The examiner has requested an election from the applicant separating the method of formation of claims 1-12, the article of claims 13-14 and the transfer process claim 15. This restriction would have been under unity of invention rules as the instant application. The applicant’s representative (Catherine Shultz) requested that any restriction be in writing. The examiner withdraws that request, given that the search for a reference meeting showing required for unity of invention was significant.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Please either remove the notations associated with the figures (ie. “B”, “b”, “c”, “L”, “I”, “AB”) or place them in brackets. These invite confusion with steps “a” ,“b” and “c”
In claim 1 and dependent claims, “barrier material” , “core material” , and where the applicant intends to have these materials be different, “a second”.. material need to be introduced. The local curing should introduce areas/portions of cured material and areas/portions of uncured material and use this language to refer back to them later in the claims.
In claim 4, at line 13, what is “ -18-“ intended to convey ?
In the claims, for the core material and barrier material, please add a recitation of a curable resin to be congruent with the process (see prepub at [0020-0021,0037,0133]), photocurable resin in claim 7)
In claim 6, “laserbased” should be - - laser based - - .
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naasani et al. 20130189803
Naasani et al. 20130189803 teaches in embodiment 1, combining a photocurable composition and quantum dot and placing this in a LED cup. This is then cured and a gas barrier coating is applied using atomic layer deposition (see also figure 4) [0035]. The luminescent composition is disclosed [0020-0021,0033-0035]. The coating can be a dielectric, metal oxide, metal nitride, or silicon dioxide (glass) based coating and can be a combination of a polymer and the inorganic materials in a preferred embodiment, the coating is an inorganic/polymer mixture, for example silica-acrylic ester material. In another preferred embodiment, the coating comprises a polymeric material, the polymeric material can be a saturated or unsaturated hydrocarbon polymer, or can be combined with one or more heteroatoms (for example, 0, S, N, halogen) or containing a heteroatom functional groups (e.g., carbonyl, cyano, ether, epoxide, amide, etc.). Preferred polymers of the coating material examples include acrylic polymers (e.g., poly (methyl) methacrylate, polymethyl acrylate, polymethyl methacrylate, cyanoacrylate, poly ethylene glycol dimethacrylate, polyvinyl acetate etc.), epoxide (e.g., EPO 0 ΤΕΚ 301A + B thermosetting epoxy resin, EPO 0 ΤΕΚ 0G112-4 UV curing epoxy resin, or epoxy resin) EX0135A and B, polyamide, polyimide, polyester, polycarbonate, polyethylene sulfide, polyacrylonitrile, polydienes, polystyrene polybutadiene copolymers (Kratons), pyrelenes, parylene, poly polyetheretherketone (PEEK), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), polydivinylbenzene-co, polyethylene, polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyisobutylene (butyl rubber), polyisoprene, and cellulose derivatives (methyl cellulose, ethyl cellulose, hydroxypropylmethyl cellulose, hydroxypropylmethyl cellulose phthalate, nitrocellulose), and combinations thereof [0029].
Naasani et al. 20130189803 does not exemplify the case where the barrier layer material is a cured material
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of example 1 by using an thermally curable epoxy or a UV curable epoxy disclosed at [0029] as the barrier layer material with a reasonable expectation of forming an encapsulated luminescent material.
The position of the examiner is that there are no artifacts from the process of claim 1 which differentiate the encapsulated luminescent materials from the encapsulated luminescent material using an thermally curable epoxy or a UV curable epoxy disclosed at [0029] as the barrier layer material as discussed above.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. CN 110176529, in view of Naasani et al. 20130189803.
