Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, “the magnetic clutch,” lacks antecedent basis, as “a magnetic clutch” has not been previously introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeyama, et. al. (US2020144636A1), in view of Kühne, et. al. (US2017069937A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Takeyama teaches a conveying apparatus for media in a fuel cell system (fuel cell 20) having a drive machine (motor chamber 56), via which at least one conveying device for air (“[0020]the compressor 320 is driven by a compressor motor 350 to compress the air and supply the compressed air through the oxidizing gas supply pipe 330 to the cathode-side flow path of the fuel cell 20”) and at least one conveying device for recirculated anode exhaust gas (hydrogen pump 290 and fuel gas recirculation pipe 240) are driven via at least one cooling medium pump (cooling medium pump 525) Takeyama at [0018 -22], Fig. 1.
As presented within Takeyama, the cooling medium pump 525 and the compressor motor 350 (and thereby the rotor 41 which comprises the motor) are not connected; the medium pumps’ drive mechanism is not disclosed.
Fig. 1 of Takeyama.
Kühne teaches a thermal management system which may be used for “[0003] high-temperature battery modules,” wherein each fluid energy machine has a drive unit and a transport unit, “[0010] which are each coupled to the other for the purpose of transmitting a rotational force, “ which are “[0033] According to an embodiment of the invention, it is provided that the drive unit and the transport unit are coupled to each other by means of at least one magnetic coupling, in particular by means of two magnetic couplings . . . pressure shocks that propagate, in particular, in the fluid line, or rapid flow variations are transmitted only in damped form to the thermofluid in the module(s). In particular, such a decoupling proves to be very advantageous if structural elements liable to sustain damage under mechanical load are provided in the module . . . the drive unit, for instance, can easily be removed from the magnetic coupling in order to replace it.” Further, Kühne teaches a benefit to “[0019] For the purpose of generating a fluid stream in the fluid line of the at least partly external fluid circuit, the latter typically has a pump to generate the fluid stream. Thus, advantageously, only one central energizing unit, for example the pump, which is connected to the fluid circuit, is required to supply energy to a plurality of modules. This reduces the complexity and the number of structural elements and components for an individual thermal management system in the individual modules.” To restate paragraph [0019], it is beneficial to be able to utilize a single drive machine to power multiple modules (or indeed components) in terms of complexity.
However, Kühne’s magnetic coupling and drive machine are not utilized within a fuel cell apparatus.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the fuel cell, and particularly the drive machine of Takeyama, such that the rotor 41 is “directly coupled” to the cooling medium pump 525, and such that that the cooling medium pump 525 is magnetically coupled to the one of the conveying devices (in this modification, the fuel gas recirculation pipe 240 and its hydrogen pump 290) by way of the magnetic couplings of Kühne, and the drive machine or the conveying device is magnetically coupled to the other conveying device (the compressor 320), because Kühne teaches a benefit to reduced complexity, protection of the components from mechanical damage (i.e. via friction), and an ability to connect multiple components (i.e., connecting the coolant pump and conveying devices) to the same drive machine.
Claim 1 is obvious over Takeyama, in view of Kühne.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Takeyama.
Takeyama teaches the conveying device for the air is designed as a flow compressor (compressor 320). Takeyama at [0034], Fig. 1.
Claim 2 is obvious over Takeyama, in view of Kühne.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Takeyama.
Takeyama teaches a pump 290 which serves to “pressurize the fuel gas for the purpose of fuel gas.” Takeyama at [0018]. However, this is not a fan. In addition to the pump in the cooling system 500, a fan is disposed upon the radiator 530 to “accelerate heat release from the radiator.” Id. at [0023]. However, there is a space between the hydrogen pump 290 and the gas liquid separator 280 in Fig. 1.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the fuel cell system and conveying device of modified Takeyama, such that the conveying device for the recirculation of anode exhaust gas is designed as a recirculation fan disposed between the hydrogen pump 290 and the gas liquid separator 280 to accelerate the recirculation of exhaust gas, because the use of a fan is taught to provide a benefit to the acceleration the movement of gas by Takeyama, and logically this would accelerate recirculation in the same manner.
