DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed December 31, 2025. Claims 1-9 and 11-16 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-12, 14-17, and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2023/0111427, “Zhang”) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0171652, “Zhang #2”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a method by a master node, MN (FIG. 10, MN 1004), comprises:
transmitting, to a target secondary node, T-SN (FIG. 10, T-SN_1 1008), a request message requesting the addition or modification of the T-SN, the request message comprising a Secondary Node, SN change request from a source SN ((FIG. 10, message S210, [0205] “the MN 1004 may initiate/trigger the SN change by sending a request to the target SN 1008 (210)” It is understood “SN change” means “a change from the source SN to the target SN” as indicated in [0021]), {the request message indicating: a number of requested primary secondary cells, PSCells, to be configured by the T-SN}; and
receiving, from the T-SN, an indication of a plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations to configure for a wireless device (FIG. 10, message S220, [0206] “The target SN 1008 may send/transmit a SN addition request acknowledge (or other messages) to the MN 1004 (220). The SN addition request acknowledge may include the identification information of the target PSCell (e.g., PSCell frequency, PSCell frequency and PCI, CGI, and/or other information)”).
Zhang does not teach the request message indicating: a number of requested primary secondary cells, PSCells, to be configured by the T-SN.
Zhang #2 teaches the request message indicating: a number of requested primary secondary cells, PSCells, to be configured by the T-SN ([0164] “the MN 602 send/transmit a CPAC modification request message (or other messages) to the target SN 606 (820). The message may provide a request to modify the CPAC configuration for one or more candidate PSCells. The message may include the measurement results related to the target SN 606, the source SCG configuration, the identification information of the PSCell to be modified (e.g., frequency, frequency and PCI, and/or CGI) and/or other information.” [0167] “The MN 702 may send a SN addition request message (or other messages) to the target SN 706 (930). The message may provide a request for a novel CPAC configuration for the related PSCell. The message may include the identification information of the PSCell to be added/modified.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature the request message indicating: a number of requested primary secondary cells, PSCells, to be configured by the T-SN, as taught by Zhang #2 in Zhang for Improving mobility reliability.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Zhang #2 teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations does not exceed the number of requested PSCells to be configured by the T-SN and/or a maximum number of PSCells to be configured by the T-SN ([0075] “The MN may indicate/specify/provide the maximum number of cells allowed to be configured as candidate cells for the CPAC procedure to the SN”. “Maximum number of cells allowed to be configured as candidate cells” indicates that number of candidate cells has to be fewer or equal to the maximum number).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Zhang #2 teaches claim 1 and further teaches selecting at least one of the plurality of target PSCell configurations for configuration for the wireless device ([0208] “the MN 1004 may send a RRCReconfiguration message (or other messages) including the CPAC configuration to the wireless communication device 1002 (250). The CPAC configuration may include at least the configuration of the candidate PSCell”).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Zhang #2 teaches claim 1 and further teaches selecting a number of target candidate PSCell configurations from the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations, and wherein the number of target candidate PSCell configurations does not exceed a maximum number of target candidate PSCell configurations ([0075] “The MN may indicate/specify/provide the maximum number of cells allowed to be configured as candidate cells for the CPAC procedure to the SN”. “Maximum number of cells allowed to be configured as candidate cells” indicates that number of candidate cells has to be fewer or equal to the maximum number).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang view of Zhang #2 teaches claim 1 and further teaches but does not teach wherein a number of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations exceeds a maximum number of target PSCell configurations, and the method further comprises cancelling at least one of the target candidate PSCell configurations.
