DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 67, 71-73, 78 and 82-84 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kong et al. (Kong, US PGPub 2012/0169535).
Referring to Claim 67, Kong teaches detecting a targeted signature ([0088]) over time in a Doppler spread and/or an angular spread associated with a wireless communication device (Fig. 1 #110; [0023]); and based on detecting the targeted signature, detecting a transition (Fig. 3 #302; [0050]) by the wireless communication device between an indoor environment (Fig. 1 #102-2; [0023]) and an outdoor environment (Fig. 1 #102-1; [0023]).
Referring to Claims 71 and 82, Kong teaches wherein said detecting comprises detecting a targeted signature over time in an angular spread associated with the wireless communication device; [0088].
Referring to Claims 72 and 83, Kong teaches wherein the targeted signature over time in the angular spread comprises values of the angular spread changing by at least a threshold amount over the course of a maximum time period; [0050].
Referring to Claims 73 and 84, Kong teaches responsive to detecting the transition, detecting an indoor signature or an outdoor signature over time in the Doppler spread or the angular spread associated with the wireless communication device, and determining whether the wireless communication device is in an indoor environment or an outdoor environment based respectively on whether the indoor signature or the outdoor signature is detected; [0088].
Referring to Claim 78, Kong teaches communication circuitry; and processing circuitry configured to: detect a targeted signature over time in a Doppler spread and/or an angular spread associated with a wireless communication device; and based on detecting the targeted signature, detect a transition by the wireless communication device between an indoor environment and an outdoor environment; see citations of Claim 1 as this is the device equivalent claim and Fig. 1 and 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 68, 76, 77, 79, 85 and 86 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong in view of Tinnakornsrisuphap et al. (Tinnakornsrisuphap, US PGPub 2013/0237245).
Referring to Claims 68 and 79, Kong teaches said detecting but does not explicitly disclose nor limit it comprises detecting a targeted signature over time in a Doppler spread associated with the wireless communication device.
However, Tinnakornsrisuphap teaches detecting a targeted signature over time in a Doppler spread associated with the wireless communication device; [0043].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kong with the Doppler spread measurements as taught by Tinnakornsrisuphap as it is a predictable well known way to determine the location or movement of a device.
Referring to Claims 76 and 85, Kong as modified by Tinnakornsrisuphap teach based on detecting the transition by the wireless communication device between an indoor environment and an outdoor environment: adapting one or more parameters that govern wireless communication to and/or from the wireless communication device; and/or adjusting resources allocated to the wireless communication device; and/or triggering a decision about whether to hand over the wireless communication device between network nodes; See Fig. 3 and [0051] of Tinnakornsrisuphap.
Referring to Claims 77 and 86, Kong as modified by Tinnakornsrisuphap teach wherein the wireless communication equipment is comprised in the wireless communication device and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to report, to a network node, the occurrence of the detected transition and/or a presence of the wireless communication device in the indoor environment or the outdoor environment; See Fig. 4 and associated text of Tinnakornsrisuphap.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 69, 70, 74, 75, 80 and 81 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/WHITNEY MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646