DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 2/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
No Drawings where submitted with the application. The PGpub (US 20250347176 A1) used drawings from the WIPO publication, which are not in English, and are not consistent with the Figures in the application CN202110086761.3, which is claimed for priority.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the PCT international search report by the CN national intellectual property Administration have been considered, but will not be listed on any patent resulting from this application because they were not provided on a separate list in compliance with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1). In order to have the references printed on such resulting patent, a separate listing, preferably on a PTO/SB/08 form, must be filed within the set period for reply to this Office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 1,3,5-7, 9-11,14, 15 and 17 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1,3,5-7, and 9-11 recite “top” with regard to the sealing sleeve, workpiece, sleeve tube, first arc-shaped groove, second arc-shaped groove, bearing block, pressing mechanism, internally threaded sleeve, and pressing boss. The terms “top” in claims 1,3,5-7, and 9-11 and “bottom” in claims 4,5,7 are relative terms.. Specifically, while “top” and “bottom” might be reasonably understood to be on opposite sides of an object, the top and bottoms of various elements are not understood to have any orientation and would only denote a side, edge or extremity.
Claims 14, 15 and 17 recite a broad limitation followed by “preferably…” with a narrowing the broad limitation. The preferably is interpreted as optional and only informative, and thus is given no patentable weight. If applicant wished to narrow the metes and bounds, narrowing in a dependent claim is recommended. Also note, that a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by GB 2626665 A to Ford.
Regarding claim 1: Ford discloses
1. A sealed cobalt removal tooling (Abstract), characterized by comprising:
a sealing sleeve 38 configured to be sleeved over an outer wall of a workpiece 1;
a clamping mechanism (Fig. 3, top of 32 adjacent 38 with threads 39) sleeved over an outer wall of the sealing sleeve and configured to provide a first pressure to the sealing sleeve; and
a pressing mechanism 34 (Figure 3) arranged on the top of the sealing sleeve and configured to provide a second pressure to the sealing sleeve, wherein an inner cavity 33 for containing a chemical reagent is formed inside the pressing mechanism, and the top of the workpiece is capable of extending into the inner cavity (Figure 3, POD material 12 of cutting element 1 extends into cavity 33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2626665 A to Ford in view of CN 212713759 U to LI .
Regarding claim 8: Ford discloses the claimed invention except 8. The sealed cobalt removal tooling of claim 1, characterized by further comprising an enclosing mechanism, wherein the sealing sleeve, the clamping mechanism, and the pressing mechanism are all located in the enclosing mechanism.
Li teaches a similar device for a similar purpose where multiple fixtures in an enclosure with wheels 600.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Ford and made an enclosure to house multiple fixtures of his apparatus 30 and to have wheels on the enclosure, in view of Li, as it adds convenience “to move the cobalt removing device, further improves the working efficiency.” (2nd to last paragraph of the English translation.)
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2626665 A to Ford..
Regarding claim 11: Ford discloses11. The sealed cobalt removal tooling of claim 1, characterized in that a top face of the workpiece1 protrudes from a top face of the sealing sleeve (Figure 3). However Ford fails to disclose by a protrusion height of H, where H=600-800 μm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the protrusion height of H, where H=600-800 μm , since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7,9-10, and 12-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20120227332 A1 discloses an apparatus for leaching cutters.
US 20100095602 A1 discloses an apparatus for removal of catalysts from diamond materials
US 20130213720 A1 discloses an apparatus for leaching cobalt from polycrystalline diamond ("PCD") cutting tables.
/STEVEN A MACDONALD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674