The response of the applicant has been received and given careful consideration. Rejection of the previous action not repeated below are withdrawn. Responses to the arguments of the applicant are presented after the first rejection they are directed to.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1 and dependent claims, “encapsulated material”, “core material”, “barrier material” , “uncured barrier material”, “uncured core material”, core deposits” “cured barrier material” “cured core material” need to be properly introduced (please insert - - a- - before the first occurrence of these terms) to properly establish antecedent basis and “the” or “said” should be inserted to later recitations of these terms.
If the applicant intends to have the barrier materials be different composition, then “a second barrier material”. The local curing should introduce areas/portions of cured material and areas/portions of uncured material and use this language to refer back to them later in the claims.
Also before “pocket”, please insert - - at least one- - to tie it to the introduced term.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naasani et al. 20130189803
Naasani et al. 20130189803 teaches in embodiment 1, combining a photocurable composition and quantum dot and placing this in a LED cup. This is then cured and a gas barrier coating is applied using atomic layer deposition (see also figure 4) [0035]. The luminescent composition is disclosed [0020-0021,0033-0035]. The coating can be a dielectric, metal oxide, metal nitride, or silicon dioxide (glass) based coating and can be a combination of a polymer and the inorganic materials in a preferred embodiment, the coating is an inorganic/polymer mixture, for example silica-acrylic ester material. In another preferred embodiment, the coating comprises a polymeric material, the polymeric material can be a saturated or unsaturated hydrocarbon polymer, or can be combined with one or more heteroatoms (for example, 0, S, N, halogen) or containing a heteroatom functional groups (e.g., carbonyl, cyano, ether, epoxide, amide, etc.). Preferred polymers of the coating material examples include acrylic polymers (e.g., poly (methyl) methacrylate, polymethyl acrylate, polymethyl methacrylate, cyanoacrylate, poly ethylene glycol dimethacrylate, polyvinyl acetate etc.), epoxide (e.g., EPO 0 ΤΕΚ 301A + B thermosetting epoxy resin, EPO 0 ΤΕΚ 0G112-4 UV curing epoxy resin, or epoxy resin) EX0135A and B, polyamide, polyimide, polyester, polycarbonate, polyethylene sulfide, polyacrylonitrile, polydienes, polystyrene polybutadiene copolymers (Kratons), pyrelenes, parylene, poly polyetheretherketone (PEEK), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), polydivinylbenzene-co, polyethylene, polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyisobutylene (butyl rubber), polyisoprene, and cellulose derivatives (methyl cellulose, ethyl cellulose, hydroxypropylmethyl cellulose, hydroxypropylmethyl cellulose phthalate, nitrocellulose), and combinations thereof [0029].
Naasani et al. 20130189803 does not exemplify the case where the barrier layer material is a cured material
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of example 1 by using an thermally curable epoxy or a UV curable epoxy disclosed at [0029] as the barrier layer material with a reasonable expectation of forming an encapsulated luminescent material.
The position of the examiner is that there are no artifacts from the process of claim 1 which differentiate the encapsulated photocured luminescent materials from the encapsulated luminescent material using an thermally curable epoxy or a UV curable epoxy disclosed at [0029] as the barrier layer material as discussed above.
In the response of 4/30/2026, the applicant argues that claims now include process steps, which define the sequential curing. The examiner holds that the process limitations do not distinguish the claimed article from the structure rendered obvious by Naasani et al. 20130189803, noting that the core is photocured and is fully encapsulated by the cured (epoxy) barrier material. The applicant has a burden of showing as discussed in MPEP 2113 to establish that the process results in a materially different product. The applicant argues that the limitations of claims 13 and 14 recite that the core deposit does not extend beyond the base of the cured barrier material and leaves a portion of the barrier layer uncoated and that lid/overcoat covers the top and sides of the photoemissive core. The position of the examiner is that the embodiment bounded by the claims where the uncoated portion of the barrier layer has the same width as the thickness of the overcoated barrier layer is met by Naasani et al. 20130189803, as illustrated, noting that coating (405) is shown to have a uniform thickness and fully encapsulate the luminescent core (403). The argued position does not realize a material difference in the article until the material of the lower protective/barrier (layer) is different from the protective/barrier material of the lid. The rejection stands.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. CN 110176529, in view of Naasani et al. 20130189803.