It should be noted Zhang teaches [0016] “the target SN may receive a message from the MN indicating to modify or cancel the CPAC configuration for the one or more candidate PSCells, which includes identification information about the one or more candidate PSCells to be modified or canceled.” It should also be noted Zhang’s statement “the MN 1004 may include an indication in the message to specify the maximum number of candidate PSCells to be configured by the target SN 1008” (see [0205]) is open to the possibility the indication in the message to specify the maximum number of candidate PSCells to be configured may not be included in the request. In such case, the acknowledgment message may include the number of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations exceeds a maximum number of target PSCell configurations. Clearly the cancelled cells are not needed.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein a number of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations exceeds a maximum number of target PSCell configurations, and the method further comprises cancelling at least one of the target candidate PSCell configurations, in Zhang to remove number of cells that are not needed.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang view of Zhang #2 teaches claim 7 and further teaches transmitting, to the SN, an indication of the at least one of the target candidate PSCell configurations that is cancelled ([0016] “the target SN may receive a message from the MN indicating to modify or cancel the CPAC configuration for the one or more candidate PSCells, which includes identification information about the one or more candidate PSCells to be modified or canceled”).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang view of Zhang #2 teaches claim 8 and further teaches further comprising transmitting at least one measurement, and wherein each measurement is associated with a cell ([0017] “the target SN may receive measurement results from the MN related to the target SN, wherein the target SN determines whether to modify or cancel a CPAC configuration for one or more candidate PSCells according to measurement results related to the target SN”).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches a method by a target secondary node, T-SN (FIG. 10 – T-SN_1), comprises:
receiving, from a master node, MN, a request message requesting the addition or modification of the T-SN, the request message comprising a Secondary Node, SN, change request from a source SN (FIG. 10, message S210, [0205] “the MN 1004 may initiate/trigger the SN change by sending a request to the target SN 1008 (210)” It is understood “SN change” means “a change from the source SN to the target SN” as indicated in [0021]), {the request message indicating at least one of: a number of requested primary secondary cells, PSCells, to be configured by the T-SN};
in response to the message, transmitting, to the MN, an indication of a plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations to configure for a wireless device (FIG. 10, message S220, [0206] “The target SN 1008 may send/transmit a SN addition request acknowledge (or other messages) to the MN 1004 (220). The SN addition request acknowledge may include the identification information of the target PSCell (e.g., PSCell frequency, PSCell frequency and PCI, CGI, and/or other information)”).
Zhang does not teach the request message indicating: a number of requested primary secondary cells, PSCells, to be configured by the T-SN.
Zhang #2 teaches the request message indicating: a number of requested primary secondary cells, PSCells, to be configured by the T-SN ([0164] “the MN 602 send/transmit a CPAC modification request message (or other messages) to the target SN 606 (820). The message may provide a request to modify the CPAC configuration for one or more candidate PSCells. The message may include the measurement results related to the target SN 606, the source SCG configuration, the identification information of the PSCell to be modified (e.g., frequency, frequency and PCI, and/or CGI) and/or other information.” [0167] “The MN 702 may send a SN addition request message (or other messages) to the target SN 706 (930). The message may provide a request for a novel CPAC configuration for the related PSCell. The message may include the identification information of the PSCell to be added/modified.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature the request message indicating: a number of requested primary secondary cells, PSCells, to be configured by the T-SN, as taught by Zhang #2 in Zhang for Improving mobility reliability.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of Zhang #2 teaches claim 11 and further teaches wherein the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations does not exceed the number of requested PSCells to be configured by the T-SN and/or a maximum number of PSCells to be configured by the T-SN ([0075] “The MN may indicate/specify/provide the maximum number of cells allowed to be configured as candidate cells for the CPAC procedure to the SN”. “Maximum number of cells allowed to be configured as candidate cells” indicates that number of candidate cells has to be fewer or equal to the maximum number).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang in view of Zhang #2 teaches claim 11 and further teaches receiving from the MN a message cancelling at least one of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations ([0016] “the target SN may receive a message from the MN indicating to modify or cancel the CPAC configuration for the one or more candidate PSCells, which includes identification information about the one or more candidate PSCells to be modified or canceled”).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in view of Zhang #2 teaches claim 14 and further teaches wherein the at least one of the target candidate PSCell configurations that is cancelled is associated with at least one lower priority value ([0016] “the target SN may receive a message from the MN indicating to modify or cancel the CPAC configuration for the one or more candidate PSCells, which includes identification information about the one or more candidate PSCells to be modified or canceled.” It is understood since being canceled, the cells are considered low priority).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang in view of Zhang #2 teaches claim 11 and further teaches wherein the request message comprises at least one measurement, and wherein each measurement is associated with a cell ([0017] “the target SN may receive measurement results from the MN related to the target SN, wherein the target SN determines whether to modify or cancel a CPAC configuration for one or more candidate PSCells according to measurement results related to the target SN”).