Xie et al. CN 110176529 (machine translation attached) in figure 2A teaches a temporary carrier, (61), (optionally provided with an adhesive layer which is not shown) coated with a first barrier layer (502), a wavelength converting layer (501), a second barrier layer (503), which is then patterned by cutting areas (P1) to define the size of each of the plurality of the wavelength conversion regions/structures (figure 2B). This is then overcoated with a third barrier layer (504) by printing, coating, spraying, adhesion or molding so that it covers the sides of the first barrier layer, wavelength conversion layer and second barrier layer (figure 2C). The third barrier layer is then patterned as in figure 2D [0078-0079].
a wavelength conversion layer 501 containing quantum dots, quantum dot material comprising a matrix and dispersed in a matrix of the quantum dot particles. material of the substrate may be a thermosetting resin or photo-curable resin, such as polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), an epoxy resin (A), epoxy resin or silicone resin (silicone resin). the material of the quantum dot particles can be made of semiconductor material, and the particle diameter is typically less than or equal to 100 nanometers (nm). semiconductor material comprises a Group II-VI semiconductor compound, a Group III-V semiconductor compound, a Group IV-VI semiconductor compound or combination of above materials. core region (core) of quantum dot particles can comprises main luminous structure and a housing (shell) covering the core region. material of the core region can be zinc sulfide (ZnS), zinc selenide (ZnSe), zinc telluride (ZnTe), zinc oxide (ZnO), lead caesium chloride (CsPbCl3), cesium bromide, lead (CsPbBr3), cesium lead iodide (CsPbI3), cadmium sulfide (CdS), cadmium selenide (CdSe), cadmium telluride (CdTe), gallium nitride (GaN), gallium phosphide (GaP), gallium selenide (GaSe), gallium antimonide (GaSb). gallium arsenide (GaAs), aluminum nitride (AlN), aluminum phosphide (AlP), aluminum arsenide (AlAs), indium phosphide (InP), indium arsenide (InAs), tellurium (Te), lead sulfide (PbS), an indium antimonide (InSb), lead telluride (PbTe), lead selenide (PbSe), antimony telluride (SbTe), cadmium selenide (ZnCdSe), zinc cadmium selenium sulfide (ZnCdSeS), or copper indium sulfide (CuInS). the material of the material of the shell with the core region must match each other (e.g., the core region and the shell material of the lattice constant to be matched). the material selection of the shell, besides the lattice constant matching with the material of the core region, can form a high barrier region on the periphery of the core region, to improve the quantum yield (nanorods operation. When). structure of the shell can be single layer and multilayer structure or material changes gradually. In one embodiment, the core region is cadmium selenide, and the shell is single layer of zinc sulphide. In another embodiment, the core region is cadmium selenide shell comprises inner layer of (cadmium, zinc) (sulfur, selenium) and the outer layer of zinc sulphide. In another embodiment, the core region is cadmium selenide (CdSe), cadmium sulfide (CdS) shell comprises inner layer, the outer layer of zinc sulfide (ZnS), and a transition layer between the inner shell and the outer shell (compositional /L), for example: Zn0.25Cd0.75S/Zn0.5Cd0.5S/Zn0.75Cd0.25S. material composition ratio form a transition layer of composition ratio between material between the inner and outer shells. In one embodiment, transition layer composed of alloy layer is composed of the outer shell and the inner shell of the mixture [0070]. a first barrier layer covering the wavelength conversion layer 501 on the lower surface 502 and second barrier layer 503 may have similar or the same material, such as PVDF (polyvinylidene difluoride; polyvinylidene fluoride), or PET (polyethylene terephthalate; polyethylene terephthalate). PVDF heat deflection temperature; heat distortion (HDT) temperature higher than PET, is about 200 degrees centigrade, and the transmittance is greater than 92.5%. In one embodiment, the material of the first barrier layer 502 and second barrier layer 503 contains PVDF. comprises reflow (reflow) step in the manufacturing process steps, the first barrier layer 502 and second barrier layer 503 material properties will not be damaged due to high temperature, it can ensure the wavelength conversion layer 501 by high temperature reflow, still has enough for moisture, oxygen barrier. material of third barrier layer 504 may comprise metal or inorganic material. metal may include gold (Au), aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), nickel (Ni). inorganic material can include silicon oxide (SiOx), aluminum oxide (Al2O3), silicon oxynitride (SiON) or silicon nitride (SiNx) [0072]Figures 3A-F shows the attachment of the resulting structure to a substrate having a plurality of light emitting diodes/units (1) [0080-0082]
Figure 7A-G shows a similar transfer process [0093-0094].