Xie et al. CN 110176529 (machine translation attached) in figure 2A teaches a temporary carrier, (61), (optionally provided with an adhesive layer which is not shown) coated with a first barrier layer (502), a wavelength converting layer (501), a second barrier layer (503), which is then patterned by cutting areas (P1) to define the size of each of the plurality of the wavelength conversion regions/structures (figure 2B). This is then overcoated with a third barrier layer (504) by printing, coating, spraying, adhesion or molding so that it covers the sides of the first barrier layer, wavelength conversion layer and second barrier layer (figure 2C). The third barrier layer is then patterned as in figure 2D [0078-0079].
a wavelength conversion layer 501 containing quantum dots, quantum dot material comprising a matrix and dispersed in a matrix of the quantum dot particles. material of the substrate may be a thermosetting resin or photo-curable resin, such as polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), an epoxy resin (A), epoxy resin or silicone resin (silicone resin). the material of the quantum dot particles can be made of semiconductor material, and the particle diameter is typically less than or equal to 100 nanometers (nm). semiconductor material comprises a Group II-VI semiconductor compound, a Group III-V semiconductor compound, a Group IV-VI semiconductor compound or combination of above materials. core region (core) of quantum dot particles can comprises main luminous structure and a housing (shell) covering the core region. material of the core region can be zinc sulfide (ZnS), zinc selenide (ZnSe), zinc telluride (ZnTe), zinc oxide (ZnO), lead caesium chloride (CsPbCl3), cesium bromide, lead (CsPbBr3), cesium lead iodide (CsPbI3), cadmium sulfide (CdS), cadmium selenide (CdSe), cadmium telluride (CdTe), gallium nitride (GaN), gallium phosphide (GaP), gallium selenide (GaSe), gallium antimonide (GaSb). gallium arsenide (GaAs), aluminum nitride (AlN), aluminum phosphide (AlP), aluminum arsenide (AlAs), indium phosphide (InP), indium arsenide (InAs), tellurium (Te), lead sulfide (PbS), an indium antimonide (InSb), lead telluride (PbTe), lead selenide (PbSe), antimony telluride (SbTe), cadmium selenide (ZnCdSe), zinc cadmium selenium sulfide (ZnCdSeS), or copper indium sulfide (CuInS). the material of the material of the shell with the core region must match each other (e.g., the core region and the shell material of the lattice constant to be matched). the material selection of the shell, besides the lattice constant matching with the material of the core region, can form a high barrier region on the periphery of the core region, to improve the quantum yield (nanorods operation. When). structure of the shell can be single layer and multilayer structure or material changes gradually. In one embodiment, the core region is cadmium selenide, and the shell is single layer of zinc sulphide. In another embodiment, the core region is cadmium selenide shell comprises inner layer of (cadmium, zinc) (sulfur, selenium) and the outer layer of zinc sulphide. In another embodiment, the core region is cadmium selenide (CdSe), cadmium sulfide (CdS) shell comprises inner layer, the outer layer of zinc sulfide (ZnS), and a transition layer between the inner shell and the outer shell (compositional /L), for example: Zn0.25Cd0.75S/Zn0.5Cd0.5S/Zn0.75Cd0.25S. material composition ratio form a transition layer of composition ratio between material between the inner and outer shells. In one embodiment, transition layer composed of alloy layer is composed of the outer shell and the inner shell of the mixture [0070]. a first barrier layer covering the wavelength conversion layer 501 on the lower surface 502 and second barrier layer 503 may have similar or the same material, such as PVDF (polyvinylidene difluoride; polyvinylidene fluoride), or PET (polyethylene terephthalate; polyethylene terephthalate). PVDF heat deflection temperature; heat distortion (HDT) temperature higher than PET, is about 200 degrees centigrade, and the transmittance is greater than 92.5%. In one embodiment, the material of the first barrier layer 502 and second barrier layer 503 contains PVDF. comprises reflow (reflow) step in the manufacturing process steps, the first barrier layer 502 and second barrier layer 503 material properties will not be damaged due to high temperature, it can ensure the wavelength conversion layer 501 by high temperature reflow, still has enough for moisture, oxygen barrier. material of third barrier layer 504 may comprise metal or inorganic material. metal may include gold (Au), aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), nickel (Ni). inorganic material can include silicon oxide (SiOx), aluminum oxide (Al2O3), silicon oxynitride (SiON) or silicon nitride (SiNx) [0072]Figures 3A-F shows the attachment of the resulting structure to a substrate having a plurality of light emitting diodes/units (1) [0080-0082]
Figure 7A-G shows a similar transfer process [0093-0094].
