DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/26 have been fully considered.
In view of applicant’s filings and amendments the drawing objections and claim objections are withdrawn.
Applicant argues that Ford’s element 38 functions as a holder and not a sleeve structure as claimed. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ford’s element 38 is a tubular shaped element in which the sample is placed, or in which the sleeve is placed over the sample/ workpiece. This would appear to meet the limitation “a sealing sleeve configured to be sleeved over an outer wall of a workpiece”.
Applicant argues that Ford’s element 32 is not a separate clamping mechanism or of a first pressure applied thereby to the sealing sleeve. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ford’s element 32 is clearly around an outer wall of the sealing sleeve and can provided pressure to element 38. This is interpreted as meeting the claimed limitation.
Applicant further argues that “Ford fails to disclose "a pressing mechanism arranged on the top of the sealing sleeve and configured to provide a second pressure to the sealing sleeve." and “Hence, liner 34 is not disclosed as a pressure-applying member and is not arranged on the top of fixture 38. Accordingly, liner 34 cannot reasonably correspond to the claimed pressing mechanism” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ford’s Liner element 34 has a lip where it is in contact with element 38, and thus is capable of applying some pressure to element 38.
Applicant also argues that “Ford fails to disclose "an inner cavity for containing a chemical reagent is formed inside the pressing mechanism."”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ford’s liner 34 has cavity 33 and is capable of the claimed function of “containing a chemical reagent”.
Finally, applicant argues that Ford fails to disclose two distinct pressure applying structures. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Liner 34 touches element 38 on one side, and element 32 touches element 38 on another side. Both 34 and 32 are in contact with 38, and thus are interpreted as being able to apply pressure.
Consequently, applicant’s arguments regarding Ford are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by GB 2626665 A to Ford.
Regarding claim 1: Ford discloses
1. A sealed cobalt removal tooling (Abstract), comprising:
a sealing sleeve 38 configured to be sleeved over an outer wall of a workpiece 1;
a clamping mechanism (Fig. 3, top of 32 adjacent 38 with threads 39) sleeved over an outer wall of the sealing sleeve and configured to provide a first pressure to the sealing sleeve; and
a pressing mechanism 34 (Figure 3) arranged on a first end of the sealing sleeve and configured to provide a second pressure to the sealing sleeve, wherein an inner cavity 33 for containing a chemical reagent is formed inside the pressing mechanism, and a first end of the workpiece is capable of extending into the inner cavity (Figure 3, POD material 12 of cutting element 1 extends into cavity 33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2626665 A to Ford in view of CN 212713759 U to LI .
Regarding claim 8: Ford discloses the claimed invention except 8. The sealed cobalt removal tooling of claim 1, further comprising an enclosing mechanism, wherein the sealing sleeve, the clamping mechanism, and the pressing mechanism are all located in the enclosing mechanism.
Li teaches a similar device for a similar purpose where multiple fixtures in an enclosure with wheels 600.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Ford and made an enclosure to house multiple fixtures of his apparatus 30 and to have wheels on the enclosure, in view of Li, as it adds convenience “to move the cobalt removing device, further improves the working efficiency.” (2nd to last paragraph of the English translation.)
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2626665 A to Ford..
Regarding claim 11: Ford discloses11. The sealed cobalt removal tooling of claim 1, wherein a first face of the workpiece1 protrudes from a top face of the sealing sleeve (Figure 3). However Ford fails to disclose by a protrusion height of H, where H=600-800 μm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the protrusion height of H, where H=600-800 μm , since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7,9-10, and 12-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN A MACDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674