Xie et al. CN 110176529 does not exemplify the case where the encapsulated luminescent material uses a barrier layer material or a luminescent layer of a cured material
With respect to claims 13 and 14, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 2A-2D of Xie et al. CN 110176529 by using a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer materials (502 and 503), a quantum dot material comprising a matrix and dispersed in a matrix of the quantum dot particles. material of the substrate may be a thermosetting resin or photo-curable resin for layer (501) as taught in Xie et al. CN 110176529 at [0070] and a combination of an inorganic material and either a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as barrier layer (504) with a reasonable expectation of forming an encapsulated luminescent material.
The position of the examiner is that there are no artifacts from the process of claim 1 which differentiate the encapsulated luminescent materials from the encapsulated luminescent material using an thermally curable epoxy or a UV curable epoxy disclosed at [0029] as the barrier layer material as discussed above.
With respect to claims 13-15, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 2A-2D of Xie et al. CN 110176529 by using a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer materials (502 and 503), a quantum dot material comprising a matrix and dispersed in a matrix of the quantum dot particles. material of the substrate may be a thermosetting resin or photo-curable resin for layer (501) as taught in Xie et al. CN 110176529 at [0070] and a combination of an inorganic material and either a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as barrier layer (504) and to transfer encapsulated luminescent materials to the surface of the LED as illustrated in figures 3A-F of Xie et al. CN 110176529 with a reasonable expectation of forming an useful LED - wavelength conversion element composite.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. CN 110176529, in view of Naasani et al. 20130189803, further in view of Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060.
Kong et al. 20160284673 teaches the combination of phosphors and epoxy resin [0032,0038]. The use of a photomask to exposure an epoxy layer containing phosphors followed by development to yield the desired pattern is disclosed [0056]
Vo et al. CN 105637060 (machine translation attached) teaches in embodiment 3: green InP/ZnS Quantum Dot (120 optical density (OD)) According to 2011 year 9 month 23 day submitted by U.S. patent application number 13/624, 632 in the preparation. in the presence of nitrogen and stirring overnight the QD dispersed in degassed methacrylic acid lauryl methacrylate (LMA, 1.2 mL). (3 mg) dissolving the IRG819 photoinitiator QD dispersed solution at 0.6 mL in the LMA. then adding TMPTM cross linker (0.073 mL). mixture stirring further for 30 minutes under the protection of nitrogen so as to obtain the phase of the QD concentration of 89.2OD/mL 1 resin. two-phase resin is obtained through the following manner: adding 67 micro-litre of 1 resin and 0.43 mL of degassed epoxy resin (Epotek, OG142) are mixed, and then the mixture is stirred for 3 minutes under nitrogen in 100rpm machine. then the two-phase resin laminate 60 micro-litres of 3M gas barrier layer on the area restricted by 19mmx14mmx0.051mm plastic partition. the film with a mercury lamp (UV) for 1 minutes [0063].
With respect to claims 1-14, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 2A-2D of Xie et al. CN 110176529 by using a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer materials (502), exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a quantum dot material comprising photo-curable resin and the quantum dot particles for layer (501) as taught in Xie et al. CN 110176529 at [0070] exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer material (502) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) and a combination of an inorganic material and either a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as barrier layer (504) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful wavelength conversion material.
With respect to claims 1-14, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 2A-2D of Xie et al. CN 110176529 by using a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer materials (502), exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a quantum dot material comprising photo-curable resin and the any of the luminescent or quantum dot materials disclosed in Xie et al. CN 110176529, Naasani et al. 20130189803, Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 for layer (501) as taught in Xie et al. CN 110176529 at [0070] exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer material (502) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) and a combination of an inorganic material and either a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as barrier layer (504) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful wavelength conversion material.
