DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/5/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not in narrative form and has grammar errors. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
Claims 39-42 are objected to because of the following informalities: The statutory class and scope of the claims are unclear because they can be interpreted as method claims as well as apparatus claims. Examiner suggests explicitly reciting the limitations of the method claims for clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the reference signal" in lines 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the first indication information" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the indication message" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the reference signal" in lines 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-15, 17-19 and 39-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US2022006507 (hereinafter Guan).
Regarding claim 1, 12 and 39-42, Guan discloses a method/UE/device/medium for determining an uplink antenna panel, performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: sending a first indication message to a network device, wherein the first indication message is configured to indicate at least one of a state of at least one uplink antenna panel or a state of at least one uplink beam of the UE (FIG. 8; claims 1-2: details sending, by a terminal device, a notification message, wherein the notification message is used to notify a network device of information about a first radiation intensity of the terminal device when the terminal device uses at least one of a first beam or a first antenna panel; wherein the notification message comprises at least one of information about the second beam or information about the second antenna pane).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Guan discloses wherein the first indication message includes at least one of: a specified trigger condition; a first specified type of uplink antenna panel identifier; a first specified type of uplink beam identifier; a second specified type of uplink antenna panel identifier; a second specified type of uplink beam identifier; a respective measurement value corresponding to each uplink antenna panel identifier; a respective parameter corresponding to each uplink antenna panel identifier; a respective measurement value corresponding to each uplink beam identifier; or a respective parameter corresponding to each uplink beam identifier ([0051]: details the notification message includes one or more of the following: an identifier (ID) of the second beam, an ID of the second antenna panel, an ID of an available antenna panel, an ID of an available beam, an ID of an available beam set, an ID of an unavailable antenna panel, an ID of an unavailable beam, or an ID of an unavailable beam set).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Guan discloses wherein an uplink antenna panel identifier or an uplink beam identifier is at least one of: a specified identifier ([0051]: details the notification message includes one or more of the following: an identifier (ID) of the second beam, an ID of the second antenna panel, an ID of an available antenna panel, an ID of an available beam, an ID of an available beam set, an ID of an unavailable antenna panel, an ID of an unavailable beam, or an ID of an unavailable beam set), an identifier of a corresponding reference signal set, or an identifier of a corresponding reference signal.
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Guan discloses wherein the specified identifier is at least one of: an antenna panel identifier ([0051]: details the notification message includes one or more of the following: an identifier (ID) of the second beam, an ID of the second antenna panel, an ID of an available antenna panel, an ID of an available beam, an ID of an available beam set, an ID of an unavailable antenna panel, an ID of an unavailable beam, or an ID of an unavailable beam set), a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state identifier, or a spatial relationship information identifier, wherein the reference signal is one of: an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS); a downlink channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS); a downlink synchronization signal block SSB; or a downlink positioning reference signal (PRS) (this limitation has no patentable weight because “the reference signal” appears to refer to “a corresponding reference signal” on claim 3 which is claimed in the alternative and not required in this rejection).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Guan discloses determining, based on a specified trigger condition, whether to send the first indication information to the network device; wherein the specified trigger condition is one of: a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) being exceeded ([0135][0155]: details the MPE may also be used to measure whether a radiation intensity of a terminal device exceeds the safety standard), an uplink interference being greater than a first specified value, a remaining power being less than a second specified value, parameters of different antenna panels being different, or a communication transmission being performed with multiple transmission and reception points in the network device.
Regarding claims 7, Guan discloses sending the first indication message to the network device based on a current uplink resource ([0284]: details It should be understood that another uplink resource, for example, a PRACH or a PUCCH, may be used to send the notification message).
Regarding claim 8, Guan discloses sending a resource request to the network device; receiving an indication message returned by the network device; and sending the first indication message to the network device based on an uplink resource indicated by the indication message, wherein the resource request is one of a scheduling request or a random access request ([0200]-[0203]: details The terminal device may send the notification message to the network device… after receiving the notification message, the network device determines, based on the notification message, whether the terminal device can switch the beam and/or the panel used for uplink transmission… the network device may send the response message specific to the notification message to the terminal device. The response message is used to indicate that the terminal device can switch the beam and/or the panel used for uplink transmission. After receiving the response message, the terminal device determines that the beam and/or the panel used for uplink transmission can be switched, that is, uplink transmission can be performed by using the available beam and/or the available panel.).
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Guan discloses wherein the first indication message is one of: an uplink power reporting signaling for sending a power value of the at least one uplink antenna panel or the at least one uplink beam of the UE; a beam measurement result reporting signaling for sending at least one of an uplink power value or a measurement value of the at least one uplink beam of the UE (FIG. 3; [0210]: details The terminal device may send the notification message to the network device, where the notification message is used to notify the terminal device of the information about the radiation intensity. For the information about the radiation intensity, refer to the descriptions in step 310); a channel state information (CSI) measurement result reporting signaling corresponding to the at least one uplink antenna panel or the at least one uplink beam of the UE; an antenna panel capability reporting signaling for sending at least one of a number of uplink antenna panels of the UE, a number of ports supported by each uplink antenna panel, or a number of beams supported by each uplink antenna panel; a scheduling request, wherein a beam used by the scheduling request is a beam corresponding to the at least one uplink antenna panel of the UE; or a random access request message, wherein a beam used by the random access request message for sending a preamble is a beam corresponding to the at least one uplink antenna panel of the UE.
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Guan discloses receiving a second indication message sent by the network device, wherein the second indication message is configured to indicate to the UE at least one of an uplink antenna panel or an uplink beam selected, based on the first indication message, by the network device for the UE (FIG. 8; claims 1-2: details sending, by the terminal device, data by using at least one of a second beam or a second antenna panel, wherein a second radiation intensity of the terminal device when the terminal device sends the data by using the at least one of the second beam or the second antenna panel is less than the first radiation intensity of the terminal device).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sabouri-Sichani (US 2024/0014868) details cell measurement in cellular network.
Yuan (US 2023/0362922) details prioritization of uplink communications via multiple antenna panels.
Chen (US 2023/0344499) details uplink transmission characteristics confirmation.
Fan (US 2023/0189157) details antenna panel management.
Bai (US 2022/0217725) details beam indications for multiple uplink or downlink channels and reference signals.
Zhou (US 2022/0116080) details indicating a panel identifier in reporting received beam.
Zhang (US 2022/0086658) details deviation of resource locations for full duplex beam failure detection.
Zhou (US 2021/0391913) details antenna panel selection for uplink transmission under a MPE limit.
Su (US 2021/0321431) details uplink data are transmitted on selected antenna panel.
/JASPER KWOH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415