Xie et al. CN 110176529 does not exemplify the case where the encapsulated luminescent material uses a barrier layer material or a luminescent layer of a cured material
With respect to claims 13 and 14, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 2A-2D of Xie et al. CN 110176529 by using a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer materials (502 and 503), a quantum dot material comprising a matrix and dispersed in a matrix of the quantum dot particles. material of the substrate may be a thermosetting resin or photo-curable resin for layer (501) as taught in Xie et al. CN 110176529 at [0070] and a combination of an inorganic material and either a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as barrier layer (504) with a reasonable expectation of forming an encapsulated luminescent material.
The position of the examiner is that there are no artifacts from the process of claim 1 which differentiate the encapsulated luminescent materials from the encapsulated luminescent material using an thermally curable epoxy or a UV curable epoxy disclosed at [0029] as the barrier layer material as discussed above.
With respect to claims 13-15, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 2A-2D of Xie et al. CN 110176529 by using a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer materials (502 and 503), a quantum dot material comprising a matrix and dispersed in a matrix of the quantum dot particles. material of the substrate may be a thermosetting resin or photo-curable resin for layer (501) as taught in Xie et al. CN 110176529 at [0070] and a combination of an inorganic material and either a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as barrier layer (504) and to transfer encapsulated luminescent materials to the surface of the LED as illustrated in figures 3A-F of Xie et al. CN 110176529 with a reasonable expectation of forming an useful LED - wavelength conversion element composite.
In the response of 4/30/2026, the applicant argues as if Xie et al. CN 110176529 was the only reference. The wavelength conversion layer is photocured in Xie et al. CN 110176529 and the rejection asserts that it would have been obvious to use other materials such as thermally or UV cured materials of Naasani et al. 20130189803 for the barrier layer in place of the those used/disclosed in Xie et al. CN 110176529.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. CN 110176529, in view of Naasani et al. 20130189803, further in view of Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060.
Kong et al. 20160284673 teaches the combination of phosphors and epoxy resin [0032,0038]. The use of a photomask to exposure an epoxy layer containing phosphors followed by development to yield the desired pattern is disclosed [0056]
Vo et al. CN 105637060 (machine translation attached) teaches in embodiment 3: green InP/ZnS Quantum Dot (120 optical density (OD)) According to 2011 year 9 month 23 day submitted by U.S. patent application number 13/624, 632 in the preparation. in the presence of nitrogen and stirring overnight the QD dispersed in degassed methacrylic acid lauryl methacrylate (LMA, 1.2 mL). (3 mg) dissolving the IRG819 photoinitiator QD dispersed solution at 0.6 mL in the LMA. then adding TMPTM cross linker (0.073 mL). mixture stirring further for 30 minutes under the protection of nitrogen so as to obtain the phase of the QD concentration of 89.2OD/mL 1 resin. two-phase resin is obtained through the following manner: adding 67 micro-liters of 1 resin and 0.43 mL of degassed epoxy resin (Epotek, OG142) are mixed, and then the mixture is stirred for 3 minutes under nitrogen in 100rpm machine. then the two-phase resin laminate 60 micro-liters of 3M gas barrier layer on the area restricted by 19mmx14mmx0.051mm plastic partition. the film with a mercury lamp (UV) for 1 minutes [0063].
With respect to claims 1-14, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 2A-2D of Xie et al. CN 110176529 by using a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer materials (502), exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a quantum dot material comprising photo-curable resin and the quantum dot particles for layer (501) as taught in Xie et al. CN 110176529 at [0070] exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer material (502) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) and a combination of an inorganic material and either a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as barrier layer (504) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful wavelength conversion material.