With respect to claims 1-15, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 2A-2D of Xie et al. CN 110176529 by using a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer materials (502), exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a quantum dot material comprising photo-curable resin and the quantum dot particles for layer (501) as taught in Xie et al. CN 110176529 at [0070] exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer material (502) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) and a combination of an inorganic material and either a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as barrier layer (504) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) and to transfer encapsulated luminescent materials to the surface of the LED as illustrated in figures 3A-F of Xie et al. CN 110176529 with a reasonable expectation of forming an useful LED - wavelength conversion element composite.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. CN 110176529, in view of Naasani et al. 20130189803, further in view of Kong et al. 20160284673, Vo et al. CN 105637060, Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480
Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 (machine translation attached) teaches a process of forming a waveguide, where the lower cladding layer is applied to the polyimide substrate, exposed using UV and a negative photomask and the undesired portions removed. The core layer is then applied over this patterned with the same photomask using UV and developed to remove the undesired portion to yield patterns which are 45 microns. The upper cladding layer was then coated over this and patterned using a UV photomask and undesired portion developed away [0046-0052]
Sakai et al JP 2014115480 (machine translation attached) in examples 1, coated the substrate with a lower cladding layer, which is exposed to UV using a negative photomask having two openings which are 2970 microns x 9.950 mm and the unexposed/undesired portions were removed with a developer (see patterned layer 2). The core/waveguiding layer was then applied, exposed to ultraviolet using a negative photomask with 8 rows of openings which are 45 microns x 9/900 mm. The developer removed the unexposed/undesired material, The upper cladding is then applied and exposed to ultraviolet using a photomask with two openings which are 2900 microns x 9.960 mm cladding [0071-0078].
With respect to claims 1-14, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 2A-2D of Xie et al. CN 110176529 by using a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer materials (502), exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a quantum dot material comprising photo-curable resin and the any of the luminescent or quantum dot materials disclosed in Xie et al. CN 110176529, Naasani et al. 20130189803, Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 for layer (501) as taught in Xie et al. CN 110176529 at [0070] exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer material (502) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) and a combination of an inorganic material and either a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as barrier layer (504) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful wavelength conversion material based upon the prior use of successively patterned layers in the teachings of Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480.
With respect to claims 1-15, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 2A-2D of Xie et al. CN 110176529 by using a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer materials (502), exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a quantum dot material comprising photo-curable resin and the quantum dot particles for layer (501) as taught in Xie et al. CN 110176529 at [0070] exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer material (502) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) and a combination of an inorganic material and either a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as barrier layer (504) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) and to transfer encapsulated luminescent materials to the surface of the LED as illustrated in figures 3A-F of Xie et al. CN 110176529 with a reasonable expectation of forming an useful LED - wavelength conversion element composite material based upon the prior use of successively patterned layers in the teachings of Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. CN 110176529, in view of Naasani et al. 20130189803, further in view of Kong et al. 20160284673, Vo et al. CN 105637060, Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480 and further in view of Wu et al. CN 107474266 and Yu et al. CN 212765267.