Regarding claim 30, Zhang teaches a master node, MN (FIG. 10, MN 1004), adapted to:
transmit, to a target secondary node, T-SN, a request message requesting the addition or modification of the T-SN, the request message comprising a Secondary Node, SN change request from a source SN ((FIG. 10, message S210, [0205] “the MN 1004 may initiate/trigger the SN change by sending a request to the target SN 1008 (210)” It is understood “SN change” means “a change from the source SN to the target SN” as indicated in [0021]), {the message indicating: a number of requested PSCells to be configured by the T-SN}; and
receive, from the T-SN, an indication of a plurality of target candidate primary secondary cell (PSCell) configurations to configure for a wireless device (FIG. 10, message S220, [0206] “The target SN 1008 may send/transmit a SN addition request acknowledge (or other messages) to the MN 1004 (220). The SN addition request acknowledge may include the identification information of the target PSCell (e.g., PSCell frequency, PSCell frequency and PCI, CGI, and/or other information)”).
Zhang does not teach the request message indicating: a number of requested primary secondary cells, PSCells, to be configured by the T-SN.
Zhang #2 teaches the request message indicating: a number of requested primary secondary cells, PSCells, to be configured by the T-SN ([0164] “the MN 602 send/transmit a CPAC modification request message (or other messages) to the target SN 606 (820). The message may provide a request to modify the CPAC configuration for one or more candidate PSCells. The message may include the measurement results related to the target SN 606, the source SCG configuration, the identification information of the PSCell to be modified (e.g., frequency, frequency and PCI, and/or CGI) and/or other information.” [0167] “The MN 702 may send a SN addition request message (or other messages) to the target SN 706 (930). The message may provide a request for a novel CPAC configuration for the related PSCell. The message may include the identification information of the PSCell to be added/modified.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature the request message indicating: a number of requested primary secondary cells, PSCells, to be configured by the T-SN, as taught by Zhang #2 in Zhang for Improving mobility reliability.
Regarding claim 31, Zhang in view of Zhang #2 teaches claim 30 and further teaches wherein the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations does not exceed the number of requested PSCells to be configured by the T-SN and/or a maximum number of PSCells to be configured by the T-SN ([0075] “The MN may indicate/specify/provide the maximum number of cells allowed to be configured as candidate cells for the CPAC procedure to the SN”. “Maximum number of cells allowed to be configured as candidate cells” indicates that number of candidate cells has to be fewer or equal to the maximum number).
Regarding claim 32, Zhang teaches a target secondary node, T-SN (FIG. 10 – T-SN_1), adapted to:
receive, from a master node, MN, a request message requesting the addition or modification of the target secondary node, the request message comprising a Secondary Node, SN change request from a source SN (FIG. 10, message S210, [0205] “the MN 1004 may initiate/trigger the SN change by sending a request to the target SN 1008 (210)” It is understood “SN change” means “a change from the source SN to the target SN” as indicated in [0021]) {the request message indicating at least one of: a number of requested PSCells to be configured by the T-SN}; and a maximum number of PSCells to be configured by the T-SN;
in response to the message, transmit, to the MN, an indication of a plurality of target candidate primary secondary cell, PSCell, configurations to configure for a wireless device (FIG. 10, message S220, [0206] “The target SN 1008 may send/transmit a SN addition request acknowledge (or other messages) to the MN 1004 (220). The SN addition request acknowledge may include the identification information of the target PSCell (e.g., PSCell frequency, PSCell frequency and PCI, CGI, and/or other information)”).
Zhang does not teach the request message indicating: a number of requested primary secondary cells, PSCells, to be configured by the T-SN.
Zhang #2 teaches the request message indicating: a number of requested primary secondary cells, PSCells, to be configured by the T-SN ([0164] “the MN 602 send/transmit a CPAC modification request message (or other messages) to the target SN 606 (820). The message may provide a request to modify the CPAC configuration for one or more candidate PSCells. The message may include the measurement results related to the target SN 606, the source SCG configuration, the identification information of the PSCell to be modified (e.g., frequency, frequency and PCI, and/or CGI) and/or other information.” [0167] “The MN 702 may send a SN addition request message (or other messages) to the target SN 706 (930). The message may provide a request for a novel CPAC configuration for the related PSCell. The message may include the identification information of the PSCell to be added/modified.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature the request message indicating: a number of requested primary secondary cells, PSCells, to be configured by the T-SN, as taught by Zhang #2 in Zhang for Improving mobility reliability.
Claims 4, 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Zhang #2 and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2020/0389823, “Xu”).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang view of Zhang #2 teaches claim 3 but fails to teach wherein selecting the at least one of the plurality of target PSCell configuration comprises: for each of the plurality of target PSCell configurations, determining a respective priority value; and selecting the at least one of the plurality of target PSCell configurations based on the respective priority values.