Claim 3 is obvious over Takeyama, in view of Kühne.
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Takeyama.
Takeyama teaches “[0031] A speed-up gear having a first gear 43 and a second gear 44 is placed in the speed-up chamber 57 . . . Engagement of the first gear 43 with the second gear 44 causes the rotational force of the first rotating shaft 40 to be transmitted to the second rotating shaft 45 . As a result, this causes the second rotating shaft 45 to rotate at a higher speed than the first rotating shaft 40.” Takeyama at [0031].
In terms of the meaning of “speed matching,” the present specification explains, “[p.1] The required speeds and delivery rates are matched via appropriate speed step-up and/or step-down devices, i.e. gears, and, if necessary, the individual units are switched on and switched off for the drive by the one drive unit. . . . a gear for speed matching is provided in the area of the cooling medium pump and/or one of the conveying devices. It is preferably the case that the gear is arranged on the motor side or in the area of the cooling medium pump and the speed that has already been stepped up is then transmitted via the magnetic clutch to the compressor wheel and/or the fan wheel of the respective conveying device.” In other words, a “gear for speed matching” includes a gear which “steps up” or “steps down” the speed of a rotating shaft. This indicates the gears of Takeyama read upon “a gear or speed matching is provided in the area of at least one of the conveying devices.” Id.
Claim 4 is obvious over Takeyama, in view of Kühne.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Takeyama.
For the purposes of analysis, “the magnetic clutch,” is treated as “the magnetic coupling” despite a lack of antecedent basis.
Within Takeyama, the first gear 42 within the compressor motor 35o is mounted to the first rotating shaft. Because the modification consolidates the drive machine such that the conveying apparatuses are magnetically connected to a single rotor 41, this first gear is on the side of the magnetic clutch facing away from the respective conveying device.
Claim 1 is obvious over Takeyama, in view of Kühne.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Takeyama.
Takeyama teaches a fuel cell system and both conveying apparatuses of Claim 1, indicating modified Takeyama teaches a fuel cell having a conveying apparatus as claimed in Claim 1. Takeyama at [0015].
Claim 1 is obvious over Takeyama, in view of Kühne.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Takeyama.
Takeyama teaches a fuel cell vehicle, fuel cell system and both conveying apparatuses of Claim 1, indicating modified Takeyama teaches a fuel cell having a conveying apparatus as claimed in Claim 1. Takeyama at [0015].
Claim 7 is obvious over Takeyama, in view of Kühne.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Takeyama.
The Office notes this claim is substantially identical to Claim 3.
Takeyama teaches a pump 290 which serves to “pressurize the fuel gas for the purpose of fuel gas.” Takeyama at [0018]. However, this is not a fan. In addition to the pump in the cooling system 500, a fan is disposed upon the radiator 530 to “accelerate heat release from the radiator.” Id. at [0023]. However, there is a space between the hydrogen pump 290 and the gas liquid separator 280 in Fig. 1.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the fuel cell system and conveying device of modified Takeyama, such that the conveying device for the recirculation of anode exhaust gas is designed as a recirculation fan disposed between the hydrogen pump 290 and the gas liquid separator 280 to accelerate the recirculation of exhaust gas, because the use of a fan is taught to provide a benefit to the acceleration the movement of gas by Takeyama, and logically this would accelerate recirculation in the same manner.
Claim 8 is obvious over Takeyama, in view of Kühne.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 relies upon Claim 2. Claim 2 is obvious over modified Takeyama.
Takeyama teaches “[0031] A speed-up gear having a first gear 43 and a second gear 44 is placed in the speed-up chamber 57 . . . Engagement of the first gear 43 with the second gear 44 causes the rotational force of the first rotating shaft 40 to be transmitted to the second rotating shaft 45 . As a result, this causes the second rotating shaft 45 to rotate at a higher speed than the first rotating shaft 40.” Takeyama at [0031].