Wu et al. CN 107474266 (machine translation attached) teaches using a physical mask to achieve selective light irradiation, can impart the thermosetting polymer is one area of plastic can be controlled. also can use digital mask to replace the physical mask can be used, directly projecting the irradiation pattern based on DLP projector or LCD liquid crystal screen of the DMD chip. the precision of the illumination or projection area, i.e. has a plastic region by physical mask precision or a DLP projector, the resolution of LCD liquid crystal screen control [0030]
Yu et al. CN 212765267 (machine translation attached) teaches the light curing assembly 3 can be LCD light curing assembly, DLP light curing or SLA light curing the light irradiation of the patterned light; In some other embodiments, it also can select light source matched with the traditional mask to realize the patterned light irradiation. wherein the LCD light curing technology is a digital mask composed of light source matched with the LCD screen to realize the patterning of light; the assembly at least comprises a light source 31 and a transparent LCD screen 32, the LCD screen can realize the light transmission or shading of the target pixel point by electronic control, so as to reach the effect of the digital mask; DLP light curing is directly patterned by means of light projection, SLA is light curing by controlling the laser scanning light, DLP light curing SLA can light curing to DLP printing technology, SLA printing technology. In the embodiment, the LCD, DLP or SLA light curing relative to the traditional mask, because it is driven by digital electronic, so it can realize the patterning of light by software control, there is no need to plate process, which can greatly improve the circuit manufacturing efficiency, and can satisfy the circuit design requirement of the user individuation [0026].
The combination of Xie et al. CN 110176529, Naasani et al. 20130189803, Kong et al. 20160284673, Vo et al. CN 105637060, Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480 does not teach the use of photomask other than physical masks.
In addition to the basis above, the examiner holds that it would have been obvious modify the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Xie et al. CN 110176529, Naasani et al. 20130189803, Kong et al. 20160284673, Vo et al. CN 105637060, Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480 discussed above by using known masking means known in the photolithographic art, such as LCD, DLP, or SLA in place taught by Wu et al. CN 107474266 and/or Yu et al. CN 212765267 in place of the (physical) photomask which has the advantage of control of the masking pattern using electronics, so the pattern can be changed without physically making a new mask (See Yu et al.)
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. CN 110176529, in view of Naasani et al. 20130189803, further in view of Kong et al. 20160284673, Vo et al. CN 105637060, Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480 and further in view of Han et al. WO 2020103365.
Han et al. WO 2020103365 teaches with respect to figures 6-11, the transfer or differently colored (R,G,B) luminescent materials onto LEDs
The combination of Xie et al. CN 110176529, Naasani et al. 20130189803, Kong et al. 20160284673, Vo et al. CN 105637060, Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480 does not clearly show the transfer of differently colored luminescent materials onto a single substrate.
In addition to the basis above, the examiner holds that it would have been obvious modify the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Xie et al. CN 110176529, Naasani et al. 20130189803, Kong et al. 20160284673, Vo et al. CN 105637060, Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480 discussed above by (iteratively) repeating the process to form a variety of differently colored encapsulated wavelength conversion elements on different substrates, which can then transferred to the light emitting surfaces of different LEDs on a substrate as is known in the art from the teachings of Han et al. WO 2020103365.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Debrow WO 2008115498 teaches hermetically sealing a luminescent materials