Xu teaches wherein selecting the at least one of the plurality of target PSCell configuration comprises: for each of the plurality of target PSCell configurations, determining a respective priority value; and selecting the at least one of the plurality of target PSCell configurations based on the respective priority values ([0114] “the source secondary node transmits a secondary node change request message to a master node. The secondary node change request message may include at least one of the followings. ” [0118] “Identities (IDs) of target secondary nodes: The IDs of target secondary nodes may be recommended/determined based on the decision of the source secondary node. The IDs of target secondary nodes may be realized by list of cell ID. The cell may correspond to one cell of the node. The list of cell IDs may be ranked based on the measurement report regarding the radio quality. The list of cell IDs may be ranked from high to low or from low to high. In this way, the master node can make a decision on selecting the proper target secondary node”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein selecting the at least one of the plurality of target PSCell configuration comprises: for each of the plurality of target PSCell configurations, determining a respective priority value; and selecting the at least one of the plurality of target PSCell configurations based on the respective priority values, as taught by Xu in Zhang to provide service with in a more optimized condition and utilization of radio resources of the master and secondary nodes may be improved.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang view of Zhang #2 teaches claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the indication of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations comprises a prioritized listing of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations, and the method further comprises selecting the at least one of the plurality of target PSCell configurations based on the prioritized listing.
Xu teaches wherein the indication of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations comprises a prioritized listing of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations, and the method further comprises selecting the at least one of the plurality of target PSCell configurations based on the prioritized listing ([0114] “the source secondary node transmits a secondary node change request message to a master node. The secondary node change request message may include at least one of the followings. ” [0118] “Identities (IDs) of target secondary nodes: The IDs of target secondary nodes may be recommended/determined based on the decision of the source secondary node. The IDs of target secondary nodes may be realized by list of cell ID. The cell may correspond to one cell of the node. The list of cell IDs may be ranked based on the measurement report regarding the radio quality. The list of cell IDs may be ranked from high to low or from low to high. In this way, the master node can make a decision on selecting the proper target secondary node”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the indication of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations comprises a prioritized listing of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations, and the method further comprises selecting the at least one of the plurality of target PSCell configurations based on the prioritized listing, as taught by Xu in Zhang to provide service with in a more optimized condition and utilization of radio resources of the master and secondary nodes may be improved.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang view of Zhang #2 teaches claim 11 but fails to teach wherein the indication of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations comprises at least one of: an indication a priority of each of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations, and a prioritized listing of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations.
Xu teaches wherein the indication of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations comprises at least one of: an indication a priority of each of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations, and a prioritized listing of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations ([0114] “the source secondary node transmits a secondary node change request message to a master node. The secondary node change request message may include at least one of the followings. ” [0118] “Identities (IDs) of target secondary nodes: The IDs of target secondary nodes may be recommended/determined based on the decision of the source secondary node. The IDs of target secondary nodes may be realized by list of cell ID. The cell may correspond to one cell of the node. The list of cell IDs may be ranked based on the measurement report regarding the radio quality. The list of cell IDs may be ranked from high to low or from low to high. In this way, the master node can make a decision on selecting the proper target secondary node”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the indication of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations comprises at least one of: an indication a priority of each of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations, and a prioritized listing of the plurality of target candidate PSCell configurations, as taught by Xu in Zhang to provide service with in a more optimized condition and utilization of radio resources of the master and secondary nodes may be improved.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 31, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1, Applicant argues “Zhang does not teach… the request message comprising a Secondary Node, SN, change request from a source SN” (page 9)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang teaches request to trigger the SN change (paragraph [0205] “the MN 1004 may initiate/trigger the SN change by sending a request to the target SN 1008 (210)”) Throughout the publication, SN change means “a change from the source SN to the target SN” (paragraph [0021] “The MN may send an indication that a change from the source SN to the target SN”). Therefore, the Examiner submits Zhang teaches the feature limitation the request message comprising a Secondary Node, SN, change request from a source SN.
Regarding the limitation the request message indicating: a number of requested primary secondary cells, PSCells, to be configured by the T-SN, the Examiner submits Zhang #2 teaches the limitation at least in paragraphs [0164], and [00167] (see the rejection above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUOC THAI N VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642