Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 & 21-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The 112 rejection of claim 10 has been withdrawn as the examiner finds the applicant’s arguments convincing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6-8, 10, 15, 16, 17-19, & 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kulkarni (PGPub 2014/0180075) (Kulkarni).
Regarding Claims 1, 17, & 23, Kulkarni discloses an optical coherence microscopy system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a light source (fig. 1, 105) configured to produce a light beam, wherein the light beam comprises S- polarized light and P-polarized light;
a beamsplitter (106) configured to split the light beam into a reference beam and an object beam (Paragraph 55), wherein the reference beam comprises an S-polarized reference beam component (RS) and a P- polarized reference beam component (RP) and the object beam comprises an S-polarized object beam component (OS) and a P-polarized object beam component (OP) (Paragraph 46). The isolator rotates the polarization of the beam to be at 45° to the orthogonal axis (the P and S polarization planes) and thus will consist of both P and S polarized components which are then split at the beamsplitter into a reference and object beams;
a reference arm including a static phase shifter (109, Paragraph 48), the reference arm configured to receive the reference beam from the beamsplitter, impart a phase shift to at least one of the S-polarized reference beam components or the P-polarized reference beam component via the phase shifter, and return the reference beam to the beamsplitter (paragraph 48). The λ/8 waveplate is applicant’s static phase shifter;
an object arm (103) configured to receive the object beam from the beamsplitter and return the object beam to the beamsplitter;
wherein the beamsplitter is further configured to combine the reference beam returned from the reference arm with the object beam returned from the object arm to output a phase-shifted light beam comprising a plurality of phase-shifted light beam components (Paragraph 56); and
an image sensor (110) configured to simultaneously capture the plurality of phase-shifted light beam components (Paragraph 56). The disclosed image sensor is capable of this thus the limitation is met but it is also performing this function by receiving the interference light.
The limitations of claims 17 & 23 are also met by this disclosure.
Regarding Claim 2, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kulkarni discloses wherein the phase- shifted light beam components comprise multiple distinct phase shifts between the reference beam returned from the reference arm and the object beam returned from the object arm (Paragraphs 48 & 56). The light passing through the λ/8 waveplates and upon reflection back through them meets this limitation.
Regarding Claim 3, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kulkarni discloses wherein the multiple distinct phase shifts are stepped by π/2 (Paragraphs 48 & 56). Passing through a λ/8 waveplate results in a π/2 phase shift.
Regarding Claims 5 & 22, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kulkarni discloses wherein the beamsplitter is a non-polarizing beamsplitter (Paragraph 55).
Regarding Claim 6, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kulkarni discloses wherein the reference arm comprises:
the phase shifter that shifts a phase of at least one of the S-polarized reference beam component or the P-polarized reference beam component (Paragraph 48);
the reference arm further comprises a reference reflector that reflects the reference beam received from the beamsplitter back onto the beamsplitter (Paragraph 48); and
wherein the reference beam firstly passes through the phase shifter, is reflected by the reference reflector, and secondly passes through the phase shifter before exiting the reference arm (Paragraph 48).
Regarding Claim 7, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kulkarni discloses wherein the phase shifter comprises a waveplate (Paragraph 48, λ/8 waveplate).
Regarding Claim 8, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kulkarni discloses wherein the waveplate is a λ /8 waveplate (Paragraph 48).
Regarding Claim 10, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kulkarni discloses wherein the reference reflector comprises a reference mirror (Paragraph 48).
Regarding Claim 15, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kulkarni discloses wherein the light source is an unpolarized light source (Paragraph 58). It is disclosed the light source may be a SLD which is an unpolarized light source.
Regarding Claim 16, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kulkarni discloses wherein the light source comprises a light emitting diode (LED) (Paragraph 58). A SLD light source is a type of LED light source.
Regarding Claim 18, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kulkarni discloses wherein the phase shifter is a waveplate and the reference arm is configured such that the reference beam firstly passes through the waveplate, is reflected by the reference reflector, and secondly passes through the waveplate before exiting the reference arm (Paragraph 48).
Regarding Claim 19, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kulkarni discloses wherein the phase shift comprises a first phase shift imparted when the reference beam firstly passes through the waveplate and a second phase shift imparted when the reference beam secondly passes through the waveplate (Paragraph 48).
Regarding Claim 24, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kulkarni discloses wherein the distinct phase shifts comprise distinct phase shifts stepped by π/2 between the object and the reference beams in at least one of the S- polarization or P-polarization components (Paragraphs 48 & 56).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9, 11-14, & 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulkarni.
Regarding Claim 4, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned. Further, Kulkarni discloses at least 3 three distinct phase shifts, one from the mirror, and two from the two passes through the λ/8 waveplate (Paragraph 48) but fails to explicitly disclose a fourth distinct phase shift;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. This is because the applicant’s distinct fourth phase shift comes from reflection from a beamsplitter prism whereas the art uses a fiber optic beam splitter which may not include a reflection of the light (See Schmoll PGPub 2018/0364025, Paragraph 36);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kulkarni with a fourth distinct phase shift because using bulk optics instead of fiber optics is functionally equivalent and would be done for reasons based on cost or availability of parts.