In terms of the meaning of “speed matching,” the present specification explains, “[p.1] The required speeds and delivery rates are matched via appropriate speed step-up and/or step-down devices, i.e. gears, and, if necessary, the individual units are switched on and switched off for the drive by the one drive unit. . . . a gear for speed matching is provided in the area of the cooling medium pump and/or one of the conveying devices. It is preferably the case that the gear is arranged on the motor side or in the area of the cooling medium pump and the speed that has already been stepped up is then transmitted via the magnetic clutch to the compressor wheel and/or the fan wheel of the respective conveying device.” In other words, a “gear for speed matching” includes a gear which “steps up” or “steps down” the speed of a rotating shaft. This indicates the gears of Takeyama read upon “a gear or speed matching is provided in the area of at least one of the conveying devices.” Id.
Claim 9 is obvious over Takeyama, in view of Kühne.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 relies upon Claim 3. Claim 3 is obvious over modified Takeyama.
Takeyama teaches “[0031] A speed-up gear having a first gear 43 and a second gear 44 is placed in the speed-up chamber 57 . . . Engagement of the first gear 43 with the second gear 44 causes the rotational force of the first rotating shaft 40 to be transmitted to the second rotating shaft 45 . As a result, this causes the second rotating shaft 45 to rotate at a higher speed than the first rotating shaft 40.” Takeyama at [0031].
In terms of the meaning of “speed matching,” the present specification explains, “[p.1] The required speeds and delivery rates are matched via appropriate speed step-up and/or step-down devices, i.e. gears, and, if necessary, the individual units are switched on and switched off for the drive by the one drive unit. . . . a gear for speed matching is provided in the area of the cooling medium pump and/or one of the conveying devices. It is preferably the case that the gear is arranged on the motor side or in the area of the cooling medium pump and the speed that has already been stepped up is then transmitted via the magnetic clutch to the compressor wheel and/or the fan wheel of the respective conveying device.” In other words, a “gear for speed matching” includes a gear which “steps up” or “steps down” the speed of a rotating shaft. This indicates the gears of Takeyama read upon “a gear or speed matching is provided in the area of at least one of the conveying devices.” Id.
Claim 10 is obvious over Takeyama, in view of Kühne.
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 11 relies upon Claim 2. Claim 2 is obvious over modified Takeyama.
Takeyama teaches a fuel cell system and both conveying apparatuses of Claim 1. Modified Takeyama teaches a fuel cell having a conveying apparatus as claimed in Claim 2. Takeyama at [0015].
Claim 11 is obvious over Takeyama, in view of Kühne.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 relies upon Claim 3. Claim 3 is obvious over modified Takeyama.
Takeyama teaches a fuel cell system and both conveying apparatuses of Claim 3, indicating modified Takeyama teaches a fuel cell having a conveying apparatus as claimed in Claim 3. Takeyama at [0015].
Claim 12 is obvious over Takeyama, in view of Kühne.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 10 relies upon Claim 4. Claim 4 is obvious over modified Takeyama.
Takeyama teaches a fuel cell system and both conveying apparatuses of Claim 4 (as well as the gear discussed above), indicating modified Takeyama teaches a fuel cell having a conveying apparatus as claimed in Claim 1. Takeyama at [0015].
Claim 13 is obvious over Takeyama, in view of Kühne.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 relies upon Claim 5. Claim 5 is obvious over modified Takeyama.
Takeyama teaches a fuel cell system and both conveying apparatuses of Claim 5 (as well as the gear discussed above), indicating modified Takeyama teaches a fuel cell having a conveying apparatus as claimed in Claim 5. Takeyama at [0015].
Claim 14 is obvious over Takeyama, in view of Kühne.
Conclusion
/K.R.H./Examiner , Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725