 may use the information as its own ID for the API request message transmitted to the edge management server 140 or the edge enabling server 210 in the future, and see par. [0188]: the UE 110 may perform a service on-boarding procedure in the edge enabling server 210 to transmit information on an application to be used for the MEC service by the UE in operation 512. According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the UE 110 may use the edge UE ID allocated as its own ID in operation 506 in the messages transmitted to the edge enabling server 210, and see par. [0189]: the edge enabling server 210 may bind the edge UE ID included in the request message transmitted by the UE 110 and the ID address of the UE 110 acquired in an IP packet transmitted by the UE 110 and store the information in the memory 214 in operation 514);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or UE of the combination of Kim ‘452 in view of Kim ‘805 with the API request of Kim ‘776 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maintaining security of UE identifiers (see Kim ‘776, par. [0019]).
Regarding claims 14, 27, the combination of Kim ‘452 in view of Kim ‘805, and further in view of Kim ‘776, teaches the method or UE. Kim ‘452 further teaches:
further comprising:
transmitting, to a second network function, a third message including the static UE ID, for exposing the static UE ID (see Kim ‘452, Fig. 11, par. [0212]: At operation 1102, the message that is transmitted from the EEC 52 to the ECS 30 may be mapped onto the updated UE information, for example, the changed TAC or IMEI may be mapped onto the existing UE ID or EEC ID to be transmitted. The method for notifying the ECS 30 may utilize the service provisioning procedure. For example, whenever the UE type change is detected, the EEC 52 may request the EES information that coincides with the updated UE type by transmitting the service provisioning request message including the UE type information; in this case, IMEI may be transmitted as part of UE ID to an ECS (i.e. second network function)).
Regarding claims 16, 29, the combination of Kim ‘452 in view of Kim ‘805, and further in view of Kim ‘776, teaches the method or UE. Kim ‘452 further teaches:
wherein the static UE ID is an application specific external ID assigned by a third network function in the data network or in a mobile communication network (see Kim ‘452, Fig. 8, pars. [0187-0189]: At operation 802, the ECS 30 may obtain the type information of the UE, for example, the IMEI or the TAC, in interworking with the mobile communication network, for example, the 3GPP network 40, by utilizing the UE ID provided from the EEC 52 of the UE. The interworking method at operation 802 may use one of the following operations. First, the type information of the UE may be stored in, for example, a UE radio capability management function (UCMF) device that is one of network function (NF) devices of the 3GPP network 40. Accordingly, the ECS (30) may transfer the IMEI or the TAC obtained by using the ID of the UE obtained from the UE 50 to the UCMF of the 3GPP network 40 at operation 802a. Then, the UCMF of the 3GPP network 40 may obtain the UE type information of the corresponding UE by using the IMEI or the TAC of the UE 50. Accordingly, the UCMF of the 3GPP network 40 may transfer the IMEI or the TAC of the UE 50 to the ECS 30 together with the UE type information. As another example, the type information of the corresponding UE may be stored in at least one of an access and mobility function (AMF) device of the 3GPP network 40, a policy and charging function device, a unified data management (UDM) device, or a unified data repository (UDR). In this case, the ECS 30 may transfer the IMEI or TAC obtained by using the ID of the UE obtained from the UE 50 to any one of the above-described devices. Then, in the same method as described above, the corresponding network function device may obtain the UE type information of the corresponding UE by using the IMEI or the TAC of the UE 50. Accordingly, the corresponding function device of the 3GPP network 40 may transfer the IMEI or the TAC of the UE 50 to the ECS 30 together with the UE type information; in this case, identification and type information may be received from a 3GPP network device (i.e. third network function)).
Regarding claims 17, 30, the combination of Kim ‘452 in view of Kim ‘805, and further in view of Kim ‘776, teaches the method or UE. Kim ‘452 further teaches:
wherein the first and second messages are sent over an API specific for the first and second messages (see Kim ‘452, par. [0173]: The information that can be obtained through the 3GPP service API mentioned in the disclosure includes all UE related information that can be provided by the 3GPP system. For example, not only the UE location and UE identifier used in the 3GPP system but also information about the network function for servicing the UE, communication service quality (QoS) being provided to the UE, and information about the policy being applied to the UE may be provided to the edge computing service through the corresponding service API).
