Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the pending claims, applicant argues that 3GPP fails to teach and the error relating to the routing of the UE for the service selected from a group comprising: the UE has subscribed the service but a subservice of the service is barred; the UE has subscribed the service but a subservice of the service is not provisioned; and the UE has subscribed the service but the UE is unreachable for the service. Examiner respectfully traverses this argument.
Examiner notes that the phrase selected from a group comprising is not closed ended, and therefor is not believed to constitute a Markush group. For this reason, it is the examiner’s belief that 3GPP or other prior art needs to teach just one of these elements for the limitation as a whole to be met. 3GPP is believed to teach and the UE has subscribed the service but the UE is unreachable for the service (see “Reason for change”, “Summary of change” and 5.3.2.5.5, 5.3.2.5.6 and 6.2.7.3, “UE reachability”/“USER NOT FOUND” may be a cause of error even if user has subscribed to service).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-21, 23 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Applicant submitted NPL titled “Definition of missing error conditions in SMSF registration information retrieval” (herein referred to as 3GPP).
As to claims 1 and 25, 3GPP teaches a first network function (NF Service Consumer that may be an NEF, see “Reason for change”), comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor the memory containing instructions executable by the processor, whereby the first network function is operative to:
send a first request to a second network function, the first request requesting to receive at least one registration data set for a service for a user equipment, UE (Get request for SmsfRegistration information, see 5.3.2.5.5, 5.3.2.5.6 and 6.2.7.3);
receive a first response from the second network function (Get response from UDM, see 5.3.2.5.5, 5.3.2.5.6 and 6.2.7.3);
when there is an error related to routing of the UE for the service, the first response comprising a status code indicating the error related to routing of the UE for the service; and when there is no the error related to routing of the UE for the service, the first response comprising the at least one registration data set for the service for the UE (Get response can comprise SmsfRegistration data or if there is a detected error due to various causes, the Get response can comprises an HTTP status code indicating the error, see “Reason for change”, “Summary of change” and 5.3.2.5.5, 5.3.2.5.6 and 6.2.7.3); and
the error relating to the routing of the UE for the service selected from a group comprising: the UE has subscribed the service but a subservice of the service is barred; the UE has subscribed the service but a subservice of the service is not provisioned; and the UE has subscribed the service but the UE is unreachable for the service (see “Reason for change”, “Summary of change” and 5.3.2.5.5, 5.3.2.5.6 and 6.2.7.3, “UE reachability”/“USER NOT FOUND” may be a cause of error even if user has subscribed to service).
As to claims 11 and 27, 3GPP teaches second network function (UDM, see “Reason for change”), comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory containing instructions executable by the processor, whereby the second network function is operative to:
receive a first request from a first network function, wherein the first request requests to receive at least one registration data set for a service for a UE (user equipment) (Get request for SmsfRegistration information, see 5.3.2.5.5, 5.3.2.5.6 and 6.2.7.3);
determine whether there is an error related to routing of the UE for the service; send a first response to the first network function (Get response can comprise SmsfRegistration data or if there is a detected error due to various causes, the Get response can comprises an HTTP status code indicating the error, see “Reason for change”, “Summary of change” and 5.3.2.5.5, 5.3.2.5.6 and 6.2.7.3);
when there is the error related to routing of the UE for the service, the first response comprising a status code indicating the error related to routing of the UE for the service; and when there is ne not the error related to routing of the UE for the service, the first response comprising the at least one registration data set for the service for the UE (Get response can comprise SmsfRegistration data or if there is a detected error due to various causes, the Get response can comprises an HTTP status code indicating the error, see “Reason for change”, “Summary of change” and 5.3.2.5.5, 5.3.2.5.6 and 6.2.7.3); and
the error relating to the routing of the UE for the service selected from a group comprising: the UE has subscribed the service but a subservice of the service is barred; the UE has subscribed the service but a subservice of the service is not provisioned; and the UE has subscribed the service but the UE is unreachable for the service (see “Reason for change”, “Summary of change” and 5.3.2.5.5, 5.3.2.5.6 and 6.2.7.3, “UE reachability”/“USER NOT FOUND” may be a cause of error even if user has subscribed to service).
As to paragraphs 2, 12, 26 and 28, 3GPP further teaches wherein the status code indicating an error related to routing of the UE for the service comprises 404 Not Found of HTTP status code with a cause attribute to indicate the UE being short message service function (SMSF) registered but short message service (SMS) waiting data status indicates that the UE is not reachable for SMS. (see “Reason for change”, “Summary of change” and 5.3.2.5.5, 5.3.2.5.6 and 6.2.7.3, “UE reachability”/“USER NOT FOUND” may be the indicated cause of error even if user is registered for SMSF but not reachable for SMS).