With respect to claims 1-14, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 2A-2D of Xie et al. CN 110176529 by using a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer materials (502), exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a quantum dot material comprising photo-curable resin and the any of the luminescent or quantum dot materials disclosed in Xie et al. CN 110176529, Naasani et al. 20130189803, Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 for layer (501) as taught in Xie et al. CN 110176529 at [0070] exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer material (502) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) and a combination of an inorganic material and either a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as barrier layer (504) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful wavelength conversion material.
With respect to claims 1-15, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 2A-2D of Xie et al. CN 110176529 by using a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer materials (502), exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a quantum dot material comprising photo-curable resin and the quantum dot particles for layer (501) as taught in Xie et al. CN 110176529 at [0070] exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer material (502) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) and a combination of an inorganic material and either a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as barrier layer (504) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) and to transfer encapsulated luminescent materials to the surface of the LED as illustrated in figures 3A-F of Xie et al. CN 110176529 with a reasonable expectation of forming an useful LED - wavelength conversion element composite.
In the response of 4/30/2026, the applicant argues that the pattern-wise/local curing of the barrier layer is not taught. The examiner points out that pattern-wise curing using light is clearly taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060, including the curing of epoxy materials and layers containing either quantum dots or phosphors, followed by development to remove the unexposed (and uncured ) material, leaving the locally cured materials. The applicant argues that the limitations of claims 13 and 14 recite that the core deposit does not extend beyond the base of the cured barrier material and leaves a portion of the barrier layer uncoated and that lid/overcoat covers the top and sides of the photoemissive core. The position of the examiner is that the embodiment bounded by the claims where the uncoated portion of the barrier layer has the same width as the thickness of the overcoated barrier layer is met by Naasani et al. 20130189803, as illustrated, noting that coating (405) is shown to have a uniform thickness and fully encapsulate the luminescent core (403). The argued position does not realize a material difference in the article until the material of the lower protective/barrier (layer) is different from the protective/barrier material of the lid.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. CN 110176529, in view of Naasani et al. 20130189803, further in view of Kong et al. 20160284673, Vo et al. CN 105637060, Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480
Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 (machine translation attached) teaches a process of forming a waveguide, where the lower cladding layer is applied to the polyimide substrate, exposed using UV and a negative photomask and the undesired portions removed. The core layer is then applied over this patterned with the same photomask using UV and developed to remove the undesired portion to yield patterns which are 45 microns. The upper cladding layer was then coated over this and patterned using a UV photomask and undesired portion developed away [0046-0052]
Sakai et al JP 2014115480 (machine translation attached) in examples 1, coated the substrate with a lower cladding layer, which is exposed to UV using a negative photomask having two openings which are 2970 microns x 9.950 mm and the unexposed/undesired portions were removed with a developer (see patterned layer 2). The core/waveguiding layer was then applied, exposed to ultraviolet using a negative photomask with 8 rows of openings which are 45 microns x 9/900 mm. The developer removed the unexposed/undesired material, The upper cladding is then applied and exposed to ultraviolet using a photomask with two openings which are 2900 microns x 9.960 mm cladding [0071-0078].
With respect to claims 1-14, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 2A-2D of Xie et al. CN 110176529 by using a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer materials (502), exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a quantum dot material comprising photo-curable resin and the any of the luminescent or quantum dot materials disclosed in Xie et al. CN 110176529, Naasani et al. 20130189803, Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 for layer (501) as taught in Xie et al. CN 110176529 at [0070] exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer material (502) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) and a combination of an inorganic material and either a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as barrier layer (504) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful wavelength conversion material based upon the prior use of successively patterned layers in the teachings of Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480.
With respect to claims 1-15, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 2A-2D of Xie et al. CN 110176529 by using a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer materials (502), exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a quantum dot material comprising photo-curable resin and the quantum dot particles for layer (501) as taught in Xie et al. CN 110176529 at [0070] exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503), a UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as the barrier layer material (502) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) and a combination of an inorganic material and either a thermally curable epoxy or an UV curable epoxy such as those made by Epotek disclosed at [0029] in Naasani et al. 20130189803 as barrier layer (504) exposing the epoxy and developing it as taught in Kong et al. 20160284673 and Vo et al. CN 105637060 and 503) and to transfer encapsulated luminescent materials to the surface of the LED as illustrated in figures 3A-F of Xie et al. CN 110176529 with a reasonable expectation of forming an useful LED - wavelength conversion element composite material based upon the prior use of successively patterned layers in the teachings of Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480.