Jang et al. 20100155744 teaches the nanocrystal composite according to an embodiment of the present invention with respect to figure 1 which includes a matrix 1 including semiconductor nanocrystals 2 and a barrier layer 3 including a polymer coated on at least a part of the matrix and having a low oxygen permeability and a low water permeability, (3). Since the barrier layer 3 is formed separately from the matrix 1 and then coated on the matrix 1, a chemical reaction such as an oxidation or reduction reaction does not occur with the matrix 1. Further, since the barrier layer 3 contains a polymer having a low oxygen permeability and a low moisture permeability therein, it prevents oxygen or moisture from penetrating into the matrix 1. Furthermore, when the nanocrystal composite is applied to a display device or the like, stability and lifetime of the device are improved [0029]. The polymer may be polymerized with one monomer, or two or more monomers may be copolymerized. For example, polyolefins such as polyethylene and polypropylene; Polyesters such as polyethylene terephthalate, polymethylene terephthalate and polybutylene terephthalate; Polyamides such as nylon; Polyvinyl chloride; Polyvinyl alcohol; Polyvinylidene chloride; Polystyrene and the like. At this time, polyethylene has lower water permeability and oxygen permeability when high density polyethylene is used. Or copolymers such as poly (ethylene-vinyl alcohol), poly (ethylene-vinyl chloride), poly (vinylidene chloride-styrene) and poly (vinylidene chloride-vinyl chloride). Or the polymers listed above may be suitably copolymerized or mixed [0034]. Useful luminescent semiconductor nanocrystals may be selected from the group consisting of, but are not limited to, Group II-VI semiconductor compounds, Group II-V semiconductor compounds, Group III-VI semiconductor compounds, Group III-V semiconductor compounds, Group IV-VI semiconductor compounds, Group II-III-VI compounds, Group II-IV-VI compounds, Group II-IV-V compounds, alloys thereof and combinations thereof. The Group II element may be Zn, Cd, Hg or a combination thereof; the Group III element may be Al, Ga, In, Ti or a combination thereof; and the Group IV element may be Si, Ge, Sn, Pb or a combination thereof. The Group V element may be P, As, Sb, Bi or a combination thereof; and the Group VI element may be O, S, Se, Te or a combination thereof. The Group II-VI semiconductor compounds may be selected from the group consisting of binary compounds, e.g., CdSe, CdTe, ZnS, ZnSe, ZnTe, ZnO, HgS, HgSe and HgTe; ternary compounds, e.g., CdSeS, CdSeTe, CdSTe, ZnSeS, ZnSeTe, ZnSTe, HgSeS, HgSeTe, HgSTe, CdZnS, CdZnSe, CdZnTe, CdHgS, CdHgSe, CdHgTe, HgZnS and HgznSe; and quaternary compounds, e.g., CdZnSeS, CdZnSeTe, CdZnSTe, CdHgSeS, CdHgSeTe, CdHgSTe, HgZnSeS, HgZnSeTe and HgZnSTe. The Group III-V semiconductor compounds may be selected from the group consisting of binary compounds, e.g., GaN, GaP, GaAs, GaSb, AlN, AlP, AlAs, AlSb, InN, InP, InAs and InSb; ternary compounds, e.g., GaNP, GaNAs, GaNSb, GaPAs, GaPSb, AlNP, AlNAs, AlNSb, AlPAs, AlPSb, InNP, InNAs, InNSb, InPAs, InPSb, GaAlNP, AlGaN, AlGaP, AlGaAs, AlGaSb, InGaN, InGaP, InGaAs, InGaSb, AlInN, AlInP, AlInAs and AlInSb; and quaternary compounds, e.g., GaAlNAs, GaAlNSb, GaAlPAs, GaAlPSb, GaInNP, GaInNAs, GaInNSb, GaInPAs, GaInPSb, InAlNP, InAlNAs, InAlNSb, InAlPAs and InAlPSb. The Group IV-VI semiconductor compounds may be selected from the group consisting of binary compounds, e.g., SnS, SnSe, SnTe, PbS, PbSe and PbTe; ternary compounds, e.g., SnSeS, SnSeTe, SnSTe, PbSeS, PbSeTe, PbSTe, SnPbS, SnPbSe and SnPbTe; and quaternary compounds, e.g., SnPbSSe, SnPbSeTe and SnPbSTe. The Group IV semiconductor compounds may be selected from the group consisting of unary compounds, e.g., Si and Ge; and binary compounds, e.g., SiC and SiGe [0042-0047]. In example 1, One (1) milliliter (mL) of a polysiloxane resin is mixed with a chloroform solution of green nanocrystals (CdSe/CdSZnS). The chloroform is completely removed under vacuum to prepare a nanocrystal composite. A blue (445 nm) light emitting diode chip is mounted in a recessed portion of a silver (Ag) substrate. Five (5) microliters (.mu.l) of a polysiloxane resin is applied to cover the blue light emitting diode chip. The resulting structure is stored in an oven at 150.degree. C. for 1 hour while maintaining a constant temperature. The structure is then cooled to room temperature. Next, 15 .mu.l of the nanocrystal composite solution is applied to the cured polysiloxane resin to form a coating with uniform thickness. The resulting structure is stored in an oven at 150.degree. C. for 1 hour while maintaining a constant temperature. The structure is then cooled to room temperature to complete the fabrication of the light emitting diode. Next, 0.25 grams (g) of polyvinyl alcohol (weight average molecular weight (M.sub.w)=2,000) is completely dissolved by stirring the polyvinyl alcohol in 5 mL of water at 80.degree. C. The solution is then applied to the light emitting diode. The resulting structure is stored in an oven at 100.degree. C. for 1 hour while maintaining a constant temperature. The structure is then cooled to room temperature to form a barrier layer on the light emitting diode. [0066-0067].