As to paragraphs 3 and 13, 3GPP further teaches wherein the error related to routing of the UE for the service is determined based on: the subscription data of the service of the UE; and the management subscription data of the service of the UE (see “Reason for change”, “Summary of change” and 5.3.2.5.5, 5.3.2.5.6 and 6.2.7.3, whether the user/UE has subscribed to the service [~subscription data] and whether the subscriber is barred from said service [~management subscription data] determines if there is an error).
As to paragraphs 4 and 14, 3GPP further teaches wherein the subservice of the service comprises at least one of: mobile terminated service; or mobile originated service (claims 3 and 13 establish “subservice” as an optional alternative to “UE has subscribed the service but the UE is not reachable for the service” which is already addressed by 3GPP).
As to paragraphs 5 and 15, 3GPP further teaches wherein the service comprises short message service (see “Reason for change”, “Summary of change” and 5.3.2.5.5, 5.3.2.5.6 and 6.2.7.3, service may be SMS).
As to paragraphs 6 and 16, 3GPP further teaches wherein the at least one registration data set for the service for the UE comprises at least one of: the UE's SMSF (Short Message Service Function), registration information for 3GPP (third Generation Partnership Project), access; or the UE's SMSF registration information for non-3GPP access (see “Reason for change”, “Summary of change” and 5.3.2.5.5, 5.3.2.5.6 and 6.2.7.3, GET request can be for SmsfRegistration information in 3gpp or non-3gpp access network).
As to paragraphs 7 and 17, 3GPP further teaches when the error related to routing of the UE for the service indicates that the UE has subscribed the service but the UE is not reachable for the service, receiving a second request from the first network function, wherein the second request requests to alert a function of the service when the UE is reachable for the service; and sending an alerting message indicating that the UE is reachable for the service to the function of the service (see “Reason for change”, if UE is determined to be unreachable, the NF may subscribe to notifications from UDM to be notified when UE is available).
As to paragraphs 8 and 18, 3GPP further teaches wherein the first network function comprises at least one of: SMS-GMSC (Short Message Service-Gateway Mobile Switching Centre) IP-SM-GW(Internet protocol-Short Message-Gateway); SMS-router (Short Message Service Router);SCEF (Service Capability Exposure Function) or NEF (Network Exposure Function) (NF Service Consumer that may be an NEF, see “Reason for change”).
As to paragraphs 9 and 19, 3GPP further teaches wherein the second network function comprises at least one of: UDM (unified data management); HSS (home subscriber server) or HLR (home location register) (UDM, see “Reason for change”).
As to paragraphs 10 and 20, 3GPP further teaches wherein the first request is an HTTP GET request and the first response is an HTTP GET response (see 5.3.2.5.5 and 5.3.2.5.6).
As to paragraph 21, 3GPP further teaches determining whether there is an error related to routing of the UE for the service comprises: obtaining subscription data of the service of the UE, wherein the subscription data of the service of the UE comprises subscription information regarding whether the UE has subscribed the service; obtaining management subscription data of the service of the UE, wherein the management subscription data of the service of the UE comprises subscription information regarding whether the UE has subscribed a subservice of the service and/or a barring control policy; and determining whether there is an error related to routing of the UE for the service based on the subscription data of the service of the UE and the management subscription data of the service of the UE (see “Reason for change”, “Summary of change” and 5.3.2.5.5, 5.3.2.5.6 and 6.2.7.3, error detection requires checking to see if the UE has subscribed for the service and also checking to see if the UE is barred from that service based on their current context).
As to paragraph 23, 3GPP further teaches wherein determining whether there is an error related to routing of the UE for the service comprises: obtaining registration data of a function of the service for the UE;obtaining waiting status data of the service for the UE, wherein the waiting status data of the service for the UE comprises information regarding whether the UE is reachable for the service; and determining whether there is an error related to routing of the UE for the service based on the registration data of the function of the service for the UE and the waiting status data of the service for the UE (see “Reason for change”, “Summary of change” and 5.3.2.5.5, 5.3.2.5.6 and 6.2.7.3, error detection requires checking to see if the UE is currently reachable and also knowing their registration status for SMSF).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of US 2020/0053083 (Kunz et al.).
As to claim 22, what is lacking from 3GPP is wherein at least one of the subscription data of the service of the UE and the management subscription data of the service of the UE is obtained from UDR (Unified Data Repository).
In analogous art, Kunz teaches a UDM/UDR storing service subscription data for a UE (see Kunz, paragraph 80).
It would have been obvious to apply this teaching to 3GPP, so as to reduce the storage burden on UDMs.
As to claim 24, what is lacking from 3GPP is wherein at least one of the registration data of the function of the service for the UE and the waiting status data of the service for the UE is obtained from UDR.
In analogous art, Kunz teaches a UDM/UDR storing service registration for a UE (see Kunz, paragraph 80).
It would have been obvious to apply this teaching to 3GPP, so as to reduce the storage burden on UDMs.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641