Regarding Claim 9, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the waveplate is an achromatic waveplate;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kulkarni with wherein the waveplate is an achromatic waveplate because they allow for the use of wideband signals without chromatic error in the phase shift being induced into the measurement.
Regarding Claim 11, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned t fails to explicitly disclose wherein the beamsplitter is configured to impart an additional phase shift to light reflected by the beamsplitter;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. This is because this would be a property of using a beam splitter prism and the beamsplitter imparting an additional phase shift to light reflected by the beam splitter comes an inherent property of reflection of light from a surface and would be part of the function of a beam splitter prism reflecting the light (See Schmoll PGPub 2018/0364025, Paragraph 36);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kulkarni with wherein the beamsplitter is configured to impart an additional phase shift to light reflected by the beamsplitter because using bulk optics instead of fiber optics is functionally equivalent and would be done in for reasons based on cost or availability of parts.
Regarding Claim 12, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned t fails to explicitly disclose wherein the beamsplitter is configured to impart an additional π phase shift to light reflected by the beamsplitter;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. This is because this would be a property of using a beam splitter prism and the beamsplitter imparting an additional phase shift to light reflected by the beam splitter comes an inherent property of reflection of light from a surface and would be part of the function of a beam splitter prism reflecting the light (See Schmoll PGPub 2018/0364025, Paragraph 36);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kulkarni with wherein the beamsplitter is configured to impart an additional π phase shift to light reflected by the beamsplitter because using bulk optics instead of fiber optics is functionally equivalent and would be done in for reasons based on cost or availability of parts.
Regarding Claim 13, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned t fails to explicitly disclose wherein the beamsplitter is configured to: firstly reflect the object beam when splitting the object beam into the object arm, thereby imparting the additional phase shift to the object beam; and firstly transmit the reference beam when splitting the reference beam into the reference arm, thereby not imparting the additional phase shift to the reference beam;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. This is because these steps would be description of using a beam splitter prism and the beamsplitter imparting an additional phase shift to light reflected by the beam splitter comes an inherent property of reflection of light from a surface and would be part of the function of a beam splitter prism reflecting the light (See Schmoll PGPub 2018/0364025, Paragraph 36);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kulkarni with wherein the beamsplitter is configured to: firstly reflect the object beam when splitting the object beam into the object arm, thereby imparting the additional phase shift to the object beam; and firstly transmit the reference beam when splitting the reference beam into the reference arm, thereby not imparting the additional phase shift to the reference beam because using bulk optics instead of fiber optics is functionally equivalent and would be done in for reasons based on cost or availability of parts.
Regarding Claim 14, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned t fails to explicitly disclose wherein the beamsplitter is configured to: split the object beam returned from the object arm into a first object beam part and a second object beam part, wherein the first object beam part is transmitted by the beamsplitter and the second object beam part is reflected by the beamsplitter thereby accruing the additional phase shift; and split the reference beam returned from the reference arm into a first reference beam part and a second reference beam part, wherein the first reference beam part is reflected by the beam splitter thereby accruing the additional phase shift and the second reference beam part is transmitted by the beamsplitter;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. This is because these steps would be description of using a beam splitter prism and the beamsplitter imparting an additional phase shift to light reflected by the beam splitter comes an inherent property of reflection of light from a surface and would be part of the function of a beam splitter prism reflecting the light (See Schmoll PGPub 2018/0364025, Paragraph 36);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kulkarni with wherein the beamsplitter is configured to: split the object beam returned from the object arm into a first object beam part and a second object beam part, wherein the first object beam part is transmitted by the beamsplitter and the second object beam part is reflected by the beamsplitter thereby accruing the additional phase shift; and split the reference beam returned from the reference arm into a first reference beam part and a second reference beam part, wherein the first reference beam part is reflected by the beam splitter thereby accruing the additional phase shift and the second reference beam part is transmitted by the beamsplitter because using bulk optics instead of fiber optics is functionally equivalent and would be done in for reasons based on cost or availability of parts.
Regarding Claim 21, Kulkarni discloses the aforementioned t fails to explicitly disclose wherein the beamsplitter is configured to impart an additional phase shift to the reference beam when the reference beam is reflected by the beamsplitter;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. This is because this would be a property of using a beam splitter prism and the beamsplitter imparting an additional phase shift to light reflected by the beam splitter comes an inherent property of reflection of light from a surface and would be part of the function of a beam splitter prism reflecting the light (See Schmoll PGPub 2018/0364025, Paragraph 36);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kulkarni with wherein the beamsplitter is configured to impart an additional phase shift to the reference beam when the reference beam is reflected by the beamsplitter because using bulk optics instead of fiber optics is functionally equivalent and would be done in for reasons based on cost or availability of parts.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 March 16, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877