Cheon 20070012941 teaches a light emitting device 10 according to an example embodiment of the present invention. The light emitting device 10 may comprise a diode chip 20, a housing 30, a stability layer 40, and a nanocrystal complex layer 50. Additionally, the light emitting device may comprise various layers of matrix materials 50, 60, 70 and 80 [0013]
Yoon et al. KR 20130043294 (machine translation attached), teaches with respect to figure 3d, the LED package of the present invention emits white light, and the LED chip 200 emits blue light or emits UV light. In the figure, the LED chip 200 emits blue light, and the light emitted from the LED chip 200 passes through the light conversion layer and is converted into white. When the LED chip 200 emits blue light, the light conversion layer preferably has a structure in which red and green quantum dots 300b and 300c are mixed with the resin 300a, and the LED chip 200 emits UV light. In this case, it is preferable that the light conversion layer has a structure in which red, green, and blue quantum dots 300b, 300c (not shown) are mixed with the resin 300a. In addition, when the LED chip 200 emits blue light, the light conversion layer includes the first light conversion layer in which only the red quantum dots 300b are mixed with the resin and the second light conversion layer in which only the green quantum dots 300c are mixed with the resin. The stacking structure may be sequentially stacked, and the stacking order of the first and second light conversion layers may be changed. When the LED chip 200 emits UV, the light conversion layer may include a first light conversion layer in which only the red quantum dots 300b are mixed with the resin, a second light conversion layer in which only the green quantum dots 300c are mixed with the resin and Only the blue quantum dots (not shown) may have a structure in which the third light conversion layers mixed in the resin are sequentially stacked. In this case, the stacking order of the first, second and third light conversion layers may be changed. In addition, the first protective layer 300 is formed between the LED chip 200 and the light conversion layer using a material such as resin, polysilazane, nanoclay mixture, or the like. At this time, the resin of the first protective layer 300 may be the resin 300a of the light conversion layer. The first protective layer 300 prevents the red and green quantum dots 300b and 300c from directly contacting the LED chip 200, thereby deteriorating the red and green quantum dots 300b and 300c and the LED chip 200 and the wire. It is possible to prevent the oxidation of the back, and evenly distribute the light emitted from the LED chip (200). Therefore, the first protective layer 300 is preferably formed to completely cover the LED chip 200. As described above, oxygen and moisture are introduced into the upper surface of the light conversion layer, and the introduced oxygen and moisture oxidize the red and green quantum dots 300b and 300c to reduce the reliability of the LED package. Accordingly, the LED package of the present invention forms a second protective layer 500 on the light conversion layer, specifically, to cover the entire surface of the light conversion layer, thereby blocking moisture and oxygen that may flow into the LED package. In this case, the second protective layer 500 is formed of a material having a transmittance of 90% or more so that the light generated from the LED chip 200 is emitted to the outside, and is formed of a material that is cured by heat or UV to prevent external oxygen and Moisture can be prevented from entering. In addition, it is preferable not to include a metal catalyst or an acidic solution so as not to damage the red and green quantum dots 300b and 300c of the light conversion layer below the second protective layer 500. Specifically, the second protective layer 500 is preferably formed of a material such as polysilazane, nano clay mixture, or the like. In the LED package of the present invention as described above, the first protective layer 400 is formed between the LED chip 200 and the light conversion layer, so that the red and green quantum dots 300b and 300c of the light conversion layer are the LED chip 200. ) And direct contact with the wires, thereby preventing deterioration of the red and green quantum dots 300b and 300c and oxidation of the LED chip 200 and the wires. In addition, the first passivation layer 400 may disperse the light generated from the LED chip 200, and thus the light generated from the LED chip 200 may be uniformly incident to the light conversion layer to realize high purity white light. In addition, the second protective layer 500 formed on the light conversion layer may prevent oxygen and moisture from flowing into the LED package, thereby improving reliability of the LED package [0030-0038].