Claims 15, 20, 28, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘452 in view of Kim ‘805, and further in view of Kim ‘776, as applied to claims 12, 14, 16-17, 23, 27, and 29-30 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2023/0232228), hereinafter “Wu”.
Regarding claims 15, 28, the combination of Kim ‘452 in view of Kim ‘805, and further in view of Kim ‘776, teaches the method or UE. Kim ‘452 further teaches:
wherein the UE information indicates UE Internet Protocol (IP) address (see Kim ‘452, Fig. 3A, par. [0085]: The edge enabler client (EEC) 52 in the user equipment (UE) 50 may provide supportable CN type information to an edge enabler client server (EES) 100 in a registration procedure at operation 300. Accordingly, at operation 302, the EES 100 may check the supportable CN type information provided from the EEC 52. The EES 100 may perform operation 310 for selecting a wireless communication network interworking node that proceeds with operation 312, operation 314, or operation 316 in accordance with the test result at operation 302, and see par. [0090]: the core network type supportable by the UE 50 can be known based on the UE IP address (or source IP address of a packet received from the UE), or a public land mobile network (PLMN) ID being used by the UE 50, or a service set identifier (SSID). The above information can be known through the service provisioning procedure through the edge data network configuration server 30 or the registration procedure between the edge enabler server 100 and the edge enabler client 52 (the corresponding information may be provided by the UE or may be locally configured)).
However, the combination of Kim ‘452 in view of Kim ‘805, and further in view of Kim ‘776, does not teach:
wherein the IP address is assigned in a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session establishment process
Wu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the IP address is assigned in a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session establishment process (see Wu, par. [0117]: after the authorization check on the EEC succeeds, the ECS may determine, based on the application client configuration text information carried in the provisioning request message, EDN configuration information that corresponds to the application client configuration text information. The provisioning response message sent by the ECS to the EEC may carry the EDN configuration information. The EDN configuration information includes EES information, EDN connection information, and the like. The EES information includes the identifier of the EES, and the identifier of the EES may be an FQDN, a URL, an IP address, or the like of the EES. This is not limited. The EDN connection information is used to establish a PDU session between the UE and an EDN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the IP address of the combination of Kim ‘452 in view of Kim ‘805, and further in view of Kim ‘776, with the IP address being assigned in a PDU session establishment process of Wu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing signaling overheads (see Wu, par. [0158]).
Regarding claims 20, 31, the combination of Kim ‘452 in view of Kim ‘805, and further in view of Kim ‘776, teaches the method or UE. Kim ‘452 further teaches:
However, the combination of Kim ‘452 in view of Kim ‘805, and further in view of Kim ‘776, does not teach:
wherein the first and second messages are sent over EDGE-1 reference point between an Edge Enabler Client (EEC) in the UE and the EES.
Wu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the first and second messages are sent over EDGE-1 reference point between an Edge Enabler Client (EEC) in the UE and the EES (see Wu, Fig. 1, par. [0074]: An edge enabler client (EEC) is a peer entity of the EES on the terminal device side. The EEC is configured to register EEC information and AC information with the EES, perform security authentication and authorization, obtain the identifier of the EAS from the EES).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the communication of messages of the combination of Kim ‘452 in view of Kim ‘805, and further in view of Kim ‘776, with the messages being sent over EDGE-1 reference point of Wu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing signaling overheads (see Wu, par. [0158]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 12 and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Huang et al. (US 2022/0104004) teaches a device, located in a core network associated with a radio access network (RAN), may include a processor configured to expose services or capabilities to application servers outside the core network.
Kim et al. (US 2022/0191650) teaches a method and an apparatus for obtaining location information of a terminal in an edge computing system and, more particularly, to a method and an apparatus for obtaining location information of a mobile terminal.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419