With respect to the response of 4/30/2026, the applicant did not advance any arguments beyond those addressed above.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. CN 110176529, in view of Naasani et al. 20130189803, further in view of Kong et al. 20160284673, Vo et al. CN 105637060, Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480 and further in view of Wu et al. CN 107474266 and Yu et al. CN 212765267.
Wu et al. CN 107474266 (machine translation attached) teaches using a physical mask to achieve selective light irradiation, can impart the thermosetting polymer is one area of plastic can be controlled. also can use digital mask to replace the physical mask can be used, directly projecting the irradiation pattern based on DLP projector or LCD liquid crystal screen of the DMD chip. the precision of the illumination or projection area, i.e. has a plastic region by physical mask precision or a DLP projector, the resolution of LCD liquid crystal screen control [0030]
Yu et al. CN 212765267 (machine translation attached) teaches the light curing assembly 3 can be LCD light curing assembly, DLP light curing or SLA light curing the light irradiation of the patterned light; In some other embodiments, it also can select light source matched with the traditional mask to realize the patterned light irradiation. wherein the LCD light curing technology is a digital mask composed of light source matched with the LCD screen to realize the patterning of light; the assembly at least comprises a light source 31 and a transparent LCD screen 32, the LCD screen can realize the light transmission or shading of the target pixel point by electronic control, so as to reach the effect of the digital mask; DLP light curing is directly patterned by means of light projection, SLA is light curing by controlling the laser scanning light, DLP light curing SLA can light curing to DLP printing technology, SLA printing technology. In the embodiment, the LCD, DLP or SLA light curing relative to the traditional mask, because it is driven by digital electronic, so it can realize the patterning of light by software control, there is no need to plate process, which can greatly improve the circuit manufacturing efficiency, and can satisfy the circuit design requirement of the user individuation [0026].
The combination of Xie et al. CN 110176529, Naasani et al. 20130189803, Kong et al. 20160284673, Vo et al. CN 105637060, Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480 does not teach the use of photomask other than physical masks.
In addition to the basis above, the examiner holds that it would have been obvious modify the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Xie et al. CN 110176529, Naasani et al. 20130189803, Kong et al. 20160284673, Vo et al. CN 105637060, Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480 discussed above by using known masking means known in the photolithographic art, such as LCD, DLP, or SLA in place taught by Wu et al. CN 107474266 and/or Yu et al. CN 212765267 in place of the (physical) photomask which has the advantage of control of the masking pattern using electronics, so the pattern can be changed without physically making a new mask (See Yu et al.)
With respect to the response of 4/30/2026, the applicant did not advance any arguments beyond those addressed above.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. CN 110176529, in view of Naasani et al. 20130189803, further in view of Kong et al. 20160284673, Vo et al. CN 105637060, Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480 and further in view of Han et al. WO 2020103365.
Han et al. WO 2020103365 teaches with respect to figures 6-11, the transfer or differently colored (R,G,B) luminescent materials onto LEDs
The combination of Xie et al. CN 110176529, Naasani et al. 20130189803, Kong et al. 20160284673, Vo et al. CN 105637060, Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480 does not clearly show the transfer of differently colored luminescent materials onto a single substrate.
In addition to the basis above, the examiner holds that it would have been obvious modify the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Xie et al. CN 110176529, Naasani et al. 20130189803, Kong et al. 20160284673, Vo et al. CN 105637060, Sakai et al. JP 2015203841 and Sakai et al JP 2014115480 discussed above by (iteratively) repeating the process to form a variety of differently colored encapsulated wavelength conversion elements on different substrates, which can then transferred to the light emitting surfaces of different LEDs on a substrate as is known in the art from the teachings of Han et al. WO 2020103365.
With respect to the response of 4/30/2026, the applicant did not advance any arguments beyond those addressed above.
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 June 10, 2026