Specifically, the first passivation layer 400 may include slit coating, spin coating, ink-jet printing, knife jetting, dispensing, etc. through a nozzle. It is formed in the same solution process (Solution Process) method. First, a material selected from a resin, polysilazane, and nanoclay mixture is completely coated on the substrate 100 to completely cover the LED chip 200, and then the first protective layer 400 is hardened by heat or UV. Form. Since the light conversion layer is formed on the first protective layer 400, in order to prevent the quantum dots of the light conversion layer from mixing with the first protective layer 400, it is preferable to completely harden the first protective layer 400. However, temporary curing is also possible [0042-0046].
Zang 20080020007 teaches the formation of wells including as base and sidewalls using photocurable materials with respect to figure 6, which is filled with a UV curable liquid crystal material, followed by laminating a protective layer and curing it. .
Figure 7e-h are similar, but fills each well with a protective layer (76)
Shigeoka et al. JP 2007173754 (machine translation attached), teaches CdSe and ZnS particles dispersed in isopropyl alcohol (IPA or toluene) were used to fill a polyethylene container having a diameter of 5 mm and a depth of 2 mm (polyethylene thickness of 1 mm) and covered with a 0.3 mm polyethylene and laminated [0080]. This is put in a measuring device with an LED chip and evaluated [0086]. In addition, using the vessel 7 having a high blocking ability against an atmosphere such as water or air has an effect of suppressing a long-term decrease in wavelength conversion efficiency. Therefore, for example, glass may be used as the vessel 7, or a resin such as polytetrafluoroethylene or polyethylene may be used. Needless to say, the material of the vessel 7 may be changed between the lower vessel 7a for storing the wavelength conversion liquid 5 and the upper vessel 7b having a lid shape. Moreover, since the device 7 serves as an optical path for light output from the LED chip or light converted by the wavelength converter 9, it is desirable that the transmittance of these light is high. As the material of the transparent vessel 7, silicone resin, polyethylene resin, acrylic resin (including esters such as methacrylic acid), epoxy resin, polystyrene resin, etc. can be used. Since this container serves as an optical path for the light output from the LED chip or the light subjected to wavelength conversion by the wavelength converter, it is desirable that the transmittance of these light is high [0045-0046].
Kim et al. 20180119223 (machine translation attached) teaches a photosensitive barrier layer composition for use with quantum dot including polysilsesquinoxane, an oxygen scavenger and a photoinitiator which can then be spin coated over the quantum dot structure. (example 1). This is used in experimental example 6.
Yoshimura et al. KR 20160138901 (machine translation attached) teaches with respect to figure 6, a glass plate (50), a wavelength conversion element (19), and glass plates (62,61) (see example D3 [0117-0121].
Wu et al. CN 110323340 (machine translation attached) teaches with respect to figure 3, a substrate (10) with a light emitting chip (11), coated with a barrier layer (12) which can be silica gel (Silicone) or epoxy resin (Epoxy), with 2-3 % particles of silicon dioxide (SiO2), titanium dioxide (TiO2), boron nitride (BN) and zirconium dioxide (ZrO2) or any combination thereof. This is then coated with a quantum dot layer (13), followed by a protective layer (14) which may be the same as the barrier layer. These can be applied by pouring and curing [0090-0102]. The disclosure with respect to figure 4 is similar [0103-0106].
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 February 4, 2026